singhvivek141 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 31 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: Nope Jauhar is practiced during Wartimes. Muslim Hindu Sikh women did mass suicides during partition. During Invasion of Mirpur by Tribals and Pak army same thing was done by Hindu/Sikh Women when thousands commited mass suicides. Sati didn't existed before Jauhar. That practice creeped in the society during invasions, when widowed women became a burden.
singhvivek141 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 14 hours ago, Lord said: Different causes. Jauhar was to save their dignity and avoid being raped by invaders. Sati was forced practice of burning the wife after husband died, as it was viewed she was the cause of his death or had no purpose to live anymore. It is way older and named after Sati goddess. Outcome is same, it was creeped into the society and impacted the overall culture. It didn't exist before invasions.
coffee_rules Posted February 15 Posted February 15 52 minutes ago, kepler37b said: I told ya it is a good film. I never go wrong. You were wrong with lucky Bhaskar and other recons. This movie was good at the way Karti char was introduced after an hour, and both Arvind and Karti carried the movie forward . Songs from Kamalhassan added to the movie experience.
Gollum Posted February 15 Posted February 15 (edited) I would recommend Vikings but only till Ragnar's death. Borefest after that. Rome was 10/10 for me. One of the GOAT shows. Haven't had the time to binge watch for a long time. Limit myself to a movie every fortnight, occasional reruns of some sitcom episodes. Edited February 15 by Gollum Lone Wolf 1
Gollum Posted February 15 Posted February 15 Madri (mother of Nakul and Sahdeva) committed sati when Pandu died. Don't tell me Mahabharat was written after invasions. Then there is the disgusting caste system which dehumanizes our own. All religions were illogical, dumb, evil but reforms happened over the years. No need to blame others for everything, otherwise no progress will be seen. Mariyam and Lord 1 1
Gollum Posted February 15 Posted February 15 Should have sent Meiyazhagan for Oscars, but as usual we blew it.
coffee_rules Posted February 15 Posted February 15 11 minutes ago, Gollum said: Should have sent Meiyazhagan for Oscars, but as usual we blew it. Good pick. Maharaja and Lapata ladeej was good cinema too
coffee_rules Posted February 15 Posted February 15 (edited) 21 minutes ago, Gollum said: Madri (mother of Nakul and Sahdeva) committed sati when Pandu died. Don't tell me Mahabharat was written after invasions. Then there is the disgusting caste system which dehumanizes our own. All religions were illogical, dumb, evil but reforms happened over the years. No need to blame others for everything, otherwise no progress will be seen. Na Bhai. Don’t go by the atheist route that all religions are illogical, dumb,,evil . We can debate about Sati/Madri in our Dharma, there is no such debate in abrahamic religions - STSJ or Blasphemy ka thopha lag jayega Edited February 15 by coffee_rules Suhaan 1
Gollum Posted February 15 Posted February 15 1 minute ago, coffee_rules said: Na Bhai. Don’t go by the atheist route that all religions are illogical, dumb,,evil . We can debate about Sati/Madri in our Dharma, there is no such debate in abrahamic religions - STSJ or Blasphemy ka thopha lag jayega That's why I talk about reform as well. Hinduism reformed over the years, dharmic religions are open to reform. Christianity too has come a long way since the dark ages.
