What killed my son?

FischerTal

shared on FB by Adv Archana N. Ahirejawalkar

What killed my son? - At Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital I'm beginning to get the chills as I begin to write the story of the horrific night followed by even worst a day at Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital. "What happened to my son?" is the question that still haunts me (Archana Jawalkar- mother) & my family; it is also the reason for sleepless nights till date. On 26th Feb 2015 at around 2:30am we were informed of a sudden unpredicted demise of my 3year old son (Arnav Jawalkar) by the hospital authorities, what followed was a nightmare for any parents. I'm writing this to get answers, from the hospital, from the nurses and the doctors who were present at the time (so far the answers I have got don't make any sense and contradict one another). Arnav was admitted to KDAH on 3rd Feb 2015 as he suffered from what was diagnosed as sever pneumonia at "Children's Hospital" (later confirmed by KDAH as H1N1) and was critical hence admitted to the PICU unit on the 8th floor of the building. We were at the hospital 24/7 waiting to hear something positive from the doctors. Over a few days the doctors informed that his condition is getting better as the blood and x-ray reports were satisfactory (compared to day of admission) and doctor confirmed the pressure on the ventilator too was decreasing (Which means he was able to then breath on his own). On the night of 25th Feb, my husband Arjun Jawalkar was with him in PICU watching TV (Chota Bheem) and left to go to the washroom. Upon his return he was shocked to see our son lying unconscious on the bed (half turned) and without the non-invasive mask and a nurse standing in a corner of the room. Arjun: "Ventilator mask was not there, I ran to inform the doctor Dr. Saleha who was on shift but not available to attend, I then got to know that she was sleeping in the bunker room. So I ran towards doctors' room (Bunker room) where I found her and told her about Arnav's condition. Doctor and some nurse then went to attend Arnav and in some time the doctor came up to me to inform we couldn't save him. Dr. Preetha Joshi said it was unexpected." Doctors used to put Arnav on sedation at night so that he can sleep well. On the night of 25th Feb, they did not give him the sedation, sister was trying to get Arnav to sleep but he wasn't getting any sleep so sister decided to get him to sleep on his stomach (not good for an asthmatic child) and started patting on his back (Even more dangerous for him) I even asked sister to put him on sedation instead which she did not. The reports that were handed over to us state the reason for demise as ARDS (Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome) & sever pneumonia however it was shocking to read the article in newspaper after few days which read the reason for demise was H1N1 (swine flu). Base of suspicion of negligence- When my husband (Arjun) returned from the washroom to see Arnav lying unconscious on the bed there was also a nurse standing in the corner of the room and did not move at all to call the doctor (looked in shock) Why wasn't there a doctor available in PICU? Why isn't there a CCTV camera in PICU? Why are doctors lying to us now- Archana (mother) asked Dr. Saleha why was Arnav made to sleep on his stomach to which Dr. Saleha responded saying it's impossible to do that however Arjun was present when this happened. Why is hospital not allowing the parents to meet the sister to confront her of her actions Did I lose my son to a sister's negligence or is it because the doctor was not available at the right time or is it the hospital authorities who did not have enough staff to attend to patients in PICU? Surprisingly there are no cameras in the PICU and the sister who last attended my son has been acting very suspicious as she openly denied the fact that she did turn Arnav on his stomach and pat on his back to get him to sleep. I don't know what happened to my son or what killed my son but definitely see a whole lot of mess at Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital which needs an immediate fix. Yours truly, Archana Jawalkar (Mother of late Arnav Jawalkar)... guys share the post...
RIP.

Medical care in India is really worse. Doctors treat patients for a disease they don't even have. This has happened to friend of mine. Most of the Doctors and hospitals in India are just vultures who mint money acting as if they are treating patients even after they are dead.

Familiar story . In India there are almost no consequences for gross medical negligence . It is an uphill battle for the devastated families.
Probably it happens in any country that certain doctors r insensitive and look to extract Max. money from the patient. But issue in India, as in many developing countries is that of lack of hospitals (beds doctors nursing staff etc). Kerala's nurses are very very good nurses.

I feel the disappointment for the doctors who actually work hard and fair to help patients but The whole hospital environment in India is so corrupt that it takes lot of toll on the patient and their families even if it hospital has world class doctors. No wonder it has become a topic even in movies too since these things happen on daily basis.

