Ind-Eng T20 series review

2 hours ago, Adamant said:

Get over DK.... Hadd hai yaar

werent u similarly conservative about SKY to 

What has he done in his lifetime? Win a game against Bangladesh FGS

What have we dont to use him right. If use any player in wrong spot he is a waste. DK has always been a better t20player then dhoni but we  didnt use it.

DK is still one of the best finishers in country. SKY, pandya,DK thats it....thats all

DK has only one use but thats is of top quality ....finishing

Use rohit n kohli at wrong spot they wont have been this big 

Secondly Kohli's return to form should be number one on the list of positives. 

Kohli opened for RCB in 2016, you know na what happened? 

Don’t judge him by one game, is series mai bhi aankh nahi khuli to kab khulegi

that was 2016 when he was playing his best cricket . This is 2021 cricket has changed and its not IPL and neither will he play every game in chinnaswamy. 

U need to maximize powerplay...he already is a slow starter . In this series also he has batted for 110-120 s/r for very long

8 minutes ago, beetle said:

Rahul as captain?

On what basis?

Let him first sort out his state of mind without any added burden .

I think he is next in line after Kohli & Rohit so that's why.  He will sort himself in IPl but we know with exactly what S/R.  International games is what he needs. 

37 minutes ago, prudent_kreeda said:

Good points .

Ankit_sharma03 said:

Key points moving ahead 

1. KL return of form is very important - he has been a gun in t20. If he doesnt its our loss going with one less top class batsman . Also he needs to commit to attacking cricket .

Yes . KL in top form is critical . Covers lot of areas  like an aggressive opener , a back up in MO if needed, a back up for WK /Bat in case of injuries to first choice WK.  One more impact player  in the line up. 

and a 360 deg player 

2.  Kishen and Pant shud be persisted and tried to fix in XI. IF you dont want bowlers to settle - a mix of right-left is very important .

Kishan should be tested as both opener as well as MO before the WC .  He has done very well in IPL in MO too .  Should be considered for both positions  as a contender.

yes

3. Hardik needs to work out his chink thats found in new stance also TM shud try to send him early so he gets his eye in. Any batsman will be more dangerous if he  gets his eye in or else he ll cow lash in last over which can affect timing .

Another high priority for India. He needs develop shots square of the wickets both sides . Still trying to hit too many deliveries down the ground when bowlers attack him back of length/shortish high pace balls ..

thats why im keen on DK. To hit guys like archer u need range hitting and DK is best at that . Power hitting isnt easy against them 

- Develop Pull shot and slap shot between wide mid on to mid wicket even to deliveries outside off ( best example Bairstow)  in addition to off side slash, ramp .

I think he is also overdoing his stance....its good for wide yorker but now teams wont bowl him there. It will be in his throat

4. With chahal loosing form , Ashwin needs to be in fray. Now our spin bowling lacks experience with rahul chahar n sundar.  Again saying ashwin is a must 

For me the biggest worry as of now . Looks like a weak spot of the Indian team. Most of the wickets for WC21 will be like the one yesterday.  My hopes hinge on Varun . Quick , not easily readable and not exposed too much so far.   If he fails we are in trouble in spin department .  Not a bad idea to have ASH  in the loop. 

Persisting with Chahal & Kuldeep  could be disaster in KO matches due to over exposure of these guys over last 4 years and they are not having anything new in their arsenal. 

Ash nyways shud be there to counter lefties...i have a gut feeling that some leftie will screw us and their are enough in the world- conway, malan, morgan, stokes , pooran, hetymer ...we need to take our best shot against them .

He is also pretty good against right handers, he changed SMA game for a while by taking mayank n rahul 

52 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

kabhi kabhi samajh nahin aata konsi deewar men jaake sar marru

how is shaw n samson same options to DK.

DK is a finishers, shaw an opener and samson is best suited for top 3

ppl just pick names, pick players for roles and their backup not just top 15 names that come in ur head

:hysterical:

Where did I said pick Shaw or Samson as finisher? What I am saying is that if they have a great IPL, they can be considered too, not necessarily in the XI but in the squad. It will be a 20- man squad afterall.

And I meant them as opener only.

