Dhoni : The ultimate T20 player

sourab10forever

Looks like 8(22) is not just the slowest innings of this IPL. It is the slowest innings of all IPLs.

From cricinfo ..

• MS Dhoni's strike rate of 36.36 in his 22-ball knock of 8* against Knight Riders is the lowest in any IPL innings of over 20 balls.
Edited by philcric

2 hours ago, philcric said:

Looks like 8(22) is not just the slowest innings of this IPL. It is the slowest innings of all IPLs.

From cricinfo ..

• MS Dhoni's strike rate of 36.36 in his 22-ball knock of 8* against Knight Riders is the lowest in any IPL innings of over 20 balls.

36.36 is also very high..I'm sure Msd can do much better........

1 minute ago, Viper said:

:laugh1: If we win its not because of him.. But if we lose its cause of him

Wa wa wa wa Kya logic hai sab 

Haters are more like clowns these days :clap:

I never said that we lost because of Dhoni...just saying is captaincy wasn't good either which was one of the factors for our loss. Same with wins. We haven't won only because of his captaincy..

Try to read a post before stupidly replying..

So we lost because his captaincy isn't good ? So if we win because others played well and captaincy is totally ignored??

If we haven't won only because of his captaincy then we HAVEN'T LOST IT ONLY BECAUSE OF CAPTAINCY..

Try to be fair atleast.. Instead of calling others stupid for pointing out something

Simple when a team is winning its because the players have a good day or in form

when the team is losing its because the opposite

now here is where the captain steps in...when a player is having an off day or is out of form he makes some desicions, gives players confidence, comes up with a back up plan

so dhoni is a fail as acaptain 

Now as a batsman he is a failure in recent times so that is well documented .

any more questions?

21 hours ago, Mariyam said:

Last few years?

He lead the Indian team to the semis of the T20 WC last month. He also lead us to a 3-0 thumping of Australia in T20s in the beginninging of this year. And the Asia cup win in March.

All of these T20 events he captained. Yes, he's had a bad IPL. After 8 seasons. Cardinal sin in the ICF IPL section, I gather.

Even as a big time CSK fan, can't really support you when you give Dhoni the credit for reaching WC T20 semis... It was an all Kohli show... Without him, we would have been out much earlier... Who the captain was really didn't matter... Now don't talk about the win against Bangladesh ... I would attribute that more to the Brainfart from Mush and the rest

5 minutes ago, Viper said:

So we lost because his captaincy isn't good ? So if we win because others played well and captaincy is totally ignored??

If we haven't won only because of his captaincy then we HAVEN'T LOST IT ONLY BECAUSE OF CAPTAINCY..

Try to be fair atleast.. Instead of calling others stupid for pointing out something

Dude, u know how to read a post? Read what I've replied to you and try to understand it. If you don't... Try googling all the words...understand their meaning and then again try to interpret my post.

5 hours ago, philcric said:

From cricinfo ..

Only in IPL? I thought that would be slowest in all T20

:laugh1: That's basically what you meant

No need to lose your mind over it..

If that's the case...then one thing is clear..u just argue for the sake of it without being able to read what the other person says. And add a few senseless emojies along with it thinking it makes you look cool..

21 minutes ago, sourab10forever said:

If that's the case...then one thing is clear..u just argue for the sake of it without being able to read what the other person says. And add a few senseless emojies along with it thinking it makes you look cool..

Others will make some valid points. He will ignore everything and post one liners and smileys. Thats always been Velu's modus operandi

:giggle: Funny coming that of you supporting your fellow HQ bengalori.. awww that's so nice 

Can't do shit without each other backing/licking each other up :facepalm:

How can one supporting the other be funny in anyways? BTW ain't supporting anyone here..just trying to put you in place.

29 minutes ago, Viper said:

:facepalm: This guy again only pops out once in a while.. Wonder where he hides rest of the day :giggle:

Prob thinks whole day what to post against me just to FAIL everytime

I was talking about Velu, why are you getting hyper?

2 minutes ago, Viper said:

This is what all bangaloris/bambis do in this forum anyway.. licking each other's bum..so don't ever try 

Newguy is HQ according to you that shit sums it up..:laugh1:

Okay now it's Turing into a adult v 5th grader fight. When you can't counter reply..you just make up some tapori stuff and try to escape.

And in any case you have any hopes that you are the adult in this argument...then ...:phehe:

1 hour ago, bowl_out said:

Even as a big time CSK fan, can't really support you when you give Dhoni the credit for reaching WC T20 semis... It was an all Kohli show... Without him, we would have been out much earlier... Who the captain was really didn't matter... Now don't talk about the win against Bangladesh ... I would attribute that more to the Brainfart from Mush and the rest

Against Bangladesh, the last run out was definitely because of Dhoni's presence of mind. He stood very close to the stumps and got rid of the gloves in anticipation.

Without Kohli we may have been out. But Dhoni can only use the tools at his disposal. In his favour he had a Kohli. And he had a system in place which nurtured Kohli and gave him those chances. And Dhoni as a captain is an appendage of that very system.

