LATEST ARTICLES:
Go Back   Indian Cricket Fans > Indian Cricket Fans Message Board > IPL/CL Forum
View Poll Results: How strongly do you feel about your side in IPL
Very strongly, life and soul for 6 weeks 11 32.35%
Strongly, but don't feel too involved 6 17.65%
Time Pass, just a good way to have/poke fun and move on 15 44.12%
Like IPL, but don't have a strong team affiliation 2 5.88%
Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

Is there a real inter-franchise rivalry in IPL
Old 02-08-2010, 10:26 PM   #1
The Outsider
The Legend
$ICF: 436,240,610
Is there a real inter-franchise rivalry in IPL

Questions to those who follow IPL regularly and affiliate themselves with a particular team - is it more of a hoopla that you develop or there is a genuine feeling of association with a team? Are you gutted when your team loses, or just move on to the next match or tournament? Is there any sense of long lasting elation on wins?

If and when you would go to stadiums would you do it out of watching some quick entertainment or out of real loyalty for you side? Would you travel to watch your team play a final? When putting other teams down do you really mean it in the India-Pakistan kind of manner or is it just funzzz and stuffzzz? Are you tempted to buy outfits of your team, have a screen saver on your laptop?

Basically, trying to get an idea of how strong affinities are after two seasons - does IPL offer the prospect of genuine sporting rivalries? Will they develop into the acrimonious kinds like India-Pakistan or there will always be an appreciation and respect for the opposing side due to Indian presence?
" In our society, a man who does not cry at his mother's funeral is liable to be condemned to death"
- Albert Camus in the foreward to "The Outsider"
Alt Today
Advertising

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Old 02-09-2010, 12:18 AM   #2
flamy
His Hardness
$ICF: 7,363,639,017
It's just funz and stuffz for me.
لله لكم وقد تملكها
“The universe begins to look more like a great thought than a great machine.” - Sir James Jeans

Old 02-09-2010, 06:01 AM   #3
spectre
CSK ku whistle podu
$ICF: 114,742
I feel a genuine association with my team and also feel bad when the team loses
But its no way comparable with me as an Indian team fan - that is a whole diff level

bashing other teams - for me, its just for fun during this season, adds spice to the contest

But the growth of IPL might increase loyatly to the franchises and there will be more rivarly among fans

I wont go to stadiums, buy merchandise etc, i will watch it on TV for the enjoyment and entertainment

Old 02-09-2010, 06:14 AM   #4
mhr123
The Legend
$ICF: 59,546,500
I also have a genuine association with my team ,feel miserable and let down when we loose to some suckers like , and :kxi: .
I know my team does have a lot of potential with some real match winners in the team . But this time it wud change ,they wud come to party as its time this season.
Get ready for some real *****$ whooping.
“SHUT UP AND SQUAT”

Deadlift will make you cry like a woman , but will make you Man

Old 02-09-2010, 07:14 AM   #5
DeveGowda
Prince of Calcutta
$ICF: 66,000,576
It will take years for REAL rivarly....

Fans need to travel from one city to another to Support their teams...this will take some time..

But in between every time IPL starts auction and players start to play for different teams it will be bit difficulty to start rivarly...

Old 02-09-2010, 07:20 AM   #6
Shane
The Legend
$ICF: 6,137,784,559
Funz and Stuffz!

Just like to kick some serious KKR butt! Reason: One of my best friend in College was a hardcore KKR/SRK fan amongst all the other MI ones, we decided to settle it all at the Wankhede, he was buoyant going into the game, so much so he wore his fav. KGayR Jersey and SRGay was literally tatooed all over him, and then this happened, --> EPIC KLPD . The kind of he got from the rest was one to remember.

Missed that last year, so decided to have a go at mhr123, but the poor guy was already with his team's consistent streak, so went easy on him, more so I like his jokes in the laughter section.

