LATEST ARTICLES:
Go Back   Indian Cricket Fans > Indian Cricket Fans Message Board > IPL/CL Forum
View Poll Results: Should bhajj be banned
Yes 49 87.50%
No 7 12.50%
Voters: 56. You may not vote on this poll

Should Harbhajan have slapped Sreesanth...?
Old 04-26-2008, 12:35 AM   #1
iluvbrettlee
Turbanator
$ICF: 2,725
Should Harbhajan have slapped Sreesanth...?

What do you guyz think should Harbhajan have slapped Sreesanth? do you feel this could cause rivalry on the indian team once players are back in their national colours..? Did Harbhajan Singh overreact.? Why is it always Harbhajan Singh...? Is this another Negative of the IPL...?

Harbhajan and Sreesanth in row
Ajay S Shankar
April 25, 2008

Sreesanth and Harbhajan Singh: Not quite the best of friends any more (file photo) © AFP

The Indian Premier League faced its first on-field controversy with allegations that Harbhajan Singh hit Sreesanth, his India team-mate and IPL rival, after Friday's match between the Kings XI Punjab and the Mumbai Indians in Mohali. While Yuvraj Singh, Sreesanth's captain, said Harbhajan had apologised after the incident, it remains to be seen how the IPL will handle it as a disciplinary issue.
Sreesanth, who took two wickets for Punjab, was spotted in tears after the match - which his side won - and later confirmed the incident to Cricinfo.
Sources close to him said that after the match a smiling Sreesanth walked up to Harbhajan - the captain of the losing Mumbai Indians - and said "Hard luck". "That was enough for Harbhajan to lose his cool and hit Sreesanth under the eye," said sources close to the fast bowler.
Harbhajan refused to answer questions on the incident at the post-match press conference. "Can we have questions on just cricket," he said in response to questions relating to the incident. His opposing captain, however, was clear in his view. "This is really an ugly incident," Yuvraj said, "this is totally unacceptable." He added, though, that Harbhajan had visited the dressing-room after the match and apologised to Sreesanth.
"At the end of the day, players shake hands. But today saw more that from Harbhajan and Sreesanth," said Tom Moody, the Punjab coach. "The positive thing is that Harbhajan had a long chat with Sreesanth. But I am not sure what ramifications this incident will have." Cricinfo has learnt that Sreesanth complained about the incident to officials of the Mohali franchise, including co-owners Preity Zinta and Ness Wadia.
However, IS Bindra, the president of the Punjab Cricket Association, denied an official complaint has been lodged. "Some media people have asked me about this incident. No official complaint has reached me yet. I believe what happens on the field should be sorted out by the players on the field itself," Bindra told Cricinfo. Later Sreesanth told reporters at the stadium that "nothing serious happened" and that he and Harbhajan were "still part of the national team".
On-field relations between Harbhajan and Sreesanth appeared strained during the India-South Africa Test series as well. Sreesanth had dropped Hashim Amla off Harbhajan during the Chennai Test to which Harbhajan reacted with displeasure after which he was seen motioning towards Sreesanth after making a diving save at point.
This is the second time in the last six months that Harbhajan has been at the centre of controversy. Earlier this year the Australians accused him of racially abusing Andrew Symonds during the Test series Down Under.
Ajay Shankar

@ Cricinfo
Alt Today
Advertising

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Old 04-26-2008, 12:38 AM   #2
vadodaravictor
Mavin From Western India
$ICF: 86,459
Looks like a masala news..now they have started adopting WWE method to spice up the game - Create personal rivalries amongst players. Public gets to enjoy sports on field and "saas bahu" kind of drama off field.

Old 04-26-2008, 01:24 AM   #3
sreej
Cricket Guzzler
$ICF: 11,262,685
No. Plain and simple.

Old 04-26-2008, 01:30 AM   #4
straighttalk
Marauder from Najafgarh
$ICF: 9,863
http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryP...hajji-Sree+row

Everyone who saw Sreesanth in tears on television after his team, Mohali, won the game against the Harbhajan Singh-led Mumbai team, probably wondered what was going on.

And as the news filtered out, through TV channels, phone calls and smses late into the night, that Harbhajan had allegedly slapped Sreesanth, there was a sense of disbelief --- what was Bhajji thinking? But given the volatile nature of the protagonists, few doubted that something had happened.

