BRAHMĀSTRA Part One: Shiva

poyzzplaidwell

9 hours ago, Mariyam said:

IIRC, I came across the "renaissance/re-awakening" post in the Laal Singh Chaddha thread.

Where ICF ( not you in particular) lock, stock and barrel declared that Aamir Khan was anti national and anti Hindu.

Who is going for a narrative? The narrative building has been happening since the suicide/murder of Sushant Singh Rajput. An entire industry has been vilified and accused of things far greater than its reach. Not fair to call this as a reaction to the barbaric beheading crimes. This narrative building has been going on for long.

The better question is: Who is gaining from this? The payment hierarchic are very skewed top down. The Akshays and the Aamirs don't take much of a hit. The camera crew and spot boys may simply miss out on their bonuses which in many cases is 50-100% of the agreed salary.

Well firstly no propaganda works unless there is some element of truth there. Now Bollywood has chosen to speak on certain issues while avoid others. It has chosen to take a partisan stand while trying to pull down those who they don’t agree with. Vivek agnihotri wasn’t invited to Filmfare. Is this narrative ?

Truth is Bollywood has ceded space to communists and leftist. Again nothing unusual. Artists generally are left leaning. But the difference now is that everyone knows which team you are batting for. 

Art or film industry is game of perception. With so much content available and evident loss of mystique around actors if take selective positions public ally you will get hammered. 

But the cardinal rule of any business. Do not denigrate your customers. 

11 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Yea numbers wud be huge. 

Its released on 5000+ screen(which is as big as it can get) and opened to packed houses. Its houseful till sunday so expect a big weekend. Overseas also its released around 3000+ screens so expect big numbers from overseas to. 

23 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Yea numbers wud be huge. 

Its released on 5000+ screen(which is as big as it can get) and opened to packed houses. Its houseful till sunday so expect a big weekend. Overseas also its released around 3000+ screens so expect big numbers from overseas to. 

Still can't compete with South movies like RRR which 75 cr day one from Andhra Telangana alone. Rrr day one was 158 cr worldwide, kgf2 134 cr. Kgf2 400 plus cr Hindi alone and it was not a great film. 

Edited by rkt.india

9 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Still can't compete with South movies like RRR which 75 cr day one from Andhra Telangana alone. Rrr day one was 158 cr worldwide, kgf2 134 cr. Kgf2 400 plus cr Hindi alone and it was not a great film. 

They treat their stars like Gods and they have absolute loyals fan following. Watch Mahesh babu films, terrible films but majal hia koi kuch keh de 

South fans are different then ours , hindi films will never be able to achieve that never ever . Those guys dont wait for reviews, they ll go n watch and at any price . Their superstars bad films earn crazy numbers. Some of ours stars have more loyal fan following overseas like SRK 

Also south reports gross figures vs bollywood that reports net figures

KGF is a franchise so it will earn reap benefit of 1 like Baahubali did , masses classes all go for it. I havent seen KGF 1 or 2 so cant say  but ppl have absolutely loved part 2 so that number shudnt surprise 

Bhool bhooliya 2 also reaped benefit of being sequel , avg film. 

46 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

That's one of the most shallow and cliched things one can say,what next you love science and maths and the rivers,oceans,forests and all the endangered species ? 

No, it's not. Go to social media and people are busy spreading hate on the basis of religion, caste and now movies. So much negativity. Films are there to enjoy. Now everyone has become a critic.

Brahmastra wipes out over ₹800 crore wealth of PVR and Inox investors

People listen to analysts like Taran Adarsh for RoI prospects 

Brahmastra opened to tepid reviews despite healthy advance bookings worth ₹23 crore. Movie reviewer and analyst Taran Adarsh gave the Ranbir-Alia starrer a two-star rating, saying that the movie is a king-sized disappointment. 

The lifetime box office (collection) for the film is estimated to be in a wide range of ₹130-200 crore, based on the strong advances,” says a media note by Elara Capital. This analysis was made before the weak reviews poured in. 

Saw lal Singh Chadda. Guess Aamir wanted to do a feel good film like 3 idiots or PK but times have changed. Only action or controversy sells these days. And the film was also very average and almost a scene by scene remake. 

Don’t think the boycott trend actually affected these movies. If a movie with great review flops then maybe we can take it seriously.

1 hour ago, ash said:

Saw lal Singh Chadda. Guess Aamir wanted to do a feel good film like 3 idiots or PK but times have changed. Only action or controversy sells these days. And the film was also very average and almost a scene by scene remake. 

Don’t think the boycott trend actually affected these movies. If a movie with great review flops then maybe we can take it seriously.

