Can India afford to be secular?

zen

25 minutes ago, mishra said:

And what is problem in hosting flag there. Local Leader/Police should themselves taken initiative and controversy would have died then and there.

What's the necessity of threatening violence there?

What's the need of talking about demolition of tower?

Why wasn't tower renamed by BJP earlier?

Why are people (even with blue ticks) lying on social media that people were arrested? What does it indicate?

Yet to get answer of these questions.

Clearly these are troublemakers looking for an opportunity. It has nothing to do with flag hoisting, nothing to do with secularism.

5 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

Anand Rangathan is lying. Other blue ticks have not mentioned arrest.

I am not bringing BJP angle. BJP has demanded renaming the tower when they themselves didn't do it.

You are hung up on arrest vs detained and calling it fake news. The video evidence is damning. The police stopped  an Indian citizen from  unfurling the Indian flag in India. It is not good optics and naturally the nationalist party will raise objections.

Nobody has seen the Jinnah tower being demolishshed. People tried to go up the tower to hoist the flag and the Police (Guntur SP Arif Hafeez) roughed up the people and prevented people from hoisting the flag. The reason given was that it will cause disharmony among communities and harm peace, why for a flag hoisting in India?

Also, BJP was never in power in AP to rename the place. It is the local administration that can do it.

There was a similar incident in Hubli back in the 2000s when BJP activists were arrested and prevented from hoisting the Indian flag  in Idgah maidan , a public park which was disputed . Look who came to power in Karnataka! 

2 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

What's the necessity of threatening violence there?

What's the need of talking about demolition of tower?

Why wasn't tower renamed by BJP earlier?

Why are people (even with blue ticks) lying on social media that people were arrested? What does it indicate?

Yet to get answer of these questions.

Clearly these are troublemakers looking for an opportunity. It has nothing to do with flag hoisting, nothing to do with secularism.

So when BJP gvmnt was there, and if i decided to hoist a flag there , will they pit police to beat me up?

And why putting flag on certain part of India is will class me as “troublemaker”. Issue is not with act, issue is with ideology and policy of appeasement. You selectively decide to argue on act.

2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

You are hung up on arrest vs detained and calling it fake news. The video evidence is damning. The police stopped  an Indian citizen from  unfurling the Indian flag in India. It is not good optics and naturally the nationalist party will raise objections.

Nobody has seen the Jinnah tower being demolishshed. People tried to go up the tower to hoist the flag and the Police (Guntur SP Arif Hafeez) roughed up the people and prevented people from hoisting the flag. The reason given was that it will cause disharmony among communities and harm peace, why for a flag hoisting in India?

Also, BJP was never in power in AP to rename the place. It is the local administration that can do it.

There was a similar incident in Hubli back in the 2000s when BJP activists were arrested and prevented from hoisting the Indian flag  in Idgah maidan , a public park which was disputed . Look who came to power in Karnataka! 

You're trying to make it look like it was innocent mistake from likes of Anand Ranganathan. Just similar words, whats big deal from so called experts. 

1. Pretty sure they understand what arrest means. Check tweets from other blue ticks, using words roughed up and not many mentioning arrest. 

2. It's not just arrest v detain mischief. Reason of detaining --- completely made up - arrested for unfurling flag. When that's not the reason. You can pretend that it's just cute mixup of words, but the made up reason shows real intentions of such blue ticks handlers. 

3. Police stopped a group who had threatened violence. Doesn't matter they are holding flag. It's again a lie that hoisting flag will cause disharmony. But threatening violence is an attempt to cause disharmony. 

4. BJP had an alliance with TDP. Getting name changed would be easy deal for them. 

5. No one had seen tower being demolished, but call for that has been made. 

9 minutes ago, mishra said:

Both are in India and both plaaces have problem with national flag.

Will you allow yourself to be threatened only because other person is holding flag. 

Pretty cheap method by group to use flag for further their agenda and hooliganism. 

Shame on people for who want to disrespect flag to use for their religious and political agenda. 

8 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Huge difference coffee bhai. thousands of people blocking roads, peeing on national monument, doing vandalism in the name of protest, using educational institutions to run political agenda are all freedom of expressions provided by constitution.

But one person, trying to unfurl tricolor on a Republic day and it becomes a security concern. If there was a mob then stop them but allow 1 person to unfurl. But I guess Indian flag unfurling is somehow BJP agenda which is a bad thing?. Question is, why the tuck other left $hutiyas not doing it. If unfurling Indian flag causes disharmony then you are proving yourself, you-know-what. 

Having said that, I totally condemn the threat of violence if that is true. 

