Ravi Jadeja - The Indian all rounder & probable no.7-Performance tracker

SK_IH

51 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Jaddu in the last 2 years 

ODI    -  62.66 avge 106.51 strike rate

T20    -  50.50 avge 146.37 strike rate

Tests  -  58.62 avge 56.64 strike rate

That's some ATG stuff...if he had played for poorkis there would have been already 1000 of thread how in past 2 years he is greatest player across the format and better than a,b and c.

42 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

Like many here, I too didn't like Jadeja in the shorter formats. The WC SF changed my opinion. 

In a team full of bowlers who can't bat, batsmen who can't bowl and fielders who can't field, you badly need someone like Jadeja. And this is Jadeja 2.0, the much improved batsman. 

In last few year hr is most improved among veteran cricketers .... I think any team would die to have an alrounder like jadega even though when he ll not perform with bat or ball he will get you some unexpected run outs or scintillating catches.

6 minutes ago, zen said:

Good knock by Jadeja but need to keep in mind that this was only his 2nd 50 in 180 innings in IPL ... Hopefully, he is on his way up 

Erre sab short memory ke maare hai, he has improved in last 2 yrs but ppl forget before that for a decade he was a below avg t20 player. 

Great he has improved ...no one denying that 

29 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Erre sab short memory ke maare hai, he has improved in last 2 yrs but ppl forget before that for a decade he was a below avg t20 player. 

Yaar jab team selection ki baat ho to current ability hi matter karta hai na. Distant past se kya matlab. 

This thread is called "probable no 7 tracker", not "Is Jadeja a T20 ATG". 

2 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

Yaar jab team selection ki baat ho to current ability hi matter karta hai na. Distant past se kya matlab. 

This thread is called "probable no 7 tracker", not "Is Jadeja a T20 ATG". 

ha to kon deny kar raha hai he hasnt improved in last 2 yrs . But he needs to put this a lot out in international t20s 

2 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

To count as a trend or its reversal, ideally, one needs at least 3 touch points ... so if Jadeja can play a couple of more good knocks in this IPL (a good chance with lots of games remaining for CSK), we can say that he is on an upward trend 

If not then, it can be a fakeout (getting a bit technical here) 

7 minutes ago, Khota said:

Jadeja is on fire and doing well. But he was not on the radar for a long time and guess what the crowds favorite Hardik is no where to be seen.

The crowd favorite is the crowd favorite for a reason :winky:  

SDP v Rohit in IPL 

• SDP - Avg 36, SR 156; + 6 wkts 
  • Rohit - Avg 24, SR 122

• SDP - Avg 29, SR 133; + 18 wkts 
  • Rohit - Avg 24, SR 133

• SDP - Avg 45, SR 191; + 14 wkts
  • Rohit - Avg 29, SR 129 

• SDP - Avg 35, SR 179; did not bowl due to injury 
  • Rohit - Avg 28, SR 128 

At Chennai, most big hitters have failed including Hetmyer, Russell, Pollard, and so on ... Even the likes of Pooran, Buttler, Morgan, etc. are yet to get started in the competition 

10 minutes ago, zen said:

To count as a trend or its reversal, ideally, one needs at least 3 touch points ... so if Jadeja can play a couple of more good knocks in this IPL (a good chance with lots of games remaining for CSK), we can say that he is on an upward trend 

If not then, it can be a fakeout (getting a bit technical here) 

Its also needs to be seen how much does he translate it in international which im sure he wud provided he is given right batting slot. Problem wahi hai waha wo 7 pe aata hai and gets no time which is not his area. Even as bowler these pitches have given him grip, his problem arises when he doesnt get the grip of the wkt. So his international t20 performances also needs to be seen over a time in current form to see if its replicating and if not may be then they need to look at the way he is being used.

2 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Pandya has flopped so far this season. But today Jadeja was an all rounder.

That you can't deny.

Bottom line is a human body can only do so much. At that level you cannot excel at two things. In my gully cricket you could.

You are a lawyer and the one in your street was very good for any advice you needed.

But if you have to argue a case in front of supreme court would you  go with the specialist like a Criminal, Corporate, Constitutional or whatever the case is. You can only train for no more than six hours a day, you can only train to bat or bowl not both.

Let me simplify the runner who wins one hundred meter can maybe do two hundred meter but not the 800m or 1600 m. marathon runner has a totally differen body than a 100 m runner. 

Ben Stokes, Hardik Pandya all on the wayside by now. Not possible.

Kapil Dev would not break into Indias bowling line up today.

6 minutes ago, zen said:

The crowd favorite is the crowd favorite for a reason :winky:  

SDP v Rohit in IPL 

• SDP - Avg 36, SR 156; + 6 wkts 
  • Rohit - Avg 24, SR 122

• SDP - Avg 29, SR 133; + 18 wkts 
  • Rohit - Avg 24, SR 133

• SDP - Avg 45, SR 191; + 14 wkts
  • Rohit - Avg 29, SR 129 

• SDP - Avg 35, SR 179; did not bowl due to injury 
  • Rohit - Avg 28, SR 128 

At Chennai, most big hitters have failed including Hetmyer, Russell, Pollard, and so on ... Even the likes of Pooran, Buttler, Morgan, etc. are yet to get started in the competition 

You miss the point. Scoring at the bottom is not the same as scoring at the top.

Sharma is the best bat in the world. Pandya is not even close to Rohit.

1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Its also needs to be seen how much does he translate it in international which im sure he wud provided he is given right batting slot. Problem wahi hai waha wo 7 pe aata hai and gets no time which is not his area. Even as bowler these pitches have given him grip, his problem arises when he doesnt get the grip of the wkt. So his international t20 performances also needs to be seen over a time in current form to see if its replicating and if not may be then they need to look at the way he is being used.

IPL replicates major world tournaments well so will take performances in it over pointless bilaterals esp. if not v top teams ... All there is not much time remaining b/w IPL and the T20WC, so form in IPL would play a big role with selections 

Bowling to a line up with Padikkal, Kohli, Maxwell, ADBV, etc. is a challenge, so can be batting v Bumran, Boult, etc. for e.g.  

From #8-11, Ind can play 4 pacers if required on pitches w/o grip and/or at venues with dew ... at #7, I would be more concerned with the batting form