Go Back   Indian Cricket Fans > Indian Cricket Fans Message Board > Chit Chat

Indian Musician who is better than A.R Rahman
Old 03-02-2009, 01:10 AM   #1
Cricketics
Cricketics Wayz
$ICF: 9,882,014
Indian Musician who is better than A.R Rahman

Shankar Mahadevan.

I really admire this man. His music has been pretty good in almost every movie he has given music to.

I think he is as good as Rahman.
Alt Today
Advertising

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Old 03-02-2009, 01:12 AM   #2
holysmoke
$ICF: 43,048,999
Dont forget Ehsaan-Loy
We watch sport to see the response of human beings under forceful pressure. The tennis rally is a conversation. Cricket's exchange is an interrogation. There is pathos in a dismissal that I think has no parallel in sport. But for the interrogation to feel significant, one needs good pitches and good bowling attacks. It is unrevealing when the interrogated run the show like ringmasters, as they do these days.

- Rahul Bhattacharya

Old 03-02-2009, 01:13 AM   #3
ludhianvi
The Legend
$ICF: 625,833,532
I liked the Breathless song

Old 03-02-2009, 01:25 AM   #4
rahuliverpool
Sachin > ∞
$ICF: 1,819,951
TZP, JBJ. excellent songs
If God ever had a birth date, it was April 24th, 1973.

Old 03-02-2009, 01:26 AM   #5
rahuliverpool
Sachin > ∞
$ICF: 1,819,951
Vishal/Shekhar have started well too
If God ever had a birth date, it was April 24th, 1973.

Old 03-02-2009, 01:53 AM   #6
Zap_Brannigan
Jumbo
$ICF: 127,998,635
Not as good. Good but not even close.

Old 03-02-2009, 02:01 AM   #7
$ICF: 203,211,607
he sucks

Old 03-02-2009, 04:19 AM   #8
rkt.india
Guard of Hell-Let's fight
$ICF: 6,495,429
i dont think so
दिन हो जाता है मेरा जब दिखे उसकी मुस्कान
उससे मिलकर पूरे हो जाते हैं सारे अरमान
जिसने उसे बनाया, है उस रब की जान कृति
उसने उसे बनाया तो बन गयी उस रब की शान कृति

क्यों उसने उसे बनाया, है इस सब की पहचान कृति
है वो इक अनजान कृति
है उसका नाम कृति
है वो इक अनजान कृति

Follow my blog
http://ilakshyammovies.blogspot.com/

Old 03-02-2009, 04:41 AM   #9
Shehezaada
Prince of Calcutta
$ICF: 27,219,568
Quote by Cricketics View Post
Shankar Mahadevan.

I really admire this man. His music has been pretty good in almost every movie he has given music to.

not even close. Rahman combines beats, tunes, hooks and different cultures of music like no one else in the history of music. Only person comparable to Rahman would prolly be Dre.

Shankar Mahadeven is a great singer, fantastic range, good voice, good sense of beat. But as a composer? Any standouts that he's produced that have just gotten you to listen to them again and again? What's his best song? Probably Bol Na Halke Halke, which was brilliant.

But how many can you quote from Rehman? Saathiya, Dil Se, Chaiyya Chaiyya, Satrangi Re, just fantastic songs.

Comparing Rehman and Mahadevan is like comparing Tendulkar vs Nohit Sharma.

Old 03-02-2009, 05:47 AM   #10
fineleg
Pair of finelegs
$ICF: 2,995,678
Good, but far below ARR

Old 03-02-2009, 06:05 AM   #11
rahulrulezz
Gym-holic
$ICF: 928,433
Shankar Mahadevan.

Shankar Mahadevan has got Himesh's Keeda !!....... he sings almost all his songs and screws them up(specially with good tunes)............example,Shankar totally scrwed up this song "Tere Naina" from CCTC ......the tune is soo good but he oldie voice totally messed it up ... he should know that he is too old for these songs..........i still dont like Jhoom Barabar title song coz of Shankars voice(it was originally supposed to be sung by Daler Mehndi)... ....Rahman voice quality and range is way way way better than S.Mahadevan but unlike Shankar, Rahman still gives chance to new comers in almost all his songs...

