Steyn owning Rohit on 2013 SA tour

Lone Wolf

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Yeah he isn't ATG like Sehwag or great like Warner, still pretty good. Hope he does well in Aus this time, by God we need someone to take the attack to them. 

Rohit hasn’t had a consistent run. Players like Rohit need backing and confidence to play their game. They shouldn’t be under the pump every match. As Amir Khan said Gold Medalists ko pyar se Lagan se banana padta hai. Look at the guy, he had the world in his palms after his initial debut, had a couple of poor series and was dropped, kudos to MSD for giving him a new break and we saw he initially became a sedate and watchful bat, once he got his confidence, today we talk about Rohit getting a 200 before a game as if it is business as usual, I mean that is so surreal. I think he is a few hits away from being a test great as well. Unfortunately the politics with Virat May be a problem.

Players like Rohit are beyond stats and numbers

Just now, maniac said:

Rohit hasn’t had a consistent run. Players like Rohit need backing and confidence to play their game. They shouldn’t be under the pump every match. As Amir Khan said Gold Medalists ko pyar se Lagan se banana padta hai. Look at the guy, he had the world in his palms after his initial debut, had a couple of poor series and was dropped, kudos to MSD for giving him a new break and we saw he initially became a sedate and watchful bat, once he got his confidence, today we talk about Rohit getting a 200 before a game as if it is business as usual, I mean that is so surreal. I think he is a few hits away from being a test great as well. Unfortunately the politics with Virat May be a problem.

Players like Rohit are beyond stats and numbers

Still has to figure out how to counter lateral movement, a sitting duck in such conditions. 

India - SA that could've been one hell of a rivalry.  Both share the colonial history & Mandela & Gandhi are famous personalities in both nations.  BCCI missed a trick in 2013 the tour was cut short due to Broadcasting issues.  Something parallel to Ashes would've been created if BCCI had pushed. Freedom Series could've been a marquee series.  No matter how hard we try Ind v Aus will never be bigger than the Ashes. 

That ship has sailed now I guess.  SA crowds have been hostile as always though. 

Just now, WC2011INDIA said:

Rahane is a fraud. He is no where close to decent against swing, spin, lateral movement and express pace. He is a mediocre 50-60 runs basher of medium pace. On a good day 100+. That's it.

Was excellent  in the 2013-15 cycle and the 2018 Jo'burg test. Lord's 100 was one of the greatest knocks of all time. Was terrible in last round of ENA tours hence downgraded from pretty good to decent. He is terrible in other formats, and on Indian pitches....doesn't deserve a spot in test XI on merit, that I agree. 

56 minutes ago, WC2011INDIA said:

Rahane is a fraud. He is no where close to decent against swing, spin, lateral movement and express pace. He is a mediocre 50-60 runs basher of medium pace. On a good day 100+. That's it.

He was pretty good in the Aus tour of 2014-15, also has centuries in England and good knocks in SA. He lost his touch in the last test cycle. 

If he fails on this Aussie tour, his days are numbered.

FTB... FTB... FTB... FTB

But an ODI ATG and actually i think he is in the race for GOAT OdI opener. 

His style is suited for todays flat tracks and we should judge him based on that. 

Obviously a player like him can never be described as the best indian batsman and he is nowhere near Kohli. 

Also he will never be mentioned in the same breadth as Gavaksar, Sachin and Kohli coz of that FTB tag. 

What's the purpose of this self loathing thread? Rohit is an ATG Indian batsman & hopefully he gets success in coming test matches. Rohit justified the come to home tag last year when he treated SA bowlers akin to club trundlers. Last year's SA tour was so satisfactory as an Indian fan, SA must have felt what we Indians felt in that 1996 massacre in SA. Proteas were not treated so brutally even in 2015

Start respecting a great Indian batsman instead of putting various filters to prove he is flat track bully. Let's back someone with pedigree.

22 minutes ago, SK_IH said:

What's the purpose of this self loathing thread? Rohit is an ATG Indian batsman & hopefully he gets success in coming test matches. Rohit justified the come to home tag last year when he treated SA bowlers akin to club trundlers. Last year's SA tour was so satisfactory as an Indian fan, SA must have felt what we Indians felt in that 1996 massacre in SA. Proteas were not treated so brutally even in 2015

Start respecting a great Indian batsman instead of putting various filters to prove he is flat track bully. Let's back someone with pedigree.

Actually in 1996-97 we should have won the 3rd test (again Jo'burg), a couple of decisions went against us on day 5 and they barely held out to a draw 8 wickets down, we lost many overs due to rain LINK

Had we won that Dravid's 1st innings 148 would have been rated so so highly, against peak Donald and young Pollock, very quick Klusener....after getting battered in 1st 2 tests.

RSA has never done to us what we did to them last year. the stats were so dominant lol....and the few wickets they took was because we gifted them in pursuit of quick finish or due to boredom. Kohli outscored RSA in 2nd test, Rohit did the same in 3rd test, unreal domination. Not sure why some Indian fans are so ashamed of our home dominance (always good at home but this side is scary strong in SC conditions) but go gaga over SENA players doing well in their backyard. Kitna complex hai yaar!!!!

12 minutes ago, zen said:

SA had a B grade team in 2019. While SA has beaten Ind who played with its Fab 4-5 + Kumble, Srinath/Zak, etc. (almost close to Ind's ATG team) 

Beaten us sure, but what we did in 2019 was more than just 'beaten'. Closest they came to doing that was 1996-97, that's what me and @SK_IH were discussing.

4 hours ago, Gollum said:

What Ro did to Saffers in 2019 test series, next 3 generations of RSA fans will remember. And can Indian fans stop downplaying our home success, don't have inferiority complex like that loser Manju !!!! While we keep making fun of our players for overseas record, ever bothered to check the SC record of some of these SENA top dogs. 

Didn't see arrogant statements from our camp after what we did to them in 2015 and '19 at home. 

The only issue is. Steyn had nagpur.. rohit destroyed sa in vizag. And steyn destroyed Ind in Sa series. But steyn did do well in India, thats the issue with Rohit. Now steyn is gone legacy intact in test. Cant get around that truth. Its done. 

1 hour ago, SK_IH said:

Did you see the video ? Is it doctored.