Also, for every Kohli that a Dhoni had, the past captains too had a Tendulkar (overall, a better batsman). Compare the winning %ages of Dravid, Ganguly or Azhar vis a vis that of Dhoni.

Dhoni leads in that metric too.

What about reaching all the T20 semi finals with CSK? I am hardly a CSK fan. Far from it. But this is still an achievement of sorts.

I am not saying that Dhoni is infallible. He has his long list of woes. His batting has been atrocious as of late. Even worse than his hair do. But to say that he is the worst captain etc etc is just misplaced anger at his current batting form.

At the end of the day, Dhoni is to cricket what SRK is to Bollywood.

A true rags to riches story. A guy who had no connections whatsoever, grew up in small town India and worked his way up through sheer grit and performed at the world stage to become a household name. If there was ever an "Indian dream" he is the very embodiment of it.

6 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Against Bangladesh, the last run out was definitely because of Dhoni's presence of mind. He stood very close to the stumps and got rid of the gloves in anticipation.

Without Kohli we may have been out. But Dhoni can only use the tools at his disposal. In his favour he had a Kohli. And he had a system in place which nurtured Kohli and gave him those chances. And Dhoni as a captain is an appendage of that very system.

Also, for every Kohli that a Dhoni had, the past captains too had a Tendulkar (overall, a better batsman). Compare the winning %ages of Dravid, Ganguly or Azhar vis a vis that of Dhoni.

What about reaching all the T20 semi finals with CSK? I am hardly a CSK fan. Far from it. But this is still an achievement of sorts.

Dhoni the captain has been good overall but we are only questioning his captaincy over the last year or so in T20s. Yes India has won so many matches under him over the last year but good individual performances have covered his bad captaincy. Many poor decisions. No development of any young players except Bumrah. One player in a whole year. Especially when you have IPL to filter out and give you the best to choose from.

6 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

3 hours ago, Mariyam said:

Dhoni's captaincy was very very effective between 2008 and 2011.  At that time he had tremendous hunger for success and was far more open to new ideas.  In that period we thought that it was impossible to lose an important match if Dhoni was the captain....that was the confidence he inspired.

His captaincy started deteriorating in test matches from end 2011....and in LOIs from end 2013. Something changed after Kirsten left as the coach and Dhoni was perhaps left without a dependable confidante...difficult to guess the exact reason. In his peak period, Dhoni used to provide a lot of support to all his players but later on he started to show unwarranted bias towards a few. He also started to criticize  some of his team mates in public. This never happened before. He was frequently talking about the process ignoring the result, which was perhaps a sign of his hunger for success diminishing.  His unwillingness to make any changes to the team, irrespective of playing conditions, is often baffling.  

Dhoni is undoubtedly one of the greatest captains  India has ever had till date but everything comes with an expiry date. Almost 9 years is too long a time to be captain of a side....for any player .....and a new captain with hunger for success and new ideas always becomes essential.  The pressure of captaining India across all formats as well as the IPL is a very very high pressure job and can leave the best mentally fatigued.

Just want to add something about Dhoni's higher winning %.  A lot of credit for that obviously goes to Dhoni but some of it also is because of the economic improvement of India and the effects of that on every cricketer representing India in the last few years.  Modern day Indians have a much higher level of confidence to compete against the best and winning is an entitlement for us now. The belief that we can win , is far higher among every Indian including cricketers.  Indians are succeeding in all spheres of life like never before. It has been a gradual process of improvement over the years after the opening up of our economy in 1991.  Azhar was more consistent than Kapil and Gavaskar and Ganguly was better than Azhar and so on ,   partly due to the improved will to win of their entire team.

I just hope that Dhoni does not become like a Jimmy Connors and knows when to call it a day.  We want him remembered as an ATG and not for his multiple struggling years near the end of his career.

Edited by express bowling

6 hours ago, Mariyam said:

The problem is that if you give Dhoni a toolbox containing 11 screwdrivers that he loves to work with and 2 wrenches that he has never worked with and ask him to tighten a nut, he will keep using the same 11 screwdrivers day in and day out even when results of using them are disastrous. He will also justify this by saying that he is working on the process and the results don't matter.

I used to like Dhoni as a captain when he initially came on. He had fresh ideas and was unafraid of failures. Now, his captaincy is stale, rigid and extremely inflexible. The 0-8 away result in Aus, Eng were the pinnacle of his captaincy troughs.

6 hours ago, Mariyam said:

The problem is that if you give Dhoni a toolbox containing 11 screwdrivers that he loves to work with and 2 wrenches that he has never worked with and ask him to tighten a nut, he will keep using the same 11 screwdrivers day in and day out even when results of using them are disastrous. He will also justify this by saying that he is working on the process and the results don't matter.

I used to like Dhoni as a captain when he initially came on. He had fresh ideas and was unafraid of failures. Now, his captaincy is stale, rigid and extremely inflexible. The 0-8 away result in Aus, Eng were the pinnacle of his captaincy troughs.