Indian Premier League IPL - Dates, Itinerary and team discussion

Feed

Wait before you sign, BCCI to junior cricketers The Indian board has clearly instructed all junior cricketers to not sign up for the Indian Premier league on an individual basis until they decide on a procedure to adopt for the same. More... Sriram Veera February 23, 2008 337902.jpg India's U-19 cricketers have been told not to sign any contract until further instructions © Getty Images The Indian board has clearly instructed all junior cricketers to not sign up for the Indian Premier league on an individual basis until they decide on a procedure to adopt for the same. The board plans to consult the franchises while deciding a common procedure to adopt while signing up junior domestic cricketers. "An instruction has been sent to all players," said Niranjan Shah, the secretary of the Indian board told Cricinfo. "The BCCI will decide what procedure to adopt for the franchises signing up players." The above automatically holds for 15 of India's U-19 cricketers are currently taking part in the World Cup in Malaysia. The IPL rules dictate that each franchise must have at least four U-22 players in their side, as well as four players from the respective catchments. It's been learnt that several franchises are unhappy with the manner in which players have been poached - especially with player agents getting involved in the process. "Too many agents have cropped up and some of the Under-19 players [currently away in the World Cup] are away on tour and already poaching has started," a member of a franchise said. "So it's good that BCCI is considering a ruling to ban any young player from being picked now." There is also a concern about players being lured with big bucks so early in their careers. A couple of franchises are advocating there be a limit for the amount that can be paid for junior players. "It's sad that young kids are being exposed to so much money so early," said a representative from another franchise. "What kind of an example are we setting? You have not even played a Test but already you're demanding so much money. Maybe, it would have been better had a price been fixed by the IPL board for these players. It might have solved many problems." The board is expected to take a decision on the process in a few days time. However, they may be reluctant to do so before the end of the U-19 World Cup (which concludes on March 2) to ensure the youngsters are not distracted during the event.

Franchises raise 'player poaching' issue A couple of franchisees of the Indian Premier League have raised concerns that their local catchment players are being "poached" by the rival IPL team. One of them, Jaipur have sent a letter to the IPL council while Delhi has voiced its concern. More... Sriram Veera February 23, 2008 317209.jpgPraveen Kumar, claimed initially by both Delhi and Bangalore, will finally play for Bangalore franchise. © Getty Images A couple of franchises of the Indian Premier League have raised concerns that their local catchment players are being "poached" by the rival teams. The Jaipur team have sent a letter to the IPL council while Delhi has voiced its concern. "The catchment players should play for us, else, what is the use of having them in the first place," Fraser Castellino, the CEO of Jaipur franchise, told Cricinfo. "If we don't pick a player from our pool, then the others can come in. Now, we talk to one player, the other team offers more money and takes them away." He found support in TA Sekhar, who is involved with the Delhi team. "If you have a catchment the respective franchise should have right to pick that player first. I know the clause was there from the start but I just feel that would have been the right way to go about it." Both teams prefer that a time frame be stipulated for the teams to pick their players. The rival teams can come in after that period and pick the remaining players from that catchment area. Post the auction of the bigger stars on February 20 the franchises have been busy trying to sign up the under-22 players and the local players from the catchment areas. It is learnt that the case of Praveen Kumar, wooed and claimed by both Bangalore and Delhi before eventually signing up by the former, is not an isolated one. However, a member of the IPL governing council said that at this stage, such complaints don't carry any weight. "Every body has come out with some concern or other after the auction the auction," a member of the governing council said. "All of them want the best condition but there is nothing substantive in the complaints. Only if some thing very serious comes up, we will take a decision." Other franchises -- Bangalore and Chennai -- believe this clause was there right from the start and it doesn't make sense to raise objections now. "Why raise the issue now?" Charu Sharma, the CEO of Bangalore, asked. "The clause was already there." VB Chandrasekhar, part of the management with the Chennai outfit, too held a similar view. Player hunt It is learnt that Hyderabad have signed up Venugopal Rao, Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha, Arjun Yadav and M Sarveesh Kumar, Kalyan Krishna, P Vijay Kumar and Halhar Das from Orissa. Sarveesh, a young player from the districts, is the surprise package. Bangalore have signed up Sunil Joshi, R Vinay Kumar, Balachandra Akhil, Devraj Patil and are in talks with Bharat Chipli and J Arun Kumar. The under-22 players recruits includes Manish Pandey and KP Appanna while Saurabh Tiwary is also likely to join. Delhi have roped in Rajat Bhatia and the likes of Virat Kohli, Pradeep Sangwan, Tanmay Srivastava and Sudeep Tyagi are being touted as possible recruits. The Chennai outfit has been in touch with Abhinav Mukund and Napoleon Einstien and it is learnt that Yo Mahesh, pending fitness issues, and S Badrinath are likely to play. The Bengal franchise will select the final list from a pool comprising Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Sourashis Lahiri, Ranadeb Bose and Shib Shankar Paul. Lahiri would have been certain entry but it's learnt that he is in the BCCI's list of bowlers with suspect actions, and hence they want to wait and watch. The U-22 players from Bengal who are being looked at are Arindam Ghosh and Debabrata Das.

