Shaheen afridi is the most exciting white ball fast bowler in the world.

the don

3 hours ago, Try_Ball said:

When pandya was batting against Afridi - 1 wide, 5  byes and a no ball = that's 7 runs not scored off the bat. 

Ahh.! Got you

That's what you fail to realize. 

The reason that those 5 byes were scored is bcoz Pandya forced Shaheen to go for the the throw which resulted in an overthrow boundary. If someone like Sharma or Kohli was playing there Shaheen wouldn't go for the throw as they aren't as dangerous as SDP. 

3 hours ago, Try_Ball said:

Out of the 10 runs, a good yorker from afridi nearly took out Pandya and he barely got the bat down to defend and it edged to the boundary. 

No, actually that's how he planned it all along,  why hit with the middle of the bat when you can edge it to the boundary? 

23 minutes ago, EnterTheVoid said:

3 Yorkers turned into 3 low full tosses. 

Got smacked out of the stadium :laugh:

Actually if you watched wade bat the ball he got 2 he went on pitch and put his bat exactly where Afridi was landing it. And thats his natural length. All that is needed is negate it for first 3-4 overs

9 minutes ago, mishra said:

Actually if you watched wade bat the ball he got 2 he went on pitch and put his bat exactly where Afridi was landing it. And thats his natural length. All that is needed is negate it for first 3-4 overs

Wade defecates on a fodder like pandu

Edited by Jay
6 hours ago, SK_IH said:

Definitely very good but I have been really disappointed with his death bowling, not only yesterday but also in some of the minnow games. There may be two reasons either he is not good to react when attacked or he runs out of steam. If it's the latter he might remain just a T20 bowler, so need to up his game to be exciting in all formats.

Also, Pakistan should limit his participation in different leagues, otherwise he will anyway run out of gas.

He is till learning his craft .

1 hour ago, deathmonger said:

Shaheen is just a good new ball bowler. No skill set with old ball. Reason why he averages so poorly in test cricket in NZ, Aus and Eng.

In this World Cup we've seen so many great good death bowlers getting tonked. Jordan is usually very sound at the death and Starc is and they haven't been treated any better either.

People need to realise this is a format that will means you will get smashed from time to time, even the best.

Shaheen has all the tools to be a good death bowler. He has pace and is quite accurate. He bowls naturally full so that will help in terms of the slower balls and yorkers. What he perhaps needs to improve on is his into the pitch slower ball. But overall there are very few bowlers out there capable of doing what he can with the new ball and being young he has plenty of time to improve.

10 hours ago, the don said:

Forget how it ended today. Just how bloody good is this guy in white ball cricket. Absolute superstar, every pundit is in awe of his skills. 

Quicker than Starc now too as he fills up. Gun bowler and great to watch. 

His worth will be decided when he bowls in different conditions. UAE is Pakistan's home .

4 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

His worth will be decided when he bowls in different conditions. UAE is Pakistan's home .

He has played and impressed in most conditions in white ball cricket.
A tall left armer swinging it late at 90 mph plus will be a threat everywhere.

20 minutes ago, the don said:

He has played and impressed in most conditions in white ball cricket.
A tall left armer swinging it late at 90 mph plus will be a threat everywhere.

Where actually? Bhai, Shahee has a natural length. Go and watch ball number 3 of 19th over. Wade walks down pitch and sees exactly where it landed. He puts his bat there walks back and hits 3 sixes.

Now that natural length is brilliant with a new ball and batsman is standing exactly where he should be standing. IMO, if batsman decides to change his postion like 1.5 feet out inside or outside of crease and smack couple of fours/sixes in opening spell itslelf,  Shaheen will panic.

PS: You need to figure what/who told Wade that Shaheen will continue bowling same length  to Wade:two_thumbs_up:

2 hours ago, mishra said:

If Anderson who generally plays test matches only have bowled 568 overs then he is definitely not overbowling. You get injuries when you play competetive matches.  I have never seen him bowl as threatening as this tournament where he bowled 12 competetive overs.

Watch him next series to believe me.

The fact that you haven't seen him bowl threatening spells in test cricket says more about your laziness rather than him not being good enough because having observed him regularly,  he always gives his maximum effort even in domestic competitions such as the national t20 cup we had recently. 

He is a typical straighthearted Pashtun like Rizwan who takes a lot of pride in his performances.  For example in his first season of the PSL when he was picked as a 17 year old kid, he was so distrought with his performances in the first 2 matches where he was smashed,  that he went up to the owners and wanted to return the 10 lac cheque that he was signed up for. It actually took a lot of convincing and counselling with his elder brother also being called in to make sure he carried on playing.

On another note, he is clearly improving as a test bowler. Just a quick glance at his spells in the last 3 test series he has played will tell you that. I dont know where you have seen him blowing out after 4 overs because he clearly has great endurance. Watch his spell against south africa on day 5 in pindi, where he bowled an extremely hostile spell to win us the match, or the way he tore up the West Indies, this time with a dukes ball.

