12 minutes ago, deepdynamo said:

Mayank at 145kph will still be good.

I hope he knows cutting pace is not an option for him. Mavi, Tyagi and Nagarkoti all disappeared trying to cut pace to prolong their career. They are nowhere to be seen.

If he wants to be Avesh, Mukesh, Khaleel type bowler- he will rot in IPL circuit ans forgotten in few years.

Tyagi never cut the pace. He is one of the rare indian bowlers who is obsessed about pace. The last time, he played a domestic tournament, he consistently clocked 150+. Injured since then played only one ipl game last year. He has now recovered and was a net bowler at GT.

1 hour ago, rkt.india said:

Tyagi never cut the pace. He is one of the rare indian bowlers who is obsessed about pace. The last time, he played a domestic tournament, he consistently clocked 150+. Injured since then played only one ipl game last year. He has now recovered and was a net bowler at GT.

@express bowling

@Mosher

@tapandrun

@MK55

@singhvivek141

here is a small interview just before the game,he talks about giving time to his body,quite concerned about his injury

Interviewer clearly asks him if he would like to increase his pace to which he said I would like to give my body more time not a single time he said anything about his plans to increase pace,i personally not impressed with his response, subjective opinion though

What you guys think of him from this small interview?

https://www.hotstar.com/in/sports/cricket/pressure-games-are-necessary-mayank/1271413960/watch

Edited by Suhaan
46 minutes ago, Texan said:

Mayank's bowling is the biggest disappointment of this IPL. All those expectations of him have been crushed. Honestly, dropping 20 ks in pace is just inexplicable.

Even if he is not fully fit, the expectation would be that he is able to hit mid 140s pace if not 150. But he is now at the level where we have countless others. Huge disappointment! 

Munaf Patel

Shivam Mavi

Now we need to add Mayank Yadav to that list. So many bowlers disappointed after showing initial promise.

Key takeaway here is that we only truly have one great pace bowler in Bumrah. Use him wisely, try to win away matches while he is fit and performing, and don't let useless oldie batters like Rohit and Kohli waste away Boom Boom's awesome contributions. Otherwise, we may never again have the fast bowling to dominate in SENA conditions. Young fast bowlers have disappointed too often. 

Around the same age as Mayank, Bumrah also suffered back injury before IPL 2015, don't remember exact IPL, it was a few months before his India debut. Bumrah struggled to touch 140 after coming back from injury.  I have seen many bowlers take time before they could hit high pace again after a long injury break.  So can't give up on mayank so soon. 

2 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Around the same age as Mayank, Bumrah also suffered back injury before IPL 2015, don't remember exact IPL, it was a few months before his India debut. Bumrah struggled to touch 140 after coming back from injury.  I have seen many bowlers take time before they could hit high pace again after a long injury break.  So can't give up on mayank so soon. 

Mavi ne sabko gehra zakhm diya hai

Ye abhi bhi gehra hai aur uspe ab Mayank ki bewafai

Edited by Suhaan
8 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

@express bowling

@Mosher

@tapandrun

@MK55

here is a small interview just before the game,he talks about giving time to his body,quite concerned about his injury

Interviewer clearly asks him if he would like to increase his pace to which he said I would like to give my body more time not a single time he said anything about his plans to increase pace,i personally not impressed with his response, subjective opinion though

https://www.hotstar.com/in/sports/cricket/pressure-games-are-necessary-mayank/1271413960/watch

That’s exactly my problem with him. Guy acts as if he’s some 300 wicket plus veteran. 
Just contrast that with Mark Wood, Brett Lee etc. Even Bumrah absolutely never has that loser attitude. He always talks about pace when asked about it. Bumrah even after coming from a major back surgery touched 144k in his second match itself and he talked about it in his post match interview.

But he forgets that he’s on borrowed time in a country like India. Hes gonna be forgotten not in years or months but sooner if he doesn’t get back to even 90 percent of what he was before. 