No IPL cash for U-19 stars, says Board BCCI, worried about the size of the cheques franchisees are throwing at youngsters, issues a directive to all U-19 cricketers not to sign up until further notice, report Arjun Sen and Anam Arsalan. Most Expensive | The Great IPL tamasha | IPL Players' auction list More... India's U-19 stars, currently setting the stands on fire in the World Cup at Kuala Lumpur, will have to wait a while before they can rake in the big bucks at the Indian Premier League. Delhi boy and a former member of the India U-19 team, Ishant Sharma, hit the IPL jackpot when he was snapped up by Kolkata for a whopping Rs 3.2 crore. His mates, however, might not be that lucky. Worried that the megabucks on offer will spoil the young stars, many of whom are already the objects of massive price wars between franchisees, the BCCI on Saturday issued a directive to all U-19 cricketers not to sign up until further notice. IPL chairman Lalit Modi told Hindustan Times: "We are not allowing any U-19 players to sign up with a franchisee as of now." Asked what would happen to contracts already signed, Modi said, "They will be null and void." The Board, it is understood, is worried about the size of the cheques the franchisees are throwing at the impressionable youngsters, and is planning to monitor and cap the offers. "We want the players to concentrate on their game and not be distracted by the hype of the IPL," Premier League CEO Sundar Raman said. To get around the problem of turf battles being waged for young players, BCCI secretary Niranjan Shah told HT that the Board would allow U-19 players to turn out only for franchisees from the area they belong to. This change in ruling means that the India's U-19 stars — currently playing the World Cup in Malaysia — are no longer free agents. A Virat Kohli or a Pradeep Sangwan can now play only for the Delhi Daredevils. Likewise for U-19 opener, Uttar Pradesh's Tanmay Srivastava, who had signed with Shah Rukh Khan's Kolkata team. He would now have to play for Delhi too. It has been learnt that a couple of franchisees were "unhappy" with the way U-19 players were being "poached" by rivals. "We do not want these youngsters to be poached by franchisees, they should not have to deal with the IPL or its agents," said Shah. This ruling, however, is only limited to U-19 players. "There is no bar on franchisees signing up U-22 players, we were concerned about the U-19s and therefore decided to take this step," said Shah. And frankly, this one at least makes perfect sense.

The BCCI could have been a bit creative about the itinerary. Though the team name is that of a certain city, the matches could have been staged at different cities in the catchment area. For instance: Blr team playing in Goa, Mumbai in Pune etc. I think it's only fair for fans around the country and also good for the tournament's popularity.

Worried that the megabucks on offer will spoil the young stars, many of whom are already the objects of massive price wars between franchisees, the BCCI on Saturday issued a directive to all U-19 cricketers not to sign up until further notice. IPL chairman Lalit Modi told Hindustan Times: "We are not allowing any U-19 players to sign up with a franchisee as of now." Asked what would happen to contracts already signed, Modi said, "They will be null and void." The Board, it is understood, is worried about the size of the cheques the franchisees are throwing at the impressionable youngsters, and is planning to monitor and cap the offers. "We want the players to concentrate on their game and not be distracted by the hype of the IPL," Premier League CEO Sundar Raman said.
Rubbish logic. What's with these BCCI blokes trying to control how much a player makes for his ability? Why is it a player is stopped from making what he is worth because he is under 19? I hope they are meaning the U19 players not to get into IPL mess till about the time the world cup is done. If that is the motive then that's quite good.

IPL will mess up a whole lot of cricketerz...U-19, U-22, U-28, U-32, U-35, U-40!!! We will be left with rich cricketerz who can't care less abt commitment to the game and country. As I've written before IPL will be a disservice to the game of cricket. Thank you, IPL.

It's not like cricketers are fighting in the borders Finey. It's time the cricketers are paid well. If IPL helps that it'll only improve cricket. But for IPL there is no chance someone like McCullum would have been paid $700000 for a year. From what I know McCullum would not be making anything more than 80 k - 100 k a year at the moment. Now he just needs to play a month and a half long tourney to make the money. Rest of the year he can toil with the Kiwi team and give it everything not worrying where his next dollar is going to come from. But for the Indian and Aussie cricketers there is not much money for cricketers. This will only inspire more cricketers and young ones to take playing cricket as a profession.

