Shah Rukh Khan thread

bulbul

Yes' date=' he is a great man for me. Greater than a 100 SRKs who cries and moans about the one place where he is famous. SRK should take lessons from him. Even Aamir Khan was held over in LA airport. [b']What is so special about SRK's profiling? He didn't follow some procedures when he went around with his posse, was asked a couple more questions. His highness shouldn't be asked a few questions just because he is famous in India, doesn't mean a security guard in TSA will know about the great actor. Even hollywood actors get frisked like common men.
Because every civilized country, and society, have atleast made their displeasure apparent to the West regarding this? Maybe because Brazil started a pay back in kind and initiated finger printing ONLY of American citizen? And maybe because Indians, by and large, preferred to keep mum (as always)? I have asked a simple question to Ram. Goes for you too. How do you feel about being searched and re-searched on Indian soil??

If you dont like USA dont go there. They rightly have security concerns of islamic terrorists and traget them to ensure no 9/11 happens again on their soil. They have been 100% succesful in this. While india has been hammered repeatedly by islamic terrorists. We can learn from USA in their zero tolernace towards allowing their own people to be murdered by foreign people and the pride they take in protecting them. Being searched and researched in India is fantastic. Shame they let all kinds of rogue elements appear through bangla porous border which in classic india style defeats the object of other good work. Personally when entering India I was not searched at all. On boarding plane in india am searched once min. Whats wrong with that!!

Because somewhere we all stopped listening and just want to argue. If I raise a question about what women have done, I am tagged sexist. Abbe haramiyon atleast hear me out. SRK made a very pertinent point about US. Folks with surname McVeigh are never profiled even though Timothy Mcveigh brought down FBI building in Oklahoma. Why are folks with Khan surname profiled? How can India become a mature society if we are too busy casting judgements and don't have enough time to listen??
+ Even I agree that there was a big issue after 911. people were racially profiled. But there is a difference. I was travelling with my daughter once back in 2003. At the security my daughter stood at the X-ray machine and refused to take her shoes off. In front of the officer she questioned me why did she has to remove her shoes. I told her for security reasons. She asked me what was that. Explained that bad people take things hiding in their shoes. She showed me but Dad I am not hiding anything in my shoes. I said but thats the rule, beta. She quietly removed her shoes and passed through the machine Stood quietly while I was picked by a random security check. But then a woman security officer came along. Took my child and make her sit in her chair Requested my kid to allow her to put on her shoes with her own hands. My kid refused to let her touch. Then I looked at her and said its okay and finally she put on her shoes stood patiently for me to finish my screening. That woman apologized to the little girl that she had to go through all this. I was really happy that they took care of my kid. it had happened few times with me and my daughter travelling together. I ended up asking once to the officer, he said face recognition. There is not much we can do about it. As a citizens of country like India even people need to mature and stop this anti-minority mind set. I dont really care about SRKs article as much. Parties like BJP/Congress are much much stronger forces and they need to grow up now. They need to stop exasperating the populous by not raising such issues and sensitizing them. Undue importance was given to the wrong part of that article. But a mature debate must occur at some point as to how are we going to handle such issues as a secular country. The gap between the people is widening and nobody is helping in the cause. Few people of minority were even wrongly detained for few unfortunate incidences. At least in India, we cannot affort to do what other countries do and should be much more careful about it. Having said that SRK is a pure drama queen as much I like him for his work.

