|
|
|
|
#322 |
|
Bat meets the ball
![]() |
hmmm cant predict much. If they survive till lunch, we will go on to save the match. If not, then they are already gone. Not much to expect from remaining bunch. Little fight from Badri again.
But I feel good about tomorrow. They will fight. |
|
sssshhhh… que le patron manie la batte
|
|
|
|
|
#324 |
|
Jumbo
![]() |
Some time tomorrow, the first time MSD will have to address the media as the losing captain of a Test match. "Frankly speaking..."
|
|
|
|
#325 |
|
I h4te trolls!!!
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#326 |
|
The Legend
![]() |
Vijay always has this confidence about him. No nerves. Just that he was up against some incisive bowling with great control, skill and strategy. Steyn has explained how he set up Vijay in the first innings. He picked that wicket as special. No shame in that. Hope he learns from it and does a better job in the 2nd outing.
|
|
sssshhh The Boss Is Batting
|
|
|
|
|
#327 |
|
Bat meets the ball
![]() |
|
|
sssshhhh… que le patron manie la batte
|
|
|
|
|
#328 |
|
Tendulkar Agnostic
![]() |
Bugger technique, Boss, How did Sehwag score a ton while the daisys were wilting around him? Thirty four off 38 Steyn deliveries, wasn't it? And that's facing the new ball.
People sneered when I said India's renaissance this decade was largely down to Sehwag. After Kandy, Multan, MCG, Mumbai, Chennai comes Nagpur. One man team. The rest feed off him and pretend they could have scored a double or triple on these tracks. Does anybody still doubt that he saved our bacon at Chennai against the South Africans with that outrageous triple the last time around? |
|
|
|
#329 |
|
Kumbibaagam
![]() |
Bugger technique, Boss, How did Sehwag score a ton while the daisys were wilting around him? Thirty four off 38 Steyn deliveries, wasn't it? And that's facing the new ball.People sneered when I said India's renaissance this decade was largely down to Sehwag. After Kandy, Multan, MCG, Mumbai, Chennai comes Nagpur. One man team. The rest feed off him and pretend they could have scored a double or triple on these tracks. Does anybody still doubt that he saved our bacon at Chennai against the South Africans with that outrageous triple the last time around?
|
|
|
|
#330 |
|
The Legend
![]() |
Bugger technique, Boss, How did Sehwag score a ton while the daisys were wilting around him? Thirty four off 38 Steyn deliveries, wasn't it? And that's facing the new ball.People sneered when I said India's renaissance this decade was largely down to Sehwag. After Kandy, Multan, MCG, Mumbai, Chennai comes Nagpur. One man team. The rest feed off him and pretend they could have scored a double or triple on these tracks. Does anybody still doubt that he saved our bacon at Chennai against the South Africans with that outrageous triple the last time around?
And then again in the second innings when he seemed completely oblivious to the methods which had brought him runs earlier in the morning. If anything this match showed what the presence of Dravid and Laxman has meant to the side over the years. |
|
" In our society, a man who does not cry at his mother's funeral is liable to be condemned to death"
- Albert Camus in the foreward to "The Outsider" |
|
|
|
|
#331 |
|
The Legend
![]() |
Hand-eye co-ordination + a lot of guts to defy convention .... Not everybody is gifted with those skills. This is where technique comes in to compensate for the lack of the above skills.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#332 |
|
Appam Sree
![]() |
Dhoni's dismissal was comical, you would expect a tailender batsman to get that way. Dhoni is no test material, hardly performs when our top order fails which is a rare occasion. He's a good keeper but his batting was so poor against a wannabe spinner like Harris.
|
|
You were my life, but I am a chapter in yours
|
|
|
|
|
#333 |
|
The Legend
![]() |
One man team. The rest feed off him and pretend they could have scored a double or triple on these tracks. Does anybody still doubt that he saved our bacon at Chennai against the South Africans with that outrageous triple the last time around?
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#334 |
|
Jumbo
![]() |
Sehwag is hardly blameless here. Yeah, he racked up a nice aggressive century. He had the South African bowlers at their mercy. Should have batted the entire day from thereon. A swipe to sweeper cover? Even in IPL that shot would have been frowned upon. Another 100 runs for India, follow on averted, draw the favorite. And then again in the second innings when he seemed completely oblivious to the methods which had brought him runs earlier in the morning. If anything this match showed what the presence of Dravid and Laxman has meant to the side over the years.
On the flip side though, had he survived, he would have waltzed his way to another 250+ score & the only burning question at the end of the day would have been "Will Sehwag get to his 400 this time ?" as opposed to "Can we save this test match ?" I think questions on sanity of shot making apply only to sane batsmen like a Dravid or a Tendulkar. Veeru is insane (i mean that in a complementary tone) and should not be judged by conventional wisdom of batsmanship. |
|
|
|
#335 |
|
The Legend
![]() |
But that is how he batted when he scored his 294, 309 & 319. He took a lot more risks on his way to 294. He reverse swept Murali many times in that innings. On the flip side though, had he survived, he would have waltzed his way to another 250+ score & the only burning question at the end of the day would have been "Will Sehwag get to his 400 this time ?" as opposed to "Can we save this test match ?" I think questions on sanity of shot making apply only to sane batsmen like a Dravid or a Tendulkar. Veeru is insane (i mean that in a complementary tone) and should not be judged by conventional wisdom of batsmanship.
|
|
" In our society, a man who does not cry at his mother's funeral is liable to be condemned to death"
- Albert Camus in the foreward to "The Outsider" |
