" Seniority " over " Current Ability ", as the main selection criterion, is preventing Team India from realizing its true potential

7 minutes ago, MK55 said:

Wayward line? So getting people out bowled or making them mistime a pull shot is wayward? LOL

What? He is probably the only express bowler to not have a bouncer. His short ball is ordinary. His strength is supposedly his hard length, and he is pretty accurate with it, but batsmen are able to hit him even at this length which shouldn't be the case.

Waiting for batsmen to mistime? Are you saying it can be a good strategy?

Edited by Chakdephatte
6 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said:

What? He is probably the only express bowler to not have a bouncer. His strength is supposedly his hard length, and he is pretty accurate with it, but batsmen are able to hit him even at this length which shouldn't be the case.

Waiting for batsmen to mistime? Are you saying it can be a good strategy?

What? How else do u get wickets on short ball as fast bowler? By hitting their head and getting them out retired hurt? U get them to mistime their shot.

And what other options do we have? Do we have Mark Wood or Starc waiting in the squad? At least he took some middle over wickets. Not perfect by any means but it’s a no brainer that he has the most upside. The only bowler who outperformed him in recent past (even through statistics) is Siraj.

Edited by MK55
13 minutes ago, MK55 said:

What? How else do u get wickets on short ball as fast bowler? By hitting their head and getting them out retired hurt? U get them to mistime their shot.

And what other options do we have? Do we have Mark Wood or Starc waiting in the squad? At least he took some middle over wickets.

That's why middle over bowling is tough. You need bowlers who bowl a variety of length. You can beat one on pull by mixing it with other length, surprise short balls.

As far as options are concerned, only Sen, Siraj, Bumrah (obviously), peak Saini, or maybe Prasidh are bona fide middle over bowlers.

Umran has 12 wickets from 6 ODI innings @ 2 wickets per innings.

Average of 25.

This for a bowler who is a work in progress and will only improve.

Add to this the point that there will always be some batters in every team who can't handle express pace and will invariably perish. He adds a different element to our bowling. 

And I have to read that Umran is as good or as bad a bowler as short medium pacer Shardul, who averages 33 as a bowler in ODIs with 44 wickets from 31 innings @ 1.4 wickets per innings.  And he has no upside left. This is the most you will ever get from him. And he is averaging 9 with the bat in his last 15 ODIs. 

38 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Pujara keeps his place despite not performing for 2 or 3 years.

Kohli is similar in tests but his new found form in ODIs buys him some time. 

They all keep their places bhai, Iyer's failure has given them a lifeline and now there is a readymade excuse to drop him for Gill.
KL, Kohli and Pujara will keep on freeloading the place and no one is going to raise any questions because commentators won't dare to.

45 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

They all keep their places bhai, Iyer's failure has given them a lifeline and now there is a readymade excuse to drop him for Gill.
KL, Kohli and Pujara will keep on freeloading the place and no one is going to raise any questions because commentators won't dare to.

They don't want to play Giil in the middle order.

We saw SKY play when Shreyas was injured. 

3 hours ago, express bowling said:

Leaving out Gill in red hot form ... and choosing an out of form Rahul ahead of him in the first 2 tests so far due to him being a senior. 

And Rahul fails 4 times ... plus shows immensely meek attitude.

This principle is a curse on Indian cricket.

That we continue to win with 3 batsman at least being non factors every match makes it more impressive. Every 6 or 7 innings they have a score of 40+ and keep their place for another dozen matches.

10 hours ago, express bowling said:

Leaving out Gill in red hot form ... and choosing an out of form Rahul ahead of him in the first 2 tests so far due to him being a senior. 

And Rahul fails 4 times ... plus shows immensely meek attitude.

He is not getting backed because of seniority. He was hardly ever seen as a permanent members. But there are some players a coach/selector is ready to have at any cost. 

6 hours ago, wanted_desi said:

This type of nonsense doesn’t get tolerated in IPL, if senior is not contributing, he gets benched for someone else. You would assume  standards would be higher for playing for your god damn country. 

IPL has also seen plenty of players getting long ropes without warranting it - like Kane Willy recently