Close Misses in the olympics count for India

maniac

35 minutes ago, maniac said:

This olympics is cursed.......It is not like we are getting crushed....missing medals by a whisker.

I have my hopes really down on Sakshi and Sindhu now as I expect a heartbreak already

Vinesh was the best hope in women wrestling. I was expecting medal from her. Sakshi - I wasn't expecting even quarters.

23 hours ago, maniac said:

This olympics is cursed.......It is not like we are getting crushed....missing medals by a whisker.

I have my hopes really down on Sakshi and Sindhu now as I expect a heartbreak already

In London, They got nice Indian food, A/C like weather and a lot of Indian crowd (more then they get In India) cheering them. Rio, I am not sure food they got to eat or weather is of their liking

so now food and crowd to be blamed ? btw They got Indian food to eat.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

Get more world class players  in the various disciplines and it will be more regular...

not all world class players will perform to their best..

we had 2 world class players in badminton WS and one of them got injured...but the other made a way through

if you have a pool of world class players, some of them will win and some may disappoint.

cases like sakshi are not long term ...you cannot rely on over performance to get scrapes here and there

they are like un expected bonuses....that's it

but it will take a lot of tons of new infra, creation of decen coaching and leagues at grassroots level to achieve this..

I would aim for 10 medals for Tokyo..

We've got to admit the truth

1. We cant ever compete with Black sprinters ( Men and Women)

2. We cant compete with the US in swimming

3. We cant compete with the Chinese and Russians/Americans in Gymnastics and Diving ( Dipa was a rare find. Will be a surprise if she makes it to Tokyo tho)

4. We cant compete with African Long distance runners

5. We cant compete in cycling with GB as it requires money/velodromes/ uptodate bikes

We have to focus our money and attention in sports that we have a realistic chance of winning something. 

- Badminton and Tennis 

- Wrestling and Boxing

- Shooting and Archery

- Mens Hockey ( Women are not up to semi final standard yet )

There is no point sending 100 athletes to an event when 80% of them at their best wont be even near the Olympic record never mind the World record. If it means sending the best 20 prospects so be it. You dont see Jamaica sending a hockey team or a diving team because they know their limitations and their strenghts,

Olympics: The sublime and the ridiculous at Rio

This was around the time a report about a gentleman named Pawandeep Tony Singh went viral. He is a radiologist who was in Riode Janeiro as India's chief medical officer. Radiology, noble profession though it is, has nothing to do with sports injuries or their treatment. Then there was the clinching bit that explained it all: Dr Tony is the son of Sardar Tarlochan Singh, vice-president of the Indian Olympic Association. The rest — Dr Tony mostly hung out at the hotel pools, started drinking at 3 pm every day, and prescribed Combiflam to everyone, said reports — was only to be expected. Similarly, it would be odd if Goel — a career politician who happens to be the sports minister at the moment — were to actually scout around for solutions to the Great Indian Sports Crisis and not treat the Rio trip as holiday. 

There's more, much more from Rio — prime among them the story of Goel and his cronies being told off by the organisers for treating the Olympics zone like Chandni Chowk (where Goel has run amuck over the years) and trying to get in everywhere without accreditation. 

The Gymnastics Federation of India is in a shambles because of a never-ending and extremely awful power struggle among administrators. It is safe to say that Karmakar owes them not an iota of her fourth-place-by-a-whisker. Then there is boxing, one of the fastest growing sports in India through the 2000s. Infighting among its officials has meant that a sport where India was on its way to becoming a mini-superpower lies in shreds. Abhay Singh Chautala — Devi Lal's son, former chief of the Indian Boxing Federation and currently facing trial in a disproportionate assets case — was in Rio as well. 

I read that the Special CBI judge was wondering just how Chautala managed to leave the country.

We should thank the stars we actually won 2 medals with the netas in charge .

http://m.economictimes.com/news/sports/olympics-the-sublime-and-the-ridiculous-at-rio/articleshow/53790055.cms

Australian Govt spend around 700crore on sports and Indian govt budget is 900crs every year .And yet Australia win 50 medals and we praying for a medal .

If we have a efficient system that is designed to achieve results instead of serving corrupt politicians and their nepotism , we could easily produce decent no of world class Olympians and win medals even with this funding .

Wish SC would try to reform the IOA and it's affiliated bodies like it's trying to do to BCCI

14 hours ago, beautifulgame said:

Olympics: The sublime and the ridiculous at Rio.

We should thank the stars we actually won 2 medals with the netas in charge .

http://m.economictimes.com/news/sports/olympics-the-sublime-and-the-ridiculous-at-rio/articleshow/53790055.cms

Australian Govt spend around 700crore on sports and Indian govt budget is 900crs every year .And yet Australia win 50 medals and we praying for a medal .

If we have a efficient system that is designed to achieve results instead of serving corrupt politicians and their nepotism , we could easily produce decent no of world class Olympians and win medals even with this funding .