|
|
Sehwag's Proposition no 2 |
|
|
#336 |
|
IPL Commissioner
![]() |
Sehwag's Proposition no 2
Murli and Sachin Bhai are looking good and you will see one of the best century from both of them.
Hope it can come through.........Vijay and God looked really good out there. Hopefully a century from both will do us good. |
|
|
|
#337 |
|
Jumbo
![]() |
Sachin will make 250, Murali will make 200
And then you will alarm will ring and you will wake up to see Star News "khaas report: dakshin afrikaaa ke haathon pari our 180 run ke shikhast ke liye kaun zimidaar? Kaun hai mujrim? Kya kaptaan Dhoni match ke pehle advertising shoot pe zyada dhyaan dere the?..." |
|
|
|
#338 |
|
Cricketics Wayz
![]() |
A century from both of them still won't be enough. as we are trailing by some real big margin. Either that all remaining batsmans along with the current playing come to party, or the current ones go on to establish a 300+ stand.
|
|
C.Dravid b.Kumble.. |
|
|
|
|
#339 |
|
The Legend
![]() |
sweet dreams.
![]() |
|
|
|
#340 |
|
The Legend
![]() |
But yesterday, he played much more cautiously aware of the fact that three wickets were down and there was no Laxman, Ganguly, or Yuvraj to come. Even at the start of the innings he was defending a lot and defending very well. He hardly played those kind of risky and spectacular shots - a lot of percentage game. In that context the stroke he got out to was really disappointing. .
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#341 |
|
Jumbo
![]() |
We need something more than a 100 from just one of them to even avoid innings defeat...We need something laxman-Dravid-esque. Its not something i expect from Murali Vijay, Badrinath, Dhoni or Saha. This test is good as over.
|
|
|
|
#342 |
|
Chief
![]() |
I think India's best chance of salvaging anything from this test is to go hell for leather at Twenty20 pace from ball one tomorrow.
|
|
'To most batsmen, an 85 mph cricket ball equals threat. To Sehwag it spells opportunity. Defence is the last resort'. Simon Hughes |
|
|
|
|
#343 |
|
Little Master Sunny
![]() |
Dream on......
|
|
|
|
#344 |
|
Appam Sree
![]() |
Sachin will make 250, Murali will make 200And then you will alarm will ring and you will wake up to see Star News "khaas report: dakshin afrikaaa ke haathon pari our 180 run ke shikhast ke liye kaun zimidaar? Kaun hai mujrim? Kya kaptaan Dhoni match ke pehle advertising shoot pe zyada dhyaan dere the?..."
![]() |
|
You were my life, but I am a chapter in yours
|
|
|
|
|
#345 |
|
Prince of Calcutta
![]() |
Do not be surprised if Gambhir is found out in this series. I have been saying for some time now that his success does not mean that he is devoid of flaws. As a matter of fact, for an opening batsman he plays the ball too early. That has to go. And he is no Sehwag. The sooner he realizes these two things, the better it would be for him.
His front foot still goes across and his toe points towards covers instead of mid off. Somebody bowling fast, sharp outswingers (right handed) will still have him plumb in front. Even against Bangladesh he struggled against the new ball. A combination of luck and poor catching ensured he carried on. No such favours against South Africa. And about the original subject of the thread - it takes some courage to bat out of the crease against Steyn. But see that would be a good option with reverse swing - not when the ball is new. But then with reverse swing, we are talking mostly about the tail - sans Badri. So, we cannot expect too much of a technical adjustment from them. |
|
|
|
#346 |
|
Bite me
![]() |
Nothing keeps Bouch down. He's back behind the stumps this morning.
|
|
|
|
#347 |
|
Prince of Calcutta
![]() |
No wickets in 2nd session..
Sachin 155* Doni 65* India will win tommarrow ![]() |
|
|
|
#348 |
|
Site Founder ®
![]() |
sachin 500*
fat South african in stadium kills self |
|
|
|
#349 |
|
Pwnjabi !!
![]() |
|
|
Trash talk will be replied with even better trash talk
|
|
|
|
|
#350 |
|
I h4te trolls!!!
![]() |
![]() |
|
|
|
#351 |
|
Prince of Calcutta
![]() |
Whether boucher play or not will never make a difference as only 4 ppl are enough defeat India. Steyn/Morkel/Amal/Kallis.
|
|
|
|
#352 |
|
Jumbo
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#353 |
|
The best.
![]() |
I havent seen a single delivery in this match. May be a good thing. I will just remember that Sachin scored a century and try to forget the rest.
|
|
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
|
|
|
|
|
#354 |
|
Prince of Patiala
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#355 |
|
The best.
![]() |
It's far more disturbing when you watch the whole match. You feel the tension, you feel the pressure, there are expectations, there are disappointments. When you are too busy working and just come to know the results, you feel it was good you did not watch the match. I am sure I would have been very sad if I had watched the whole/part of the match.
|
|
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.
|
|
|
|
|
#356 |
|
Prince of Patiala
![]() |
It's far more disturbing when you watch the whole match. You feel the tension, you feel the pressure, there are expectations, there are disappointments. When you are too busy working and just come to know the results, you feel it was good you did not watch the match. I am sure I would have been very sad if I had watched the whole/part of the match.
But before that, I hope India wins at Edens. |
|
|
|
#357 |
|
Andy
![]() |
I agree. Our batsmen have some work to do at the nets.
|
|
Workers play Football. Managers play Tennis. Bosses play Snooker and CEOs play Golf. Moral: The higher you move up the ladder, the ball becomes smaller & you need a better vision.... ;-)
|
|
|
![]() |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
|

The game to be over by tea time. Saffies to win by an innings and 83 runs

Hope it can come through.........Vijay and God looked really good out there. Hopefully a century from both will do us good.

man, you are hilarious