There is no doubting that Harbhajan might well have been portrayed as the villain of the piece by everyone, given his recent runs-in with the authorities, but in this case, there is a history to what eventually ended in Harbhajan losing his patience.

It has been learnt that ahead of this game that both teams (without a win till this one) desperately wanted to win an edgy Harbhajan had warned Sreesanth not to abuse him or anyone else in the team, on the morning of the match. He apparently even told him that if he did, he would hit him.

According to sources in the Mumbai camp, even the Mumbai youngsters, many on the big stage for the first time, were told to try and ignore Sreesanth's tantrums as far as they could. They were also told that if they thought that the fast bowler had become uncontrollable, they should tell him (Sreesanth) that they would complain about him to Sachin Tendulkar or Harbhajan.

While it was not clear what exactly Sreesanth said to Harbhajan at the end of the game (though some say he crossed a line), it was reliably learnt that Harbhajan was terribly upset by Sreesanth's incessant and impolite chit-chat throughout the match.

One such glaring instance was Sreesanth's exchange of words with Musavir Khote after the young Mumbai all-rounder was dismissed.

But despite talk of an apology after the game and a conversation between Harbhajan and Sreesanth, the Kerala paceman's team has decided to lodge an official complaint with the IPL governing council on Saturday morning.

"We have decided to lodge an official complaint against Harbhajan," an official spokesperson of the Mohali team said on condition of anonymity.

The Hindustan Times has also learnt that the complaint, the final draft of which was being finalised as this report is being written, has alleged that Harbhajan slapped and used the "F-word" against Sreesanth.

As the sun rises, the ball will be in the IPL governing council's court. Though chairman Lalit Modi was quoted by some news channels as saying they will "probe the matter", it remains to be seen what course of action the IPL decides to take.

Given Harbhajan's history though, and the fact that the captains pledged that their teams would play the game not just by the laws of the game but by its spirit, in a very public declaration during the opening ceremony in Bangalore on the 17th, it will be difficult to find extenuating circumstances to let him off this one. And depending on what Sreesanth has said or done, they would logically be looking to do something on that count too. If they don't on both counts, it would be viewed as a travesty of justice. This incident was far too public. Watch this space.

Old 04-26-2008, 01:37 AM   #5
Cricketics
Cricketics Wayz
$ICF: 9,880,812
i wonder how will Yuvi deal with this.. as Yuvi and Bhajji are very good mates

C.Dravid b.Kumble..

Old 04-26-2008, 01:38 AM   #6
Sachinism
TetraHydroCannabinol
$ICF: 25,905
no matter what sreesanth had said, harbhajan has no right to hit him
i doubt sreesanth said anything other than the normal sledging that goes on
Opinions are like orgasms.
Mine's more important and I don't give a **** if she has one.

Old 04-26-2008, 02:17 AM   #7
iluvbrettlee
Turbanator
Quote by Cricketics View Post
Yuvraj criticised Harbhajan Singh for making this ugly situation happen, but I was just watchin NDTV and Sreesanth has completely forgiven Bhaji, and hei s absolutley fine and he said Bhaji didnt even need to apologise as he is like his elder brother. I dont think too much controversy will build as Sreesanth has told Yuvi and Tom Moody not to file a complaint against Bhaji, as Sressanth had no problem with Bhaji slapping him. Sreesanth seemed pretty cool about it and he also said that he cried because he's just emotional but he is really happy that Punjab won the match....

Old 04-26-2008, 02:22 AM   #8
Cricketics
Cricketics Wayz
$ICF: 9,880,812
well bhajji and santh are of same type.. both have their top floor broken.. so i know both won't care much about what all happend and would be friends again..

same attitude both have.. so yaa won't be much nuisance..

C.Dravid b.Kumble..

Old 04-26-2008, 02:24 AM   #9
iluvbrettlee
Turbanator
Quote by iluvbrettlee View Post
Yuvraj criticised Harbhajan Singh for making this ugly situation happen, but I was just watchin NDTV and Sreesanth has completely forgiven Bhaji, and hei s absolutley fine and he said Bhaji didnt even need to apologise as he is like his elder brother. I dont think too much controversy will build as Sreesanth has told Yuvi and Tom Moody not to file a complaint against Bhaji, as Sressanth had no problem with Bhaji slapping him. Sreesanth seemed pretty cool about it and he also said that he cried because he's just emotional but he is really happy that Punjab won the match....
Sreesanth is too nice...and I could even say he underreacted..