Unless you go to a reputed doctor, it is hard to trust doctors in general in India. I will give you a few examples for my own experience: Examples of when I was studying in another city: a) I had a knee sprain. One doctor told me that there was blood clotting in my legs and I had to come to him every week or so so that he could remove the blood which would contain the swelling. Unsatisfied with his version of diagnosis, I went to see another doctor who knew that this was a sprain. I told him about what the other doctor said about blood clotting and this doctor's eyes lit up. He said "yeah, I will remove the blood now and it will cost ....". Finally, I went home to the family doctor who gave the right advise, medicine and exercising schedule. b) I had a bad sore throat. It was very hard for me to speak or eat. I went to see some doctor. His cabin had a huge vessel filled with used syringes. I wondered why he has so many syringes in his office, and soon found the answer. He told me that I lack vitamin B or C and he will give me a few injections. Suddenly, it stuck me that the doctor is recycling those needles and selling them (which could be unhygienic and risky for the patients using these needles). These doctors had the courage to do this to people who could potentially catch their game so imagine what they must be doing to those who see doctors as Gods! And it is not just doctors, even many pharmacies keep fake / duplicate medicines. I recall a major pharmacy in the city was busted (may be the owners forgot to give bribes). Let's not talk about factories that make such medicines. Even beyond the medical field, we find such incidences whether it is adulteration of food,milk, etc. Add the dimension of crime against kids, women, etc. Then look at what is happening in Ind's neighborhood such as Pakistan. Look at all the dirtiness and corruption around. And it would appear as if the entire subcontinent lacks morals where people don't feel responsible or accountable to the community.

^u think there aren't exploitative doctors in each n every part of the world?:haha: There are good doctors as well as bad doctors everywhere(including in Canada of course) doctors in developing countries are working in more challenging conditions which also has to be respected.

I understand that but I feel that more bad apples are likely to be in the subcon, which is why I gave other examples as well :P In Canada, basis diagnosis /primary healthcare is free (through government) and you only pay for medicines (which in most cases is covered by insurance) .... Even experienced doctors who immigrate to Canada have to give exams (and probably study again) before they can practise. Health care is highly regulated in Canada, whereby increasing the chances of having more qualified and accountable (since so much is on the line) doctors

Ask those doctors to work in developing nations, study their work ethic n morality over a longer period and then give ur comparative analysis. Many many Indian doctors practice in the US, their morality n work ethic doesn't change just by crossing the 7 seas. It changes due to the working conditions. When I broke my leg, one greedy doctor told me he will have to insert a rod in the leg. The other said it will be fine just by doing a plaster. That was in India though It is always better to take 2 opinions i would say even in a developed country

First you started out by suggesting that there are good and bad doctors everywhere .... Now by suggesting that the doctors from developed nations work in developing nations, you are agreeing that the standards (and possibly morals) in Ind (and subcon) are low (more bad apples), which is the topic of this thread and what many are pointing out I don't completely agree with your point on doctors from developed countries have to work in developing countries to be judged as I am sure you would agree that an Indian soldier be as devoted to his country as his counterpart in the developed countries. Just because India is a developing country, one wouldn't expect its soldiers to sell out easily vs. others. Similarly, one would expect high standards from "professionals" such as doctors as well :--D

I am saying a patients' experience on avaerge is directly proportional to the average working conditions( relative pay, number of patients to be examined daily, hospital , doctors' helpers etc). The perceived diff. in work ethic is directly attributable to working conditions. If u bring Canadian docs to have them work in place of Indian docs, ur opinion will on them will be same as ur opinion on Indian doctors.

Let's extend this discussion to other professions. When I was growing up, my family was involved in a legal battle. We had hired arguably the best lawyer in town to represent us. As is the case in India, the issue was settled outside the court. We had to give away more than we should have but we wanted to move on. Years later, my family decided to forget the past and were friends again with the family it battled. The other family revealed to us that it was paying our lawyer too. And that he did not represent us honestly. This lawyer, now dead, took lakhs of rupees from us (gave him whatever he had asked), and still he had to sell out to the other family. Now if one cannot even trust arguably the best lawyer in your town, who can you? :((

I am saying a patients' experience on avaerge is directly proportional to the average working conditions( relative pay' date=' number of patients to be examined daily, hospital , doctors' helpers etc). The perceived diff. in work ethic is directly attributable to working conditions. If u bring Canadian docs to have them work in place of Indian docs, ur opinion will on them will be same as ur opinion on Indian doctors.[/quote'] False diagnosis on purpose (cheating) / negligence is neither acceptable nor defend able