Did you watch the Tamil version as you have claimed you don’t understand a squat of Hindi/Urdu/Hindustani/Punjabi?

22 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Pick one argument. You say these boycott campaigns in SM work  and are lamenting that crew is impacted. OTOH, you also say they don’t work and only the film content drags the film down or up. And it’s all bravado on SM . 

I think the negative narrative of Bollywood  started after 2014 when people started voicing our non-PC opinions in India in general. The PK, OMG  movies were kind of a trigger to see through their hypocrisy. Maybe you don’t agree, but the anti-Hindu slant of Bollywood is more visible now than ever. And with some political will people talk about it more openly now. 

What arguement?

There has been a concerted SM campaign against 'Bollywood' since Sushant Singh's demise. Most of it is based on fan fiction. Arnab caught the trend and made prime time news. All of this is narrative building, something that @ravishingravi mentioned too.  And it is very political in its nature.

What is worse is that investigative agencies have interrogated/held many Bollywood /affiliated personalities. Only to have noting concrete at the end.

7 hours ago, ash said:

Did you like the movie?

It was a licensed remake. So they had to stick to the plot. W/o much room to manoeuvre. 

FWIW, it is rumoured that Paramount studios said that these guys couldn't deviate too much from the original script so as to not tarnish the legacy of the original.

16 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Who has seen this movie? I haven’t. The trailer gives the same vibes. Only this movie is expensive 

Writing is very important, the audience has to invest in the movie emotionally. 

I've had the misfortune of seeing Drona.

Its a rushed movie, with a similar premise. Brahmastra takes its time to introduce characters. Definitely far better written. And better VFX than Drona.

On 9/6/2022 at 9:00 PM, Prakat said:

Going out on a limb :phehe: and calling a massive flop. 

I saw the 4pm show yesterday. The theatre was packed. In spite of the bigger visarjans starting around the time the movie would end.

Not really tracking numbers, but I hear its done well so far.

3 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Best review- hum movie ka boycott kar rahe hai lekin , lekin humne aaj movie dekhi hai kyunki kuch aur dekhne ko tha na. Lekin aap movie ko boycott kare 

Aise ch**** boycott likhte hia twitter for first day dekhte hai , infact this was pre release shows 

Same energy

FbyL_moacAE0fQz?format=jpg&name=large

Brahmastra review:

Totally Dharmic movie. The BGM is very kirtan/bhajan like and they would blare "Deva Deva" at regular intervals exposing me to constant shirk.

Dialogues in Sanskritized Hindi which no one speaks today. Or understands. Basically the language was just a sly attempt to dilute our belief in Tawheed. 

Ayan made the movie to appease the majority, moving away from the secular ethos of Bollywood. Many years from now, in Literature classes,  Ayan's comprise to make this movie will be given for an example of a Faustian bargain.

All Muslims must boycott this movie at all costs. Pay back the boycott brigade in their currency of choice.

My gripe with Brahmastra is poor dialogues. Koi acha dialogue writer le lete bhai itne paise kharch kiye they to. If I can talk to Ayan, this is the first thing I would want to ask kya bhai tumne dialogue nahi padhe kya likhe hain usne. Voiceover and dialogues very poorly written. Senseless. 

The best thing in the film is the song Rasiya in the climax. 

15 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

What arguement?

There has been a concerted SM campaign against 'Bollywood' since Sushant Singh's demise. Most of it is based on fan fiction. Arnab caught the trend and made prime time news. All of this is narrative building, something that @ravishingravi mentioned too.  And it is very political in its nature.

What is worse is that investigative agencies have interrogated/held many Bollywood /affiliated personalities. Only to have noting concrete at the end.

The Sushant Singh Murder was really narrative in my book. But resentment for Bollywood didn't start there. Some key points come to mind. 

1) In 2013, Bollywood for the first time openly ran a campaign against modi. 

2) Murmurs around PK had just started. 

3) 2014 happened. 

4) Award Wapsi around Bihar elections supported by bollywood.

5) AK talk on his wife's remark on growing intolerance

6) from 15-20 some celebs such as Swara, Kashyap, Chadda and others took on anti BJP selective criticism. Recently Shabana did the same crying about Bill is Nano but not mentioning the killing in Jharkhand. 

7) during covid before SSR, all of us a coordinated best cm campaign by bollywood. 

I can go on. But my point is that you can say narrative was set by BJP etc against Bollywood. But there are clear factual basis to question nexus between Bollywood and politics. Bollywood is not some deer in headlights. They have been active participants in this game. 

And so have likes of Vivek and Kangana. They want to rally against hegemony and build their own Samraj. Opportunists are always looking for fault lines. But why did Bollywood assume it's infallible ? Even Kohli has been hammered and he has course corrected.