Edited by dial_100

46 minutes ago, dial_100 said:

Huge difference coffee bhai. thousands of people blocking roads, peeing on national monument, doing vandalism in the name of protest, using educational institutions to run political agenda are all freedom of expressions provided by constitution.

But one person, trying to unfurl tricolor on a Republic day and it becomes a security concern. If there was a mob then stop them but allow 1 person to unfurl. But I guess Indian flag unfurling is somehow BJP agenda which is a bad thing?. Question is, why the tuck other left $hutiyas not doing it. If furling Indian flag causes disharmony then you are proving yourself, you-know-what. 

Having said that, I totally condemn the threat of violence if that is true. 

There wasn't just 1 person. Police had to remove 15-20 people. 

Yet to see any answer in this why group who decided to unfurl flag had to give threat of violence and demolition? What was the motive behind that?

Another example of how narrative is built by social media trolls.

If you go through the twitter, you will find RW quoting how the freedom fighter who designed the flag was  from Andhra. How Christian CM is against the flag. How unfurling flag is not allowed in certain communities. 

Similar to the incident above where BJP didn't try to change name when they were with TDP, BJP has done nothing when Andhra wrote to PM suggesting Bharat Ratna for Pingali Venkayya.

You won't find single RW demanding BJP to accept Andhra govt recommendation. But they will definitely use the name to create the narrative.

AP seeks Bharat Ratna for national flag designer Pingali Venkayya - The Hindu BusinessLine

Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy paid a visit to the daughter of Venkayyam Ghantasala Sitamahalakshmi, at her residence in Macharla (Guntur) a couple of days ago and honoured her. He had also announced a financial support of ₹75 lakh to her.

AP-CM-YS-JAGAN_1.jpg?itok=IiUyOfhj

31 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Another example of how narrative is built by social media trolls.

If you go through the twitter, you will find RW quoting how the freedom fighter who designed the flag was  from Andhra. How Christian CM is against the flag. How unfurling flag is not allowed in certain communities. 

Jinnah Circle is in Andhra Pradesh’s Guntur and it doesn't belong to Pakistan.

Freedom fighter Pingali Venkayya ji, who designed our National flag, was from Andhra Pradesh.

If our National flag can't be unfurled in India then where?

— Anshul Saxena (@AskAnshul) January 26, 2022

Similar to the incident above where BJP didn't try to change name when they were with TDP, BJP has done nothing when Andhra wrote to PM suggesting Bharat Ratna for Pingali Venkayya.

You won't find single RW demanding BJP to accept Andhra govt recommendation. But they will definitely use the name to create the narrative.

AP seeks Bharat Ratna for national flag designer Pingali Venkayya - The Hindu BusinessLine

AP-CM-YS-JAGAN_1.jpg?itok=IiUyOfhj

Aaare yaar phir wahi, narrative .. narrative. 

Sir ji, political parties are there to do politics and that means they will do activities and build narrative so that people can create association with them and in turn finally to win elections. Why are you giving it a bad connotation in the first place. I already said that I am not condoning any threat of violence but incumbent dispensation is stopping them from their fundamental right. Is the place where they want to unfurl Indian national flag a private property? If not local state govt needs a strong reason to stop them from doing so. 

Look at these pictures. Do you see some kind of threat with 15 people for few min trying to unfurl national flag (Not a religious flag mind you) on one of the most important day for our nation. You have objection that BJP is building narrative. What are you even opposing here? Traffic was moving, no weapons, no anti-national slogans, no religious slogans. 

As per ANI, govt accusing this group of raking up communal issues? Please give me your argument, why cant they unfurl a flag.

2 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

Will you allow yourself to be threatened only because other person is holding flag. 

Pretty cheap method by group to use flag for further their agenda and hooliganism. 

Shame on people for who want to disrespect flag to use for their religious and political agenda. 

No, point being made is simple? Why People don’t feel that they will be stopped under BJP? 

If its just politics then why don’t non BJP parties try same stunt during BJP rule. Because all of them have been dealing in appeasement politics. Have it ever come to your mind “what trouble”. Does Indian Muslim community really wants appeasement politics?  Because Muslims did not gained anything but offcourse based on reactions here its obvious  that the act by state govmnt has dine disservice to Muslim community itself. And by justifying Government, you are actually taring them all with same brush when majority of Muslims would have said, they dint mind bringing down the statue itself for Jinnah meant nothing to them

1 hour ago, dial_100 said:

Aaare yaar phir wahi, narrative .. narrative. 

Sir ji, political parties are there to do politics and that means they will do activities and build narrative so that people can create association with them and in turn finally to win elections. Why are you giving it a bad connotation in the first place. I already said that I am not condoning any threat of violence but incumbent dispensation is stopping them from their fundamental right. Is the place where they want to unfurl Indian national flag a private property? If not local state govt needs a strong reason to stop them from doing so. 

