Blog: Urban Gypsy | Girl Molested in Delhi Metro General Compartment

Stuge

I do not wish to start this piece philosophically or on a moral high, nor do I have any thoughts about the greater good of any community or ÃÔociety? I wish to write this to justify me to myself. Yesterday on the 1st of September, at around 7:30 in the evening I was coming back from college I took a detour from my usual route and boarded the Blue line of the Delhi Metro from Rajiv Chowk. Being used to this chaos everyday, I was warned by my companion that we should board the Ã*adies compartment and not the èeneral compartment. The sensible arguments I gave were, firstly that it is a ÃÈeneral compartment and not demarcated for men, so no harm boarding it. Secondly, that they are humans and not ÃÂnimals? I lost the argument in the next few minutes. I had to get off after four or so stations, so it didnÃÕ seem like the decision was going to cost me heavily. Being surrounded by 50 to 60 heavily sweating men was a nightmare enough to take for one evening, but it had hardly begun. Throughout those 10 minutes that I was present there every part of my body was scanned in an inch by inch detail which made me feel like my sex was a curse with which I was born. The ordeal had started. My station arrived, I shoved my way with great difficulty to make it to the door before it could close and during this struggle my top was pulled by a man to expose my breast for a good 15 seconds while at the same time somebody grabbed my behind. I was paralysed in shock. Nevertheless, I started pushing again and finally reached the door and stepped onto the platform. I screamed my lungs out at those 5 to 6 men who were standing at the door. I hurled abuses at them which ideally no sensible Indian girl should utter even in thoughts, let alone whisper. The reaction of those men was something that made the experience traumatic for me they simply stared at me and LAUGHED. They continued laughing and my anger continued to rise. I was outraged at their sensibilities. I had always believed, that if ever I face such a situation in my life I would beat the daylights out of those people, but I could only stare at them. I was dumbfounded. My hurling abuses seemed like an impetus for them to laugh harder. I was boiling inside. I am not playing victim here. Self-pity is something I have done away with. This is not my intent. I want to know how come out of that entire compartment not even one man came forward to do something about it. They could have stopped the metro immediately. They could have called 1091 or simply stepped out of the metro to support me. And, they could have stepped up and changed the situation there and then. How low have you all sunken? Does the status of being anonymous in a crowd fueled with this pathetic group mentality give them the freedom to do anything? Why blame the patriarchal setup, when the women present there looked at me as if I was at fault for being a girl and misplacing the societal norm of keeping quiet. Nobody present on that busy platform came forward to do ANYTHING. If the frustration level of men in Delhi which seems to be so high then, they should go to places where sexual services are available. But, MY BODY IS MY OWN and I do not give anybody the right to touch it. This article is not about me; itÃÔ about the psychological scars that IÃÃl have to live with for life. ItÃÔ about how incidents like these happen everyday and they are not even talked about because of the fear of being caught in something bigger and unwanted. ItÃÔ about how after going through all of this I for sometime blamed myself. In time, I remembered the words of my teacher, ŪtÃÔ never your fault. I do not know if this would help things or change the current scenarios, all I know is that I have lost my faith
http://urbangypsy1.blogspot.in/2012/09/i-was-molested.html

How do you change a society quickly where family culture still produces sexually repressed males? Unfortunately there are no quick fixes. Its going to take another couple of decades for India to enter the modern world.
Do you think Japan is modern ? This is a BIG problem in Japan too. I don't see anything happening in two decades. This problem is more complex than just modernity (or lack thereof).

Considering the state of the society just 2 decades ago and compare that to today, (based on general trend) I think you will see major behavioral shifts in men towards women as urbanization increases.

Women's compartment is a jugaad tactic.
May be women's compartment is the problem.from 2002 to 2010 there was no reserved compartment but still metro was considered as safer transport for women.my cousin use to travel it in regularly from 2006-2009 in general compartment and she hardly had any problem.After 2010 there are quite few blogs and news which mention about molestation.

I had a similar experience (minus the sexual harassment), first issue is the manners and general behavior. People dont have curtsy to let other people get on and off. They will block the door and wont move and inch. Even if one says anything they just smile at you. the dumb -weird smile which just means "heheheheh i have no clue what you are saying"

That was the point. Japan is as 'modern' as they come' date=' and yet, tonnes of grabbing goes on on their trains. Hell, they have a whole porn genre based on that phenomenon.[/quote'] I am a little surprised to be honest. From my experience, they have lots of surveillance cameras/officers patrolling their train stations. As for the porn, yea, they seem to have an obsession with teenage cartoon girls >,

That was the point. Japan is as 'modern' as they come' date=' and yet, tonnes of grabbing goes on on their trains. Hell, they have a whole porn genre based on that phenomenon.[/quote'] Jap porn is some wierd shyte. They probably have more niche categories than any other country

I had a similar experience (minus the sexual harassment)' date=' first issue is the manners and general behavior.[b'] People dont have curtsy to let other people get on and off. They will block the door and wont move and inch. Even if one says anything they just smile at you. the dumb -weird smile which just means "heheheheh i have no clue what you are saying"
The word you are looking for is "civic sense". I once boarded the metro at Rajiv Chowk (on the yellow line) towards New Delhi Railway Station - just one stop. I got int and there was a mahaashay standing right at the door. I asked him - "Aap agle station par utrenge?" His reply - "Abhi toh chada hu, ek hi stop mein utar jaau kya?" :facepalm: Why can't people speak courteously? :dontknow: Anyways, I am so used to traveling in crowded trains in Mumbai that I have him the Bambaiyya style push when NDLS arrived. He will remember not to stand at the doors if he does not want to alight a station for the rest of his life. :--D

May be before boarding metro he read some of your posts:D Delhi NCR may be unsafe for women but there are plenty of people which are helpful.Last time I was travelling in metro I was tired and not feeling well when I was returning to Gurgaon.As metro was getting empty but still i was unable to get a seat.As metro reached another station there were vacant seats but I was still unable to get one.suddenly one Bhai sahab said " arrey inko bhaithne do inki tabiyat kharab lag rahi hai and the young guy who grabbed the seat said bhaith jaayiye ,aap pahale bataa dete "and he vacated the seat.Sorry to say but plenty of people in Delhi and NCR are quite helpful.