3rdly, your surface assessment of higher degrees of swing being more dangerous is extremely skewed because that data doesn't take into account the lateness of the movement. 

Guys like starc and boult have good allignment but are also very round arm with their angles which means that their swing is with the angle and hence more easy to combat.

Shaheen on the other hand is extremely high arm at release, and actually has an extremely flexible wrist that allows him to swing the ball because otherwise, his allignment is not perfect for outswing.

This means that the movement generated is really late and against the angle, no wonder the batsman get beaten all ends up, because they dont expect the ball to come in with those body mechanics. 

6 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

Is the 'older' Afridi  - the ball biting, pitch tampering  & perpetually rogue and perpetually 16 yr old  - also a "typical straighthearted Pashtun"   ?  

That depends on how you perceive him. Not easy to sum him up easily.

He has his strengths n weaknesses,  but definitely not an innocent and chap sorta character like the guys i mentioned above. 

49 minutes ago, Axl100mph said:

The fact that you haven't seen him bowl threatening spells in test cricket says more about your laziness rather than him not being good enough because having observed him regularly,  he always gives his maximum effort even in domestic competitions such as the national t20 cup we had recently. 

He is a typical straighthearted Pashtun like Rizwan who takes a lot of pride in his performances.  For example in his first season of the PSL when he was picked as a 17 year old kid, he was so distrought with his performances in the first 2 matches where he was smashed,  that he went up to the owners and wanted to return the 10 lac cheque that he was signed up for. It actually took a lot of convincing and counselling with his elder brother also being called in to make sure he carried on playing.

On another note, he is clearly improving as a test bowler. Just a quick glance at his spells in the last 3 test series he has played will tell you that. I dont know where you have seen him blowing out after 4 overs because he clearly has great endurance. Watch his spell against south africa on day 5 in pindi, where he bowled an extremely hostile spell to win us the match, or the way he tore up the West Indies, this time with a dukes ball.

3rdly, your surface assessment of higher degrees of swing being more dangerous is extremely skewed because that data doesn't take into account the lateness of the movement. 

Guys like starc and boult have good allignment but are also very round arm with their angles which means that their swing is with the angle and hence more easy to combat.

Shaheen on the other hand is extremely high arm at release, and actually has an extremely flexible wrist that allows him to swing the ball because otherwise, his allignment is not perfect for outswing.

This means that the movement generated is really late and against the angle, no wonder the batsman get beaten all ends up, because they dont expect the ball to come in with those body mechanics. 

no one cares about performances against teams like south africa and west indies , the 6th and 7th ranked teams in the world.

he has been a massive failure against nz, aus and eng - 3 of the top 4 nations and that too in conditions which actually favour fast bowling. i mean zak crawley 200 lol and a finished warner making a 300.

12 minutes ago, deathmonger said:

no one cares about performances against teams like south africa and west indies , the 6th and 7th ranked teams in the world.

he has been a massive failure against nz, aus and eng - 3 of the top 4 nations and that too in conditions which actually favour fast bowling. i mean zak crawley 200 lol and a finished warner making a 300.

Can you please tell me what his age is, genius?

Lol at not caring for performances against test playing nations by a 20-21 year old with minimal first class experience, who is learning the art at test level.

Also, can you let me know about the kind of support he had from the other end?

Come back to me before picturing a Mavi or Nagarkoti leading the attack in Australia at 19 with Praveen Kumar and Tyagi as his supporting acts.

Laughable post, really. Even your own countrymen will agree.

Edited by Axl100mph
25 minutes ago, raki05 said:

Pakistani are known age fudger not a single cricketer they have who put correct age. That Shadab Khan guy still 22 lol can anyone belive it

That is a very convenient way to discredit someone. 

While there are several such cases, I dont believe Shaheen is one.

If you can manage to take out the time, then do check out his spell of 5-4 in his first PSL season. 

A quick glance at his appearance will quickly give you an idea.

He literally had a teenager's body with no facial hair growth.

The fact that he has gone from a 130-140 kph to 145-152kph bowler in 3 years without making any changes to his mechanics, but rather after just filling out provides evidence of his body's maturation which wouldn't have been the case had he age fudged his way to the top.

Edited by Axl100mph
2 minutes ago, Axl100mph said:

The bitterness. Lmao

@sensible-indian Bro, you need to post more often. Not many of your ilk over here. Need some sanity restored FGS.

lol.... bitterness, his father in law is still 16 i can understand why he is only 21. Just 5 years elder than his father in law . It will take few years to catch up with his father in law, Go on your pee pee forum boy where all these age fudgers are celebrated. He is a good bowler i will give you that but as said 21 my foot.