Like I have mentioned at a different time, you should perhaps limit yourself at attempts at humor. Serious discussion is not your cup of thing. The only pseudo thing here is perhaps you. To my knowledge none of the Liberals in US ever support racial profiling of any kind. Only an Indian "liberal" attempts to defend their pay masters. Job well done :two_thumbs_up:
Vahi puraari ghisi piti whining. First of all, my paymasters are not American, so ease off with that crap. Baaki rahi Liberal hone ki baat, liberal hona doesn't exclude one from being practical. The way you make it seem is like brown people are the only ones getting harrased at airports. Search for TSA on google, and see how many WHITE AMERICAN elderly, sick, handicapped, kids etc have faced far more harassment at checkpoints. As I said, this issue is old as ****, and you are somehow saying SRK had this great original thought about it :giggle: No doubt TSA needs a makeover (and it is on the cards soon). I personally think issue is blown WAY out of proportion. Hell, going through security at US airports is 100x times pleasant than taking a flight in most Indian airports due to overcrowding and other crap that goes on there. If I never complained about Indian airports, why the **** would I whine about some dude looking at my junk twice through the x-ray machine.

Yes, you should definitely stick with humor :winky:

+ Even I agree that there was a big issue after 911. people were racially profiled. But there is a difference. I was travelling with my daughter once back in 2003. At the security my daughter stood at the X-ray machine and refused to take her shoes off. In front of the officer she questioned me why did she has to remove her shoes. I told her for security reasons. She asked me what was that. Explained that bad people take things hiding in their shoes. She showed me but Dad I am not hiding anything in my shoes. I said but thats the rule, beta. She quietly removed her shoes and passed through the machine Stood quietly while I was picked by a random security check. But then a woman security officer came along. Took my child and make her sit in her chair Requested my kid to allow her to put on her shoes with her own hands. My kid refused to let her touch. Then I looked at her and said its okay and finally she put on her shoes stood patiently for me to finish my screening. That woman apologized to the little girl that she had to go through all this.I was really happy that they took care of my kid. it had happened few times with me and my daughter travelling together. I ended up asking once to the officer, he said face recognition. There is not much we can do about it. As a citizens of country like India even people need to mature and stop this anti-minority mind set. I dont really care about SRKs article as much. Parties like BJP/Congress are much much stronger forces and they need to grow up now. They need to stop exasperating the populous by not raising such issues and sensitizing them. Undue importance was given to the wrong part of that article. But a mature debate must occur at some point as to how are we going to handle such issues as a secular country. The gap between the people is widening and nobody is helping in the cause. Few people of minority were even wrongly detained for few unfortunate incidences. At least in India, we cannot affort to do what other countries do and should be much more careful about it. Having said that SRK is a pure drama queen as much I like him for his work.
That is the kind of story that gets highlighted in US media routinely and people get apalled. Only when it happens to fellow Indians, do their fellow countrymen jump up and down trying to defend their brown masters. I am sorry to hear that your daughter had to go through that. By and large Americans are a wonderful set of people, including Airport staffs, but post 9/11 has brought bad in many of us it seems.

As a citizens of country like India even people need to mature and stop this anti-minority mind set. I dont really care about SRKs article as much. Parties like BJP/Congress are much much stronger forces and they need to grow up now. They need to stop exasperating the populous by not raising such issues and sensitizing them. Undue importance was given to the wrong part of that article. But a mature debate must occur at some point as to how are we going to handle such issues as a secular country. The gap between the people is widening and nobody is helping in the cause. Few people of minority were even wrongly detained for few unfortunate incidences. At least in India, we cannot affort to do what other countries do and should be much more careful about it. Having said that SRK is a pure drama queen as much I like him for his work.
Absolutely. SRK may be the worst actor in town (I personally think it is a toss-up between Sunil Shetty and Avinash Wadhawan). Do I care? No. SRK may also be using media for publicity. (So do Tendulkar, Narendra Modi and Amitabh Bacchan). Do I care? No. SRK may also be gay. (Or straight or into Animal porn). Do I care? No. But SRK is also a decent Indian Muslim whose wife is a Hindu. One thing he is NOT, a bigot. If we can not deal with moderates like SRK what are the odds we stand a chance with the right wing Muslim retards?? Heck if anything they would be smiling, like Hafiz Saeed clearly is.

not saying that srk is not moderate' date='but are you saying that marring someone of another religion makes one a moderate?because akbarudddin owaisi married a christian[/quote'] No, he did not. He married a Christian who converted to Islam. Generally speaking a bigot will not marry someone of another religion. A Hindu-Muslim marriage is not even permitted in Islam.

but he did fall in love with a christian' date=' not sure if one can generalize these things of whether one is a bigot or not based on whom they marry or love.[/quote'] My point is that a bigot will very rarely if ever let his wife practice her religion after marriage. A liberal would be understanding of her personal choice in religion. There might be exceptions but generally speaking this will hold.