Look at these pictures. Do you see some kind of threat with 15 people for few min trying to unfurl national flag (Not a religious flag mind you) on one of the most important day for our nation. You have objection that BJP is building narrative. What are you even opposing here? Traffic was moving, no weapons, no anti-national slogans, no religious slogans. 

As per ANI, govt accusing this group of raking up communal issues? Please give me your argument, why cant they unfurl a flag.

1. Bad connotation is for people who are not directly part of the party and still acting like pawns.

2. I am opposing following things

a) Lies by some people on social media and ICF that people were arrested.

b) Lies that people were detained/roughed up for unfurling flag. People were detained/roughed up because they violated prohibitory orders and broke the barricades after groups threatened violence. 

3. First you mentioned only 1 person was not a threat. Now when I showed 15-20 people were removed, you are saying there was no threat. When would police start acting up? When thousands come up? How does it make sense? You see a risk, you try to be proactive.

Again, answer simple question -

What is need to give threats of violence and demolition? 

Everyone seems to avoiding this question. When a group gives violence threats, it can be perceived as possible risk to communal harmony. 

This is an attempt to create trouble and unfurling flag is just a cover up. 

1 hour ago, mishra said:

No, point being made is simple? Why People don’t feel that they will be stopped under BJP? 

If its just politics then why don’t non BJP parties try same stunt during BJP rule. Because all of them have been dealing in appeasement politics. Have it ever come to your mind “what trouble”. Does Indian Muslim community really wants appeasement politics?  Because Muslims did not gained anything but offcourse based on reactions here its obvious  that the act by state govmnt has dine disservice to Muslim community itself. And by justifying Government, you are actually taring them all with same brush when majority of Muslims would have said, they dint mind bringing down the statue itself for Jinnah meant nothing to them

They do.

Similar example which I saw few years back.

Tamil Nadu police arrests protestors over Rangoli with anti-CAA message (hwnews.in)

Tamil Nadu police detained some protested who drew rangoli on road for protesting CAA.

LW tried to play same exact same tune. 

Narratives built was:

1. People arrested for drawing rangoli, when no one was arrested.

2. What's the big deal in drawing rangoli.

3. Why can't people do simple thing like drawing rangoli.

The detentions caused a flood of protests on social media, with scores of angry users asking the police if drawing kolams was a crime and if so, under which provision of the IPC/CrPC. “Case for filing Kolams? Under what section?” asked one.

Chennai police detain 8 persons for protest rangoli (deccanchronicle.com)

Former Union minister Pon Radhakrishnan alleged that the anti-CAA protests, such as the kolam campaign at Besant Nagar, were all part of a larger design to destabilise public order and ultimately create conflict between Hindus and Muslims.

When actually:

1. No one was arrested, some people were detailed.

2. No one was detained for drawing rangoli in contrary to the narrative. They were detained because of the protest and traffic jam.

Same story different tools. 

1. Do x with actual intent of doing y, break rule z.

2. Some action is taken, amplify it 3-4 times.

3. Ask if doing x is a crime.

4. Initially some groups will be involved. Then parties will start commenting.

5. One set of parties will condemn police action.

6. Another set of party will accuse of others of inciting conflict.

Template is same. Groups are different in different scenario. Tools are different.

Unfortunately even flag is not left from being reduced a tool.

6 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

They do.

Similar example which I saw few years back.

Tamil Nadu police arrests protestors over Rangoli with anti-CAA message (hwnews.in)

Tamil Nadu police detained some protested who drew rangoli on road for protesting CAA.

LW tried to play same exact same tune. 

Narratives built was:

1. People arrested for drawing rangoli, when no one was arrested.

2. What's the big deal in drawing rangoli.

3. Why can't people do simple thing like drawing rangoli.

Chennai police detain 8 persons for protest rangoli (deccanchronicle.com)

When actually:

1. No one was arrested, some people were detailed.

2. No one was detained for drawing rangoli in contrary to the narrative. They were detained because of the protest and traffic jam.

Same story different tools. 

1. Do x with actual intent of doing y, break rule z.

2. Some action is taken, amplify it 3-4 times.

3. Ask if doing x is a crime.

4. Initially some groups will be involved. Then parties will start commenting.

5. One set of parties will condemn police action.

6. Another set of party will accuse of others of inciting conflict.

Template is same. Groups are different in different scenario. Tools are different.

Unfortunately even flag is not left from being reduced a tool.

All that is fine, why do you think the said community is opposing the flag hoisting?