Janata Parivar II

Texan

Also in the case of Nitish kumar, his entire economic model was taking funds from the centre and spending it in Bihar. While i dont think he is corrupt (by Indian political standards). A big state like Bihar cannot go on forever looking at handouts from the centre. It needs to attract FDI etc on its own merit. Thats a big question even the BJP needs to answer. Obviously law and order needs to be fixed. But how exactly are you going to stimulate the private sector in your state? I am sure the centre will invest in infra projects like buildings highways and express-ways in the state as a priority but with 80 million plus people Bihar needs a plan on its own. Regardless of what you think about the politics of the BJP, the Janata pariwar does not know how to handle the economy. Even the congress would be better. Both UP and Bihar would be better off if they were two party states between the congress and the bjp
Yep......absolutely...... SEZ's need to be set up to incentivize investment.......I believe an IT park was to be set-up in Patna........but nothing came of it really.......

^ thats the thing. Which IT professionals want to move to Bihar from say Bangalore or even UP. I am not trying to be racist but Bihar would be at the bottom of many people liveability index. You look at china and when the coastal cities got expensive production moved inland. It seems with India when mumbai bangalore A'bad get expensive firms tend to leave India. Maybe Bihar needs to set focus on IT education whereby local biharis living in Bihar will fill the jobs of say a BPO.

'Reluctant' Mulayam Singh Yadav triggers jitters in Janata Parivar

It seems the Janata Parivar is going nowhere. With Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav dilly-dallying on several counts concerning the Parivar, the smaller partners are unhappy. Mulayam's alleged whims have annoyed many, especially Sharad Yadav of the Janata Dal (United), H.D. Deve Gowda of the Janata Dal (Secular) and Dushyant Chautala of the Indian National Lok Dal. When the idea of the Parivar- an amalgamation of the parties that once belonged to the Janata Dal-was floated, it was decided by Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Lalu Prasad that Mulayam would be authorised to take decisions regarding the Parivar. But since then, Mulayam has been showing subtle reluctance regarding merger of the different outfits into the proposed Parivar, including his own party. As a result, the smaller partners are thoroughly displeased. That Mulayam is trying to keep his pound of flesh intact in this politics of alliance was more than clear when he shifted the responsibility of merger on Bihar. "Let the merger happen in Bihar first. Then only I'll think in this direction," Mulayam was quoted as saying to his party leaders a few days back. Although Lalu doesn't mind humouring Mulayam, he has a problem regarding the merger with the JD(U) in Bihar. While Sharad Yadav on Tuesday said that they were seriously toying with the idea of merger, Lalu said it was a meaningless idea. "You cannot understand the meaning of Sharad Yadav's statement in 100 years. First this merger, and later on some other merger… What is this merger? There is nothing like that," Lalu said. He was apparently trying to say that there would be need for a series of mergers which was impractical. Interestingly, when Lalu had arrived in Lucknow in December he had said, "The alliance of the Janata Parivar would be stronger than cement. The BJP benefited because we were fragmented. The communal forces took over the country. But our political alliance will send across a good message. We will bring under this Janata Parivar banner other smaller parties as well, and Netaji Mulayam would be empowered to take the decisions," he had said even before discussing the alliance with other partners. A senior SP leader told Mail Today, "Mulayam and Lalu had thought that they would lead the Janata Parivar and the smaller parties would accept all the decisions which Mulayam would take. However, such an arrangement was not acceptable to the smaller partners in the Parivar." And that has led to the current imbroglio and observers say it is unlikely that the Janata Parivar flight is going to take off.
Read more at: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/mulayam-singh-yadav-triggers-jitters-in-janata-parivar/1/413323.html

