EPIC rants on Pune Rising Super Giants

Texy

From Reddit: 

This entire Pune Rising SuperGiants team is a marketing disaster. It is so morbidly abominable.
For starters, the stupid stupid name. Rising Pune Super Giants. Did you randomly pull out words from a hat and just went with whatever you got? Its poopycockiness is accentuated by the fact that it is a piss poor attempt to match the initials of the group that owns the team. It has absolutely no identity.

Next is the stupid logo. Even I could have made that. It is so cringe worthy and frankly juvenile. It has absolutely no identity. And it doesn't even have any characteristics even remotely related to the name.

And if all of that wasn't enough, now we have got the jersey. An ugly, repulsive, hideous manifestation of all that is wrong with this team. A crime against the eyes. It is said that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but I think the beholder would have to be blind to consider this thing beautiful. And it just happens to have the same color scheme as the business attire of the group. This entire franchise is just a shoddy marketing stunt for the owners. They had the opportunity to create something beautiful, something new, something innovative. But no, they treated this as advertisement space. It is so sickeningly schizophrenic. Such a desultory waste.

Rising Pune SuperGiants are awesome and I'll tell you why.

Lets start with the name. RISING PUNE SUPERGIANTS. What a name it is. Apparently it was inspired by the initials of the owner, which has to be the most egotistical thing in Franchise Cricket history. Clearly the goal was to sound like the Chennai SuperKings, but instead of choosing royalty, they chose to be Giants. And they are Rising. Maybe from the dead. Like Zombies. And how can you not support a team of Zombie Giants? Zombie SuperGiants at that.

Then there is the squad. Such a meme squad. You have the Rahane/Ashwin combo, MSD as captain, The People's Champ Steven Smith, Irfan Pathan making another comeback, swing sensation Chahar, meme Indian fast bowlers Ishant, Dinda, and RP, the triumphant return of the forgotten Ishwar Pandey, memefully awful Scott Boland, a Marsh brother, the misunderstood and dramatic T20 mercenary Kevin Pietersen, meme T20 utility man Rajat Bhatia, runs-out-people-with-his-nose Zampa, SL's meme big-hitting fast-bowling non-rounder Thissara Perera, and Faf duck Plessis. It's an incredible collection of stars and spuds.

They even have M Ashwin - your meme undiscovered Indian T20 specialist plucked out of obscurity for a crazy amount of money.

And on top of that, they have just signed Saurabh Tiwary and Albie Morkel - two quintessential T20 IPL 'stars', neither of whom have actually had any prolonged success, but continue to make people believe they are perfectly suited for the format.

And to wrap it all off - check out their kit. Purple, pink, a splash of yellow, and a logo designed by a 15 year old who just discovered he can download Photoshop Pro on Bitorrent and decided he wants to be a graphic designer.

The truest observation that I have found applying to Indians - Indians have no concept of aesthetics. Which is why they cannot design to save their lives and our modern buildings are an incoherent architectural mess. Our cars, trucks, movies and music videos - they all look gawdy, overdone and ugly. People buy iPhones in India, because it is the hip thing to have - not because of their design. In fact I cannot remember a single major Indian origin product that came out in my own lifetime with even a coherent design principle.

I think that jugaad is slightly to blame for this, but at the core of it all it is a very ugly mirror to our inner baniyamentality, which judges everything by the kitna deti hai standard without any appreciation for beauty or details.

:hail: :hail::hail: 

On 2/16/2016 at 0:02 PM, Texy said:

CbRDCOoUUAEQX9Q.jpg

WTF is this? Looks like random gay colors took a shit together. 

Like the name is all inclusive, the jersey is all inclusive too: 

Yellow: Chennai Super Kings for MSD

Purple: Quetta gladiators for KP 

Pink: Sydney Sixers for Steve Smith.