jf1gp_1 Posted February 15 Posted February 15 3 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Good pick. Maharaja and Lapata ladeej was good cinema too I saw the twist coming in Maharaja, just heartbreaking yet loved the movie. Same with lapata ladies such a nice watch. Lord, Mariyam, coffee_rules and 1 other 3 1
coffee_rules Posted February 15 Posted February 15 1 hour ago, jf1gp_1 said: I saw the twist coming in Maharaja, just heartbreaking yet loved the movie. Same with lapata ladies such a nice watch. Ravi Kissen for Best supporting actor. Great talent
Lone Wolf Posted February 15 Posted February 15 5 hours ago, Gollum said: I would recommend Vikings but only till Ragnar's death. Borefest after that. Rome was 10/10 for me. One of the GOAT shows. Haven't had the time to binge watch for a long time. Limit myself to a movie every fortnight, occasional reruns of some sitcom episodes. If you liked Rome then you would love Marco Polo as well. Only 2 seasons & cinematography will blow you away. Mongols were OTT lol. It was too grand for even Netflix. Gollum 1
kepler37b Posted February 15 Posted February 15 6 hours ago, coffee_rules said: You were wrong with lucky Bhaskar and other recons. This movie was good at the way Karti char was introduced after an hour, and both Arvind and Karti carried the movie forward . Songs from Kamalhassan added to the movie experience. It is a film that was appreciated by BOTH telugu and tammie media. Now that's an achievement. You are in a tiny minority.
coffee_rules Posted February 15 Posted February 15 (edited) 39 minutes ago, kepler37b said: It is a film that was appreciated by BOTH telugu and tammie media. Now that's an achievement. You are in a tiny minority. It is an ok timepass movie, not a masterpiece like you hyped it Edited February 15 by coffee_rules
Mariyam Posted February 17 Posted February 17 On 2/15/2025 at 3:36 PM, jf1gp_1 said: I saw the twist coming in Maharaja, just heartbreaking yet loved the movie. Same with lapata ladies such a nice watch. Did you see the twist coming in Khakee? Did you see the twist coming in Gupt? Did you see the twist coming in 100 days? If the answer is yes, to even one of these questions, then you have my utmost respect and your value on the ICF posters stock index shoots right up. New guy and coffee_rules 2
kepler37b Posted February 17 Posted February 17 On 2/15/2025 at 6:39 PM, coffee_rules said: It is an ok timepass movie, not a masterpiece like you hyped it It is the best telugu movie of 2024. That's all.
jf1gp_1 Posted February 17 Posted February 17 4 hours ago, Mariyam said: Did you see the twist coming in Khakee? Did you see the twist coming in Gupt? Did you see the twist coming in 100 days? If the answer is yes, to even one of these questions, then you have my utmost respect and your value on the ICF posters stock index shoots right up. So for some strange reason I kept thinking of movie zinda while watching maharaja. Now in zinda john tells sanjay that he sold his daughter which wasn't the case. I kept wondering what if setupati took care of kashyaps daughter after getting him arrested.
coffee_rules Posted February 17 Posted February 17 1 hour ago, jf1gp_1 said: So for some strange reason I kept thinking of movie zinda while watching maharaja. Now in zinda john tells sanjay that he sold his daughter which wasn't the case. I kept wondering what if setupati took care of kashyaps daughter after getting him arrested. That was what most people thought so too, somewhere midway I connected the dots. What liked the non-linear timeline and editing of these time lines were unique, almost like Memento. AK did a fantastic job albeit as an actor. jf1gp_1 1
maniac Posted February 17 Posted February 17 On 2/14/2025 at 10:48 PM, Mariyam said: Looking at the poster, I was why the movie has Mahatma Gandhi from his Champaran stir days. The bald character in the middle? help @maniac @kepler37b He is apparently a great actor called Fahad Fasil. He has apparently done some outstanding work in Malayalam cinema ( not the kind that is the first thing that pops up in mind for our generation) I have seen him in 2-3 movies. As someone with great eye test for tailunt. Don’t get it. Mariyam and Lord 2
coffee_rules Posted February 17 Posted February 17 12 minutes ago, maniac said: He is apparently a great actor called Fahad Fasil. He has apparently done some outstanding work in Malayalam cinema ( not the kind that is the first thing that pops up in mind for our generation) I have seen him in 2-3 movies. As someone with great eye test for tailunt. Don’t get it. One of the best. Wasted in Pushpa. Telugu industry gets all great talent from south India and spoils their credibility.