Old 04-26-2008, 02:42 AM   #10
My two cents
The newer and better fan
$ICF: 4,763
Quote by iluvbrettlee View Post
The complaint has already been filed by UV and the match refree is aware of it.

Old 04-26-2008, 02:50 AM   #11
sreej
Cricket Guzzler
$ICF: 11,262,685
well bhajji and santh are of same type.. both have their top floor broken.. so i know both won't care much about what all happend and would be friends again..

same attitude both have.. so yaa won't be much nuisance..
They aren't of the same type at all..

Sreesanth sledges on the field and that's it. Harbhajan is a short-tempered ***** who has proven himself to be a sore loser. A character like him should never have been given the captaincy in the first place. Sachin did a huge disservice to his team by making his buddy the vice-captain. Harbhajan and Akthar are of the same ilk.

Old 04-26-2008, 02:52 AM   #12
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
$ICF: 18,499,204,692
..dunno abt Harbhajan but someone should have slapped Sreesanth long time ago
Kirkut Says
Waise, Saale Sabh Hain Chor
Ab Mein Pakda Gaya, Tab Machaya Shor

Old 04-26-2008, 02:57 AM   #13
ludhianvi
The Legend
$ICF: 625,833,238
NO!

Old 04-26-2008, 04:27 AM   #14
jf1gp_1
The Wall
$ICF: 5,693,353
maybe hayden was right abt bhaji

Old 04-26-2008, 05:12 AM   #15
Predator_05
No one does it better
$ICF: 32,410,688
If Harbhajan really DID slap Sreekanth, he deserves to be banned for a couple of matches. That's absolutely unacceptable. Imagine the outcry if such an incident happened during an international game and the players were from opposing countries. I don't know the specifics about this incident, but if it's true, i'll lose almost all the respect i once had for him...someone should knock some f ucking sense into Bhajji.
The subcontinent is home to THREE of the most famous teams in world cricket. These teams are, India, India 'A' and the Indian u19s.

Old 04-26-2008, 05:22 AM   #16
jf1gp_1
The Wall
$ICF: 5,693,353
Quote by Predator_05 View Post
If Harbhajan really DID slap Sreekanth, he deserves to be banned for a couple of matches. That's absolutely unacceptable. Imagine the outcry if such an incident happened during an international game and the players were from opposing countries. I don't know the specifics about this incident, but if it's true, i'll lose almost all the respect i once had for him...someone should knock some f ucking sense into Bhajji.
the worst part is if you look at the ODI team after Sachin Bhaji is the senior most in terms of yrs with Indian team. So something like this coming from such a senior player is just ridiculous.

Old 04-26-2008, 05:27 AM   #17
Predator_05
No one does it better
$ICF: 32,410,688
After watching the video posted in the other thread, i feel really p issed off. Either Sreekanth was making a mountain out of a molehill (i seriously doubt it) or Harbhajan was being a first class CH UTHIYA. My money is on the latter. I can't believe that a guy could ever treat a fellow team-mate so poorly - what the f *** is the matter with Bhajji ? Where is the professionalism ? That's the kind of behaviour which makes him an obnoxious weed. He should be disciplined for this. No slaps on the wrist - a proper 10 match ban at the very least would be a proper punishment.
The subcontinent is home to THREE of the most famous teams in world cricket. These teams are, India, India 'A' and the Indian u19s.

Old 04-26-2008, 05:29 AM   #18
marirs_mania
The Eccentric Genius
$ICF: 29,649,785
Ok, lets be honest. Player tiffs/ mis-understandings/scuffles arent totally new. If we know of this particular incident between Bhajji and Sree, then we probably dont know bout two dozen similar that would have happened before.

But the only thing I dont understand is, If Sree knew that he was going to breakdown into a torrent of tears, why did he continue to be on the field? He could have just sprinted for the dressing room, face down.