P.S. - Shankar has promised..God knows how many singers in Saregama that he will give them a break in the industry... and only 2 singers were the lucky ones( in that too Amanat got only 1 line to sing)... ...on the other hand, Rahman recently has given break to almost 10 singers WITHOUT ANY PROMISE on National T.V.

Last edited by rahulrulezz : 03-02-2009 at 06:11 AM.
"I enjoy hitting a batsman more than getting him out. I like to see blood on the pitch" - Jeff Thomson

Jeff Thomson - YA LEGEND!!!- Worlds Fastest Bowler!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8tFg...eature=related
Notice how far the wicketkeeper stands.....

Old 03-02-2009, 06:15 AM   #12
Gambit
Aye haye tere tashan
$ICF: 32,923,489
Quote by Shehezaada View Post
not even close. Rahman combines beats, tunes, hooks and different cultures of music like no one else in the history of music. Only person comparable to Rahman would prolly be Dre.

Shankar Mahadeven is a great singer, fantastic range, good voice, good sense of beat. But as a composer? Any standouts that he's produced that have just gotten you to listen to them again and again? What's his best song? Probably Bol Na Halke Halke, which was brilliant.

But how many can you quote from Rehman? Saathiya, Dil Se, Chaiyya Chaiyya, Satrangi Re, just fantastic songs.

Comparing Rehman and Mahadevan is like comparing Tendulkar vs Nohit Sharma.

Umm..how about Dil Chahta Hai, Taare Zameen Par,Don,Rock On,Lakshya?

The following songs are almost good as some of ARR's best tunes -

Kholo Kholo - TZP
Maa - TZP
Dil Chahta Hai - DCH
Aaj ki raat - Don
Main Aisa Kyun Hoon - Lakshya

Old 03-02-2009, 06:15 AM   #13
kumble_rocks
The Legend
$ICF: 84,534
Shanker Mahadevan was a fa.gg*t who got lucky , Still remember exchanging cigarette with this ********** along with my bro' in the corridors of SIES , Sion munbai .. At that time this guy was a nobody who lived on borrowed wealth ... now this FAC.K ****** refuses to take my bro' call , so much for loyalty ...!

Last edited by kumble_rocks : 03-02-2009 at 06:17 AM.

Old 03-02-2009, 06:16 AM   #14
Gambit
Aye haye tere tashan
And while ARR is a superior composer to SM, SM is the much better singer out of the two. Simply no comparison there.

Old 03-02-2009, 06:19 AM   #15
suraj
Lets not forget 11/26/08
$ICF: 51,414,403
Quote by kumble_rocks View Post
Shanker Mahadevan was a fa.gg*t who got lucky , Still remember exchanging ***s with this would be along with my bro' in the corridors of SIES , Sion munbai .. At that time this guy was a nobody who lived on borrowed wealth ... now this **** ****** refuses to take my bro' call , so much for loyalty ...!
You can replace Shankar Mahadevan for any celebrity in the world in this statement

they were all exchanging notes with someone unknown @ some stage of their lives and are claimed as disloyal by thousands who have gotten close to them for even one second of their lives

On another note Mahadevan as good as Rehman

big no no

Old 03-02-2009, 06:20 AM   #16
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
$ICF: 18,535,649,782
AR Rahman and etc, came recently but no one can beat the great Kishore
Kirkut Says
Waise, Saale Sabh Hain Chor
Ab Mein Pakda Gaya, Tab Machaya Shor

Old 03-02-2009, 06:24 AM   #17
suraj
Lets not forget 11/26/08
Quote by Reggie View Post
AR Rahman and etc, came recently but no one can beat the great Kishore
Singer vs Composer

DUH!!!!!