But this year with these *bubbling*teenagers sunny and andy around, I think I will be having a good

P.S. I think we have a 4-0 record against the KGayR, so they are our bi@tches!

P.P.S. Ludhi you need to take a closer look at the two KGayR's to know what exactly bubbly is.

(23:10:44) <Azarimanka> at least i will get a real job
(23:10:46) <Azarimanka> one day
(23:10:53) <Shane> one day?
(23:10:56) <h4te> suicide bomber?

Old 02-09-2010, 07:40 AM   #7
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
$ICF: 18,535,649,782
Damn Serious, not fond of ppl or city outside Mumbai anyways....I have to tolerate and be diplomatic to folkz here.
Not my choice but I have to be with marathi manooszzz

Old 02-09-2010, 07:41 AM   #8
mhr123
The Legend
$ICF: 59,546,500
THings have changed mate... really changed ... ur still in ur dreams..

Wake up . ur now in 2010. Chalooo match hone doo , u will not find a hiding place. One storm of Gayle and BC will sweep u.
“SHUT UP AND SQUAT”

Deadlift will make you cry like a woman , but will make you Man

Old 02-09-2010, 09:57 AM   #9
Gambit
Aye haye tere tashan
$ICF: 32,923,489
Just strictly timepass, nothing else. I had gone for the Champions Trophy game between DD and Victoria and even though DD were getting thrashed, I was busy chatting and eating and not caring about the result generally.
Old Tamil Proverb - When there is no Peacock Turkey will be hailed as most beautiful.

Old 02-09-2010, 10:07 AM   #10
desi cartman
Stumpy !
$ICF: 648,019,150
I think MI vs KXI Punjab is a rivalry in the making
"Baap muray Andharay mein Beta Powerhouse"

Old 02-09-2010, 02:10 PM   #11
Aadhavzone
Cricketic
$ICF: 4,333,945
MI v KKR Expected Finals! acc to IPL Jinx!
GO CSK GO!

Old 02-09-2010, 02:26 PM   #12
DeveGowda
Prince of Calcutta
BRC v/s CSK......

BRC all the way

Old 02-09-2010, 03:14 PM   #13
cowboysfan
America's team
$ICF: 67,406,380
Quote by DeveGowda View Post
BRC v/s CSK......

BRC all the way
thats just crazy,csk are perennial losers.that cant even make it past the semis even with all that talent on their team.it will be brc and DD in the final.
"Failure to prepare is preparing to fail"-John Wooden.

"Losers are for losers"-cowboysfan.

Old 02-09-2010, 03:18 PM   #14
DeveGowda
Prince of Calcutta
Quote by cowboysfan View Post
thats just crazy,csk are perennial losers.that cant even make it past the semis even with all that talent on their team.it will be brc and DD in the final.
i am not talking about final...rivarly between teams ....

Old 02-09-2010, 05:04 PM   #15
Aadhavzone
Cricketic
Quote by cowboysfan View Post
lol CSK went to final 2008, and followed with a semifinal in 2009....

but BRC guys are even worse

Last edited by Aadhavzone : 02-09-2010 at 05:48 PM. Reason: Grammar :D
GO CSK GO!

Old 02-09-2010, 05:15 PM   #16
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
Quote by Rajiv View Post
Damn Serious, not fond of ppl or city outside Mumbai anyways....I have to tolerate and be diplomatic to folkz here.
****, no one even responded to this - koi jagda karne ke mood mein nahin hain

Old 02-09-2010, 05:28 PM   #17
Shane
The Legend
$ICF: 6,137,784,559
Quote by Aadhavzone View Post

but BRC guys are even worser
Doesn't get worsier than this?

(23:10:44) <Azarimanka> at least i will get a real job
(23:10:46) <Azarimanka> one day
(23:10:53) <Shane> one day?
(23:10:56) <h4te> suicide bomber?

