Dinesh Kartik (the finisher) Watch thread- the last piece missing in our batting squad **POLL ADDED**

Ankit_sharma03

Do you agree with ankit_sharma's opinion about Dinesh Karthik?  

29 members have voted

1. 1. Do you agree with ankit_sharma's opinion about Dinesh Karthik?

31 minutes ago, Serpico said:

2007? 

how was it entirely a new team

Sehwag, Yuvi, Bhajji were playing from 2000s 

Agarkar was there, DK was there

and at that time most teams didnt understand t20 now we do, Rohit n kohli plays t20 well not like dravid n ganguly who never played it

38 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

What was his performance in last IPL? Averaged 14. Because he hit a cute 20 y'day, suddenly he should be a part of the T20 WC team, that too as a specialist batsman?

Like I said 2018 was his peak, he won us the Nidhas Trophy. Due to that performance he even got picked for the 2019 WC as well. Didn't do well, and rightly lost his spot. 

thats what happens when u see blind numbers 

His number sucked as middle order but when shifted to 6 he avg 50 with 200 s/r .

Nidhas to Wc - same foolishness , not understanding formats 

• Comparing 50 over
  • Comparing his middle order number 

all are irrelevant to his finishing role, i cant be more clear that im looking at hbim just as finishers. How the hell does his batting at diff number or diff format even matters. 

43 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Because he hit a cute 20 y'day, suddenly he should be a part of the T20 WC team, that too as a specialist batsman?

Erre yaar , i have been taking abotut DK as finisher in t20 from ages coz i knw what he can do hardly anyone can 

I made thread before he made that 20 , infact few months ago

Its damn annoying when ppl dnt understand matchups, what player to use in what situtaion, talking number that has no relevance 

10 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

At finishing he has been good even in IPL . 

Failed for india - but go check at what position n which format 

In big World tournaments (5+ teams), his performances have been terrible across ODIs and T20s. He was a specialist at practice matches where he got many 100s, but that form never translated into real games.

In T20s (avg: 11, SR: 111) : https://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/30045.html?class=3;template=results;tournament_type=5;type=batting;view=innings

In ODIs (av 32, SR: 66) : https://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/30045.html?class=2;template=results;tournament_type=5;type=batting;view=innings

He has been given ample chances over the years and has failed the team numerous times in big tournaments in crunch situations. There are no data points to suggest giving him another chance is going to yield different results this time. Besides, there are many other players in contention who can do a better job than him.

Moreover, his performance in the last IPL that concluded just 5 months ago was atrocious. He is very lucky to keep his place in his IPL team.

8 minutes ago, Texan said:

In big World tournaments (5+ teams), his performances have been terrible across ODIs and T20s. He was a specialist at practice matches where he got many 100s, but that form never translated into real games.

In T20s (avg: 11, SR: 111) : https://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/30045.html?class=3;template=results;tournament_type=5;type=batting;view=innings

In ODIs (av 32, SR: 66) : https://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/30045.html?class=2;template=results;tournament_type=5;type=batting;view=innings

He has been given ample chances over the years and has failed the team numerous times in big tournaments in crunch situations. There are no data points to suggest giving him another chance is going to yield different results this time. Besides, there are many other players in contention who can do a better job than him.

Moreover, his performance in the last IPL that concluded just 5 months ago was atrocious. He is very lucky to keep his place in his IPL team.

all data irrelevant , Read OP 

4 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

all data irrelevant , Read OP 

OP does not address his mental weakness playing in big tournaments, which the stats I provided illustrate. Moreover your entire argument is based on a single innings of 22*(9) he played in one game while ignoring all his recent failures in the previous IPL that was played only shortly before this one. IPL performances sought historically have no relevance as they are 2+ years old. Even Unadkat was a match-winning IPL bowler at one time, but that doesn't mean he should be in contention for a place in our World T20 team. 

20 minutes ago, Texan said:

OP does not address his mental weakness playing in big tournaments, which the stats I provided illustrate. Moreover your entire argument is based on a single innings of 22*(9) he played in one game while ignoring all his recent failures in the previous IPL that was played only shortly before this one. IPL performances sought historically have no relevance as they are 2+ years old. Even Unadkat was a match-winning IPL bowler at one time, but that doesn't mean he should be in contention for a place in our World T20 team. 

u clealry didnt read the OP

• Im pitching him as finisher and clealry written he is useless everywhere else but at that spot damn good . So whatever he did in other tournaments which was 50 over or 20 over in middle is irrelvant coz its a different role
  • U didnt check previous IPL records propely - his avg n s/r was **** in middle but the innings he played as finishers was damn good where at 6 he avg 50 and s/r was 200....so learn to read between stats 
  • Who said one game, i have been wanting him as finisher for t20 from very long

thats why ur logic n data is irrelavent 

• Im talking about finishing role but ur giving me his middle or top order stats 
  • Im talking about t20 , ur giving me his 50 over performances or t20 over where he batted up . Cricket is a game of condition, situation n matchups(t20) ...so watching cricinfo plain stats is idiotic. Its like if i want a spinner on rank turner for a test and someone shows me his stats at gabba that to with white ball. Look at role and who does better, not a player as whole....avg players can be used at best if used at right position . How dumb is to give 50 over stats when im talking about t20 finisher role which is where a batsman wud mostly get 4-5 overs at best . The t20 stats u gave me ...did u even check where he batted ? only one game as finisher in those in 2010 where he batted at 141 s/r 

So if u wanna argue get me right data not irrelevant 

U wanna give me 2007 numbers - here he was a finishers from Game 1 of t20 cricket we played, but we wasted him at places he didnt belong or format which didnt suit his game

10 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

u clealry didnt read the OP

• Im pitching him as finisher and clealry written he is useless everywhere else but at that spot damn good . So whatever he did in other tournaments which was 50 over or 20 over in middle is irrelvant coz its a different role
  • U didnt check previous IPL records propely - his avg n s/r was **** in middle but the innings he played as finishers was damn good where at 6 he avg 50 and s/r was 200....so learn to read between stats 
  • Who said one game, i have been wanting him as finisher for t20 from very long

thats why ur logic n data is irrelavent 

• Im talking about finishing role but ur giving me his middle or top order stats 
  • Im talking about t20 , ur giving me his 50 over performances or t20 over where he batted up . Cricket is a game of condition, situation n matchups(t20) ...so watching cricinfo plain stats is idiotic. Its like if i want a spinner on rank turner for a test and someone shows me his stats at gabba that to with white ball. Look at role and who does better, not a player as whole....avg players can be used at best if used at right position . How dumb is to give 50 over stats when im talking about t20 finisher role which is where a batsman wud mostly get 4-5 overs at best . The t20 stats u gave me ...did u even check where he batted ? only one game as finisher in those in 2010 where he batted at 141 s/r 

So if u wanna argue get me right data not irrelevant 

U wanna give me 2007 numbers - here he was a finishers from Game 1 of t20 cricket we played, but we wasted him at places he didnt belong or format which didnt suit his game

Interesting. So your logic is to cherry pick stats even going all the way back to 2007 to justify a place in the team in 2021. Lol. How about picking Yuvraj Singh next? Joginder Sharma anyone?

I posted multiple times about his "mental weakness" while playing big tournaments. The stats are provided to highlight how he is unable to perform when the stakes are high. You clearly did not read or understand any of my posts and are in a rush to defend your beloved cricketer. You do not appear to have any arguments to counter his weakness seen in big tournaments, so you resort to cherry picking stats from historical performances. 

You also have no counter to his recent form which was abysmal. All of your arguments are based on some cherry picked performances from more than 2 years ago. Clearly, as you also mentioned, you just want to see your beloved player picked in the team and are blind to his weaknesses. You also have not provided any evidence that there are no better finishers in the IPL than him who deserve a chance to prove their credentials over a proven failure.

Since you are unable to comprehend and respond to arguments, you can continue to live in your dream World where Dinesh Karthik is the matchwinner of the century and he keeps wining matches day in and day out. Good luck with that! 

1 minute ago, Texan said:

Interesting. So your logic is to cherry pick stats even going all the way back to 2007 to justify a place in the team in 2021. Lol. How about picking Yuvraj Singh next? Joginder Sharma anyone?

ho gaya logic khatam, random bakwas shuru

How difficult is to understand u pick players for role not pick players and then find whatever roles 

I posted multiple times about his "mental weakness" while playing big tournaments.

Tu psychiatrist hai ?

Wasnt nidhas final a pressure situation? 

The stats are provided to highlight how he is unable to perform when the stakes are high. You clearly did not read or understand any of my posts and are in a rush to defend your beloved cricketer. You do not appear to have any arguments to counter his weakness seen in big tournaments, so you resort to cherry picking stats from historical performances. 

U nput anyone in wrong position and numbers wud be a problem

Yuvraj singh wont have become yuvraj had he been not promoted at 4

Rohit wont have become rohit 

You also have no counter to his recent form which was abysmal. All of your arguments are based on some cherry picked performances from more than 2 years ago.

kaise aayega samajh when u cant differentiate between format and roles .......nahin aayega samjh 

Clearly, as you also mentioned, you just want to see your beloved player picked in the team and are blind to his weaknesses. You also have not provided any evidence that there are no better finishers in the IPL than him who deserve a chance to prove their credentials over a proven failure.

