Jump to content

ICC Announces ODI World Cup Super League

Recommended Posts

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially announced the inaugural Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League tournament. With the tournament, ICC aims to bring context to the ODI cricket. The Super League will see a total of 156 games which will begin with England’s three-match ODI series against Ireland set to start from July 30. But what is this tournament about? How will the points be decided? Which teams are a part of the inaugural edition of the Super League?



Q) How many teams will be participating in the tournament?

There will be 13 teams in the league this year with one team to be declared as the eventual champion. The seven teams which finish at the top will earn automatic qualification for the 2023 ODI World Cup in India, alongside India, as hosts, will be qualified for the 2023 ODI World Cup. If India are among the seven teams (which most likely will happen), the team that finished at the 8th position will be qualify. The 13 teams competing this year are - Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, Ireland, and the Netherlands.

Q) What happens to the teams which finish at the bottom?

The five teams that finish at the bottom will still have a chance to qualify for the 2023 World Cup. The five-bottom placed teams, along with Associate nations, will participate in traditional ODI World Cup Qualifiers, which will determine the remaining two spots for the 2023 ODI World Cup


Q) How are the points distributed in Super League?

The points system is rather simple. Each team will earn 10 points for a winning effort and 0 points for a losing effort. In case of a tie, draw, or an abandoned game, both teams will share 5 points each.

Q) Which teams will face each other in Super League?

Much like ICC Test Championship, not all teams will face each other as part of the Super League. All the team will face only eight of the other 12 competing countries in three-match series each. It means each team will play a total of 24 league games. All the teams will play four series at home, and four away series. For example: As per the current Future Tours Programme (FTP) match-ups, India will not be playing against Pakistan as part of the Super League. Also, it must be noted that not all ODIs in a calendar year are part of the Super League.




Chalo finally something we can win :cantstop:

Edited by Rasgulla

Share this post

Link to post

But on a serious note, these so called "super Leagues" will diminish the importance of the world cup ? No ?


Just imagine , by hook or crook India  wins this league in 2023....bewda and Brat will mouth off that they're the best ODI team in the world and will just say  they "had 30 bad minutes in the world cup and that doesn't show the true picture about the calibre of this team with the legacy of 80s West Indies and 00's Australia". :whack2:

Share this post

Link to post
55 minutes ago, Soorma_Bhopali said:

Both the Test & ODI league table has an inherent flaw in that not everyone is playing each other on home and away basis . 

I agree. Eng won't be facing NZ and WI. While us on other hand are facing all big teams.

Share this post

Link to post

Gearing this toward the WC makes it a pointless format. There are hardly that many cricket playing nations to make "top 7 qualify for the WC" meaningful. Also the gap between the 8th, 9th, 10th teams and the rest is so large, that they aren't in any danger of not qualifying.  


I rather see this league culminate in a series-based ODI tournament two years between the ODI WC which replaces the CT. Take the top 4 teams and make them play 3-game series SF and a 5-game series Final to determine the champion. This would make ODIs have two different trophies: a single elimination World Cup and a series based Trophy. ODIs need something to differentiate them more from T20s. 

Share this post

Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...