2014 Lok Sabha Elections thread |Exit poll results

ganeshran

excerpts of MMS' opening remarks at press conference

First, I am concerned that we have not been as successful as we need to be in generating employment in the manufacturing sector. This is an aspect of performance which we are working hard to correct. We need a much stronger effort in support of small and medium enterprises which can be a major source of good quality employment. Our Manufacturing Strategy gives high priority to this objective for the future Second, we have also not been as successful in controlling persistent inflation as we would have wished. This is primarily because food inflation has increased. However, we should remember that our inclusive policies have put more money in the hands of the weaker sections. To keep food prices in control we need to increase supplies and also improve marketing arrangements and logistics. This is especially important for items which are perishable, such as fruits and vegetables. Much of this work lies in the domain of the States. I am happy to say that the Food Security Act that we have passed will to some extent shield the common man from rising food prices. The worry about inflation is legitimate but we should also recognize that incomes for most people have increased faster than inflation. I have already mentioned that real wages in rural areas have increased faster than before. Per-capita consumption in both rural and urban areas has increased significantly. Third, we are deeply committed to the objective of combating corruption. An array of historical legislations has been enacted to make the work of the Government transparent and accountable. Governance has been made more answerable as never before. Most of you have been routinely using the Right to Information Act to access Government documents which was not possible earlier. There is much public concern on high profile allegations of corruption, notably in regard to 2G spectrum allocations, coal block allocations and cases related to land. We have taken major steps to change the existing procedures for allocation of spectrum and coal by shifting to auctions so that these problems do not arise in future. Where some decisions taken earlier, when allocations were made administratively, have come under question, they are being investigated. Any wrong doing will be punished through due process of law. Land issues are in the domain of state governments and we have consistently advised state governments to ensure transparency in these cases.
FULL - http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Full-text-of-PMs-opening-remarks-at-press-conference/articleshow/28323242.cms

I don't understand why MMS is called weak PM by BJP because he increased INC's seat by 61 after 5 years as PM. if a weak PM was able to do that then what does that tell you about BJP?
Or rather you don't understand reality or politics really. And mind you, other than few diehard Congress Gandhi supporters, everyone else, not just BJP will call MMS as the weak PM.

I don't understand why MMS is called weak PM by BJP because he increased INC's seat by 61 after 5 years as PM. if a weak PM was able to do that then what does that tell you about BJP?
he was also the PM when we saw some THE biggest scams in the history of this country but he did not say a word.

if i criticise bjp' date=' i become secular. yeh kya logic hai bhai?[/quote'] Err, the idea that MMS is a strong leader is a secular one. Rahul baba's "the ordinance is nonsense" moment while the PM was on tour was all one would need to know about the latter. There are other policy matters as well which shed enough light on MMS but you are free to look the other way.

I am not against MMS. Really. He must be a brilliant economist, but I am not competent enough to judge his brilliance. Hence 'must be'. Now, his statements: 1. India's growth rate will revive - Sir, you are brilliant. You would have written a thesis on the business cycle theories. That statement tells us as much as 'we will eventually see a sunrise'. ... 2. 'Rahul is a brilliantly qualified PM candidate' - How? Why? Which speech of his bears this out? Which action justifies your statement? 3. 'History will judge me differently' - That means you know how you are currently projecting yourself And why are you so worried about your legacy - worry about your actions, the legacy gets taken care of. 4. 'Modi as the PM would be a disaster' - How? In what way? Please tell us what you mean, sir - will he butcher all muslims and send them to Pakistan? Will he sell the country to Gujju businessmen? Like your ministers sold it off to (censored under 66A). 6. 'We made governance more accountable' - Not to sound ungrateful, because mai baap you are our अन्नदाता, but that's your damn duty, morally if not legally 7. 'we made growth socially inclusive' - pfft! You just made everyone feel the inflation. Spreading misery and unhappiness evenly is not socialism. No mention of Vadra, Virbhadra, CWG, 66A, Assam, Muzaffarnagar, Kishtwar, rampantly populist but fiscally ruinous policies like loan waivers and the food bill, no systemic reforms, no capacity building, no research initiatives, not even an Olympic Gold. On top of that, outright coddling your cheap, opportunist allies, keeping that venomous little National Advisory Council as your personal handlers while Ms Gandhi practically played you like a fiddle (bad analogy - fiddles make noise), and you say the UPA did a good job. 8. The best and most disastorous statement which makes him look like a big idiot was: All the scam happened during UPA 1 and we were given mandate in 2009 which proves we were not guilty. Arey dhakkan firstly the scams were exposed after the election and secondally going by your same logic Modi has won three times after the riot so you have no rite to call him mass murderer.

On the contrary' date=' they have already conceded the elections. They ll not risk Rahul on this one. Worst time to represent Congress on any forum.[/quote'] this time they just have to name a PM candidate because not only has the BJP done so but they have had a lead of many months in which Modi has been campaigning around the country whereas there was still confusion regarding Cong's leader for 2014. Besides, MMS saying what he did about Rahul in his press conference is a sign that Rahul will be named the PM candidate soon. There has been speculation that Rahul will be named the PM candidate in the AICC meeting on Jan17/18.

this time they just have to name a PM candidate because not only has the BJP done so but they have had a lead of many months in which Modi has been campaigning around the country whereas there was still confusion regarding Cong's leader for 2014. Besides, MMS saying what he did about Rahul in his press conference is a sign that Rahul will be named the PM candidate soon. There has been speculation that Rahul will be named the PM candidate in the AICC meeting on Jan17/18.
Actually, they could not try and make a worse decision. If Rahul is indeed announced as a PM candidate on this one, it could very well be last we see of him. I would rather have them throw Chidambaram into the mix. Not sure, he would be flattered.