The road ahead for Bollywood

Number

I think we complicate things too much when it comes to entertainment. Primary function of entertainment is to be entertaining and engaging. To make something entertaining you have work bottom up not top down. You need to write authentic stuff with conviction. If you start chasing the audience, in today's market you will get killed. 

An RRR is total conviction of maker. The conviction that brakes through many holes in plot or execution. Because audience buys it. 

Bollywood is by and large mediocre with glaring exceptions. Very rarely a quality product like Tumbbad or Looters comes along. When was the last time you saw a good comedy ? Not all good content translates to BO success. But it is primary factor. For a period of time, Bollywood managed the market through opening weekend. Those days are over. 

About 12-13 years back, we had an opportunity to interview a director who now consider himself as messiah and avant garde. But even then we knew all he had is angst but no vision or ambition. It's no surprise he has turned out to be mainstream hack. 

9 hours ago, Number said:

Brahmastra is over 500 crores.

yes and thats why i mentioned in its trailer post that 99% it will flop coz u cannot cover that cost. To cover 500 cr u actually need to make around 1000cr at box office which is impossible 

Films dont flop budget flops and ranbir overseas isnt as strong as aamir, srk or akshay those guys always recover a lot of looses in overseas

19 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

With satellite rights, overseas markets and OTT releases, Bhaiwood took the audiences for a ride. Any movie was making it even , so all they needed to do was a release. It has come down due to dubbed movies from south being very popular in the north, there is enough competition for them and people don’t care for their fakery anymore. Look at their arrogance here.

Seriously I don't support Boycott this and that. Nor do I believe that it can have massive impact but a little humility here can't be harmful.

Tapsee's last movie on day 8 sold 20 tickets and earned like 4000-5000 rupees still she has so much arrogance.

Ankit rightly pointed out the factor of loyalty of viewers.

And one of the biggest reason Hindi cine goers aren't loyal to their cinema and actors is that they just don't connect with these spoiled brats.

They mostly speak in English and speak Hindi words like alien would, in interviews. How can they connect with the Hindi audience with such massive communication gap.

Seriously I don't support Boycott this and that. Nor do I believe that it can have massive impact but a little humility here can't be harmful.

Tapsee's last movie on day 8 sold 20 tickets and earned like 4000-5000 rupees still she has so much arrogance.

Ankit rightly pointed out the factor of loyalty of viewers.

And one of the biggest reason Hindi cine goers aren't loyal to their cinema and actors is that they just don't connect with these spoiled brats.

They mostly speak in English and speak Hindi words like alien would, in interviews. How can they connect with the Hindi audience with such massive communication gap.

ohh btw news dobaara isnt doing badly ..............ppl see overall figures that film is not a high budget film and such films are already in profit coz they are sold at 4-5 times before  hand to OTT. 

Also it also depends how many screens u release in so on avg that film isnt doing badly if you considers its budget and limited release. 

Control budget can even make bad films be in profit 

9 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

yes and thats why i mentioned in its trailer post that 99% it will flop coz u cannot cover that cost. To cover 500 cr u actually need to make around 1000cr at box office which is impossible 

Is that because the box office collection they mention is revenue and not core profit ? Is this 50% rule generally applicable to hollywood too if you happen to know ?

And one of the biggest reason Hindi cine goers aren't loyal to their cinema

they aint loyal to anyone................even these telugu potboiler will run its course in future .

We are liking it coz we have grown upon this and its been missing for decades here , this kind of cinema keeps coming back and then when overkill happens it dies. Remember a phase of wanted, dabang, Rowdy rathore also came and then died. Same will happen in coming years..................yaahi ki audience ko humesh kuch naya chahiye abhi yahi naya hai 

Its a very large demographic and that mix of urban-rural which now has access to all kind of content . So no one knows what they ll like. 