If he was that unprepared that he can only bowl 20k slower than his peak pace last year, then he should be nowhere close to the playing 11. This is not some charity. Rehabs need to be objective and data driven. If you’re not ready - dude then get ready first.

6 minutes ago, MK55 said:

That’s exactly my problem with him. Guy acts as if he’s some 300 wicket plus veteran. 
Just contrast that with Mark Wood, Brett Lee etc. Even Bumrah absolutely never has that loser attitude. He always talks about pace when asked about it. Bumrah even after coming from a major back surgery touched 144k in his second match itself and he talked about it in his post match interview.

But he forgets that he’s on borrowed time in a country like India. Hes gonna be forgotten not in years or months but sooner if he doesn’t get back to even 90 percent of what he was before. 

If he was that unprepared that he can only bowl 20k slower than his peak pace last year, then he should be nowhere close to the playing 11. This is not some charity. Rehabs need to be objective and data driven. If you’re not ready - dude then get ready first.

He said he wants to give time to his body in games

Yes,needs to do all the 'time' thing in domestic t20s,doing and looking bad in IPL although domestics, is bad for optics

22 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

@express bowling

@Mosher

@tapandrun

@MK55

Nothing wrong he said here.  It does take even if not intentional.  Even the best fast bowlers take time to get back to high pace after a long break.

26 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

I can't remember Bumrah just bowling with no real intent as Mayank was today. Bumrah always had a fast bowler's attitude right from the beginning and hated it when batsmen were thrashing him. I don't see the same in Mayank. I hope Mayank realizes from this game that he is not good enough to bowl at medium pace. For him to have a decent career, he needs to get back to bowling at full pace. Of course, the hope is there for everyone here, but what we saw was very disappointing. It is not like he has gone down by 5-10 kph, he is down by 20. This is ridiculously bad!

36 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

@express bowling

@Mosher

@tapandrun

@MK55

Hopefully he understands what he needs to do, if he needs to take time then take time in club level match where he can walk-off when he is not felling comfortable.

Build up the strength again, high pressure ipl games/intnl/high level domestic is not the place. It will only cause reoccurring injury. At express pace as a bowler one has to tell themselves that they need to bowl fast and if they are not ready to do it they wont do it.

He may have taken a simple route here to bowl 140ish kmph and be like that. Most ind bowler cut speeds for longevity, they donot want great career but longer career its the crkt culture there will be many seniors telling him you can get wkts at 135 kmh as well no need to be 150 kmph to take wkts. Wkt is a wkt.

Take these exp. bowlers as example -- Tait, akthar, Lee and bond even after injury or surgery when did they lose 15-20 kmph of pace on avg. And others who were near exp. who had injury and tried to recover slowly were they ever able to reach their previous pace ...???

Think lee's example quoted here was it the same series where mcgill played ??? Think lee was bowling a lot of balls in 145 kmph brackets in its tests (5 match series) which is good pace and he was back hitting 150s in odis can be bit wrong in recollection. Lee tweaked his entire load up and still didnt lose 10 kmph.

Here the concerns should be he is not coming after a surgery and he is not trying to hit/unable to hit 145+ kmph and if it was a surgery or as it happens mostly if he gets surgery in future what mind-set is this ..??

Take this match he was getting hit ball after ball if a bowler capable to hitting express pace would they have not tried to bowl 1-2 ball at that pace but what mayank did was to bowl slower-ones which had nothing behind it not trying to dip it/ cutter noting just bowled slow.

Edited by tapandrun
1 hour ago, rkt.india said:

Nothing wrong he said here.  It does take even if not intentional.  Even the best fast bowlers take time to get back to high pace after a long break.

If LSG gives him another opportunity, I hope he clocks atleast 135-145 kph...I will accept this as well. Will show that slowly he is coming back to his groove.

But this 130-140 in T20s isnt gonna work.

1 hour ago, Suhaan said:

@express bowling

@Mosher

@tapandrun

@MK55

@singhvivek141

My wild guess

1. Either he is scared of injury

2. Or he is advised by mgmt to concentrate on line-length

I am going with option 1, he is scared of getting injured again.

Some may say that he is taking time to get into his full pace. But his choice of words dont suggest that. He could have said he wants to get in match practice and see to what extent he can push himself.

Mayank should remember, without pace, he will be just one of the hundreds playing in domestics.

Prasidh is the standout bowler this season, coz he bowled fast, easily clocking 144-145 at will and peaking at 151. Variations do play a role, but Prasidh has rushed the batters. Archer is another who bowled fast and had good season so far.

Harshit is bit slower and hence his performance has been up and down.

I don’t agree with him easing back into rhythm. 
If you observed, he was actually bowling slower today than his first match which was a week before. There’s just no justification for that.

He is either still unfit, has got his action messed up and lost all his timing or he has got his mind fkd up and not willing to be explosive at the release. I think it’s a combination of the last two. 

I can understand if he was bowling 145k. Or if this was a test match and he lost gas as he bowled more. This is a T20 match. I’m sure they have speed guns in training. If he is unwilling to get back to even 80 percent of his bowling range, he needs to be taken off and asked to get there first. 

13 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

My wild guess

1. Either he is scared of injury

2. Or he is advised by mgmt to concentrate on line-length

I am going with option 1, he is scared of getting injured again.

Some may say that he is taking time to get into his full pace. But his choice of words dont suggest that. He could have said he wants to get in match practice and see to what extent he can push himself.

Mayank should remember, without pace, he will be just one of the hundreds playing in domestics.

Prasidh is the standout bowler this season, coz he bowled fast, easily clocking 144-145 at will and peaking at 151. Variations do play a role, but Prasidh has rushed the batters. Archer is another who bowled fast and had good season so far.

Harshit is bit slower and hence his performance has been up and down.

One thing is sure ,he won't hit 155+ ever or maybe even near 150

He has neither temperament nor will

He is content with his season 1 ,3 games,that's it

With each game he's coming down @ 5 kph

6 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

One thing is sure ,he won't hit 155+ ever or maybe even near 150

He has neither temperament nor will

He is content with his season 1 ,3 games,that's it

With each game he's coming down @ 5 kph

Then he should be send to NCA for mopping and sweeping duties.

Should have taken example of Mavi, no one even cares what the duck he is doing these days.

Atleast you will still see Nagarkoti on sub duties as a fielder, I dont even where is Mavi.

Just now, singhvivek141 said:

Then he should be send to NCA for mopping and sweeping duties.

Should have taken example of Mavi, no one even cares what the duck he is doing these days.

Atleast you will still see Nagarkoti on sub duties as a fielder, I dont even where is Mavi.

His attitude is big off

4 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

His attitude is big off

Typically Biharis are very adamant, if they want something, they will get it no matter what's the effort.

Mayank babu doesn't give the same vibes so far.

I also agree that Zaheer is a part of the problem. As a coach his job should be to give him confidence to bowl quick without complicating his mind. And his approach needs to be tailored based on the individual’s personality. This Mayank already has that meek loser and timid mindset (at least he gives that impression). So as a coach he should be offsetting that. 

And as a coach he should be aware of his fitness levels in practice. If he was bowling mid 130’s his priority should have been to get his rhythm back. 

12 minutes ago, MK55 said:

I also agree that Zaheer is a part of the problem. As a coach his job should be to give him confidence to bowl quick without complicating his mind. And his approach needs to be tailored based on the individual’s personality. This Mayank already has that meek loser and timid mindset (at least he gives that impression). So as a coach he should be offsetting that. 

And as a coach he should be aware of his fitness levels in practice. If he was bowling mid 130’s his priority should have been to get his rhythm back. 

Last year he was used as first change bowler. Maybe should go back to that

2 minutes ago, Lord said:

Last year he was used as first change bowler. Maybe should go back to that

Yes was thinking about that too. If they want to “ease him in”, why the hell is he made to open the bowling?