Let's extend this discussion to other professions. When I was growing up, my family was involved in a legal battle. We had hired arguable the best lawyer in town to represent us. As is the case in India, the issue was settled outside the court. We had to give away more than we should have but we wanted to move on. Years later, my family decided to forget the past and were friends again with the family it battled. The other family revealed to us that it was paying our lawyer too. And that he did not represent us honestly. This guy, now dead, took lakhs of rupees from us, and still he had to sell out to the other family. Now if one cannot even trust arguable the best lawyer in your town, who can you? :((
I don't have a high opinion on lawyers' profession. They defend their client often knowing that he did commit the crime. Regarding doctors, I accept there's no defense for cheating etc, but I'd rather talk on improving work conditions (less no. of patients per doc, better pay esp. for those who serve in rural areas, better hospitals etc)

Regarding doctors, I accept there's no defense for cheating etc, but I'd rather talk on improving work conditions (less no. of patients per doc, better pay esp. for those who serve in rural areas, better hospitals etc)
Agree that a better health care infrastructure needs to be in place throughout India .... However, this topic is more about doctors/hospitals cheating or showing negligence despite having access to relatively better resources and income. Unless you believe that hospitals such as Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani, along with doctors who set up their own hospitals/clinics, are inadequate too

Agree that a better health care infrastructure needs to be in place throughout India .... However' date=' this topic is more about doctors/hospitals cheating or showing negligence despite having access to relatively better resources and income. Unless you believe that hospitals such as Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani, along with doctors who set up their own hospitals/clinics, are inadequate too[/quote'] In India, u will get the best service in the world if u got the money. Private hospitals like fortis , medanta, Apollo(I assume kokilaben hospital too) etc are quite good if one can afford them or have insurance. So this one seems to be a one-off case IMO.

Let's extend this discussion to other professions. When I was growing up, my family was involved in a legal battle. We had hired arguably the best lawyer in town to represent us. As is the case in India, the issue was settled outside the court. We had to give away more than we should have but we wanted to move on. Years later, my family decided to forget the past and were friends again with the family it battled. The other family revealed to us that it was paying our lawyer too. And that he did not represent us honestly. This lawyer, now dead, took lakhs of rupees from us (gave him whatever he had asked), and still he had to sell out to the other family. Now if one cannot even trust arguably the best lawyer in your town, who can you? :((
similar problems......

There are plenty of good doctors in india. recently my brother went for lasik surgery , he was very confused about going for femto or conventional. The cost of femto is 85k and conventional 35k .Even after studying internet and asking his friends he was unable to decide and left it to doctor who said that if you even have 1% about money then go for conventional . Though my brother could have easily paid 85k doctor in the end said go for conventional . It is now 1 month and he is very satisfied with results

In India' date= u will get the best service in the world if u got the money. Private hospitals like fortis , medanta, Apollo(I assume kokilaben hospital too) etc are quite good if one can afford them or have insurance.
Even if you can afford the the so-called best pvt corporate hospitals in India (the names you mentioned) , you may end up getting substandard care. I once encountered an infectious disease specialist who had returned from the USA to work in a top corporate Multispeciality hospital in India , he was questioning the terrible standards of the ICU in this hospital and commented how Pvt hospitals in India were averse to revealing data to researchers on hospital acquired infections .
So this one seems to be a one-off case IMO.
Cases of gross medical negligence are innumerable in India . Most people are not able to fight the cases after a tragedy because they may not be able to get the professional and legal help required to prove medical negligence , also the redressal mechanism takes years . The Patients or their survivors are often advised by lawyers not to pursue a criminal case but approach the consumer courts instead. Only last month after 13 years , " National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (NCDRC) has directed the Indraprastha Apollo hospital and a gynaecologist associated with the hospital to pay Rs 1 crore as compensation to a couple for the disability and eventual death of their daughter due to “substandard care during labourâ€. ".

My Mom was having some discomfort/pain in her ear so she stopped at Max hospital in Saket, Delhi. The specialist suggested that she immediately gets a minor surgery done which shall take 20-30mins. When my Mom said that she would want to call her family/husband then the doctor said "if they cared about you, they'd be here now. You are getting the surgery now". Mom said that she will be back as she will send the driver home and got out. She didnt have ANYTHING wrong with her ear, she saw family doctor who said that the pain was from her traveling on a plane a month ago(probably) and as expected it went away. I am talking about Max hospital in New Delhi, I wonder what happens elsewhere.