On 2/12/2025 at 9:59 AM, kepler37b said:

None can beat Ranbir in marketing his films in telugu lands. Animal collected 50 crore here. There is barely any buzz for this movie down here.

That's coz people are mostly fed up with Bollywood and don't believe they can make a decent movie. Animal was a success because of its director who is a Telugu guy.

Othereise in Telangana people specially have a lot of admiration for Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj.

I go to places like Vikarabad, Tandur, Nirmal etc I find statues of Shivaji Maharaj on many squares. 

45 minutes ago, New guy said:

It's convenient isn't it that only one gender has been forced to sacrifice way way way more than the other? 

And every country has always been conquered by patriarchy and every single country today is already patriarchal so no idea what that even means.

Blame it on the Abrahamic cults...whether it's burning alive or death by 1000 lashes. Women were pushed behind the doors.

1 hour ago, New guy said:

It's convenient isn't it that only one gender has been forced to sacrifice way way way more than the other? 

And every country has always been conquered by patriarchy and every single country today is already patriarchal so no idea what that even means.

No. Both have sacrificed. 

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

That's coz people are mostly fed up with Bollywood and don't believe they can make a decent movie. Animal was a success because of its director who is a Telugu guy.

Othereise in Telangana people specially have a lot of admiration for Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj.

I go to places like Vikarabad, Tandur, Nirmal etc I find statues of Shivaji Maharaj on many squares. 

Yeah, that director knew telugu audience taste. 

27 minutes ago, kepler37b said:

No. Both have sacrificed. 

No one who knows 0.0001% of actual history can ever claim this with a straight face.

And sacrifice is voluntary, women have been forced to be second class citizens most of history and still in some countries. That's not sacrifice, that's slavery. Men decided what their role should be and have been forcing them. 

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

Blame it on the Abrahamic cults...whether it's burning alive or death by 1000 lashes. Women were pushed behind the doors.

America is one of the most liberal countries in the world and yet doesn't have a woman leader in nearly 250 years since independence, two people who lost to donald freaking trump were both women while someone like biden win. 

India is one of the unsafest country for women even today by every single metrics. Sati etc happened under Hinduism. 

It's doesn't matter what religion or form of government has been in existence, women have always been downtrodden and continue to be.

1 hour ago, New guy said:

America is one of the most liberal countries in the world and yet doesn't have a woman leader in nearly 250 years since independence, two people who lost to donald freaking trump were both women while someone like biden win. 

India is one of the unsafest country for women even today by every single metrics. Sati etc happened under Hinduism. 

It's doesn't matter what religion or form of government has been in existence, women have always been downtrodden and continue to be.

Sati happened coz of the Abrahamic invasions only.

Where women were seen as an object, hence it was unsafe for her to survive if husband is no more.

You can take the reference from "Jauhar" where when Rajput men used to go for their last battles, their wives would burn themselves inside the fort and palaces.

Neither existed before Abrahamic cults arrived.

Agree with USA, but we know it's just another place where Europeans and British settled. Not sure how the natives were, but they surely cant be this backward.

Burning women as witches/lynching black people under Christianity was quite prevelant even upto the early 20th century. Sati was abolished from Indian society around the same time - through the diligent and unceasing work from Indians such as Raja Ram Mohan Roy. Why don't these get mentioned?

Gentilia mutilation continues unabated for women under Islamic countries even today. How is India the most unsafe country for women and by what metric @New guy?

This of course doesn't cover strict codes for dressing, socialising etc. for women and the punishment for defying these codes.

Rapes etc. are way worse in South/Central America, Africa and even large parts of Europe and N.America compared to India. Which specfic metrics is India the most unsafe according to you?

Edited by bharathh
On 2/12/2025 at 1:48 PM, bharathh said:

Watched Mrs. What did you folks think? 

Do ppl think that families like the ones shown in the movie are still the majority or is this about trying to portray family life as the worst thing for today's women? That they can only truly be happy as career women having casual affairs and no marriage? 

It is being termed as Horror movie for women lol..

Joke aside I have only watched some reels & movie looks like a heavy watch.  Will catch up on it this weekend probably.

I reckon small town families could be harsh on newly wed women (they fit the demographic) Cosmopolitan life is easier & even Village life is simple and secure for women.

Most dowry related cases are also from small tier 2-3 towns.

On 2/9/2025 at 9:08 PM, maniac said:

Watched Pushpa 2 finally over 1 week. Not my kind of movie but timepass.

Headache inducing crap fest. I actually liked Kalki, especially its world building. But most people **** on that movie and love Pushpa 2. 

9 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

No, heard about it, never felt like watching historical fiction.  

I am reading the novel actually. It's 1000 page long. Let's see how long I can endure.

I am a sucker for history. Non-Fiction and fiction too.

Edited by kepler37b
10 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

No, heard about it, never felt like watching historical fiction.  

You should watch Vikings on Netflix. One of the best in the category. Spartacus if you want some masala to go with the story. 

3 hours ago, bharathh said:

You should watch Vikings on Netflix. One of the best in the category. Spartacus if you want some masala to go with the story. 

Vikings upto Ragnar was gold.  After that it went downhill.  The Paris invasion is Top tier Action TV not even GoT can surpass that season 

The last Kingdom on Netflix is better from start to finish imo story and character development wise.  Covers later Vikings + Saxon resistance.

There is also Marco Polo on Netflix which covers Mongol rule in China it was perhaps as costly and massive as GoT.  Only 2 seasons though. Totally worth it 

Edited by Lone Wolf