Jump to content
Jersey #10

Gujarat Lions

Recommended Posts

We'll be alright. This is a perfect time to have a slump. Guess what? peaks come after troughs. We need to win only 2 more games to make the playoffs. We'll peak again at the right time.

 

Expect us in the playoffs and potentially beyond.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lions take a relatively long break and will play their next game on May 14th 

 

  • Sat May 14 (20 ovs)16:00 local (10:30 GMT | 06:30 EDT | 05:30 CDT | 03:30 PDT)
    44th match - Royal Challengers Bangalore v Gujarat LionsM Chinnaswamy Stadium, BangaloreLIVE D/N
    N/A
  • Thu May 19 (20 ovs)20:00 local (14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
    51st match - Gujarat Lions v Kolkata Knight RidersGreen Park, KanpurLIVE N
    N/A
  • Sat May 21 (20 ovs)20:00 local (14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
    54th match - Gujarat Lions v Mumbai IndiansGreen Park, KanpurLIVE N
    N/A

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Potential changes 

  • Faulkner in place of Bravo who is probably neither batting or bowling well. At least Faulkner could potentially bowl relatively better 
  • Depending up on surface, Sangwan in place of Tambe 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I really liked the way Dwivedi(sorry for the spelling) played. He was not overwhelmed by the occasion and was super confident. Played some really good shots. It is a pity that he has not got any opportunity to showcase his talent as he is playing for Gujarat and they have an established top order, so not their fault. Had he played for a team like Delhi, I am sure he would have got lot more chances. Hope  to see this guy's batting in future 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 wins required to get the title .... Lions can do it as it is used to winning games on the trot 

 

11 (no low quality spinners unless pitch demands) 

 

B Mac

Finch 

Dweidi (does not look like someone who likes to waste balls - no pun intended)

Smith

Raina

Karthik 

Faulkner / Steyn(at least will bowl better than Bravo)

Jadeja

D Kul

PK

Sangwan / Spinner / just a good fielder 

 

 

 

 

Edited by rett

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Likely first-choice XI

Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Smith, Aaron Finch, Suresh Raina (capt), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Ishan Kishan, James Faulkner, Praveen Kumar, Shadab Jakati, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shivil Kaushik

 

Reserves

Batsmen - Jason Roy, Chirag Suri, Jaydev Shah, Pratham Singh

Bowlers - Andrew Tye, Manpreet Gony, Munaf Patel, Pradeep Sangwan, Nathu Singh, Basil Thampi, Shelley Shaurya, Tejas Baroka

Allrounders - Dwayne Bravo, Shubham Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshdeep Nath

 

I don't like the 11 on cricinfo.

I prefer:

1)Bmac

2)Smith

3)Raina

4)Roy

5)Finch

6)Karthik

7)Dhaval

8)Nathu

9)Thampi

10)Kaushik

11)Praveen

 

Batting = Murderer's row

Bowling= hope the youngsters Nathu and Thampi perform well.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, zen said:

Wonder what an all Gujju 11 would look like  

 

 

 

Pujara(Saurashtra)

Parthiv Patel(Gujarat)

Yusuf Pathan(Baroda)

D. Hooda (Baroda)

H. Pandya (Baroda)

Irfan Pathan (Baroda)

K.Pandya (Baroda)

Axar Patel (Gujarat)

Jadeja (Saurashtra)

Bumrah (Gujarat)

Unadkat(Saurashtra)

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Playing wrong side and should have bought Tahir ,epevially considering lack of any quality spionner apart from Jadeja.Showed too much faith on rookies like Kushik and Baroka.

Roy

Kishan

Finch

Raina

Karthik

Jadeja(whenever he joins)

Bravo/Smith

Faulkner

Kulkarni

another spinner

any domestic seamer

 

This team atleast looks balanced.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another bad loss so things can't get any more worse .... Raina would have to pull up his socks on both his batting and captaincy. Could be better batting in the middle order rather than in the top order 

 

Assuming everyone is fit, below should be the 11 that can bring the Lions back to the winning ways: 

 

* Smith

* BMac

* Finch

* Karthik

* Raina 

* Bravo / Flaukner 

* Jadeja

* Spinner

* Thambi

* Nathu 

* PK / Kulkarni / .... 

 

^ The above 11 can win a few games and a few hearts 

 

Edited by zen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have to say their management is lunatic.They have wasted or under utilized a current international star like Roy.Though Mccllum played well in last two innings,its funny how they have relied on over the hill batsman as well as bowlers for success.They need Bravo back asap.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, BCCI said:

I have to say their management is lunatic.They have wasted or under utilized a current international star like Roy.Though Mccllum played well in last two innings,its funny how they have relied on over the hill batsman as well as bowlers for success.They need Bravo back asap.

 

Smith and McCullum are one of the most dynamic, successful opening partnerships in the IPL. The Lions were table toppers last season only, with the same opening combination. They are missing Bravo to injury and didn't retain Tambe, which was a mistake. 

 

Their auction was dumb, as they should have targeted a good Indian spinner or Rabada. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Guest, sign in to access all features.

×