Yorkshire Pujara Watch/County Cricket 2015 Thread

G_B_

saw a funny tweet-Pujara heads for county stint while everyone else is partying at #IPL. He is like that lonely kid who used to study during summer vacations.' date=',,,,,[/quote'] more like he is going to tuition and other guys are going for playing :giggle:

though must hurt not have any bids from any IPL teams I remember Badrinath in similar situation, but Pujara an established Test player in his prime playing age being rejected by IPL is a strong signal as any to future cricketers in India that being a Test specialist is not the way forward.

the solution for the BCCI is to create a special test only contract level and pay these test specialists handsomely at about 5 crore a year. Must be a handful of players. You need to provide incentive people to get into test cricket. Even with Rahane there is a chance he wont work out in the limited overs for India but will continue to get IPL bids based on what he has done for RR. Maybe the BCCI need to step in and say ok, as a test specialist you get 5 crore. This gives Rahane an incentive to work hard on his test game. In a way i am happy Che atleast got a big bid from RCB and has earn some good money for a couple of seasons.

yeah that as well. I think he barely must be getting 25 lakh from yorkshire. Better than sitting at home but not exactly a great pay day. His basic salary with India is 79,000 usd for a grade B contract, plus appearance bonuses for tests. Plus ranji team appearances and he probably earns about $200-$250k. The least India can do is bump him upto a grade A contract so that he can earn another 100k Thats a poor rate of return for a promising test talent.

:dance:
the solution for the BCCI is to create a special test only contract level and pay these test specialists handsomely at about 5 crore a year. Must be a handful of players. You need to provide incentive people to get into test cricket. Even with Rahane there is a chance he wont work out in the limited overs for India but will continue to get IPL bids based on what he has done for RR. Maybe the BCCI need to step in and say ok, as a test specialist you get 5 crore. This gives Rahane an incentive to work hard on his test game. In a way i am happy Che atleast got a big bid from RCB and has earn some good money for a couple of seasons.

I understand you play cricket for passion , country etc. But when you look at player in your age group rake in millions and you don't , it must be heart breaking. It is quiet natural. But he has done the best thing that he can do. Unless Pujara suddenly turns into a six hitting bully , i don't see him having any scope in the IPL. As G_B said Test specialists should have some incentives.

I hope people are ready to quantify for good is as well batting at 3 for example in early april when the ball swings heavily means even a 60 ball 20 taking the shine of the new ball is a big big hand in letting the lesser batsman make hay when the new ball loses its shine. I dont want people to simply look at the scorecard and say oh he just scored 20 runs. Look at the context.