Why do we need Kohli in T20s?

Texan

Kohli for T20 WC?  

27 members have voted

1. 1. Should Kohli be picked for the T20 World Cup squad?

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 03/13/2022 at 11:00 PM

10 minutes ago, Adamant said:

There's not a single batsman in the history of world cricket without a weakness apart from Bradman. 

Iyer has too many of those. 

He made 3 back to back fifties in NZ including a century.  Iyer definitely has no issues against full balls. India's biggest reason for collapses are moving full balls or length balls not short balls. Main reason is mental midget approach which is why Iyer is even considered. If Rohit and KL Rahul (who probably is our best T20 batsman) can't hanlde swing that too in Dubai who do you think will handle? Kohli? Just let him face Adil Rashid, Sodhi, Shadab or even Moeen Ali. He will be either stuck or get out. Kohli against any random spinner is a joke these days. 

Edited by vvvslaxman
47 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Yeah Haha.

I can already see Shreyas Iyer being cleaned up by a Jaffa from Shaheen after Rohit and Rahul were already bamboozled, leaving us at 10-3.

Kamzor muqabil hai to faulad hai momin. 

These lines apply aptly on Shreyas Iyer. Don't take his performance against SriLanka B seriously. 

Replacing Kohli with Iyer is like replacing a JEE Advance topper with a UP board topper. 

Level hi alag hai. 

Kohler himself has so many weakness. At this age Kohli is worst than Venky Iyer, he can't play spin of any sort, even random bowlers of windies were taking him for a ride. People should choose to play tournament on current form rather than past reputation in Kohli case he is way too past.

1 minute ago, raki05 said:

Kohler himself has so many weakness. At this age Kohli is worst than Venky Iyer, he can't play spin of any sort, even random bowlers of windies were taking him for a ride. People should choose to play tournament on current form rather than past reputation in Kohli case he is way too past.

Exactly. T20 is all about form. You cannot pick players on past form. I am tired of picking players based on these past performances. If anything Rahnae's career has taught us, this is precisely that. He was continuously backed based on his past success. It never worked for us. We once even picked Dravid in one dayers after others were found to be struggling. Then we brought RP singh back again because he did well in England in the past. Nothing ended well. 

15 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

He made 3 back to back fifties in NZ including a century.  Iyer definitely has no issues against full balls.

Bro, I am not a professional bowler but even I know that no batsman has a problem against full ball especially in t20i cricket. 

It's a sin to bowl full in t20 cricket unless you bowl yorkers or maybe if the ball is swinging for first three overs. 

India's biggest reason for collapses are moving full balls or length balls not short balls. Main reason is mental midget approach which is why Iyer is even considered.

If you think that Iyer is the answer to moving ball problems then you are in for a rude awakening. 

If Rohit and KL Rahul (who probably is our best T20 batsman) can't hanlde swing that too in Dubai who do you think will handle? Kohli?

Kohli is definitely our best bet in tough conditions and good bowling as he showed in t20 WC vs Pak. 

Just let him face Adil Rashid, Sodhi, Shadab or even Moeen Ali. He will be either stuck or get out. Kohli against any random spinner is a joke these days. 

Yes I know he is having problems facing spin, and if he continues to have the same then replace him with Iyer but I have zero doubt that he can regain his strokeplay vs spin. 

19 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Hoping to see SKY, S. Iyer, Samson, V. Iyer continue their form in IPL. They all have great IPLs and from there things will get interesting

We can do worse than go with the likes of Hooda, Kishan ,Samson, SKY, both Iyers in the batting line up instead of the ttfs. don't think the tm will be that gutsy like they were in 2007 though. 

4 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

We once even picked Dravid in one dayers after others were found to be struggling. Then we brought RP singh back again because he did well in England in the past. Nothing ended well. 

wrong comparison

dravid didnt play loi for almost 4 years and rp singh was bought out of cold. Kohli scored a 50 last series only. Kohli is not RP singh or Rahane either when it comes to be a just a performer only

• Right comparison wud be someone like warner who wasnt in good form last yr but come Wc he got back in form and he has much more problem now then virat
  • PPl forget even yuvraj singh was struggling with form prior to 2011 Wc

6 hours ago, Adamant said:

Yeah Haha.

I can already see Shreyas Iyer being cleaned up by a Jaffa from Shaheen after Rohit and Rahul were already bamboozled, leaving us at 10-3.

Kamzor muqabil hai to faulad hai momin. 

These lines apply aptly on Shreyas Iyer. Don't take his performance against SriLanka B seriously. 

Replacing Kohli with Iyer is like replacing a JEE Advance topper with a UP board topper. 

Level hi alag hai. 

While i agree S Iyer has to be the mediocrest hyped cricketer to play for India,but Kohli is clearly struggling

I won't have a super limited mediocre S Iyer replacing Kohli but someone better else who may not have stats(which doesn't suggest he can play pace there) as Iyer's

The only way to play Rohit Rahul Kohli Sky Iyer ( who was like hopping skipping jumping in saf for 3 matches at stretch when ngidi was bowling short to him and Aus will Be no different) is if KL Plays as a wk and we drop Pant. I wont drop Pant anyway for Iyer so Iyer will sit out and of sky fails in two matches he gets a chance. 

1 hour ago, rollingstoned said:

We can do worse than go with the likes of Hooda, Kishan ,Samson, SKY, both Iyers in the batting line up instead of the ttfs. don't think the tm will be that gutsy like they were in 2007 though. 

Exactly. There can't be a lower point than a first round exit in a WC at home coming on top of a series of bad performances in big tournaments. Nothing wrong in trying a totally new approach with all younger players. Ideally, even without Rohit but then our previous captain was so insecure, he never groomed anyone.

With this approach, at worst we will get knocked out again in the 1st round but the younger players will learn and become better players in the future.

3 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Pata chalega aus men  - he is ur best player of high pace hard length and top player of fast bowling itself . 

Wasn't he getting out in SA chasing 6th stump, 7th stump line. It doesn't matter. We didn't carry  tendulkar, Dravid anyone to 2007 world cup. Backed a bunch of rookies. Guess what. That was the only time we won the world T20. After that we went with experience. Every single time we got our ass kicked. Playing for so many years, KOhli is a predictable batsman. It is not very difficult for opposition to tie him down at one end.

At the end of the day, posters here are fighting for nothing. The following players are fixed in playing eleven barring injuries in a major tournament.

Rohit

Dhawan (yes, very possible)

Kohli

K L Rahul

PANT

Pandya (if fit)

Chahal

SHARDUL/CHAHAR/Ashwin

BOoooOBY

Bumrah

That is 10 players out of 11. So there is only one definite spot available which will most likely go to SKY.

Until India loses this "experience" crap in T20 they ain't winning anything. Already 2 "experienced guys" buried us in Tests. In Australia bunch of rookies, T20 guys won us a historic Test. Don't say Sundar was going to make to vital contributions in the Test before the test. or Thakur for that matter. Nobody predicted that coming.  It happene right? Thakur destroyed Starc in Tests. Let that sink in. 

Edited by vvvslaxman
3 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Pata chalega aus men  - he is ur best player of high pace hard length and top player of fast bowling itself . 

Kya pata chálega? That we will get knocked out in the first round? Wo to ho hi gaya na bhai, that too in a home WC.

In any case on 'fast pitches' of Aus, NZ and SA', since the highs of 2016, Kohli in 12 innings has 331 runs@33, SR of 133. Not sure he will suddenly turnaround his form to score at 140-150 SR.

3 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Kya pata chálega? That we will get knocked out in the first round? Wo to ho hi gaya na bhai, that too in a home WC.

Uss logic se to sachin also shudnt have played 2011 wc post 2007 debacle

UAE wasnt home 

In t20 past form actually doesnt matter, Aus came with 5 continuous series loss in last Wc and won

3 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

In any case on 'fast pitches' of Aus, NZ and SA', since the highs of 2016, Kohli in 12 innings has 331 runs@33, SR of 133. Not sure he will suddenly turnaround his form to score at 140-150 SR.

the 1st question is who are ur best players of pace n bounce - he is among them , 2nd shud be who plays hard length best - he is the best

IF ur taking numbers, well lets take dhawan also since he has done well in aus in t20s. The question shud be who are ur best players of pace n bounce 

Also kohli avg 64 in aus with s/r of 144 .........NZ n SA ka kya krna