Old 03-02-2009, 06:35 AM   #18
kumble_rocks
The Legend
$ICF: 84,534
Quote by suraj View Post
You can replace Shankar Mahadevan for any celebrity in the world in this statement

they were all exchanging notes with someone unknown @ some stage of their lives and are claimed as disloyal by thousands who have gotten close to them for even one second of their lives

On another note Mahadevan as good as Rehman

big no no
I would agree bro ; , I guess my post may be construed as bitter , Shanker Mahadevan was a product of SIES college Mubai and he was a nobody when he was into his graduation . To be honest , I never thought this fat lard who happened to be a good friend of bro' would become something . I still have that TDK cassette with me , his singing composition.. he had that deep voice, but to be honest , in my wildest dream , would I have dared to figure that this guy would become what he has become .... and he did it ..good luck to him !

Old 03-02-2009, 06:41 AM   #19
veer
The Master Blaster
$ICF: 2,244,336
SM is not at the same level but definitely under-rated..
--------------
We Indians are from the land of constructors, healers, and progressive minds..
pakis are from the land of destructors, killers and haters..
Point is.. dont get tangled up with them.. stand up and progress...

Old 03-02-2009, 06:46 AM   #20
rahulrulezz
Gym-holic
$ICF: 928,433
Quote by Gambit View Post
And while ARR is a superior composer to SM, SM is the much better singer out of the two. Simply no comparison there.
you JOKING me!!!

Shankar Mahadevan's BAAP cant sing Vande Matram, Yeh jo Des hai Tera, Lukka Chupiii with the way Rahman sung..All these 3 songs bring Goosegumps everytime i hear ..love these songs

Though AR Rahman is a famous composer, he is the most underrated singer..here are the some of the gems of his songs sung by him
"I enjoy hitting a batsman more than getting him out. I like to see blood on the pitch" - Jeff Thomson

Jeff Thomson - YA LEGEND!!!- Worlds Fastest Bowler!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8tFg...eature=related
Notice how far the wicketkeeper stands.....

Old 03-02-2009, 06:48 AM   #21
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
Quote by suraj View Post
Singer vs Composer

DUH!!!!!
AR Rahman is ?
Mahadevan is ?

KK was singer and composer my friend
Kirkut Says

Old 03-02-2009, 06:49 AM   #22
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
Quote by kumble_rocks View Post
Shanker Mahadevan was a fa.gg*t who got lucky , Still remember exchanging cigarette with this ********** along with my bro' in the corridors of SIES , Sion munbai .. At that time this guy was a nobody who lived on borrowed wealth ... now this FAC.K ****** refuses to take my bro' call , so much for loyalty ...!
most celebrities dont, unless u were close! If I start a list here then it would mean all those are SOB's and btw in bollywood - luck is 90% job done
Kirkut Says

Old 03-02-2009, 06:53 AM   #23
Gambit
Aye haye tere tashan
Quote by rahulrulezz View Post
you JOKING me!!!

Shankar Mahadevan's BAAP cant sing Vande Matram, Yeh jo Des hai Tera, Lukka Chupiii with the way Rahman sung..All these 3 songs bring Goosegumps everytime i hear ..love these songs
SM's baap might not be able to sing all that but SM is a better singer than ARR. Let's just accept that as fact and move on. Basically, ARR is a bowling all rounder and SM is a batting all rounder(where bowling = composing and batting=singing).

Old 03-02-2009, 06:59 AM   #24
graphic23
Legend
$ICF: 77,327,419
Have a lot of respect for Shankar Mahadevan. His voice range is awesome and of course the ability to sing breathless for a 5 minute song is an awesome talent. As a composer, he cannot be judged alone (because of Ehsaan and Loy) but I (quite obviously) feel that Rahman's a far superior composer to the trio inspite of Dil Chahta Hai and Taare Zameen Par. They've come out with a lot of mediocre work along with very good works with great only belonging to the aforementioned works.

As a singer, I think he pips Rahman in terms of pure singing ability. The songs he's sung is another matter because he sings all sorts of masala ones (for other composers as well )along with good ones while Rahman sings for himself and sings only the top-class stuff in his compositions that suit his voice.

I think Rahman, the singer, chooses very very judiciously the songs he sings and so they come out very well (eg. "Rehna Tu" from Delhi-6 and all the songs mentioned above by Rahulrulez, and ofcourse "Dil Se Re" from Dil Se).
Sarah Palin is a ****ing retard.