Nitish stands diminished in new Janata Parivar

Patna: Widely seen as the most vocal critic of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP until now, Nitish Kumar today appears isolated on his own turf with RJD strongman Lalu Prasad literally hijacking the grand Janata Parivar agenda from the former Bihar CM whom he has always called his "younger brother". That Lalu has overtaken Nitish in the hierarchy within the proposed socialist alliance was clear from the response Lalu drew from JD (U) functionaries during Makar Sankranti celebrations on Wednesday. It's a turn events that could significantly impinge on the final contours of the latest socialist behemoth. Almost all ministers, the Speaker, and JD (U) MLAs called on Lalu on Thursday as he hosted a get-together exclusively for Muslims at his residence while Nitish said he was too sick to join the gala. He was unwell for Lalu's Makar Sankranti lunch too the previous day, which was well attended by JD (U) MLAs. Lalu said he has proposed the socialist grand alliance to protect the unity of India, and that those conspiring against Muslims would get a fitting reply by the new alliance. He defended the delay in formation of the new conglomerate comprising six socialist parties saying, "Hadbadi ka result gadbad hota hai (haste in such matters messes up things)." Nitish and JD (U) chief Sharad Yadav - who were desperate to seal the deal and had declared an RJD-JD (U) merger this week - were hugely disappointed when Lalu interjected saying there couldn't be piecemeal merger with two parties coming together now and the rest later. Lalu also warned JD (U) bosses that any statement on the merger by anybody other than SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav would be seen as an act of indiscipline. Today, Lalu and Mulayam are taking all the decisions and Nitish, who stayed in New Delhi for four days last week, returned empty-handed. Mulayam and Lalu have now emerged as the leading anti-Modi regional heavyweights. Worsening Kumar's troubles, Lalu jumped to the defence of Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi who's facing hostile JD (U) ministers and MLAs still loyal to Nitish. On Wednesday, Lalu displayed great courtesy to Manjhi confirming the Mahadalit CM enjoys his confidence more than Nitish's. "Call him chief minister Manjhiji, not Jitan Ram Manjhi," Lalu told reporters in the course of a presser. He is keeping Manjhi in good humour and projecting him as a Mahadalit with socialist credentials and adding Dalits to his political stable, and simultaneously reviving his MY combination. Nitish can't match the combined resources of Lalu and Mulayam, both of who are backed by the rich who believe they have a future. Political observes here see a Lalu versus BJP duel later this year in Bihar.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/patna/Nitish-stands-diminished-in-new-Janata-Parivar/articleshow/45903338.cms

I think we may see Nitish kumar quitting politics soon. He has had a good run. CM for 8 years in total and important posts in the central government for 4-5 years. That can be considered a success overall. Many have achieved much less.

He won't quit. Lalu is barred from polls for 5 more years so if the Janta Pariwar does get together, Nitish will be the CM candidate in Bihar.

He won't quit. Lalu is barred from polls for 5 more years so if the Janta Pariwar does get together' date=' Nitish will be the CM candidate in Bihar.[/quote'] Laloo is calling shots now as he got a matrimonial tie up with Mullayam.

He won't quit. Lalu is barred from polls for 5 more years so if the Janta Pariwar does get together' date=' Nitish will be the CM candidate in Bihar.[/quote'] when you have Rabdi devi who needs Nitish? or even for that matter Sharad Yadav will have a better chance than Nitish I guess it all depends what % of Nitish loyal MLAs (said to be about 70) and what % loyal on Lalu (said to be about 50 odd) If they get into power.

when you have Rabdi devi who needs Nitish? or even for that matter Sharad Yadav will have a better chance than Nitish I guess it all depends what % of Nitish loyal MLAs (said to be about 70) and what % loyal on Lalu (said to be about 50 odd) If they get into power.
Nopes. They need a mass leader to be the CM candidate to really challenge BJP+LJP and there are only 2 mass leaders from Bihar in the Janata Parivar - Nitish and Lalu.

you think the bjp are going to project a CM candidate? it will be Modi + collective leadership. The Jd(u) RJD Congress alliance will go down the same route with maybe Mulayam Singh Yadav Campaigning. Post elections it will be Nitish v Lalioo internally.

Whether BJP announces a cm candidate or not, everybody knows that it will be Sushil Modi. Mulayam Singh has almost zero influence in Bihar. He will become the Prez of the new Janata Parivar but it will have to be someone from Bihar to lead the campaign there.

is any law stopping Laloo from leading the campaign? you think the Bihari populace (or for that matter any indian state) is smart enough to know he cant become CM for the next 5 years?

He has been indicted by the court, has had to resign as MP and cannot contest for 5 years - you think Modi/Shah will not use all this if he leads the campaign? The people of Bihar may not know that he cannot contest but rest assured that BJP will use every possible means to let them know if he leads the campaign. In fact I hope Lalu does lead the campaign because if he does, BJP will make him the entire issue and destroy the Janata Parivar.