World cup almost over for India

Stuge

I was talking about ODIs-closest thing to T20.

It can also be argued that in terms of strategy, T20 is closer to tests too as a team needs to be more attacking in its approach to win 

So if you are taking about formats, Ind has not played Pak in T20 at Kol. If you combine all formats, Ind has won a game so it is not like Ind has never beaten Pak before 

Let's not cherry pick to suit our needs 

Bhai keep calm. No need for any calculations. If India looses to Pakistan its game over for these losers.

Otherwise they have to win all the 5 matches to win the cup.

3 teams can still be tied on NRR. So, not just winning, but winning one by a big margin may become necessary.

To get in to positive NRR situation, below is what is required (roughly):

47/3 = approx. 16 runs per game

a) Win games by 20 runs

b) Win games by chasing in 17-18 overs (assuming that RRR at the start would be around 8 to 10) 

Or have one big win where Ind wins by 50 runs or chases in 15-16 overs

Edited by rett

To get in to positive NRR situation, below is what is required (roughly):

47/3 = approx. 16 runs per game

a) Win games by 20 runs

b) Win games by chasing in 17-18 overs (assuming that RRR at the start would be around 8 to 10) 

If we are chasing less than 8 an over target, is the number of overs reduced?

It would depend up on the target. If it is 140 odd, we can probably do it in 17 overs 

Chasing anything less, it would be in Ind's interested to get it as soon as possible if conditions allow 

NRR is basically out of out hands unless we get a big win in one of the games where we win by 50 runs or chase in 15-16 overs 

It is more beneficial that a scenario happens where Ind can qualify based on number of wins alone

Edited by rett

NRR is basically out of out hands unless we get a big win in one of the games where we win by 50 runs or chase in 15-16 overs 

It is more beneficial that a scenario happens where Ind can qualify based on number of wins alone

And that happens if two teams including India are stuck at 3 and the rest at 2 and 0 wins. Correct?

Yeah something like that .... NZ can win all 4 though with Ind at 3 .... If Aus or Pak win all four then other teams would have to lose 2, and Ind would have to win 3

Edited by rett

O Bhai log... Being positive is all right but don't discount the fact that you need aggressive cricket from Dhoni and his team... Aggressiveness and Dhoni doesn't goes hand in hand... Defensive mindset has its limitations...

Haha. Right.

I am trying to be as positive as I can but after Pak-Bangla match somewhere I do get this feeling ki hamari already lag chuki hai. :laugh:

Ind best chance is probably on 19th as Pak is mercurial. 

Who knows, if they bat first, they might try to get 200 again and get all out for 120. Ind can chase that in 15 overs to get a NRR of 2 out of that game

or

Ind gets 200. And Pak slogs to end up with 130 odd. Giving Ind a NRR of 3 out of that game 

:cantstop: