EnterTheVoid Posted July 30, 2025 Posted July 30, 2025 11 minutes ago, Mariyam said: I know you mean well, but some of the Telugu movies which have done well are extremely cringe. Pushpa I stopped in 25 mins. Unwatchable. RRR another snoozefest. Tamil movie with Kamal Hasaan Vijay Sethupati and Fahad. Outright terrible. All of ICF hyped up Fahad but he is a very average actor, at least from that movie. Bahubali was better than these, but nothing WOW. A Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar or Kesri or Kuch Kuch Hota Hai are far more *entertaining* Pushpa is aimed at a particular sub section of Telugu audiences. That dialect of Telugu Pushpa speaks, it's from a certain region. All that is lost when the movie got translated into different languages. The wife and I watched the Hindi dubbing. It was torture. Mariyam 1
Tillu Posted July 30, 2025 Posted July 30, 2025 (edited) 6 hours ago, Mariyam said: I know you mean well, but some of the Telugu movies which have done well are extremely cringe. Pushpa I stopped in 25 mins. Unwatchable. RRR another snoozefest. Tamil movie with Kamal Hasaan Vijay Sethupati and Fahad. Outright terrible. All of ICF hyped up Fahad but he is a very average actor, at least from that movie. Bahubali was better than these, but nothing WOW. A Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar or Kesri or Kuch Kuch Hota Hai are far more *entertaining* You are not supposed to like Pushpa anyway. Women are not their target market. Strange that you didn't feel great about Bahubali. Both the Bahubali movies are replete with goosebumps inducing moments throughout their runtime. Never had a movie series been watched so many times on YouTube all over the world. The makers keep deleting the movies to be re-uploaded again and again that cumulative views for both the movies would easily exceed 2 billion on YouTube. Edited July 30, 2025 by Tillu Mariyam 1
coffee_rules Posted July 30, 2025 Posted July 30, 2025 11 hours ago, Tillu said: The success of SI movies are not just limited to India, people from Nepal, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Pakistan are equally crazy about these movies. That's why the huge numbers on Goldmine films on YouTube. Seen a few travel videos in Afghanistan where they were seen selling CDs of SI movies in heaps. Afghans particularly have a special liking for KGF and Pushpa and were seen emulating the mannerisms and dialogues from these films. Aren’t Koreans, Japanese big fans of Tamizh/Rajni movies? Dangal and Bahubali are supposed to have earned a lot in China
Tillu Posted July 30, 2025 Posted July 30, 2025 4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Aren’t Koreans, Japanese big fans of Tamizh/Rajni movies? Dangal and Bahubali are supposed to have earned a lot in China Muthu was the first Indian movie to see huge success in Japan for the wrong reasons. They were actually trolling the movie under the so bad it's good category which the fans turned it into huge craze for Rajini in Japan. Bahubali was not as succesful as Dangal in China though. It collected somewhere around 70 million USD to Dangals 400 million. Secret superstar and Bhajrangi Bhaijaan saw better succes than Bahubali in China. It's quite tough to capture the East Asian Markets. Most of the money Dangal earned actually went to the Chinese distributors and the Dangal producers only got 10% of the total boxoffice money from China. coffee_rules 1
coffee_rules Posted July 30, 2025 Posted July 30, 2025 7 hours ago, Mariyam said: I know you mean well, but some of the Telugu movies which have done well are extremely cringe. Pushpa I stopped in 25 mins. Unwatchable. RRR another snoozefest. Tamil movie with Kamal Hasaan Vijay Sethupati and Fahad. Outright terrible. All of ICF hyped up Fahad but he is a very average actor, at least from that movie. Bahubali was better than these, but nothing WOW. A Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar or Kesri or Kuch Kuch Hota Hai are far more *entertaining* Forget about Pushpa 2, it was for some LCD audience. But RRR, Vikram, is better than any thing Bollywood has churned. JJWS was in the 90s for a different audience. KKHH is cringe even now, made for 11 year old. Just that you don't have the same sensibilities as the makjers or audiences who like such movies. Maybe it cuts both ways. I cannot fathom any adult 25+ who liked KKHH. It is no childish and pakao movie. Mariyam 1
Tillu Posted July 30, 2025 Posted July 30, 2025 6 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Forget about Pushpa 2, it was for some LCD audience. But RRR, Vikram, is better than any thing Bollywood has churned. JJWS was in the 90s for a different audience. KKHH is cringe even now, made for 11 year old. Just that you don't have the same sensibilities as the makjers or audiences who like such movies. Maybe it cuts both ways. I cannot fathom any adult 25+ who liked KKHH. It is no childish and pakao movie. KKHH to women is like KGF to males. Women like these cheesy romantic tales similar to men liking the action adventure tales. We cannot fault them for being wired differently to men. Bollywood's biggest strength is making movies on social issues in a fun and engaging manner. That's why East Asians find these movies interesting because they too were in the same boat until recently. Mariyam 1
coffee_rules Posted July 30, 2025 Posted July 30, 2025 7 hours ago, EnterTheVoid said: Pushpa is aimed at a particular sub section of Telugu audiences. That dialect of Telugu Pushpa speaks, it's from a certain region. All that is lost when the movie got translated into different languages. The wife and I watched the Hindi dubbing. It was torture. That was true for Pushpa 1, I watched the Telugu original and that rustic look and accent was a novel idea.Bbut the sequel turned into some masalafest after Fahad goes away.. it was just some content they wanted to add for the next installment , force it into a franchise. Like Don 1 twist in the end that went completely against the ethos of the original , just so that they can Don 2 and 3. Tillu and EnterTheVoid 2
coffee_rules Posted July 30, 2025 Posted July 30, 2025 (edited) 9 hours ago, Tillu said: KKHH to women is like KGF to males. Women like these cheesy romantic tales similar to men liking the action adventure tales. We cannot fault them for being wired differently to men. Bollywood's biggest strength is making movies on social issues in a fun and engaging manner. That's why East Asians find these movies interesting because they too were in the same boat until recently. I know many women who hated the movie KKHH, esp Kajol's screechy acting .. it was made for 11 year old girls. Edited July 31, 2025 by coffee_rules Tillu 1
upriser7 Posted July 31, 2025 Posted July 31, 2025 (edited) 19 hours ago, Mariyam said: I know you mean well, but some of the Telugu movies which have done well are extremely cringe. Pushpa I stopped in 25 mins. Unwatchable. RRR another snoozefest. Tamil movie with Kamal Hasaan Vijay Sethupati and Fahad. Outright terrible. All of ICF hyped up Fahad but he is a very average actor, at least from that movie. Bahubali was better than these, but nothing WOW. A Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar or Kesri or Kuch Kuch Hota Hai are far more *entertaining* Pushpa was a much bigger hit and range in North India than Telugu states. RRR 2nd half dips a bit but overall, it was a great movie. There is a reason why it won so many big awards that year among Western critics. It was also a huge blockbuster in Japan where the dubbed version nearly ran for an year. It really has some amazing action sequences...the opening bit where the lead fights against the mob is one of the best directed sequences imo Edited July 31, 2025 by upriser7 Tillu, Mariyam and New guy 3
rkt.india Posted July 31, 2025 Posted July 31, 2025 On 7/29/2025 at 3:41 PM, Tillu said: Pushpa 2 is definitely a dehat movie. I only watched the 1st part. I haven't even seen the video songs on YouTube. Kalki is not a dehat movie. If you look past the goofy annoying characterisation of Prabhas it was a pretty good movie. Both pushpa movies are puke worthy. Trailer hi kaafi tha. Didn't watch any of them.
rkt.india Posted July 31, 2025 Posted July 31, 2025 (edited) On 7/29/2025 at 11:57 AM, Lone Wolf said: Dehatis love those movies.. no shortage of Dehat in India. Don't club Rajamouli with them though. Ek hi nondehati movie thi Saaho jo logo ko smjh nahi aayi aur baith gayi. Edited July 31, 2025 by rkt.india Lone Wolf 1
Gollum Posted July 31, 2025 Posted July 31, 2025 Can't club in Baahubali and RRR with these Pushpas, KGFs, Saahos. SSR knows how to make a proper masala entertainer, you can see the creativity and hard work behind his shots.....there is a reason he has earned respect worldwide. New guy and kepler37b 2
rkt.india Posted July 31, 2025 Posted July 31, 2025 1 hour ago, Gollum said: Can't club in Baahubali and RRR with these Pushpas, KGFs, Saahos. SSR knows how to make a proper masala entertainer, you can see the creativity and hard work behind his shots.....there is a reason he has earned respect worldwide. Why are you clubbing Saaho with pushpa and kgf
coffee_rules Posted August 6, 2025 Posted August 6, 2025 On 8/5/2025 at 4:07 AM, Tillu said: Need star power, Farhan is Meh!
coffee_rules Posted August 6, 2025 Posted August 6, 2025 Pretty good action sequences. I like John Abraham movies, much better than Akshay Kumar’s Lord and Tillu 1 1
Lord Posted August 7, 2025 Posted August 7, 2025 1 hour ago, coffee_rules said: Need star power, Farhan is Meh! looks like he wanted to act in Lakshya so fulfiling that dream now. coffee_rules 1
coffee_rules Posted August 7, 2025 Posted August 7, 2025 1 minute ago, Lord said: looks like he wanted to act in Lakshya so fulfiling that dream now. Vicky Kaushal would have gotten better ROI! Lord 1
coffee_rules Posted August 13, 2025 Posted August 13, 2025 1 hour ago, Lord said: This looks great All new cast, no known names or stars. Could he do GoW type of movie again?