Dont worry, this is satire.

Old 03-02-2009, 07:02 AM   #25
suraj
Lets not forget 11/26/08
Quote by Reggie View Post
AR Rahman is ?
Mahadevan is ?

KK was singer and composer my friend
If you are comparing KK the composer to AR the composer I have nothing to say to you

On the flip side If you are comparing AR the singer to KK the singer I have nothing to say to you again

Your analogies are all screwed up because you are comparing North and South in 2 different categories where one doesn't hold candle to the other in each of his domain

If you are combining both and comparing the two over vastly different eras I am not nerd enuff to get into that argument

to me- AR Rehamn is the best composer we have had to date

Kishore da is the best singer we have had to date!!!

Old 03-02-2009, 07:02 AM   #26
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
rahmans material is abstract and has lot of depth, the shankar eshan loy group caters to your new gen bollywood music with catchy tunes, recently the stuff from dostana was awesome

Last edited by Rajiv : 03-02-2009 at 07:08 AM.
Kirkut Says

Old 03-02-2009, 07:03 AM   #27
Gambit
Aye haye tere tashan
Also, just for the record, Sukhvinder pwns Mahadevan and ARR as a singer.

Old 03-02-2009, 07:07 AM   #28
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
Quote by suraj View Post
If you are comparing KK the composer to AR the composer I have nothing to say to you

On the flip side If you are comparing AR the singer to KK the singer I have nothing to say to you again

Your analogies are all screwed up because you are comparing North and South in 2 different categories where one doesn't hold candle to the other in each of his domain

If you are combining both and comparing the two over vastly different eras I am not nerd enuff to get into that argument

to me- AR Rehamn is the best composer we have had to date

Kishore da is the best singer we have had to date!!!
I don't doubt your expertise and can't comment on the nerd factor!

All I am saying is in IMO, no one better than KK - he was a perfect allrounder - music and composition
Kirkut Says

Old 03-02-2009, 07:08 AM   #29
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
hmm, perhaps a personal choice
Kirkut Says

Old 03-02-2009, 07:18 AM   #30
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
oh btw, whateva happened to Sonu Nigam..is he still around
Kirkut Says

Old 03-02-2009, 08:18 AM   #31
varun
The Legend
$ICF: 46,119,579
Funny you mentioned these 3 names. I went for a concert in LA a few years back where all 3 of them were present. Sukhvinder was the best live performer out there, and the opinion was shared amongst our pretty large group which included some hardcore ARR fans.

Mahadevan was good, though I wouldn't put him above ARR as far as live performance goes.

Sonu Nigam was there too and he, despite having a large contingent of shouting female fans, failed to deliver.

Old 03-02-2009, 08:27 AM   #32
satishg
SRT is life
$ICF: 1,538,902
Shankar Mahadevan is no where close to ARR as a music composer..Rahman is way above him..as a singer I feel it is quite close but being a biased Rahmaniac i wud go with ARR as a better singer too..I still cant imagine anyone else singing this particular song better than ARR..this is his best ever song as a singer..

he has literally lived this song :)
His records might be broken one day, but the memories he gave us will remain for eternity..Sachin Tendulkar is the greatest batsman of my time and will remain so until i die

Old 03-02-2009, 08:42 AM   #33
Cricketics
Cricketics Wayz
And Kailash Kher and Sonu Nigam and K.K own all these Rahmans or any other singer.

THREE CHEERS FOR THREESOME - KHER, NIGAM AND KK

Old 03-02-2009, 03:37 PM   #34
suraj
Lets not forget 11/26/08
holy cow. it's about 1 feet of snow alredy. and still snowing.
Yeh is thread mein kyun post kiya??

Old 03-02-2009, 03:45 PM   #35
Cricketics
Cricketics Wayz
galtise ho gaya yaar. let me post it in the other.

Old 03-02-2009, 03:46 PM   #36
Shehezaada
Prince of Calcutta
Umm..how about Dil Chahta Hai, Taare Zameen Par,Don,Rock On,Lakshya?

The following songs are almost good as some of ARR's best tunes -

Kholo Kholo - TZP
Maa - TZP
Dil Chahta Hai - DCH
Aaj ki raat - Don
Main Aisa Kyun Hoon - Lakshya
What about them?

any of the songs you've mentioned, do they mix hooks and beats as well as Rahman does? Listen to Baadal from Yuva, it's just outstanding. Especially between the first and second stanzas where he throws a keyboard, violin, and tabla at you. It's ridiculous. Maa? What's so good about that song? The lyrics maybe are touching but the song itself is nothing special. Rock on was TERRIBLE in every sense of the word. Aaj Ki Raat is good to listen to, but it doesn't touch you. Main Aisa Kyun Hoon is different and a wonderful listen, but it's not seamlessly put together like Oh Humdum Suniyo Re.

Dil Chahta Hai vs Dil Se, Taare Zameen Par vs Roja, Don vs Saathiya, Rock on v s Delhi 6? Not one of those albums have nearly the variety and class to keep up with Rahman.

Listen to Dil Gira Daaftan from Delhi 6...the music at the chorus is off the hook. He's a master at combining different, simple instruments together and slapping together good beats as part of the package. The other good thing is that he doesn't crowd together a piece with a LOT of instruments, he doesn't let them confuse you. Kholo Kholo is an example of Mahadevan's work that DOES do this. They each have their small part to play and it just works together. Keep in mind that Rahman is not perfect, he's come up with a lot of crap in the past couple of years.

What's the difference between Tendulkar's straight drive and Nohit's straight drive? You might look at Nohit's drive and go...damn, nice shot, bastard looks in good form. But Tendulkar's? The purity, the simplicity, just shocks you. It stays with you for the longest time. Just makes you speechless. Rahman is Tendulkar, Nohit is Mahadevan.

ARR is very similar to Dre in that sense. Willing to go out and just experiment with anything and everything. And he's a perfectionist. Dre's base lines in G-Funk are ridiculous, just like ARR's today.

Last edited by Shehezaada : 03-02-2009 at 03:52 PM.

Old 03-02-2009, 04:03 PM   #37
Shehezaada
Prince of Calcutta
how? Each has their positives and negatives, their own ranges, their own type of music that suits them.

Sukhwinder Singh is one of my favorite singers..has a great range, very much in sur, excellent knowledge of beats and can sing in multiple languages. Also his voice has depth, can sing songs that are very high in pitch and very low as well. But imagine his voice in songs like Ishq Hua, Is Pal from Aaja Nachle. Not a good fit.

Mahadevan is the more talented singer out of all three and his sense of music is outstanding as a singer as well. In Sa Re Ga Ma Pa he was freestyling alaaps at people like they was going out of style.

ARR has the most limited range out of all three, but he's a master at picking the right songs to sing. Tere Bina, Eye Hairathe, Lukka Chuppi. All require a simplistic approach that's pure. Rahman's voice is the purest out of all three, and that's why Sukhwinder and Shankar are not good fits for these types of songs.

Can't really determine who's the best singer. That's really upto the person and who they favor.

Old 03-02-2009, 06:01 PM   #38
holysmoke
$ICF: 43,048,999
On a tangent, I never really appreciated Lata's voice until I heard Luka Chuppi.
We watch sport to see the response of human beings under forceful pressure. The tennis rally is a conversation. Cricket's exchange is an interrogation. There is pathos in a dismissal that I think has no parallel in sport. But for the interrogation to feel significant, one needs good pitches and good bowling attacks. It is unrevealing when the interrogated run the show like ringmasters, as they do these days.

- Rahul Bhattacharya

Old 03-02-2009, 06:30 PM   #39
$ICF: 203,211,607
Quote by graphic23 View Post
His voice range is awesome and of course the ability to sing breathless for a 5 minute song is an awesome talent.
Sorry to burst your bubble

but he did not sing it non stop

It was stitched (remixed types)

Old 03-02-2009, 06:30 PM   #40
Domaink
The best.
$ICF: 361,170,316
Fighting over nothing!!
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.