New Education Policy (NEP).

tweaker

The Narendra Modi-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government has approved the New Education Policy (NEP). The decision was taken at the Cabinet meet on Wednesday.

The Cabinet also approved changing the name of the HRD Ministry to Education Ministry.

The draft New Education Policy 2019 was made public in June last year and the government sought suggestions from various stakeholders, including public till July 31, 2019. The draft faced stiff opposition from various quarters over its three-language formula, four-year B.Ed programme, board examination for Classes V and VIII, among others. The Union Ministry is learnt to have made some changes in the draft.

On 7/29/2020 at 11:50 PM, tweaker said:

IMG-20200729-WA0023.jpg

IMG-20200729-WA0025.jpg

IMG-20200729-WA0026.jpg

50% Gross enrollment ratio in higher education for India by 2035 huh!!. :laugh: TN is already at 49% now. :smokin: Rest of India should follow us. For idiots who keep asking what did dravidian ideologies do to the state!. They made sure that everyone had the chance to study irrespective of all the obstacles put forward by vested interests.

According to the report, Sikkim tops the list with GER of 53.9%, followed by Chandigarh at 50.6% and Tamil Nadu is in the third position. However, while the first is a much smaller state with only 16 colleges participating in the survey, the second is a union territory. Tamil Nadu has the highest GER among other states.

There has been marginal rise of 0.4% in the GER, which is calculated for 18 to 23 age groups, in Tamil Nadu this time, as in 2017-18, the figure was 48.6%.  However, the state is much ahead of other bigger and neighbouring states. According to the report, the GER in higher education in Kerala is 37%, while it is 32.4% in Andhra Pradesh, 36.2% in Telangana and 28.8% in Karnataka. Even states like Maharashtra and Gujarat have recorded GER of 32% and 20.4%, respectively.

TN: Almost 8.6% rise in 6 years

https://www.newindianexpress.com/states/tamil-nadu/2019/sep/24/at-49-tn-is-no-3-in-higher-education-gross-enrolment-ratio-says-report-2038114.html

On 8/1/2020 at 11:22 AM, Stan AF said:

50% Gross enrollment ratio in higher education for India by 2035 huh!!. :laugh: TN is already at 49% now. :smokin: Rest of India should follow us. For idiots who keep asking what did dravidian ideologies do to the state!. They made sure that everyone had the chance to study irrespective of all the obstacles put forward by vested interests.

Not Dravidian parties, the credit goes to India's GOAT CM and the best PM we never had: K Kamaraj. Yeah once upon a time Congress had kickass leaders, even Bengal had the legendary BC Roy at the same time, all his efforts down the drain courtesy 35 years long Left Front (mis)rule.

And we must never forget/forgive the smear campaign against Kamaraj led by Karunanidhi, fake fraud charges, Swiss bank secret accounts etc. The day he lost his MLA seat to an unknown, small time youth politician that was the day politics in TN started its free fall. When the great man died he had some 80 rupees in his account, a couple of pieces of clothing and sandals. The hyenas who made false allegations against him, we know how much they are worth today, don't we? 

On 8/1/2020 at 1:52 AM, Stan AF said:

Dravidian ideologies? Only thing they have achieved is that they  have managed to grab power for last 50 years. Using caste politics, supporting castes in regions where there were conflicts and drove out Brahmins and UCs out of TN, supporting evangelical Christians in TN who do conversions in droves and these soul vulture Padres also support trade unions, fishermen and meddle with economic And environmental  policies  like Sterlite and Nuclear projects.

GER policies were started by ex-CM K Kamaraj of INC who made IG the PM, and his policies like mid-meal in schools which the whole country is emulating. Commendable high GER in TN is maintained by adding incentives for SC/ST And girls to stay school with election freebies like

- Reservations 69% inTN is the highest in the country

- free textbooks etc(which is good)

- when girls (Dalits) finish school till 12th , they get close to 1 lakh in marriage!

- grace marks given to sc/sts for passing

Some are good policies, but if the whole country emulates it, there will be national budgetary issues, can’t afford so much welfare. 

Besides even with high GER, TN has same unemployment issues like the rest of the country producing high number of unemployable graduates. Focus should be on quality education (Like NEP) that gives employable graduates and not hinder jobs creations like Sterlite closing down.

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

Dravidian ideologies? Only thing they have achieved is that they  have managed to grab power for last 50 years. Using caste politics, supporting castes in regions where there were conflicts and drove out Brahmins and UCs out of TN, supporting evangelical Christians in TN who do conversions in droves and these soul vulture Padres also support trade unions, fishermen and meddle with economic And environmental  policies  like Sterlite and Nuclear projects.

GER policies were started by ex-CM K Kamaraj of INC who made IG the PM, and his policies like mid-meal in schools which the whole country is emulating. Commendable high GER in TN is maintained by adding incentives for SC/ST And girls to stay school with election freebies like

- Reservations 69% inTN is the highest in the country

- free textbooks etc(which is good)

- when girls (Dalits) finish school till 12th , they get close to 1 lakh in marriage!

- grace marks given to sc/sts for passing

Some are good policies, but if the whole country emulates it, there will be national budgetary issues, can’t afford so much welfare. 

Besides even with high GER, TN has same unemployment issues like the rest of the country producing high number of unemployable graduates. Focus should be on quality education (Like NEP) that gives employable graduates and not hinder jobs creations like Sterlite closing down.

@Stan AF Atleast read your own history.  Every thing for you is conspiracy. Are you forgetting the crores of Scams him and his cronies along with 2g scam. TN people and DMK should pay a penalty for the 2G scam which can be used for GER for whole of India. Even at 50% how can fools vote for DMK is the big question though ? Guess you can educate a fool but he still be a fool.

Edited by gattaca

Expected replies. Obviously you guys have no clue of what I meant there so let me clue you in. Before that I will quote my post from above.

For idiots who keep asking what did dravidian ideologies do to the state!. They made sure that everyone had the chance to study irrespective of all the obstacles put forward by vested interests.

Now the bolded part is the most important line. This is where Periyar and Dravidar Kazhagam comes in. Let me explain more clearly. I've seen posts quoting Kamarajar. Well and good. But here's even more important set of events that happened before Kamarajar who took over as CM from 1954 and why he tookover as CM.

Before Kamarajar TN had a CM by the name of Rajaji(C. Rajagopalachari). He's notoriously infamous in TN for introducing a new education policy based on the existing caste system. In 1953 he introduced MSEE or Modified Scheme of Elementary Education or Hereditary education policy aka Kulakalvi thittam in Tamil. Under this policy kids/students were made to study the professions of their families according to the existing caste system. This was done to preserve and perpetuate the caste system in TN to the next generation via educational policy. This will deprive kids from lower caste communities of education from moving up the social ladder. In addition to that he closed around 6000 schools.

Needless to say it met with fierce opposition from Periyar who was against caste discrimination in any forms. He  organzied a conference in Erode to protest this new policy. The teachers union and DMK protested against this. Because of this fierce opposition Congress had no other option other than  to drop MSEE act, sack Rajaji and make Kamarajar the next chief minister to save face. Without Periyar, Rajaji would have gotten away with it. Periyar was not just a social reformer he was instrumental in changing educational polices as well. Kamarajar then added another 12000 schools and reopened the 6000 schools that were closed by Rajaji. It's not like everything in education was given to us in a platter. We had to fight for everything. All the above I've written is pretty common knowledge in TN and you can ask any old timer from there about rajaji. The vested interest here is Rajaji.

And that is why I said dravidian ideologies made sure that everyone born in TN had the chance to study irrespective of any caste. Congress had other plans. Nothing more to add.

Other ICF ers can read more on the subject here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modified_Scheme_of_Elementary_education_1953

Edited by Stan AF

On 8/3/2020 at 8:54 PM, gattaca said:

@Stan AF Atleast read your own history.  Every thing for you is conspiracy. Are you forgetting the crores of Scams him and his cronies along with 2g scam. TN people and DMK should pay a penalty for the 2G scam which can be used for GER for whole of India. Even at 50% how can fools vote for DMK is the big question though ? Guess you can educate a fool but he still be a fool.

Get off your high horse and go preach to someone else. No politician, no party nobody I mean nobody is a saint here. I atleast have that clarity unlike many in this forum. I would take a known devil over an unknown angel.

This is India. Everyone here is either corrupt, or a rioter, a murderer, or a rapist, a rowdy, a gang leader or some other common criminal. Go preach elsewhere. 

16 minutes ago, Gollum said:

@Stan AF thanks for the info, I didn't know about 'Kulakalvi Thittam', will do some reading about it. 