Edited by Majestic
More information

Positives-

• The selection committee under chetan selected sky, teotia, varun and IShan.  Phenomenal Selection. Teotia and varun have not cleared fitness checks but they will sooner than later. I kinda trust this selection commitee.

• team management of virat and shastri are also giving opportunities to youngster's like ishan and SKY. earlier they were too choosy and play few players only.

• ISHAN and SKY grabbed opportunities and seem to be Strong guys who can be preferred to anyone except VIRAT, so they are as good as any other batsman on their day. they have debuted but they seem to be fully ready and in the best form. Thank god average Manish pandey was dropped. i some times wonder why did they pick DK when ISHAN Kishan was playing well, he could have debuted earlier.

• bhuvi seems to be very accurate, His accuracy and his control over his bowling is getting even better. I did not like his Pace and hope he improves on that. i wonder if Umesh can learn a few things of controlling the ball from Bhuvi. ( umesh has 2 balls in an over which are not under his full control).
  • Shreyas Iyer is batting like anyone.
  • For me deepak chahar is a better bowler than Shardul but probably shardul is a better all rounder than Deepak chahar. Shardul shut down his critics including myself. shardul can give Hardik a run for money as a pae all rounder.
  • India's bench strength in Pace is pretty good.
  • India has some good batsman for sure and dependency on Rohit and Virat is not that much.
  • hardik is bowling OK but he has to still improve. hardik has to improve his pace too.

Negatives-

• Outside of India Genuine Swing bowlers like Bhuvi ,Genuine fast bowlers like Jasprit , Shammi, archer , mark wood and/or highly skilled bowlers like Nattu ( yorker specialist) succeed and Indian selectors need to focus on genuine fast bowlers growing like Saini, Prasidh etc instead of getting trundlers get more opportunities. This T 20 world cup is in India and Shrewd clever bowlers can also succeed but on fastish greenish tracks fast bowlers rule.

• Realized that arnold Chahal, rahul chahar are not of the quality of ASHWIN ( who is a bad fielder).Washie is not as good as Jaddu as a bowler. Axar was not played so probably he was also not very good for t20. Our Spinners did not do well in t20 where the track did not assist spinners.

22 minutes ago, Majestic said:

Where did I said pick Shaw or Samson as finisher? What I am saying is that if they have a great IPL, they can be considered too, not necessarily in the XI but in the squad. It will be a 20- man squad afterall.

And I meant them as opener only.

in conversation of DK why wud bring openers...we already have enough options for opening its finishing where we need backups

1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

What have we dont to use him right. If use any player in wrong spot he is a waste. DK has always been a better t20player then dhoni but we  didnt use it.

DK is still one of the best finishers in country. SKY, pandya,DK thats it....thats all

DK has only one use but thats is of top quality ....finishing

Use rohit n kohli at wrong spot they wont have been this big 

Adding DK is going to add lot of imbalance - KL, Ishan, Pant, DK - all of them don’t belong in the same squad. Too many keepers.

if we want a finisher why not groom Pant to be one? He has the power, 360 deg player. Will serve well for the future vs DK who may last a year or so even if he succeeded.

5 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said:

Adding DK is going to add lot of imbalance - KL, Ishan, Pant, DK - all of them don’t belong in the same squad. Too many keepers.

they own a spot as batsman....why does keeping make a diff

england have - butler, bairstrow, billings....they might add hales

if we want a finisher why not groom Pant to be one? He has the power, 360 deg player. Will serve well for the future vs DK who may last a year or so even if he succeeded.

pant is better in middle or top , he can bat full 20 overs. waste of his skills to keep him as finisher

30 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

in conversation of DK why wud bring openers...we already have enough options for opening its finishing where we need backups

More like a general comment on the lineup and the difference between our World Cup team last year and WT20 this year.

Edited by Majestic
10 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

1. With chahal loosing form , Ashwin needs to be in fray. Again saying ashwin is a must 
  2. IF bigger squad are allowed then select DK. 360 deg player add a new dimension and he is still a top finisher. 

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: 

I would like to thank you on behalf of all Indian cricket fans worldwide for not being a selector. You’re hilarious 

21 minutes ago, SecondSlip said:

OP has been begging for DK’s inclusion for a long time now. 

Abe BSDK, stop watching Nidahas Trophy highlights and live in the present. 