Franchises to get first preference for U-19 players Each of the franchises in the Indian Premier League will get the first option for picking Under-19 players from their own catchment areas, the Indian board has said. More... Siddhartha Vaidyanathan February 25, 2008 270487.jpg Niranjan Shah: "Franchises will be given a preference to pick U-19 players from their own catchments" © Getty Images Each of the franchises in the Indian Premier League will get the first option for picking Under-19 players from their own catchment areas, the Indian board has said. The decision comes in the wake of franchises voicing concerns over player-poaching, with local players being lured by other teams. "Under-19 domestic cricketers will not be allowed to join any team on their own and franchises will have to go through the BCCI," Niranjan Shah, the board secretary, said. "Franchises will be given a preference to pick players from their own catchments and it's only the spill-over players that will be available for the rest. "We will give each franchise a certain time-frame to pick their players. It's only after that period that others can try for them." Delhi and Jaipur had raised concerns that their local catchment players are being "poached" by the rival teams. The Jaipur team even sent a letter to the IPL council. The BCCI's move was welcomed by some of the franchises. "One of the reasons for this exercise was to develop young talent across the country and that can only be done by giving franchises a choice of picking their local players," TA Sekar, cricket operations chief of GMR Holdings, the owners of the Delhi Daredevils, told Cricinfo. "Imagine if a franchise develops three or four players through the junior ranks, only to see them play for another team because they are being offered more money. The purpose is defeated." VB Chandrashekar, the selector for the Chennai Super Kings, and Fraser Castellino, the CEO of the Jaipur franchise, were also upbeat but wished the ruling covered U-22 players as well, instead of being limited to U-19. The process is likely to take place in the beginning of March, with the board not keen to "distract" India's Under-19 cricketers currently taking part in the World Cup in Malaysia. One-year contracts To counter the rising concern over young cricketers being paid so much money early in their careers, the board decided Under-19 cricketers would be eligible only for a one-year contract. The board had earlier instructed all junior domestic cricketers to not sign up on an individual basis after many franchises complained about player-agents getting involved, demanding higher sums even after the cricketers had agreed on a figure. The board were also concerned that a few agents had landed in Malaysia to tie up with India's U-19 cricketers.

India's coaching staff fear double standards The Indian board's plan to rethink its earlier decision allowing the coaching staff with the national team to sign on full-time with any of the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises has not gone down well with the team management in Australia, Cricinfo has learnt. More... BCCI may withdraw participation in IPL India's coaching staff fear double standards Nagraj Gollapudi February 29, 2008 Venkatesh Prasad may have no role to play in the IPL if the BCCI has its way © AFP The Indian board's plan to rethink its earlier decision allowing the coaching staff with the national team to sign on full-time with any of the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises has not gone down well with the team management in Australia, Cricinfo has learnt. Two of India's support staff have tied up with IPL teams for the six-week tournament but may have to pull out if the board does not agree. "What I fail to understand is how all the Indian players are being allowed to play for the IPL and not the coaches," said a source close to the team's support staff. "The players are still in contract with the BCCI and will be paid even when they are playing in the IPL so why not the coaches? Besides, when the players are involved with the IPL there won't be any international matches involving India, so what should these coaches do?" Gary Kirsten, who will take over as India coach on March 1, has refused to be part of the IPL, saying he wants to concentrate on the forthcoming Test series against South Africa. But the bowling coach, Venkatesh Prasad, has tied up with the Bangalore franchise and the fielding coach, Robin Singh is slated to coach the Hyderabad team. A board official told Cricinfo there "might be a conflict of interest" later on and the BCCI wanted the coaches to be "wholly dedicated" to the national side. Interestingly, the source claimed that Prasad and Robin currently do not have a formal contract with the board, though they have been receiving monthly payments for their services. "These coaches are getting a monthly remuneration for their services and I can tell you it is well below the global salary levels," the source said. Board officials, though, say both are contracted to them until May this year.

The BCCI lot comes across as bunch of sick nauseating bullies. Do they really have to keep a tab on everyone's salaries? Damn! Robin & Venki are among the most liked cricketers of their times and have so far kept up that trait by doing a good job with the team (especially the bowling), without too much of a fuss. For their efforts, they get rewarded with monthly salaries, but no contract to fall back on. BCCI's treatment is definitely appalling. I wonder if BCCI deserves people like Robin or Venki at all.:angry_smile: It's sad that BCCI has not learnt the lessons after the Graham Ford fiasco.

