Finance/Investment Discussions

CC1981

Here is a tip Apo. Make sure you have a sound programming base(in your case Java). It is going to really help you down the line. But dont limit yourself to it. Keep an eye open for Applications, specially related to Database technology. If you can get a leg-in into pure database(Oracle, SQL Server whatever) or ETL (Informatica, Ab Initio), Business Intellgence(Business Objects, Cognos) ERP(SAP) etc you would be on your way to make more money. Core programming never pays much, though there are odd exceptions. The money is more in Applications. Another thing to remember is that with Applications you generally work with senior people of a company. If you are in ERP or DW you would end up meeting top brass which obviously adds to your experience and confidence. On the other hand if you are a core=programmer such chances would be lot less. Dont worry about pay at early stage. My first job paid me a grand 1800 bucks a month in USA, my first car was a Ford Tempo(broke every week). I dont make 120$ an hour but have come pretty far from that 1800 bucks a month(minus taxes). Hang in there..and make sure you really know whatever tool you work with..and tell Holy to do the same..saala bahut nautanki karta hai woh! xxx
Thanks lurks!

Sale tum sabh software walle ho! 80% of my money is in a savings account. I wish I could make it grow like a dick on viagra :haha: We should start a typical desi thread about how much you earn and how much $$$ you got in the bank :hysterical::hysterical:
how do u know how a dick grows on viagra? You started using it already?:haha:

btw, for people in india.. there are the classes in the BSE.. where they teach you all about stocks.. from scratch its 15 days.. from 10 to 6.. but they take you around, and teach you everything you need to know generally people between 20 and 30 are seen in them,. one of my friends went for it.. and he was praising them a lot....

Morningstar has free investment classes For those who are interested: Link
cool man one stop knowledge shop it seems like, I mean ICF..:thumbs_up:

I had bought some Apple shares a couple of months back with the iPhone release in mind. Have yielded a good return.
Great call their Prof. Analysts are predicting iPhone sales will fetch Apple $15B in just 2-3 years (Apple took 29 years to reach $15B in revenue, which iPhone will supposedly generate in 2 years)

How safe is mutual funds under the heading international-stocks. It must be riskier because this one quotes the highest return in my bank.
Emerging market funds are ticking like a clock. They have grown non stop for a year now. I think Brazil & Russian equities are still attractive investments. Look at funds like EUROX, PRLAX or ETFs like EEM, EWZ. I told my friend to buy EWZ at 45 (few months back). It looked expensive at that time. Today it is at 65

Iam really a noob in this area. So where do I begin from? How do you guys stocks, mutual funds, bonds from? Websites or local banks? He He, you can tell I am really new to this. Do you always need a person to sell to? What if nobody wants to buy that stock, i.e company totally fails like Nortel (not a good example)
You can begin at ICF. Shoot your qns, as they pop up. We'll answer what we know. 1) First pick your broker. www.ameritrade.com is an example. 2) Transfer the requisite amt to setup your account. 3) Once u have done (1) & (2) tell me what your risk/reward goals are like. Then we can pick an appropriate strategy to invest your money

I had bought some Apple shares a couple of months back with the iPhone release in mind. Have yielded a good return.
Would you do the same with microsoft , Shwetabh ? i.e , risk buying MS shares when a new version of operating systems comes out ? It may have paid off with the I-phone since Apple gets its product positioning close to perfect most of the times. Many times however , high profile launches act more as a dampener. One of worst time to own a stock is probably when the quarterly results come out , especially when the previous year was a good performing one. Invariably , the results arent that great compared to the previous year and stock price falls. Have any of you had such an experience where you lost some money due to poor quarterly/half yearly results ?

actually sriram there was a rush of buying MS shares when there was a speculation that MS was going to buy Yahoo. But then it slowly died out
Apo , It generally works the other way around i thought ? The company that is being acquired generally has its price sky-rocketing , while the company that acquires , sees a fall due to increased future risks due to diversification. Though , When Mittal steel bought Arcelor , both their shares went up. The reason given -- It was a good thing for the industry.

If both company are being benefited by the merger, both will see an increase in their share prices. However I said that because its too early to speculate Apple's growth. If the price and plan for IPhone remains same throughout this year, there would be drop in sales. Short term trading, though, might fetch some profits

Would you do the same with microsoft , Shwetabh ? i.e , risk buying MS shares when a new version of operating systems comes out ? It may have paid off with the I-phone since Apple gets its product positioning close to perfect most of the times. Many times however , high profile launches act more as a dampener.
I dont think MS is a good investment anymore, even if they offer a 10-20% dividend (which they did recently). The stock underperforms the indices consistently. In 5 years MS has moved from 26 to 30 (Hardly 15%), missing out on some semi-bull makets on the way. A savings account would have given u better returns without as much risk
One of worst time to own a stock is probably when the quarterly results come out , especially when the previous year was a good performing one. Invariably , the results arent that great compared to the previous year and stock price falls. Have any of you had such an experience where you lost some money due to poor quarterly/half yearly results ?
Yeah i have. I have made as well as lost money holding options/stocks thru earnings report. Oflate marketmakers have been manipulating stocks to screw the option holders regardless of the good numbers in the earnings report. (Eg: Google's options were priced at a 8% volatility before earnings, but the stock hardly moved 2% after earnings, inspite of the blowout numbers)

Great call their Prof. Analysts are predicting iPhone sales will fetch Apple $15B in just 2-3 years (Apple took 29 years to reach $15B in revenue' date=' which iPhone will supposedly generate in 2 years)[/quote'] Thats a VERY optimistic estimate i would say. You are predicting that apple will sell 30 million i-phones in 2 years ! The i-phone is no apple i-pod, for it sell in 10's of millions every year. Besides , the ipod had many number of first time mp3 player buyers. The iphone will facer stiffer challenge in that regard. Those who can afford a relatively costly phone such as the i-phone or those who want to have top-end phone , would by now , already own one ( although a different brand). It will be challenge to make them make the shift across brands. And you really cant count in the millions of mobile phone users that are being added in china and India coz , most of them cant afford the iphone. And you also have to take into factor that the iphone uses really latest cutting technology, which could go wrong. As the reviews start pouring in , even a small amount of negative ones will hit sales hard. Keeping all this in mind m i would say the $15B is a really optimistic outlook.

I aint predicting these marirs' date=' analysts are[/quote'] Yo Bumper. I think i have check my english a bit. Many times i use " you" in the context of some third person , and its gets mis-interpreted , maybe rightfully so. Anyways , do you back apple to sell 30 MILLION iphones in two years ?

I dont trust everything analysts say. But theres atleast an inkling of truth in all this hype about iPhone. Even if the analysts are 50% right, thats still quite a bit of $$$ from an investor's perspective. Apple is a SCREAMING BUY, IMO Apple has shown historically that they are good at making such handheld gadgets a hit. Unlike other vendors, Apple has the knack of building tremendous brand loyalty with its customers. Apple recently sold 8M iPods in a quarter. Thats roughly 32M iPod customers a year. If u assume iPhone can be sold to 25% of that number of customers, thats roughly 8M iPhone customers per annum @ approx $700-1000 a phone. That could mean $5-$8B in revenue per annum. Not bad, eh! We will know how much of this is real, how much is hype in a year