9 hours ago, Clarke said:

Is that because the box office collection they mention is revenue and not core profit ? Is this 50% rule generally applicable to hollywood too if you happen to know ?

what they mention is right but also 20-30% exaggerated

• A lot goes into taxes 
  • A lot goes into interest 
  • A lot goes into distributor-exhibitor cut depending on deal 
  • Now many actors also have profit sharing

by the end producer ke haath zyaada nhin aata unless it a massive massive hit and cost was controlled. Reality is even pushpa, RRR, 2.0 producers didnt make much (im talking about producers not films )

9 hours ago, Clarke said:

yaar hollywood has world wide market china being the biggest

they make half the money from china itself , their recovery is huge thats why their budgets are huge 

Also tax systems are different their, i dont know how different but its better . Their budgeting is much much more professional then ours

35 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

ohh btw news dobaara isnt doing badly ..............ppl see overall figures that film is not a high budget film and such films are already in profit coz they are sold at 4-5 times before  hand to OTT. 

Also it also depends how many screens u release in so on avg that film isnt doing badly if you considers its budget and limited release. 

Control budget can even make bad films be in profit 

Not sure how much it will fetch from OTT but ~2.5 crore till day 4 isn't much imo. Its budget is 30 crores so yeah it will definitely make some profit.

Anurag Kashyap ka model thik hai

40 crore me movie bana ke OTT walo ko chipka do. 10-12 crore kama ke khush.

33 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

they aint loyal to anyone................even these telugu potboiler will run its course in future .

We are liking it coz we have grown upon this and its been missing for decades here , this kind of cinema keeps coming back and then when overkill happens it dies. Remember a phase of wanted, dabang, Rowdy rathore also came and then died. Same will happen in coming years..................yaahi ki audience ko humesh kuch naya chahiye abhi yahi naya hai 

Its a very large demographic and that mix of urban-rural which now has access to all kind of content . So no one knows what they ll like. 

Agree. But one thing I notice in Bollywood is that if one movie of particular theme is successful then they all run after that theme.

MSD's biopic worked so they made dozens of biopic and almost all of them flopped except Dangal.

Some South remakes worked for Akshay and Ajay so they started running after them.

So it reaches saturation points pretty early.

Agree. But one thing I notice in Bollywood is that if one movie of particular theme is successful then they all run after that theme.

MSD's biopic worked so they made dozens of biopic and almost all of them flopped except Dangal.

Some South remakes worked for Akshay and Ajay so they started running after them.

So it reaches saturation points pretty early.

yes bhedchaal has been a big problem 

Not sure how much it will fetch from OTT but ~2.5 crore till day 4 isn't much imo. Its budget is 30 crores so yeah it will definitely make some profit.

Anurag Kashyap ka model thik hai

40 crore me movie bana ke OTT walo ko chipka do. 10-12 crore kama ke khush.

30cr is a fake budget online, its max 20-25................Anurag and Ekta are brilliant with controlling budgets. Their budgets have only gone haywire once they had big stars on board 

Online collection n budgets arent correct much. Wud have easily earned 30-40 from OTT only 

Just to give a context avg mallu film which no one is excited about or has any big stars like Fahad will still get 15-20cr at OTT 

Most important thing u are forgetting is stars are overpaid, aamir srk charge 100 cr or close to it per film aamir, akshay and Ajay charge 75-80 cr though takes profit share from film guys like ranbir and ranvir charge 60-65 cr per film , while guys like kartik charge 40-45 and then govinda wannabe charge 30-35 same with sid not sure about ayushman and abba dabba jabba expression,bc itna paisa logey to script pe kya kaam karoge, content as well, bollywood need good scripts ASAT

9 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

Yes. Indeed. I think it was brilliant. 

yes it was but names u mentioned liked tumbbad and lootera didnt work, lootera was in heavy loss due to its budget nor that it was very butit just didnt earn at all 

Audience bhi to nhin jaati , films like baaghi, housefull worked which is why sequels happened. 

Bollywood needs to come up with better content & good marketing skills.  Pandemic has made people a lot more selective & simply going to theaters is now a distant thought in a OTT era.   Talent is still there. 

If not Korean Cinema we can learn from Iranians how to produce gun content.  These are the best two movie industries content wise in Asia. 

Creators like Kashyap Motwane or other f***wits need to stop their agenda & use their talent in making solid content.  These are one of the best we got.  No need of Khans or other big starts due to huge budgets.  

Bhansali needs to come up with a epic historical movie soon to save Bollywood. 

Karan Johar's Takht probably was shelved for similar reasons...  It would have tanked badly.  Maybe Bhansali could do the job.