I am bit confused bout whether Bhajji should be punished for this or not. I think the main reason for Sree breaking down can not be Bhajji hitting him under the eye or any other physical act. It is probably more to do with something that was said to him. Besides, I dont think Bhajji's action can classify as assault meaning to cause physical damage. Heck, it could even be just a firm push, nothing more than that. Only,it got blown up Sreesanth was seen visually crying on T.V. The fact of the matter is, cricketers/sportsman cry often, only none of us may know it. It may due to a variety of reasons, like home-sickness, depression, stress due to lack of form, or even not being able to deal with the news of being left out of the playing eleven.

I would rather wait for the full version before castrating Bhajji. If it was just a mild verbal argument that somehow touched a sensitive nerve in Sree and forced him to cry, then nothing really should/could be done bout it. If it was an actual physical assault, intending to cause physical harm, then surely he must be punished for that.To be honest, as much as Bhajji may have actually been the source of this trouble, Sree needs to share the fair share of the blame for making it such a visual spectacle.

But one thing's for sure. From now on, EVERY time Sree and Bhajji don India colors and take the field together, the shadow of this incident will loom large in front of them.

Last edited by marirs_mania : 04-26-2008 at 05:31 AM.
I 'pray' for you, Christopher!

Old 04-26-2008, 05:42 AM   #19
gopsy
Turbanator
$ICF: 4,786
he indeed seems to be the little obnoxious weed, that guy Hayden was after all right, i wonder what was all that acting in Australia all about , projecting himself as a victim of provocation . What a sore loser he is, and where is the sleeping captain of the Mumbai Indians who gave him all "GOOD CONDUCT CERTIFICATE" in that tour.

Now he is playing the Family card , Sree santh and harbhajan are 2 people that are real characters , higly unreliable along with shoaib akhtar, ofcourse.

Old 04-26-2008, 05:49 AM   #20
My two cents
The newer and better fan
Quote by marirs_mania View Post
Ok, lets be honest. Player tiffs/ mis-understandings/scuffles arent totally new. If we know of this particular incident between Bhajji and Sree, then we probably dont know bout two dozen similar that would have happened before.

But the only thing I dont understand is, If Sree knew that he was going to breakdown into a torrent of tears, why did he continue to be on the field? He could have just sprinted for the dressing room, face down.

I am bit confused bout whether Bhajji should be punished for this or not. I think the main reason for Sree breaking down can not be Bhajji hitting him under the eye or any other physical act. It is probably more to do with something that was said to him. Besides, I dont think Bhajji's action can classify as assault meaning to cause physical damage. Heck, it could even be just a firm push, nothing more than that. Only,it got blown up Sreesanth was seen visually crying on T.V. The fact of the matter is, cricketers/sportsman cry often, only none of us may know it. It may due to a variety of reasons, like home-sickness, depression, stress due to lack of form, or even not being able to deal with the news of being left out of the playing eleven.

I would rather wait for the full version before castrating Bhajji. If it was just a mild verbal argument that somehow touched a sensitive nerve in Sree and forced him to cry, then nothing really should/could be done bout it. If it was an actual physical assault, intending to cause physical harm, then surely he must be punished for that.To be honest, as much as Bhajji may have actually been the source of this trouble, Sree needs to share the fair share of the blame for making it such a visual spectacle.

But one thing's for sure. From now on, EVERY time Sree and Bhajji don India colors and take the field together, the shadow of this incident will loom large in front of them.
Yes, just like Pakistani fans behave with Akhar. Its always someone else's fault with Bhajji too. Lets just give him the benifit of the doubt while he gets in trouble with different players and officials series after series until it goes completely out of hand!

Old 04-26-2008, 05:52 AM   #21
marirs_mania
The Eccentric Genius
$ICF: 29,649,785
Quote by My two cents View Post
Yes, just like Pakistani fans behave with Akhar. Its always someone else's fault with Bhajji too. Lets just give him the benifit of the doubt while he gets in trouble with different players and officials series after series until it goes completely out of hand!
I didnt say 'lets make him go scot-free'. I said ' Lets wait for a while before pronouncing judgments'. There's always two sides to a story.
I 'pray' for you, Christopher!

