Crime against women in India | Discussion thread

Detonator

http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Delhi/delhi-is-now-indias-rape-capital-show-ncrb-data/article7554551.ece Is there any way out?? Delhi might need another MISA it seems Infact, Delhi tops in almost every crime among other cities. http://ncrb.gov.in/CD-CII2014/CII_2014_Tables/FILES/Table%202.2.pdf P.S: Chennai tops in counterfeit currency usage and road rages :facepalm:

Edited by BeautifulGame

less than half of the cases reported in London last year -

There was also a 31 per cent jump in the number of rapes reported in London — 4,170 in the last year, compared to 3,168 over the previous 12 months.
http://www.standard.co.uk/news/crime/london-crime-falls-overall-as-rape-reports-rise-new-figures-show-9274930.html Rapes in Delhi or in any other city in India is not high relatively speaking. Yes there would probably be more unreported cases in Delhi than in London but lots of cases actually are being reported these days with new awareness.

cognizable crime in UP 113 per lakh ' date=' delhi 767. Joke of stats. How many delhites want to shift to UP , ?[/quote'] all southies posting in the thread might wanna shift to UP since it has less than half the crime rate compared to any south indian state.

This actually is quite indicative of what I have seen and witnessed. South Indians (common man) are usually too afraid to report crime to police because they are scared of the people in power who own police. Even sadakchaap members of political parties get away with so much stuff just because they represent some Amma's or Anna's party. UP is the same(a lot worse actually). In Delhi however, no one gives a damn. The police is quite neutral, and people are not hopeless about visiting them.

That is one way of accepting the reality :cantstop: . South Indians are too afraid? :hysterical:

'Reality' - for you it may mean Delhi has more crime rate than UP based on these stats. But with due respect, if u believe that you have no clue.:giggle:

'Reality' - for you it may mean Delhi has more crime rate than UP based on these stats. But with due respect' date=' if u believe that you have no clue.:giggle:[/quote'] NOt just these stats. there are several studies that supported. Just because in UP people are not reporting.. that is not the same with TN.

NOt just these stats. there are several studies that supported. Just because in UP people are not reporting.. that is not the same with TN.
Just because a state is better doesn't mean Delhi is bad compared to world standards. It is possible for an Indian state to have the lowest crime rate in the world for ex.

There might be worse in under-developed , war torn countries. That is not exactly a record to be proud of.

There might be worse in under-developed ' date=' war torn countries. That is not exactly a record to be proud of.[/quote'] It seems you did not get my point. Where does the question of being proud or not come? Here's the comparison with - New york 2014 crime data (per lac)- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crime_in_New_York_City Homicide: 4.0 Forcible rape: 14.0 Robbery: 243.7 Aggravated assault: 376.5 Total Violent crime: 639.3 Burglary: 224.8 Larceny-theft: 1,398.6 Motor vehicle theft: 98.8 Arson: n/a Total Property crime: 1,722.2 Delhi http://ncrb.gov.in/CD-CII2014/CII_2014_Tables/FILES/Table%202.2.pdf - Homicide - 2.9 Rape - 11.1 Kidnapping & Abduction - 36.9 Robbery - 35.8 Total theft - 440.9 Total Cognizable IPC Crimes - 856.3 In big cities, there are going to people coming and going from different parts of the country and world. population at any point is more than whats reported. Also, Crime Reporting percentage is more due to awareness. Delhi is doing pretty decent compared to a famous developed-world city that is New york, atleast in reported crimes.

Yeah, there is too much political hegemony in certain Southern states which has turned the police department into one of the most corrupt and incompetent I have seen in this country. Police don't dare touch powerful people or their tattus. Whereas in Delhi, no matter who you are (be it Kejriwal or Sheila Dixit), if you mess with police, you get a danda in your pichwara, there is no getting away.

Nothing to do with political. Rape culture is less in TN . Even among south states chennai and TN cities has very less reports. After the eve teasing incident of Sarika in the 90s they completely stepped up in implementing the laws against eve teasers. You could see women cops catching perpetrators all the time in plain clothes. Police vigils massively stepped up in the night. How many lady cops there are in delhi.. There are plenty in TN. Just because Delhi police force is incompetent doesn't mean others are the same way. There is no city without crime. But where it differs is what the government does about it instead of saying "I don't even feel safe about my daughter"