Outside cricket, what has Tendulkar been for India ?

narenpande1

7 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said:

No you cannot.Just like i cannot call you foolish for not liking him.Its personal preference.

Fan hona is OK. Lekin many fans are just irritating bhakts. When we say 'his fans' , u have to read it as 'many of his fans' and not as 'all his fans'. 

16 hours ago, narenpande1 said:

Does anyone feel that considering his immense influence, reach and the goodwill of the people of India, his contributions to the society have been negligible ?

Apart from photo ops, " tweet supports ", and attending ceremonies, he has hardly done anything of substance for any social cause in India or 

for needy talented sportsmen.

The kind of goodwill that he has had, he could easily raise huge money  for various social causes - that too he has not done - like say Ian Botham or Imran Khan.

Always thought giving him a Bharat Ratna for playing cricket was a terrible choice ( there are many people who deserved it even less ). But he certainly did not deserve it.

How on earth do musicians deserve Bharat Ratna then? What do they do "outside" their line? Kuch bhi random spouting as usual

BTW a simple google search can show all the charity things he has done way before he retired

Regular cancer crusade supporter who raises crores for the cause, Sponsors 200 under privileged children completely, Regularly helps eye donation camps in India, is on the board of directors of one of the biggest charity institutes in India and regularly contributes to it. Sachin Tendulkar is UNICEF's first brand ambassador for South Asia and is all set to work in promoting hygiene and sanitation in the region. Tendulkar was also earlier part of the UNICEF campaigns for polio and global hand washing. 

Only this year a school in WB which was completely out of funds wrote to Sachin and got 76 lakhs from him

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/school-in-west-bengal-village-writes-to-tendulkar-gets-funds-for-new-facilities/story-rPpgIIS5KtgwmwxVqjMk6O.html

When Marthawda was drought affected he helped

http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/sachin-tendulkar-marathwada-help-charity-records/

25 lakh donation to a tribal Buddhist community

https://eclecticnortheast.in/sachin-tendulkars-donation-to-buddhist-community-in-karbi-anglong/

Helped an injured cricketer who couldn't afford his operation

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/Sachin+pays+for+treatment+of+injured+team-mate/1/97935.html

Unlike his cricket exploits he doesn't want to publicize his charity works like Imran does so all the reports are in small local newspapers. When Imran does a charity work it becomes front page news. Sachin deliberately keeps his charity work out of media and what I have mentioned is not even 10% of what he regularly does because these were things which were leaked despite sachin not wanting it to be out

Edited by New guy

4 hours ago, randomGuy said:

Fan hona is OK. Lekin many fans are just irritating bhakts. When we say 'his fans' , u have to read it as 'many of his fans' and not as 'all his fans'. 

Considering that most times Sachin's name is told nowadays its to troll or hate, then his fan reply, why are you surprised? And to me, being a bhakt is a million times better than being a jealous hater who spends most of their time demeaning someone because he is popular

6 hours ago, randomGuy said:

Don't take it personally...we don't mean each of his fans is foolish.

You go around calling people foolish for liking someone who has that stature in the country for a reason. And then you say dont take it personally? How are blind bhakts worse than haters like you?

This thread is very poor. His life is not even half over yet. It's understandable for someone who literally spent his teenage years and all those years away from his family literally being devoted to cricket. 21 freaking years. He has every right to step away from the game and enjoy his life. Pathetic

Edited by laaloo

8 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said:

Can you contribute something useful or just troll?

contributed in the next post :-)

sachin is just a cricketer who served our country and the country has given him back more than enough..

elevating him to god and credit him for everything by his fans is plain stupid   

i call rajni fans as stupid and brainless 

sachin is just a cricketer who served our country and the country has given him back more than enough..

You cannot and shouldnot dictate or judge people regarding how they praise their heroes.Thats their personal choice and isnt illegal or unethical.

2 minutes ago, velu said:

Sachin hasn't served the country as such. He has served Indian cricket.

And its not his fans who have elevated him to godly (pun unintended) heights. He didn't get the Bharat Ratna because of his fans. Neither did he get the Padmashree and the Padmabhushan because of his fans. Nor did he get the infinite Man of the Match awards because of his fans. Way to misappropriate blame. :no:

2 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Sachin hasn't served the country as such. He has served Indian cricket.

And its not his fans who have elevated him to godly (pun unintended) heights. He didn't get the Bharat Ratna because of his fans. Neither did he get the Padmashree and the Padmabhushan because of his fans. Nor did he get the infinite Man of the Match awards because of his fans. Way to misappropriate blame. :no:

considering you are from mumbai i have to be careful :fear:

i think congress gave him bharat ratna to capture his fans :fish: 

i am not saying that he got every thing because of his fans , but fans like xyz are blaming oscar committee for not awarding him Oscar for his acts in advertisements :runaway:

17 hours ago, randomGuy said:

Indians don't have that much wealth...

Besides being leaders in tech and other things, besides being a liberal society, what gives usa the wealth and attractiveness is that oil is traded in USD. USD is expensive compared to other currencies. they attract the best talent and are richer due to this....

So difference between philanthropy between India n usa is due to above reason, not nearly as much due to the culture as u seem 2 suggest.

Also, if u look in Syria. US govt. got 300k+ Syrians murdered by working against a secular n liberal assad....so they don't have morals in their foreign policy.

Edit: no need to be sorry...not offended,i can respect different povs.:)

All philanthropic activities have some degree of business interests.