Old 04-26-2008, 05:55 AM   #22
My two cents
The newer and better fan
Quote by marirs_mania View Post
I didnt say 'lets make him go scot-free'. I said ' Lets wait for a while before pronouncing judgments'. There's always two sides to a story.
Lets see, all eyewitnesses, UV, Sree himself have all come out with the same versions and all the details (including Bhajji warning Sree) is already out in the media

Ban Bhajji
Old 04-26-2008, 06:00 AM   #23
desi cartman
Stumpy !
$ICF: 648,018,165
Ban Bhajji

After reading about what happened after the game yesterday Im wondering , should BCCI take any action even if the incident doesnt officially get reported?

To me Bhajji seems to fast becoming the Indian version of Akthar and as we have all seen that letting these idiots get away with a slap on the wrist doesnt make any difference to their behavior.

I think BCCI should ban Bhajji for at least 6 months just so its a warning and an example !

Last edited by desi cartman : 04-26-2008 at 06:05 AM.
"Baap muray Andharay mein Beta Powerhouse"

Old 04-26-2008, 06:05 AM   #24
iluvbrettlee
Turbanator
Harbhajan Singh has disappointed the people who supported him in Aus, he has just lost his reputation of being innocent and just being a target of media, he is definitely wrong and should be punished. And Yuvi i sright to file a complaint against him, I mean they may be friends but this is totally unacceptable. Harbhajan Singh should apologise to Sreesanth on TV or in front of media if he really means it. But Amazingly yesterday we didnt see an aggressive Sreesanth, I thought he would've given back the **** to Bhaji, but he didnt, which is really gr8 of him! Harbhajan should be ashamed! and Tendulkar a bigger idiot for making Harbhajan captain, I mean even the cheerleader could tell yesterday that whoever won the toss would chose to bat...

Old 04-26-2008, 06:05 AM   #25
mhr123
The Legend
$ICF: 59,546,500
100% agreed ... Ban this person. Yar Sree had a good intension by saying " Hard Luck " . Bhajji got mad and thought to be an sarcastic statement. Whatever it may be bhajji had no right to hit Sreeshant.
Even though bhajji apologized later still the scar would remain in the team and its not good for the future.
So i say Ban bhajji for atleast 2 yrs to send the signal to the other players.
“SHUT UP AND SQUAT”

Deadlift will make you cry like a woman , but will make you Man

Old 04-26-2008, 06:07 AM   #26
desi cartman
Stumpy !
Quote by mhr123 View Post
100% agreed ... Ban this person. Yar Sree had a good intension by saying " Hard Luck " . Bhajji got mad and thought to be an sarcastic statement. Whatever it may be bhajji had no right to hit Sreeshant.
Even though bhajji apologized later still the scar would remain in the team and its not good for the future.
So i say Ban bhajji for atleast 2 yrs to send the signal to the other players.
puttar even if SS had said something mean or even abused him verbally , I dont think Bhajji should have ever touched him.

Old 04-26-2008, 06:07 AM   #27
mhr123
The Legend
Paji ... Yuvi is the captain of Sree, so he has to stand for him.
“SHUT UP AND SQUAT”

Old 04-26-2008, 06:26 AM   #28
desi cartman
Stumpy !
wow someone thinks its okay and Bhajji doesnt deserve a ban ,.... 4:1

Old 04-26-2008, 06:30 AM   #29
mhr123
The Legend
^^ lol...
“SHUT UP AND SQUAT”

Old 04-26-2008, 06:31 AM   #30
mhr123
The Legend
If bhajji would have slapped Maaki or Hyd... then even if would have voted as "No" to the ban.
“SHUT UP AND SQUAT”

Old 04-26-2008, 06:33 AM   #31
desi cartman
Stumpy !
Bhajji slapping Haydos ... yaar Haydos would have killed him WWE style

Old 04-26-2008, 06:36 AM   #32
mhr123
The Legend
Quote by desi_downunder View Post
Bhajji slapping Haydos ... yaar Haydos would have killed him WWE style

would have really love to see a WWE handicap match , Bhajji facing Hayden / Symo (Tag Team Patners).
idea kesa hai paji.
“SHUT UP AND SQUAT”

Old 04-26-2008, 06:40 AM   #33
desi cartman
Stumpy !
would have really love to see a WWE handicap match , Bhajji facing Hayden / Symo (Tag Team Patners).
idea kesa hai paji.
yea or make it even more one sided .. lets have Dada-Bhajji Vs Symo-Haydo

Old 04-26-2008, 06:46 AM   #34
iluvbrettlee
Turbanator
Paji ... Yuvi is the captain of Sree, so he has to stand for him.
I dont think Yuvi is just doing this because he is captain of Sreesanth, Sreesanth is part of the national team with him and what HARBHAJAN sINGH did was completely wrong and he should be reported. I dont think Yuvi is doing this for any other reason but for the reason that what Bhaji did was wrong and unnaccepatable..

Old 04-26-2008, 07:08 AM   #35
desi cartman
Stumpy !
It has been learnt that ahead of this game that both teams (without a win till this one) desperately wanted to win an edgy Harbhajan had warned Sreesanth not to abuse him or anyone else in the team, on the morning of the match. He apparently even told him that if he did, he would hit him.

According to sources in the Mumbai camp, even the Mumbai youngsters, many on the big stage for the first time, were told to try and ignore Sreesanth's tantrums as far as they could. They were also told that if they thought that the fast bowler had become uncontrollable, they should tell him (Sreesanth) that they would complain about him to Sachin Tendulkar or Harbhajan. PAPA KO BATA DONGA

While it was not clear what exactly Sreesanth said to Harbhajan at the end of the game (though some say he crossed a line), it was reliably learnt that Harbhajan was terribly upset by Sreesanth's incessant and impolite chit-chat throughout the match.

One such glaring instance was Sreesanth's exchange of words with Musavir Khote after the young Mumbai all-rounder was dismissed.

But despite talk of an apology after the game and a conversation between Harbhajan and Sreesanth, the Kerala paceman's team has decided to lodge an official complaint with the IPL governing council on Saturday morning.

"We have decided to lodge an official complaint against Harbhajan," an official spokesperson of the Mohali team said on condition of anonymity.

The Hindustan Times has also learnt that the complaint, the final draft of which was being finalised as this report is being written, has alleged that Harbhajan slapped and used the "F-word" against Sreesanth.

As the sun rises, the ball will be in the IPL governing council's court. Though chairman Lalit Modi was quoted by some news channels as saying they will "probe the matter", it remains to be seen what course of action the IPL decides to take.

Old 04-26-2008, 07:28 AM   #36
meemumbaikar
Turbanator
$ICF: 561
This guy reminds me of Eric Cantona of English Premier League soccer, except that Cantona was infinitely talented where Bhajji is a lot of gas and little material.

This action only betrays what the rest of the world has been saying about him, If he can stoop this low to hit his own team mate then I don't think he has any place in cricket,

Having had said that Mr Sreesanth is also not blameless and he has done enough to provoke people and he had it coming, he is lucky that it was Bhajji and not anyone else, If it was anyone bigger than Bhajji, Santh would have had a few broken tooth in addition to a cut under his eye.

Brilliant advertisement for Cricket and IPL guys (Bhajji and Sreesanth)-I think whether or not BCCI acts, Mr Modi should drop these two and ban them for the rest of this season as a gesture of goodwill towards cricket.
Na Sar Jhuka hai kabhi aur na jhukega!!!

Old 04-26-2008, 08:02 AM   #37
flamy
His Hardness
$ICF: 7,363,638,847
http://www.ibnlive.com/news/bhajji-s...p/63987-5.html

Interviews with Bhajji and Sreesanth.

DRAMA!!!

Now, all we need is Akhtar to "come from behind" and hijack a match...
لله لكم وقد تملكها
“The universe begins to look more like a great thought than a great machine.” - Sir James Jeans

Old 04-26-2008, 08:11 AM   #38
King
The Legend
$ICF: 4,274,744
Ban him for couple of years and that should serve the rest of the players that take aggression for granted. It's ridiculous to see the so called professionals acting like kids out of kindergarten.

Old 04-26-2008, 08:21 AM   #39
vadodaravictor
Mavin From Western India
$ICF: 86,459
If he is guilty, he should be banned for 2 years. Severity of this punishment will prevent occurrence of such incidents in future.

Old 04-26-2008, 08:26 AM   #40
mhr123
The Legend
Quote by vadodaravictor View Post
If he is guilty, he should be banned for 2 years. Severity of this punishment will prevent occurrence of such incidents in future.
If Sree is found guilty of provoking bhajji he also should be banned for atleast 6mths.
“SHUT UP AND SQUAT”