Move the F on already you freakin’ moron. 

giphy.gif

sorry thats all i cud understand, could u use better language that every can understand

6 hours ago, prudent_kreeda said:

Also wicket taking ability . There is nothing more valuable in restricting the runs than a wicket. 

**** takes wickets in T20, I am not so sure that it was his bowling that made the difference.  

I mean, I love Shardul's temperament but as a player he's limited.  As a bowler, he is not in my top 5 selection options for T20 cricket. Add to that, he made some very avoidable misfields - not a one-off.  When you are a fringe player with limited ability, you can't afford to be a sub-par fielder.  

Batting looks good. We should stick with this group. No need to add anyone else. We have won the series because of our batting.

Bowling is a big concern.

Bhuvi was superb, especially in terms of stopping runs. None of the other bowlers were impressive.

Our pace attack lacks any kind of variety. Most of the seamers are short swing bowlers who depend on slower balls later on.

Chahal needs time off.

Washington's bowling is nothing special. 

Shardul was quite expensive. Most of his wickets were when the batsmen were trying to score with scoreboard pressure mounting.

Hardik is not a specialist bowler but is used as such. Plus he is injury prone.

We need to bring in new wicket taking bowlers and add variety to our pace attack.

17 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Shardul was quite expensive. Most of his wickets were when the batsmen were trying to score with scoreboard pressure mounting.

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

I love Shardul's temperament but as a player he's limited.

Shardul n Sundar shud be looked as utility player rather then impact players

Bowling side shud be constructed in following way 

1. Bhuvi+ bumrah- fixed 
  2. Hardik -5th -6th bowler Fixed
  3. Another utilty player - jaddu, sundar, axar, krunal , tewatia, Thakur who ever but only one shud play
  4. 2 more attacking bowler - 2 spinners or 1 seamer -1 spinner shud depend on opposition, conditions- Nattu, ashwin, Saini, Varun.C , Deepak Chahar , Rahul chahar, Prasidh , Kulcha if they strike form 

21 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Batting looks good. We should stick with this group. No need to add anyone else. We have won the series because of our batting.

its actually battings thats my worry coz their are to many options n kohli isnt good at handling many option. 

In this series only he has had 4 ideas for opener - dhawan, kishen, KL, Himself

No point of having so many options if they dont bat at right place. We all know how he works even sky is 2-3 failures away from being out of the XI and dhawan is one good season away from being back to XI 

The batting order isnt fixed n he ll make a mess of it 

2 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Bowling is a big concern.

Bhuvi was superb, especially in terms of stopping runs. None of the other bowlers were impressive.

Our pace attack lacks any kind of variety. Most of the seamers are short swing bowlers who depend on slower balls later on.

Chahal needs time off.

Hardik is not a specialist bowler but is used as such. Plus he is injury prone.

We need to bring in new wicket taking bowlers and add variety to our pace attack.

I am 100% sure Selectors & TM are only focused on preparation  for WC T20  right now and hence my comments  applicable only till start of WC 21. 

For T21WC, We have  set resources in pace bowling who are experienced and have the skill . Bhumra, Bhuvi, Nattu (wont be discarded at this point before WC) ,

4th could be Shami .

Only  5th pacer  may be in question where i would prefer Shardul .

On flat Indian pitches what you need is  not just pace but  clever use of pace and some very good variations of slower balls as slow nature of the pitches will help this kind of bowling more.  Hence would prefer till WC 21  Shardul over Saini  or any other Tall bowler . 

Several pluses for his selection- 

-  Bowls with clever variations which help in picking wickets . Done it twice vs best batting line up which were game changers.  In T20  bowlers are always attacked and they are supposed to take wickets by inducing a false shot .  

-  A very good match up vs lefties when  they are after you .

-  better bat among all pacers .

Do not see much change in pace bowling arsenal till WC21. 

Spin bowling does not look that good - 

-  Kulcha  looks a big risk 

- Chahar  - inexperienced.

But before WC22 needs a big overhaul in Pace bowling .  Not sure Shami & Bhuvi could still be firing. Even Nattu could be out of favour. Shardul not a fit for AUS 

Selectors need to start to find new set of pacers at least 2-3 once WC21 gets over.