Duncan Fletcher, the unsung hero

Duncan Fletchers biggest role in the development of our national team fast bowlers is having to quit as the coach of India.

During his tenure ... all out pacers lacked either pace or accuracy or both.

He failed to put in place a good system for training and fitness of our pacers.

Fletcher was a decent batting coach though ... and our test batting did well under him in the overseas leg last time.

26 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Combination of Kohli and Shankar Basu, the fitness trainer for our national team, have a lot to do with the improvement of our fast bowling unit in test matches from mid-2015.  The strength, endurance  and fitness training put in place have worked wonders regarding our pacers sustaining intensity and pace throughout the day. 

Bharat Arun has played a part too. The training system including workload management, for our national team fast bowlers now is very scientific.

Facilities and coaches at the NCA have also had a role to play regarding training and rehabilitation of pacers during non-match times.

Regarding the issue of lots of good quality young quick bowlers coming up in India nowadays, the biggest factors are  ----    the Emergence of fast bowling culture in India including fitness and gym culture ... top quality training methods, coaches  and infrastructure in India now including the NCA ... our exchange program with Australia ... our economic strength as a country in the last few years which is making the youngsters confident and providing infrastructure too.

Yeah, but some want to believe that Kohli has single handedly reduced their averages in 1 year.

1 hour ago, Trichromatic said:

And you believe Mavi and Nagarkoti are recent sudden changes.

Indian pace bowling has been upgrading continuously for last 15 years.

First we moved on from regular trundlers to bunch of decent pacers like Zak, Sreesanth, RP Singh, Pathan who won us tests everywhere unlike their predecessors. But this upgrade had hits and misses. 

Next gen sustained pace for more than 2 years and has now started showing bowling accumen.

Next generation after this will be better with sustained pace, better bowling knowledge and lower averages.

But keep believing these are just sudden miraculous changes in last 3 years because of captain while conveniently hard work of people behind scene for last 15 years.

Funny how you mentioned the likes of RP Singh and Pathan, both of them who failed to improve after looking like WC bowlers in their initial spell and turned into trundlers. Would the debacle of RP Singh being selected for 2011 Tour happen under Kohli? Like * it'd happen right now. 

There has been systematic improvements ofcourse background, but it won't matter much if those at the top(i.e the Captain) don't utilize them properly.

No one person deserves credit or blame for it, if so many fast bowlers are coming thats becoz their has been culture change . A lot of right things have been done now which was not done wen we had irfan , balaji, sreesanth, munaf, RP playing

IPL deserves a lot of credit as well

Our young bowler had gr8 fast bowlers from around the world to learn from for almost 2 months. 

They wud have seen how they train, their diets, what to do and what not to........

Earlier most new bowlers cud only access to coaches like prabhakar, madan lal .....but when i IPL came Steyn, mcgrath, akram, lee , malinga all were easily reachable and any time of the year to . Malinga has helped bumrah a lot and , hogg helped kuldeep ....

5 hours ago, Unleashed said:

Funny how you mentioned the likes of RP Singh and Pathan, both of them who failed to improve after looking like WC bowlers in their initial spell and turned into trundlers. Would the debacle of RP Singh being selected for 2011 Tour happen under Kohli? Like * it'd happen right now. 

There has been systematic improvements ofcourse background, but it won't matter much if those at the top(i.e the Captain) don't utilize them properly.

It wouldn't matter much who is captain. They will excel regardless of that just like how Bhuvi is doing. 

Yadav is failing under same captain. There isn't anything to suggest that this is largely because of Kohli, but there is lot to suggest that it's largely because of cultural change overall in Indian cricket.

15 hours ago, gattaca said:

I don’t think we need express bowlers they don’t have long careers. We want people to bowl with high speeds of 145-147. That should be enough. 

I think any team would love to have them if they have some consistency too even though they may have a shorter rein. But more than if it is good or bad, it is bound to happen as every small aspect will be a differentiator to get into the team in the future.

18 hours ago, gattaca said:

I don’t think we need express bowlers they don’t have long careers. We want people to bowl with high speeds of 145-147. That should be enough. 

Nah Bhai, high speed is fine but, express bowler ki baat hi alag hai, the day an Indian bowler bowls a spell of mid 90's to 100 mph per hour the whole icf will be over joyed, and green ghetto will burn and if it's 2 to kehna hi kya.