This is a better source than Wiki on Hereditary education. Not a great reform, but was trying address drop out rate from schools. Periyar got a foothold on politics and took advantage of his disruption and anarchist ideologies. 

https://www.dtnext.in/News/City/2019/12/15013004/1203824/Those-Were-The-Days-How-Rajajis-kula-kalvi-thittam-.vpf

Congress argued that dropout children mostly went on to continue their family professions and proposed reforms to streamline the education system. Rajaji’s idea of the Madras Scheme of Elementary Education in 1953 was dubbed by its critics as Kula Kalvi Thittam (Hereditary Education Policy) and was a controversial education reform which was aborted.

Among the major changes the scheme proposed was the reduction of school hours from five hours to three per day and the introduction of two shifts in elementary schools. 

Every school could function in two sessions, catering to two groups of students. Rajaji said that this would better the student-teacher ratio and assured there would be no dilution of the previous syllabus and no reduction in duration for subjects like Language, Elementary Mathematics, History, Geography, Civics, and Moral Instruction.

The scheme proposed that in one session, regular teaching would be done and during the second, students would be sent home to learn the livelihoods of their parents. Boys would learn pottery or leather working or farming and girls would be of assistance to their mothers in the kitchen and housework

The government constituted a committee of experts for reviewing the scheme under the chairmanship of Prof RV Parulekar, Director of Indian Institute of Education Bombay.

However, all hell broke loose within the political spectrum both outside the congress and within. It was faulted of being a bid to prolong the caste hierarchy as Hindu professions were mostly caste-based.

It was a Regressive scheme and rightly thrown in the dustbin. And lets not forget who it was designed to benefit at the expense of whom. Nice try though rajaji :clap: .The scheme would have been the start of a slippery slope that education to all castes and communities would avoid and periyar rightly told rajaji to shove it in his ass.

Rajaji didn't even have support of his own party men in congress btw.

And btw look at you a BJP supporter supporting a Congress policy from the 50s :lol: Irony or camraderie??

This is why I always say BJP and congress are one and the same.

Edited by Stan AF

On 8/6/2020 at 3:10 AM, Stan AF said:

It was a Regressive scheme and rightly thrown in the dustbin. And lets not forget who it was designed to benefit at the expense of whom. Nice try though rajaji :clap: .The scheme would have been the start of a slippery slope that education to all castes and communities would avoid and periyar rightly told rajaji to shove it in his ass.

Rajaji didn't even have support of his own party men in congress btw.

And btw look at you a BJP supporter supporting a Congress policy from the 50s :lol: Irony or camraderie??

This is why I always say BJP and congress are one and the same.

Periyar was no reformist or rationalist. He was basically anti-Hindu and anti-Brahmin. 

I  dislike the demagoguery of Periyar to push his anti-Hindu views to public sentiment and I am glad Anna broke away from Periyar after he married
a 29-year old daughter-like relative. What Periyar did was not reform of the society. He was pro-British and pro-Pakistan  and he wanted a

different homeland for Tamils  like Jinnah of Pakistan. He even had talks with Jinnah and Mountbatten to negotiate an autonomy homeland for the Tamils.  Such talk and celebration of his policies, such people need to be shunned.  He used his anti-Brahmin

feelings to mobilize people and talk about caste discrimination. If he was so against caste, why didn't he pardon the zamindars caste which

massacred dalits. He was after power and wanted people to support him and used other upper caste non-brahmins to gain political power.

Anti-Caste discrimination is all BS.

Rajaji was no Nehru chela like kamraj, and he was even resigned from Congress. He formed his own Swatanta party. His education policy might have failed, but I give him the benefit of the doubt and is a scholar. Not a road-side gunda like Periyar.  I support Rajaji not as a Congressi, but a decent

human being and proud Hindu.

Rajagopalachari issued the Temple Entry Authorization and Indemnity Act 1939, under which restrictions were removed on Dalits and Shanars entering Hindu temples. In the same year, the Meenakshi temple at Madurai was also opened to the Dalits and Shanars.

22 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Most Engineers end up being trolls on twitter anyways.

Not sure why you need maths or physics for that :dontknow:

Jokes apart, it is an idiotic decision. How do you finish Civil, Mech or IP without learning college level math and physics? For S/w English, we can exclude  Physics, but why exclude Math as well? Complex problem analysis in transmission. communications are solved with FFT, transmission frequencies are understood using Phy/Math knowledge. I don't know which social science grad from IAS/UPSC bureaucracy  in Education dept ratified the policy in NEP. 

1 hour ago, Mariyam said:

Most Engineers end up being trolls on twitter anyways.

Not sure why you need maths or physics for that :dontknow:

What's the equivalent of racist when it comes to bigotry against professions, particularly noble ones that keep the world going & progressing :angel: