Ram Posted August 20, 2007 Posted August 20, 2007 Just an observation - When i edit my posts , i cant edit the smileys ,coz they arent there. P.S - Gotcha BB. :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up:
Donny Posted August 21, 2007 Posted August 21, 2007 Seems the merging of topics is still just not understood. I notice there are already 4 threads on today's 1st ODI and 2 were started by senior members. If new threads which duplicate ones already started were nipped in the bud, there'd be fewer problems with merging. As this is the site feedback thread, I'd like to mention some other aspects. Overall, some members don't seem to understand the idea of a message board like ICF. Other members and guests read topics in the hope of being informed, interested or entertained. 1. Members often choose to write in a language other than English but use English in other posts. This is most frustrating for members like me as I enjoy reading all posts and am not familiar with Hindi or Urdu etc. I mentioned this previously and received a derogatory reply about 20% of the world's population being able to read such posts. All that really said was 80% can't. 2. As a guesstimation, I'd say about 3 out of every 5 posts are meaningless one liners (often containing 3 words or less), off topic chat or just displaying 1 or more emoticons. That's acceptable in chat rooms but this is a bulletin board. 3. The match threads are not enhanced by posts such as 44444444, Yes! or What a shot! (when subsequent readers have little idea what shot is being referred to) and other 1 or two word posts. Some viewers don't have match coverage so a lot of these posts are meaningless and frustrating when a simple score update would be very helpful.
Rajiv Posted August 21, 2007 Posted August 21, 2007 Dony, experienced post I totally agree with ya, but I can safely say that sometimes regulating rules can hurt our users. 1. Members often choose to write in a language other than English but use English in other posts. This is most frustrating for members like me as I enjoy reading all posts and am not familiar with Hindi or Urdu etc. This comes natural to us, afterall we are indians and some expressions can only be said in our native lingo I mentioned this previously and received a derogatory reply about 20% of the world's population being able to read such posts. All that really said was 80% can't Dont take that too seriously, it must be a joke 2. As a guesstimation, I'd say about 3 out of every 5 posts are meaningless one liners (often containing 3 words or less), off topic chat or just displaying 1 or more emoticons. That's acceptable in chat rooms but this is a bulletin board. Spur of the moment thing, in addition we want users to be free minded and type as they like. Albeit, sometimes it can become annoying but we tend to overlook that 3. The match threads are not enhanced by posts such as 44444444, Yes! or What a shot! (when subsequent readers have little idea what shot is being referred to) and other 1 or two word posts. Some viewers don't have match coverage so a lot of these posts are meaningless and frustrating when a simple score update would be very helpful. great idea, I am sure we can encourage our suers to do that About the merge thread, we can leave newly created threads and then merge; again being sensitive to the users BTW, you do know how this board was formed right
Aditi Posted August 21, 2007 Posted August 21, 2007 Do we have any hugging smileys here?? I mean' date=' not for any love-making but the like the ones which are suited for friends. I hope you understand what I mean.[/quote'] :sex:
varun Posted August 21, 2007 Posted August 21, 2007 If new threads which duplicate ones already started were nipped in the bud, there'd be fewer problems with merging. Yeah I proposed that threads be merged as long as they are under 5 posts long. However, mods aren't always around and given the site's popularity, some threads run into several posts before a mod gets around. 1. Members often choose to write in a language other than English but use English in other posts. This is most frustrating for members like me as I enjoy reading all posts and am not familiar with Hindi or Urdu etc. I must admit I've been guilty of doing the same if in a rush. I do try to provide a translation as often as I can. You must realize however that speaking in hindi is not just about not being able to converse in english, but more so about mate-ship. For example you might find a few aussies conversing among each other with their own peculiar slangs or phrases that an outsider might not understand, but it does help bring the ppl conversing with each other closer as they can relate with each other better. Having said that, if you find something in hindi that you are curious about, just politely request the poster to translate it. I'm sure they wouldn't have a problem giving a translation. And I would request all posters to kindly post a translation if they are using any other language I mentioned this previously and received a derogatory reply about 20% of the world's population being able to read such posts. All that really said was 80% can't. I'm not sure who gave you a derogatory reply, but I'm guessing they reflect their pride for thelanguage in a totally uncalled for way. 2. As a guesstimation, I'd say about 3 out of every 5 posts are meaningless one liners (often containing 3 words or less), off topic chat or just displaying 1 or more emoticons. That's acceptable in chat rooms but this is a bulletin board. I know, unfortunately the chat culture has pervaded our lives these days, and most kids don't take the time to formulate an opinion in a verbose fashion. I consider it more of a minor irritant at times rather than a major annoyance. 3. The match threads are not enhanced by posts such as 44444444, Yes! or What a shot! (when subsequent readers have little idea what shot is being referred to) and other 1 or two word posts. Some viewers don't have match coverage so a lot of these posts are meaningless and frustrating when a simple score update would be very helpful. Related to my point above, about exhuberance of youth, coupled with the "chat-culture". But I agree that a simple score-update would be nice to go with it. Thanks for the feedback Donny, much appreciated.
