Ye kis angle se allrounder hai

ungboysj

10 hours ago, Frustrated said:

I m afraid V Iyer could be another Shivam Dube in the making.  Batting me bhi dum nahi he.  

Won't last long, I think.     Glad if I m proven wrong though.   

I agree.

This is what frustrates me.

With Iyer we bowl him when we are in useless situation and going to lose.

Australia with their juniors did this the best, they played them when Australia were on top in world cricket, so it makes it easier for them to adjust to international cricket.

10 hours ago, putrevus said:

There is no such thing called batting allrounder unless you are Kallis class and to extent Stokes.

Guys like Iyers and 3D player from Tamil Nadu, I forgot his name, he is another useless guy.

Unless they are top order batsmen and can walk into team as batsman , there is no point in picking these bits and pieces players.

Iyer is an opener. Scored big hundreds in Vijay Hazare tournament. He is not a bits and pieces player.

35 minutes ago, nevada said:

Iyer is an opener. Scored big hundreds in Vijay Hazare tournament. He is not a bits and pieces player.

Sabko opener hi banna hai toh bc middle order mein kon khelega?

Opening is the most easiest batting position in ODIs. Koi bhi accha kar sakta hai us position pe. Real challenge is middle order and even more challenging is lower middle order.

10 minutes ago, Pollack said:

Opening is the most easiest batting position in ODIs. Koi bhi accha kar sakta hai us position pe. Real challenge is middle order and even more challenging is lower middle order.

Just pointing out that he is a specialist batsman and not bits and pieces. I didn't say he should open.

Not an AR. at best 6th bowling option but can't rely for that,too. That also says more about our bowling line up that we have to specifically find someone who can bowl few overs so these incompetent bunch of bowlers can have some relief. Venktesh can be moulded into good lower order batsman like Raina but tagging him as AR won't do well for him and he will meet same fate as Vijay Shankar and Shivam Dubey.. Let's not overburden him wih our unrealistic expectations of finding an AR. Pandya although very overrated one, was the only who could be labelled as AR..

33 minutes ago, Pollack said:

Correct.

The useless job our openers are doing could easily be performed by any half decent batsmen including our younger players.

Go tuk tuk for your entire innings then expect the middle order to perform miracles.

I would like to see Dhawan and Kohli play in the middle order and lets see what they do if they think they are still so good.

1 minute ago, SRT100 said:

Correct.

The useless job our openers are doing could easily be performed by any half decent batsmen including our younger players.

Go tuk tuk for your entire innings then expect the middle order to perform miracles.

I would like to see Dhawan and Kohli play in the middle order and lets see what they do if they think they are still so good.

Vintage Kohli will do fine at any position. Rohit, dhawan would be useless in middle order. Rahul can be useful in any position if he stops being selfish. He won't be consistent if he does so but he can surely play match winning innings atleast in useless bilateral. In knockouts I would trust Rahul as much as girls would be trusting Ranbir kapoor.

MO was somewhat getting settled for 50 Overs . #4 Pant & # 5 KL .  Now if KL is made Captain , he will go and play as opener with his Tuk Tuk .

We are going downhill for some more time as we will carry 3 oldies  at top 3 , No settled MO , No #6 , No impactful spinners , 

That is too many holes to fix.  Add it to a disinterested VK  by the looks of it .

I would rather watch a young team playing aggressively and losing matches than these listless oldies .

Atleast  try to fix those spots which we can ( we do not have a solution for #6  & wicket taking spinners as of now but at least other spots can be fixed  )

Get 1 dasher at top - Shaw or Ishaan .

Play  Ruturaj & Sky  between #3 to #6  whenever possible 

# 4 -Pant 

#5 - KL 

# 9 - Siraj 

#11 - Prasidh or a new Pacer 

Just don't consider IPL as a metric for selection and we will be sorted. 

We played a MUMBAI INDIANS lineup at the Wt20 and Pakistan *es us. 

The only two guys who stood up were RCB ka chhora Kohli and Delhi ka Launda Pant, the two worst IPL teams. 

The likes of Kishan, Sharma, Sky, Varun pissed their pants. 

Select players on the basis of U19 + IPL and not just IPL. 

As of now Our aim should be to blood in Shaw, Gill, Yashasvi, Kishan, Sarafaraz, Paddikal and not Iyer, Venkatesh, Ruturaj etc. 

It is like we are trying to use knives when we have bazookas in our armoury. 

Venkatesh Iyer did extremely well in our domestic 50 over games too, both with the bat and the ball.

His IPL performances were in addition to his List A performances. Where he showed that he can tackle and hit international bowlers. 

And now that he has been selected on a solid basis, he needs to be tried for at least 10 matches before forming any definitive opinion.

19 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Venkatesh Iyer did extremely well in our domestic 50 over games too, both with the bat and the ball.

His IPL performances were in addition to his List A performances. Where he showed that he can tackle and hit international bowlers. 

And now that he has been selected on a solid basis, he needs to be tried for at least 10 matches before forming any definitive opinion.

But mere Bhai, our list A circuit has decreased in quality big time over the last two years or so,  the quality of Vijay hazare and sma was top notch from 2017-2020, I remember the final between Mumbai Vs Delhi Vijay hazare final in chinaswamy, the bowling on show was great, with the newer teams around and most of the top domestic bowlers not taking part I would take venkys performance with a pinch of salt, same with gaikwads recent success, both are good players but the quality on show in VHT is not so great. 

31 minutes ago, Mesky99 said:

But mere Bhai, our list A circuit has decreased in quality big time over the last two years or so,  the quality of Vijay hazare and sma was top notch from 2017-2020, I remember the final between Mumbai Vs Delhi Vijay hazare final in chinaswamy, the bowling on show was great, with the newer teams around and most of the top domestic bowlers not taking part I would take venkys performance with a pinch of salt, same with gaikwads recent success, both are good players but the quality on show in VHT is not so great. 

We have to combine both IPL performances and List A performances. 

Add to that ... whether a player is looking the part for international cricket in the above 2 tournaments.

Then the choosing parameter becomes much better.

And this has been the case regarding Venkatesh.

Frankly speaking, this is all we have got, with A-tours being seriously hampered.

4 hours ago, prudent_kreeda said:

MO was somewhat getting settled for 50 Overs . #4 Pant & # 5 KL .  Now if KL is made Captain , he will go and play as opener with his Tuk Tuk .

We are going downhill for some more time as we will carry 3 oldies  at top 3 , No settled MO , No #6 , No impactful spinners , 

That is too many holes to fix.  Add it to a disinterested VK  by the looks of it .

I would rather watch a young team playing aggressively and losing matches than these listless oldies .

Atleast  try to fix those spots which we can ( we do not have a solution for #6  & wicket taking spinners as of now but at least other spots can be fixed  )

Get 1 dasher at top - Shaw or Ishaan .

Play  Ruturaj & Sky  between #3 to #6  whenever possible 

# 4 -Pant 

#5 - KL 

# 9 - Siraj 

#11 - Prasidh or a new Pacer 

Good work,

Its the same theory in which AFL sides in Australian footy are developed.

ie. You build a team around a few players in set positions.

India need a different plan to win ODI's. I like the idea of a power packed first 4 batsmen going after the bowling.