Sexual violence against women in India

rageaddict

I don't understand this- maybe legal experts like Mariyam can help when does negligence to follow-up on these cases becomes a criminal act (punishable by prison sentence) vs. just incompetence (leading to suspension etc)?? Every time some cop does this they just suspend them- to me it seems they are conspiring with the criminal and hiding the crime which should be punishable vs. just a suspension Its different if an investigation is hitting a road block vs. not registering a case, not following up etc

When are we going to see public protests in other parts? or if they are happening then when are we going to see media coverage? If Delhi people take out a procession, it is shown as A Nation Outraged..When is Punjab and other states going to get outraged and represented by the "mainstream" media??

When are we going to see public protests in other parts? or if they are happening then when are we going to see media coverage? If Delhi people take out a procession' date=' it is shown as A Nation Outraged..When is Punjab and other states going to get outraged and represented by the "mainstream" media??[/quote'] There have been several protests across the country mate, and some even outside. And even the protests in Delhi are not about one victim but about the whole country. Delhi is the capital, so obv protests there get covered more. This is a issue that cuts across every area.

Dalit teenager allegedly gang-raped for over a week, seven arrested Hassan, Karnataka: A 15-year-old Dalit girl was allegedly raped by a group of over 7 men for nine days in Karnataka's Hassan district. Seven of the accused have been arrested. The girl was allegedly raped at various places in the district by the accused who was allegedly her cousin brother and brought her to the town from Magge village in Alur taluk promising her employment on December 19, Superintendent of Police Amith Singh said over the phone. The ten men sexually exploited the girl in turns from December 19 to December 27. The gang then dumped her in Hassan at the New Hassan bus stand in Karnataka on Thursday after which she approached an NGO for women, which immediately alerted police. Mr Singh said the police constituted three teams to trace the accused and seven have been held. "We are looking for more suspects. They will also be arrested soon. All the arrested have been subjected to medical examination," he said. The seven arrested, including an auto rickshaw driver, will be produced before a local court on Saturday, he said. Meanwhile, former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, who is a Lok Sabha member from Hassan, has demanded strict punishment to the accused. http://www.ndtv.com/article/south/dalit-teenager-allegedly-gang-raped-for-over-a-week-seven-arrested-310775 barely any coverage for this girl, the media needs to be consistent

barely any coverage for this girl, the media needs to be consistent
This incident doesnt qualify. 1. This girl doesnt belong to the middle class. Middle class has problems with rape "when even our girls are not safe". 2. She doesnt belong to the urban crowd. This crowd is the most vocal when something happens to them. 3. Media's main readership is the urban middle class and it is a mouthpiece of their opinions. You will never hear Bollywood stars tweeting their outrage over it. Or the English newspapers taking over this case. They open their eyes and mouths when the danger reaches their own doorsteps. Till then it is chalta hai.

:two_thumbs_up: you summed it all up. these gangrapes have happening in india for ages and many rapes have taken place in the last two week since the delhi bus incident but barely any coverage has been given to them. they might make central delhi safer but what about rest of india especially the rural parts.

How else did you come to know of the incident, through your honest & hardworking Kangress workers ? In a country of 1.2 bil, there will be multiple rapes happening daily & that is the sad truth. You can't expect the top 10 headlines to discuss crimes in BJP ruled states.

:two_thumbs_up: you summed it all up. these gangrapes have happening in india for ages and many rapes have taken place in the last two week since the delhi bus incident but barely any coverage has been given to them. they might make central delhi safer but what about rest of india especially the rural parts.
I think the ones which also have a component of gross police incompetence or connivance are also brought up - the rape/suicide in Punjab for example got significant traction. However, it is true that cases in urban areas are given more media attention. This particular case in Delhi is also unprecedented in its brutality which has inflamed the public. The urban folk are perhaps also a bit numb to what happens in rural areas.

The Delhi victim didnt get attention because of her class. Do you think no middle/rich class girls have been raped before in Delhi. The case got notoriety because of the brutality and general frustration of the public at the lack of safety of women. the pent up feelings just burst out after this particular incident.

Lets see when the pent up emotions burst out. Jessica Lal, Priyadarshini Mattoo, Aarushi Talwar. Candle light vigils for all, some even got a movie made on them. I wonder why it takes a middle/high class victim for the people to wake up.

Do you think these are the only women to be murdered/raped from the middle/high class? Jessica Lal was a model and hence the media spotlight on her case. It is quite understandable that celebrity crimes would get more attention than ones involving regular people. As far as Aarushi Talwar goes, her murder was more a mystery and the botched up investigation by the police that brought the case into the spotlight. The kids involved in the Surinder Koli/Pandher case werent from the middle class, they lived in the adjoining slums. The case came into the spotlight because of the shock value, same with the guwahati molestation which was caught on camera and went viral.

They are not the only victims from the middle class, but it always takes a middle class victim for whom candle light vigils(CLV) are organized. Jessica Lal was a model, but why were there CLVs for her? Where was the CLVs for the kids in Surinder Koli's case? Why doesnt SRK and others tweet their outrage for the less fortunate (but as much Indian) victims? Do you think that if a similar brutal rape had happened in Delhi but to a poor lady in a slum, there would have been the same outrage? Let us be frank here. The protest are good and something good might come out of it, but behind it also lies the selfishness of the self absorbed urban middle class, who is aware of women being paraded naked, raped, killed in other parts of the country and even in its vicinity, but as long as they do not represent its class this great middle class doesnt mind forgetting about it. The message is simple: When it hurts us, then it becomes a national outrage. Because we are the entitled citizens of India, the taxpayers, the thought leaders and if anything happens to us, then we demand quick justice, we demand payback.