Donny Posted August 21, 2007 Posted August 21, 2007 Thanks Rajeev. :regular_smile: *Edit: and Varun. 1. 1. Members often choose to write in a language other than English but use English in other posts. This is most frustrating for members like me as I enjoy reading all posts and am not familiar with Hindi or Urdu etc. This comes natural to us, afterall we are indians and some expressions can only be said in our native lingo Mate, I understand that. I pointed it out just in case members think ICF is for Indian fans only. It may well be but I'll only find out by asking. No. I've no idea of how ICF was formed.
Rajiv Posted August 21, 2007 Posted August 21, 2007 Thanks Rajeev. :regular_smile: *Edit: and Varun. 1. 1. Members often choose to write in a language other than English but use English in other posts. This is most frustrating for members like me as I enjoy reading all posts and am not familiar with Hindi or Urdu etc. This comes natural to us, afterall we are indians and some expressions can only be said in our native lingo Mate, I understand that. I pointed it out just in case members think ICF is for Indian fans only. It may well be but I'll only find out by asking. No. I've no idea of how ICF was formed. Well, the basis is Indian Fans..but in no way limited to. As varun explained, mate-ship; but I am happy to hear you enjoy our posts so we can provide translation for eg,., Paisa Phekh Tamasha Dekh ( BullShit Wlaks Money Talks ) :two_thumbs_up: I will explain you in PM about the formation
coffee_rules Posted August 22, 2007 Posted August 22, 2007 You know when we move the mouse on a title of a post, windows displays the first post in a small yellow box, that vanishes when the mouse is moved away....is it possible to print the last post in the thread instead of the first post. That way, we don't have to click on it to see the last post.
Aditi Posted August 22, 2007 Posted August 22, 2007 Is this suitable for friends at all' date=' Aditi? :giggle:[/quote'] Sure it is...if you're friends "with benefits" :D
Ram Posted September 1, 2007 Posted September 1, 2007 What happend to the " Who are we " thread in cric discussions ?
The Outsider Posted September 1, 2007 Posted September 1, 2007 What happend to the " Who are we " thread in cric discussions ? It got deleted somehow. Varun is trying to restore it from some backups.
apocalypse Posted September 10, 2007 Posted September 10, 2007 ok so per post I think 7 bucks what about for existing posts :D
varun Posted September 10, 2007 Posted September 10, 2007 What is this $ICF? A "credits" system. Wait for more in the coming days :D
apocalypse Posted September 10, 2007 Posted September 10, 2007 A "credits" system. Wait for more in the coming days :D is betting coming again? :cantstop:
varun Posted September 10, 2007 Posted September 10, 2007 :haha: why do i get the feeling that people will be posting a lot more
apocalypse Posted September 10, 2007 Posted September 10, 2007 :haha: why do i get the feeling that people will be posting a lot more its human tendency...thats why i m saying reward for existing also :cantstop: