"Draconian lockdown, nowhere else in the world, devastated the GDP..fear of life instilled, difficult to get rid of"

randomGuy

4 hours ago, someone said:

India is India, not any other country. Either it was a lockdown or no lockdown, and a lockdown was obviously correct.  So why lock-down was not completely effective?

Real reason is 1/3 of our districts are not in state governance. That's a scary fact with huge short and long term implication. The changing demographics, mob rule are a reality.

Not true. Lockdown could had been in phased manner. This would had created less panic. One of the main reason for migration was panic . Large number of police was used to implement lockdown . They could had been used to contact tracing.

Central government and plenty of state governments had sureshot beleif that lockdown will 100% successful. Hardly any of them has plan B

4 hours ago, beetle said:

How can one compare to china?

No one knows the real figures. How can anyone believe china when they have a rile to play in the origin and the spread of the virus.

No one knows if people were cured or eliminated.

India can not use their methods of control.

Nor can it hide figures from the people .

But still now they are Corona free or very few cases. Indian government also confirmed they contacted Chinese experts regarding coronavirus.elimination of large number of such people is difficult. 

13 hours ago, Singh bling said:

1) China was able to control pandemic despite same population and first country to hit . It was able to end pandemic even in Wuhan in 76 days

2) probably we already have million cases as all governments are hiding cases

3)1 year lockdown will destroy india and probably start civil war.

4) you should read about Peru. Despite early lockdown country of 3.6 crore  country is very badly affected. It did lockdown on March 15 when there were only 73 cases but at present it has 180000 cases.

China killed every infected person they found. You have no idea what China has done. China is a theocratic power. We can't do anything like that. They have suppressed media and social media. They don't have facebook, no twitter. You don't really know what is coming out of there is true or just propaganda.

5 hours ago, Singh bling said:

Not true. Lockdown could had been in phased manner. This would had created less panic. One of the main reason for migration was panic . Large number of police was used to implement lockdown . They could had been used to contact tracing.

Central government and plenty of state governments had sureshot beleif that lockdown will 100% successful. Hardly any of them has plan B

Lockdown was very successful till May 3 till we had real lockdown. Once they started to lift in phases, it didn't work.

6 hours ago, Singh bling said:

Agree .The 4 hr notice for lockdown was a bad idea. It was inhumane too. 

They should have let people move back home while they were un infected in the earlier days. Now we are seeing the result of a desperate ' infected' population moving back home and spreading infection.

Like most decisions,it is of course easier to judge in hindsight.

The govt most likely did not expect to continue the lockdown for so long .

May be the deaths due to late lockdown would have created more panic.

It is not easy being in the position  of the govt in such cases.

When we look back later on ,the 4 hrs notice for lockdown will probably go down as the biggest reason for the spread. That is so ironical and sad.

Lockdown was the correct move, helped spread awareness of safety/sanitation measures in minds of public and readied them to adjust to new reality, slowed down the spread, gave time to our state govts and hospitals to improve their medical infra and capabilities. Some state govts have been sitting idle, some messed up, Centre not responsible for that.

Could have been better.....earlier notice like in Singapore (8 pm announcement was :facepalm:and even messaging missed key points, clarifications had to be issued later), allowing migrants to travel to their homes in the initial days when numbers were less...the mobs attacking medical personnel should have been dealt with more sternly, TJ creeps who were continuing to hide should have been given hell.

1 hour ago, rkt.india said:

China killed every infected person they found. You have no idea what China has done. China is a theocratic power. We can't do anything like that. They have suppressed media and social media. They don't have facebook, no twitter. You don't really know what is coming out of there is true or just propaganda.

These are conspiracy theories with no basis. Killing 1 lakh people require gas chambers like system. Even earlier whether it was Stalin's Soviet or any other country . The stories of killings come out. But in this digital age we don't have any proof of that.Also China has big fdi and large foreign nationals . Even when one news channel conducted a debate on rapid antibody testing kit. The person who came to defend China was Indian head of Chinese hospital. Don't you think many of these people know if massive killings happened in China.

1 hour ago, rkt.india said:

Lockdown was very successful till May 3 till we had real lockdown. Once they started to lift in phases, it didn't work.

Not true. Just check graph. When Lockdown started we had 50-60 cases per day. By 30 April we had 1800 . Lockdown in most nations resulted in peak after 13 days and then curve started to move down. In India's case the curve never came down. It was always going up.

When it comes to success and failure of lockdown, it is the perfomance of states. Not centre. Today, the problem areas are Gujarat, Maharashtra, Delhi, Tamil Nadu. 

the winners have been Karnataka, Kerala, Orissa, Assam, North East, Haryana. 

The whole purpose of lockdown is to avoid the spike that overwhelms the system. It has been achieved apart from Maharashtra and Delhi. Here too, it is poor handling and not lack of capacity. 

Lockdown is neither good or bad policy. It’s how it’s been implemented by States. 

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

Not true. Just check graph. When Lockdown started we had 50-60 cases per day. By 30 April we had 1800 . Lockdown in most nations resulted in peak after 13 days and then curve started to move down. In India's case the curve never came down. It was always going up.

That's because laxity from people and has nothing to do with lockdown. Without lockdown those case by April 30 could easily have been 18 thousands a day instead of 1800. I can talk about where I live. People are highly disciplined in these areas and there are hardly any cases. Even usually, markets would be crowded but here even now people are hardly coming out despite opening. In uttarakhand, there weren't even 100 cases before govt opened the borders for migrants coming from Maharashtra, Mumbai, Delhi, Gujarat and many of them are getting tested positive. IIRC, we didn't even have 100 cases in uttarakhand till May 15 or so. It's all about discipline of the people that would have decided the fate of lockdown. We needed a highly successful lockdown but it didn't happen. 

Edited by rkt.india

23 hours ago, Autonomous said:

Situation was always very sensitive for india with population of 1.3 billion. 

seems its worse in pakistan, apparently there are people dying but not being counted and free spread of virus, bad situation. 

1 hour ago, ravishingravi said:

When it comes to success and failure of lockdown, it is the perfomance of states. Not centre. Today, the problem areas are Gujarat, Maharashtra, Delhi, Tamil Nadu. 

the winners have been Karnataka, Kerala, Orissa, Assam, North East, Haryana

The whole purpose of lockdown is to avoid the spike that overwhelms the system. It has been achieved apart from Maharashtra and Delhi. Here too, it is poor handling and not lack of capacity. 

Lockdown is neither good or bad policy. It’s how it’s been implemented by States. 

centers of commerce and economy impacted and white color areas less impacted its the same trend everywhere in the world.

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

These are conspiracy theories with no basis. Killing 1 lakh people require gas chambers like system. Even earlier whether it was Stalin's Soviet or any other country . The stories of killings come out. But in this digital age we don't have any proof of that.Also China has big fdi and large foreign nationals . Even when one news channel conducted a debate on rapid antibody testing kit. The person who came to defend China was Indian head of Chinese hospital. Don't you think many of these people know if massive killings happened in China.

No one speaks against them. One scientist who did was killed. Why do you think Google deleted remove China app or negative reviews of tik tok. And these aren't conspiracies but a bitter truth.

Edited by rkt.india

5 hours ago, rkt.india said:

That's because laxity from people and has nothing to do with lockdown. Without lockdown those case by April 30 could easily have been 18 thousands a day instead of 1800. I can talk about where I live. People are highly disciplined in these areas and there are hardly any cases. Even usually, markets would be crowded but here even now people are hardly coming out despite opening. In uttarakhand, there weren't even 100 cases before govt opened the borders for migrants coming from Maharashtra, Mumbai, Delhi, Gujarat and many of them are getting tested positive. IIRC, we didn't even have 100 cases in uttarakhand till May 15 or so. It's all about discipline of the people that would have decided the fate of lockdown. We needed a highly successful lockdown but it didn't happen. 

+ from what I have heard,not a single corona related death.touchwod!

Edited by beetle

6 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

the winners have been Karnataka, Kerala, Orissa, Assam, North East, Haryana. 

There won’t be any winners in then end . Udupi in Karnataka for eg had 3 cases a month back , since we opened the borders it’s shot up to 900 . Pretty much every one coming from Maharashtra has tested positive , same case with lot of other border districts and I won’t be surprised if we see a surge in other states as well in next few weeks . 

4 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

There won’t be any winners in then end . Udupi in Karnataka for eg had 3 cases a month back , since we opened the borders it’s shot up to 900 . Pretty much every one coming from Maharashtra has tested positive , same case with lot of other border districts and I won’t be surprised if we see a surge in other states as well in next few weeks . 

Can you share any link? Migrants went to Bihar from Delhi and from various places...they tested entire train, healthy people , 230 out of 850 tested positive...

If everyone is testing positive, more percent already has it, then the  effective death rate (IFR)is lower...

15 hours ago, Singh bling said:

In hindsight may be true but you can't say it with affirmation that phased lockdown would have better result. If you see, most of the migrant situation arises due to state level dirty politics ,who inspite of promising to take care of them left them hungry and homeless. We never know which was better approach as this situation is unprecedented, but we definetly know had there been no lockdown situation would have been even worse. 

1 hour ago, randomGuy said:

Can you share any link? Migrants went to Bihar from Delhi and from various places...they tested entire train, healthy people , 230 out of 850 tested positive...

If everyone is testing positive, more percent already has it, then the  effective death rate (IFR)is lower...

No links . That’s my hometown and have family there when I said everyone obviously I mean a large majority . Last weak I heard that some 1500 people who came down where being tested randomly and in that 700+ have come positive and some results are awaited  .   I think the numbers are for sure much higher than reported .