Very well articulated. The problem is that we end up arguing personalities rather than the issue. Shah Rukh Khan raised some very valid points in that article' date=' but because he cried foul on the US immigration thing - on which, like Clarke I don't support him either - we are trying to obfuscate the core of the argument here, which is the harassment he faced at the hands of Shiv Sena. [b']The same Shiv Sena who are instrumental in letting lose a guy who stored AK47s for India's Most Wanted. You can disagree with Shah Rukh on the US airport issue, but that is not the crux of the argument here and that is not the main reason he is irked. He clearly says that the main reason he is irked is because of him being used as a political tool by certain segments in India.
Oh thats not quite true. If you are alluding to Sanjay Dutt, he claims he hid AK47 for the safety of his family. Whether you agree with that point or not, I think it is fair to assume that the Number 1 Wanted man in India, who had been ruling the roost of Bombay/Gujarat smuggling for 15-20 years did not exactly need a Superstar to land 1-2 guns. Think about it, Dawood can land tons of RDX and still needs Sanjay Dutt to hide a gun?? That does not make sense at all. With regards to SS, they just went after him with a vengeance. Obviously Sanjay Dutt was a soft target. He was released only after Thackeray humiliated Sunil Dutt no end. Depending on what version you want to go by, Sunil Dutt had to do everything from kneeling down infront of the retard and beg forviness and/or parikarma as if Thackeray was Lord Vishnu or all things Bombay. Point being, that SS releasing pressure on Sanjay Dutt was downright after extracting their pound of flesh from Sunil & Sanjay Dutt. It has precious little to do with ideology.

Yaar, Lurker talk common sense. First of all there were not 1-2 AK47s, there were 5 according to the initial reports. Kal ko main tumhare ghar aaonga aur kahoon ki yeh 5 AK47s rakh lo, tum rakh loge? Aur waise bhi kaun sa Sanjay Dutt ke ghar pe fauj aa rahi thi attack karne, jo pistol ki jagah maadarchod ko AK47 chahiye thi? And I'll argue your point about Dawood being able to hide them anywhere. You look for the safest place to hide them - what's more safe than the home of a Bollywood star and MP? Yeah, Shiv Sena extracted their pound of flesh to the extent Sunil Dutt forfeited his seat as discussed in another thread but that does not mean they did not support a terrorist supporter.

Legal charge sheet had 3 rifles mentioned. He had total of 4 years 4 months of jail time from 1993 to 2007. Thats good enough. We have never seen Dutt in any other controversy after this. The guy certainly got back on a track. Anyways, he wouldn't have gotten anything more than 5 anyways. So whats the big deal. The guy has always been humble and apologetic. I am in no way defending Dutt. That was most stupid thing that anyone would have done. It was not a surprised that he landed up in that mess. He was into many bad things anyway but be came back strong. For that matter, I even feel equally for Salman. The guy has changed so much from his young age. I like that guy better than SRK any day.

Ladies and gentlemen, ye hain terrorist sympathizer who is saying storing AK47s for India's most wanted was a "stupid" thing to do. Change, change karte ho? Let's also let lose those rapists of the Delhi girl and hope for them to change. The son of a ***** was found talking with Dawood Bhai after all this happened. Uska bhi justification de do? What's the big deal! The big deal is I am lost for words and seldom does that happen.

Enjoy ! http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?216640