Every player has a weakness, put kohli, rohit  at 6-7 and we ll see what he does 

Only very few fit many roles and they are top gun and in a team u cant 11 player who can be flexible for every job

Since you are unable to comprehend and respond to arguments, you can continue to live in your dream World where Dinesh Karthik is the matchwinner of the century and he keeps wining matches day in and day out. Good luck with that! 

If u cant understand format, role difference no one will be able to comprehend to you. 

22 hours ago, Texan said:

He averaged 14 in the last IPL. Very lucky to still be picked in the team. 

He was never a good batsman. A few runs here and there in many matches and that's about it. One could say good for IPL but that about his batting. At international level he has been a failure. There is no need of reinvesting when he is 35+. The rinse, wash, drain and repeat has been the main reason why India hasn't been able to be very dominant in World cups.

4 hours ago, Texan said:

I posted multiple times about his "mental weakness" while playing big tournaments. The stats are provided to highlight how he is unable to perform when the stakes are high. You clearly did not read or understand any of my posts and are in a rush to defend your beloved cricketer. You do not appear to have any arguments to counter his weakness seen in big tournaments, so you resort to cherry picking stats from historical performances. 

You also have no counter to his recent form which was abysmal. All of your arguments are based on some cherry picked performances from more than 2 years ago. Clearly, as you also mentioned, you just want to see your beloved player picked in the team and are blind to his weaknesses. You also have not provided any evidence that there are no better finishers in the IPL than him who deserve a chance to prove their credentials over a proven failure.

You are missing the point here. In plain and simple terms DK performs pretty well when he does not need to think or to pace his innings and need to hit from ball 1. Typically that is the scenario in T20s in last 4-5 overs which are "slog overs" in T20 definition. In that period DK has more chance of success as he does not need to calibrate his aggressive instincts and go for runs which he has the ability to do as shown in past. He is good for a 10 ball 22 or a 12 ball 28. Typically that happens when person bats at 5-7 and comes around 15-16 over. But the moment you ask him to play 20+ balls(at 4-5 and bat around 12th over) his mind gets confused as he then need to takes singles and doubles and rotate strike etc. This is a psychological barrier but it works perfectly for many cricketers. Rohit Sharma before 30th over and after are two different batsman.

Ofcourse whether DK will be consistent at that number in internationals is a big guess. However given there are emergence of players like Samad in that space , I won't be surprised DK getting chance. Kohli will do anything to restrict young upcoming batsmen to ensure he has monopoly over the premium batsman tag.

7 hours ago, The Dark Horse said:

DK has a specific skillet. Give him last 10 balls, more often than not he'll score at 200+ SR without any fuss in T20s. 

Hope KKR uses him to the fullest in this regard. Yes he has issues playing at the top of the order. It's upto the team how it uses him.

exactly its the use of a player 

5 hours ago, RajBan said:

However given there are emergence of players like Samad in that space , I won't be surprised DK getting chance. Kohli will do anything to restrict young upcoming batsmen to ensure he has monopoly over the premium batsman tag.

i love samad but samad falls in same category as hardik, then we aint adding variety to squad. Samad also lacks experience a key in finishing. DK brings different dimension to end game then hardik

1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

i love samad but samad falls in same category as hardik, then we aint adding variety to squad. Samad also lacks experience a key in finishing. DK brings different dimension to end game then hardik

Agree. Samad is exciting with right ingredients but raw and experienced at this point. I don't see him playing internationals this year. But if he can have two solid IPLs and then some good A tours next year to develop further, then for next year's WT20 he might be in contention.

29 minutes ago, RajBan said:

Agree. Samad is exciting with right ingredients but raw and experienced at this point. I don't see him playing internationals this year. But if he can have two solid IPLs and then some good A tours next year to develop further, then for next year's WT20 he might be in contention.

SRH is not helping themselves or samad by wasting him

11 hours ago, The Dark Horse said:

DK has a specific skillet. Give him last 10 balls, more often than not he'll score at 200+ SR without any fuss in T20s. 

Hope KKR uses him to the fullest in this regard. Yes he has issues playing at the top of the order. It's upto the team how it uses him.

A batsman cannot be picked for batting 10  balls only. That is a waste of spot. It's a jhoomla of highest order. Selecting a 35 year old because he can bat for 10 balls is crazy. If the expectations are so low then give a chance to youngster . Even many young hitters like Kishan can surely tonk a lot in 10 balls.