What is IPL? A Dummies guide to The Indian Premier League. Found on another forum.....this is seriously hilarious stuff... Yes sir. Its coming and it promises to be the best biggest, the bestest, the grandest, the most amazing show that India/World will ever see. What the hell am I talking about? Sir, I’m talking about the IPL. Caught you on silly point, have I? Don’t understand what I’m talking about? No problem. I’ve decided to write this FAQ-esque article to help the uninitiated and others to understand the brilliance of this circus. I hope I can answer some frequently asked questions that I’ve conjured up myself. What is this IPL hoopla? IPL is short for Indian Premier League. It is a 20-20 cricket show game. No not the insect. The sport cricket. It is the brain child of someone not working for the BCCI(Bad Codgers Cricket Idiots/Board of Control for Cricket in India) but claimed by the lot that its their master plan. Something that they have been planning for eons. Since the birth of Adam. Not going to talk about Eve here because its against the ethos of the BCCI & ICC (Idiotic Cricket Codgers). Also do not confuse between IPL and ICL(don’t really know what that is. My cable fellow refuses to show it). What is this ‘Cricket’ thing I keep ranting about? Cricket is a lovely game invented by a very bright gentleman. Smashing fellow, he was. Wherever he went, “for he’s a jolly good fellow, for he’s a jolly good fellow†could be heard in the background. The fellow invented it to escape the ‘old-ball-and-chain’ in summer times in Ole England, to be with mates, drink beer and have a break for afternoon tea (with a spot of milk). Its a gentleman’s game which involves a bat and a bowl. 11 gentlemen (beer bellies included) on each team. The aim of the game is to score more runs than the opposition. A run is when the batting gentlemen decide to leisurely exchange ends on the pitch. Also part of the game is vicious swearing at your opponents and imitation of various primates. Although runs aren’t awarded for this as yet. Then the other team tries to out do their opposition. Played over 3 hours or 1 day or 3 days or 5 days. Confused? Yes. Thats why the olympics don’t want to have this sport. By the time a game finishes the International Olympic Committee usually declares who is hosting the next Olympics. The last time they had this game in the Olympics was in 1900 in Paris, The french team lost in the finals and got so frustrated that they’ve given up the game since then and have resorted to drinking wine for the rest of their lives. Boooh-ring! I’m sleepy. I don’t blame you. I blame my pathetic attempt at explaining this beautiful game. The down side is that this princely game is only played properly by 9 countries + the Caribbean islands(as one). So if you aren’t born watching this game, its tough to get into it. Its primarily watched by old people while reading old people’s books, alcoholic English supporters, do or die Aussies, and a billion god fearing Indians to name a few. So who is in the IPL? Well there is Shah Rukh Khan, Preity Zinta and her Boyfriend, the rich indian boys, Ambani and Mallaya, some cement bag, a newspaper, a road building company and an unknown. Oh you meant the teams. There are 8 teams and they have all lost the plot in naming themselves. Like so: * Mumbai Indians (ummm.. like they are the only indians?) * Delhi DareDevils (hahahahahaha! daredevils? I think its in reference to Sehwag leading, they are taking a big risk) * Chennai Super Kings (because Superstars was taken and they needed to sound like a cigarette brand) * Kolkata Knight Riders (Seriously!? This is the dumbest name ever for a team, maybe they’ll solve crime as well.) * Bangalore Royal Challengers (an alcoholic team/seriously only want to play the other royals) * Mohali (yet to name themselves, busy trying to find Yuvraj a girlfriend presently) * Hyderabad Deccan Chargers (hehehe! What are they charging at?) * Jaipur Rajasthan Royals (This is the only name I like) Why should I care? Simply because : - if you are a guy, girls dig this sport. Its something exotic. Its different. Most women dig that. Or it gives you a chance to put on your english accent. And say ‘Smashing! Old chap’. - if you are a girl, the guys who watch this sport are usually sane. So its a great way to weed out the weirdoes. They are gentlemen, like to talk about the weather and, usually (minus Shane Warne), are scared of their wives. (Wow! What great philosophy! I need to pat myself on the back. You learn something new on this site everytime.) So what has the IPL got to do with me? Oh… Ummmm right. I completely forgot why I was writing this. So… Oh yea, Like every big sporting league, its another one to buy jerseys of, to make songs for, gives the guys something to talk about, adds something else that the women have to learn to get attention, and keeps umpteen news channels in India something ‘fun’ to report about. Oh and there is going to be cricket played as well.

wouldnt put bangalore down too much. kallis is my dark horse for the entire tournament. shiv chanderpaul just needs to take his energy tablet to score at an sr of 200 boucher and white are no mugs dravid and jaffer will presumably see off the shine!
Hell we are talking T20 cricket here n u say seeing off the shine ..............:haha::hysterical: What a joke.... It aint a good ball if it loses its shine in under 20 ovs..................

Dmitri Mascarenhas: The bargain of the season for a 100, 000..Any idea son similar bargains? Shane Warne, captain of The Rajasthan Royals reckons that Dimitri can walk into any world twenty20 side. And if anybody remembers the Oval game where he butchered Yuvraj might agree. he's been great for Hampshire too.. Have Royals walked away with the bargain of the season, or do you think you have other ideas for different bargains... By the way, look at this thing written on Dimitri in IPL Watch. I am excited. Go royals.....!