Old 02-09-2010, 05:38 PM   #18
flamy
His Hardness
Quote by Rajiv View Post
I did, but my post got deleted. I have friends in high places
لله لكم وقد تملكها
“The universe begins to look more like a great thought than a great machine.” - Sir James Jeans

Old 02-09-2010, 06:44 PM   #19
Cricketics
Cricketics Wayz
$ICF: 9,882,014
Support Delhi and Punjab like Indian team. If they lose, it will hurt, if they win It will be same great victory feeling. If any other team troll against Delhi, then he would be given pakistan style treatment. Specially the Rajnikaantaaz and MNS

C.Dravid b.Kumble..

Old 02-09-2010, 06:58 PM   #20
Clarke
Yes, Prime Minister
$ICF: 18,381,772
It feels so good 2 see SRK's KKR lose .. wonder if SRK after the match

Old 02-09-2010, 07:00 PM   #21
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
^^
Double Dholki, Delhi and Punjab - pick one paratha, not from 2 places

Look whoz talking about PAKINESS< the teams who played them. Mumbai was CLEAN of them - Go Thackeray

Old 02-09-2010, 07:00 PM   #22
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
Quote by flamy View Post
I did, but my post got deleted. I have friends in high places
Whatever place they live on, I have an apartment above it

Old 02-09-2010, 07:03 PM   #23
Cricketics
Cricketics Wayz
$ICF: 9,882,014
Quote by Rajiv View Post
^^
Double Dholki, Delhi and Punjab - pick one paratha, not from 2 places

Look whoz talking about PAKINESS< the teams who played them. Mumbai was CLEAN of them - Go Thackeray
Sehwag made shoaib malik bowl a last over in which delhi lost only to show malik that how pathetic he is and should be no where near any IPL team and should never ask for a contract. Same thing was done to Asif by Sehwag and then later both of them never played for Delhi.

We try to show everyone some right ways.

Delhi Wayz.

C.Dravid b.Kumble..

Old 02-09-2010, 07:07 PM   #24
blue_brigade
The Legend
$ICF: 8,200,000,000
Quote by Rajiv View Post
Oh yeah, you wanna take it outside ? Oh wait...it's bloody sunny and the temperatures are in +ve in Vancouver when they are supposed to be hosting WINTER Olympics

Old 02-09-2010, 07:11 PM   #25
blue_brigade
The Legend
I don't think the rivalry will get as serious as the football ones, because when the international cricket starts all of us are united and support the same individuals whose back we would have liked to see early in IPL. And at least for now, International cricket topples IPL and there is no way you can keep 'hating' that individual for a longer time. Not that I am complaining that international cricket is played at a larger extend and hope it stays the same

Old 02-09-2010, 07:13 PM   #26
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
Quote by blue_brigade View Post
Oh yeah, you wanna take it outside ? Oh wait...it's bloody sunny and the temperatures are in +ve in Vancouver when they are supposed to be hosting WINTER Olympics
...you will repent on wriitng the above

But VANOC is pretty smart, they are transporting stored snow to the mountains....and guess where they got the huge pile of snow from

.............that depressing ONTARIO

Old 02-09-2010, 07:14 PM   #27
blue_brigade
The Legend
Quote by Rajiv View Post
...you will repent on wriitng the above

But VANOC is pretty smart, they are transporting stored snow to the mountains....and guess where they got the huge pile of snow from

.............that depressing ONTARIO

So you needed our help to host your frigging event. Humare bina toda kii hota paaji

Btw, planning to visit any of the events ?

Old 02-09-2010, 07:15 PM   #28
achilles
Andy
$ICF: 4,088,571
It obviously is when Delhi plays Chennai.

Or atleast between the cheeleaders & Chennai ones
Workers play Football. Managers play Tennis. Bosses play Snooker and CEOs play Golf. Moral: The higher you move up the ladder, the ball becomes smaller & you need a better vision.... ;-)

Old 02-09-2010, 08:34 PM   #29
urbestfriend
Royal challenge
$ICF: 66,041,649

but BRC guys are even worse
Csk went to final in 2008, semi final in 2009, wooden spoon in 2010
BRC no SF in 2008, final in 2009 and champions of 2010
Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam- World is a family

Old 02-09-2010, 08:53 PM   #30
Rajiv
Site Founder ®
Quote by blue_brigade View Post
So you needed our help to host your frigging event. Humare bina toda kii hota paaji

Btw, planning to visit any of the events ?
Yes, thanx for the SNOW - what else its good for

Events, I might - Awesome Crowd here

Old 02-10-2010, 01:41 AM   #31
Aadhavzone
Cricketic
Quote by urbestfriend View Post
Csk went to final in 2008, semi final in 2009, wooden spoon in 2010
BRC no SF in 2008, final in 2009 and champions of 2010
spot is sure for BRC, No. 8
GO CSK GO!

Old 02-10-2010, 09:03 AM   #32
DeveGowda
Prince of Calcutta
spot is sure for BRC, No. 8
In your dreams....

this time CSK wont even reach semi's

Old 02-10-2010, 09:25 AM   #33
Aadhavzone
Cricketic
In your dreams....

this time CSK wont even reach semi's

Actually we never think BRC as even equivalent to our mayiru!
GO CSK GO!

Old 02-10-2010, 10:27 AM   #34
DeveGowda
Prince of Calcutta

Actually we never think BRC as even equivalent to our mayiru!
Because BRC is better tahn CSK...

May be CSK is equal to u r mayiru

Old 02-10-2010, 10:35 AM   #35
Domaink
The best.
$ICF: 361,170,316
I think not, especially for the players who know that they have to come back to play with each other in a some days.

As a fan, I do support MI, but that does not mean that I don't enjoy when others play well or that I feel very sad when MI loses.

It's fun, that's all.
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Old 02-10-2010, 10:48 AM   #36
Aaku
The Wall
$ICF: 1,418,975,427
Quote by Cricketics View Post
Support Delhi and Punjab like Indian team. If they lose, it will hurt, if they win It will be same great victory feeling. If any other team troll against Delhi, then he would be given pakistan style treatment. Specially the Rajnikaantaaz and MNS
I like you !

Old 02-10-2010, 11:21 AM   #37
flamy
His Hardness
Quote by Rajiv View Post
Whatever place they live on, I have an apartment above it
Then, you'll have a nice view of the Bambis running helter-skelter
لله لكم وقد تملكها

Old 02-10-2010, 01:07 PM   #38
Il Principino
$ICF: 71,753,762
Strongly and I hate when these sportive Chennai @#$% applaud every away team boundary. Those @#$% were McC when he was spanking Oram
Not Changing This Signature Until (Started Feb10, 2010):

• India regains #1 in ODI rankings
  • India wins a Test series in SA
  • India wins a Test series in Australia
  • GOD notches his 100th hundred
  • CSK wins the IPL [Apr25, 2010]
  • Pakistan wins a Test match [July24, 2010]
  • BB stops being my beetch

Old 02-10-2010, 01:21 PM   #39
DeveGowda
Prince of Calcutta
Quote by Il Principino View Post
Strongly and I hate when these sportive Chennai @#$% applaud every away team boundary. Those @#$% were McC when he was spanking Oram
does that include AADHAVZONE also ?

Old 02-10-2010, 01:32 PM   #40
Il Principino
$ICF: 71,753,762
does that include AADHAVZONE also ?
I dunno but if he supports other teams then "hell yeah" It happens wonly in Chennai. You cam also find a lot of morons here supporting Australia over India and claiming that Punter >>> GOD
Not Changing This Signature Until (Started Feb10, 2010):

• India regains #1 in ODI rankings
  • India wins a Test series in SA
  • India wins a Test series in Australia
  • GOD notches his 100th hundred
  • CSK wins the IPL [Apr25, 2010]
  • Pakistan wins a Test match [July24, 2010]
  • BB stops being my beetch