Wish SC would try to reform the IOA and it's affiliated bodies like it's trying to do to BCCI

are you joking ???????

are you aware that  we add an entire population of australia every year ?

the dynamics for a 1.2 billion population country is very different..only china stands a comparison.

australia's medal cost is around 20 million each

http://thenewdaily.com.au/sport/rio-olympics-2016/2016/08/19/rio-medals-australia/

Their heavy investment in cycling and swimming has come undone this time.

the advantage for us is even if we are half as good  as aussies , we would be at the very top of the medals table.

we will find it difficult to be as efficient as nz or australia for variety of reasons, scale being one of them. The socio economic factors in the subcontinent are not good as well. 

the recommendation is 12,500 crores and higher-  http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/more-sports/others/All-India-Council-of-Sports-recommends-massive-hike-in-union-sports-budget/articleshow/50510941.cms

The british method of national lottery has proved very effective...476$ million in the last four years... britain has done well in the last decade after being the butt of jokes for so long...we have to find an innovative sheme of our own.

On 8/20/2016 at 4:49 PM, LordPrabhzy said:

3. We cant compete with the Chinese and Russians/Americans in Gymnastics and Diving ( Dipa was a rare find. Will be a surprise if she makes it to Tokyo tho)

5. We cant compete in cycling with GB as it requires money/velodromes/ uptodate bikes

We have to focus our money and attention in sports that we have a realistic chance of winning something. 

- Badminton and Tennis 

- Wrestling and Boxing

- Shooting and Archery

There is no point sending 100 athletes to an event when 80% of them at their best wont be even near the Olympic record never mind the World record. If it means sending the best 20 prospects so be it. You dont see Jamaica sending a hockey team or a diving team because they know their limitations and their strenghts,

The point is do they quality, olympic qualification is part of an acheivement in sport circles. They call themselves Olympian,triple Olympian etc.

6 hours ago, Vilander said:

The point is do they quality, olympic qualification is part of an acheivement in sport circles. They call themselves Olympian,triple Olympian etc.

Yeah but what is the point if you are physically incapable of competing with countries who spend millions on each medal in terms of investment.

The sad truth is most of our athletes take up sport to guarantee themselves a job and they see 'participation' as the pinnacle because they have admittedly understood that due the poor investment and infrastructure by India, they have no chance of winning medals how hard they try. We have to change that and make all sport professional so they concentrate their time practicing and practicing without worrying about files in an office.

On 20/08/2016 at 9:49 PM, LordPrabhzy said:

- Badminton and Tennis 

- Wrestling and Boxing

- Shooting and Archery

Check the team GB medal table in 1996 Atlanta Olymipics and 2016 Rio Olympics.And how come Chinese and Japs do well at athletics? Or how many disciplines are there in Olympics.

All it requires is will and honest attempt by Government and pvt Corporations.

Cases like Jamaica, kenya, ethiopia are more like cases of niche success...they are freak occurences confined to one discipline

Not the way to win 10+ gold medals like the genuine sporting powers in the top10

In kenya,vast majority of the world class runners come from one tribe called the Kalenjin who are less than 5% of Kenyan population.

The Kalenjin have won twice as many medals compared to other countries including other Kenyans in these events!

this 1997 data

MEDALS, MEN'S TRACK EVENTS 800m to 10,000m
Olympic Games, 1964-96 (excluding boycotted Games of 1976 & 1980)

All Medals            Gold
Kalenjin                         26               8
USA                              10               3
Great Britain                     8               1
Non-Kalenjin Kenya                7               4
Morocco                           7               3
Germany (East & West)             6               1
Ethiopia                          5               1
Finland                           4               3
New Zealand                       4               2
Tunisia                           4               1

both kenyan and ethiopian champions hail from the great rift valley, a series of highlands across the Kenyan-Ethiopian border....

Ethiopia’s most accomplished runners tend to hail from the Shewa and Arsi zones  while Kenya’s best are usually from Nandi county. All these regions run along the steep edges of the Great Rift Valley, at elevations of 6,500 feet or more.

High altitude, hard labor, subsistence farming , training in steep hills, intense outdoor activity is a lifestyle in the high altitude regions..

Although GDP may be mediocre, there is no huge cases of malnutritution or literacy like the subcontinent in kenya.

Ethiopian runners like HG and DM have trounced their Kenyan rivals by their trademark ferocious finishing kicks which differentiates them...in this way Ethiopia has got more from a smaller talent pool.

The Moroccan and Algeria way is more scientific through state backed funding and support.

http://run-down.com/guests/mv_morocco.php

"Then they had to adopt a decision that was influenced mainly by the country's economical situation. They decided to focus on the middle and long distance events since the practice of this events require very little infrastructure"

9 hours ago, mishra said:

Check the team GB medal table in 1996 Atlanta Olymipics and 2016 Rio Olympics.And how come Chinese and Japs do well at athletics? Or how many disciplines are there in Olympics.

All it requires is will and honest attempt by Government and pvt Corporations.

Yes and after that debacle the UK govermnet decided the National Lottery would be used to fund elite sport and look where they are now. The Government only spends £4 million compared to the the NL which gives around £292 million. This was there wake up call.

India needs its wake up call or we'll be a country of participators and gracious losers