We can still salvage our bowling attack and maintain team balance if we do this for WC 2022

1 hour ago, jalebi_bhai said:

@express bowling can you kindly explain what was the point of giving Avesh 15 games, only for him to be completely discarded at the eleventh hour? 

15 games is a lot of matches. For comparison, Umesh has been playing international cricket for 12 years and he's played only 8 T20Is. Shami has played 17. 

It was a strange decision.  My impression is that this TM are taking a lot of decisions based on stats only, without taking into account the cricketing aspects. And much of the available T20 stats don't tell the full picture as there are lots of low key games played. 

Avesh is a hit the deck pacer but has fitness issues  Which means he keeps losing steam while trying to bowl with effort and many of his balls don't really hurry batsmen. These aspects should have been considered before selecting him. 

Edited by express bowling
1 minute ago, zen said:

Another way to salvage the WC is to find better teams to follow. 

Top 3 is more suited to bash minnows while being exposed against good teams.

Arshdeep, though a good trier, is likely to run into a big hitter who could shatter his confidence … Bumrah can crack under pressure … Ashwin needs “tired” pitches to be more effective.

The MO cannot always save India esp. if batting first. 

Only hope for India is if somehow most of the players find their best form in the WC. 

Tbh, qualifying for the knockouts is not that hard. There is enough talent in the team that individual brilliance can help us qualify for the semis.

But individual brilliance can only get you so far. A combined team effort will always trump individual performances. And this can happen in either the semi or final. 

Batsmen can give you par, even above par scores but if the bowling continues to keep unraveling, there is no point. 

All these months, Rohit and TM have been constantly tinkering with the XI and managing to get results. Now the bowling is falling apart at the eleventh hour, we are scrambling for permutations/combinations. 

6 minutes ago, express bowling said:

It was a strange decision.  My impression is that this TM are taking a lot of decisions based on stats only, without taking into account the cricketing aspects. And much of the available T20 stats don't tell the full picture as there are lots of low key games played. 

Avesh is a hit the deck pacer but has fitness issues  Which means he keeps losing steam while trying to bowl with effort and many of his balls dontvreally hurry batsmen. These aspects should have been considered before selecting him. 

It took them 15 games to figure this out? Don't we have scouts who track these metrics?

2 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Tbh, qualifying for the knockouts is not that hard. There is enough talent in the team that individual brilliance can help us qualify for the semis.

But individual brilliance can only get you so far. A combined team effort will always trump individual performances. And this can happen in either the semi or final. 

Batsmen can give you par, even above par scores but if the bowling continues to keep unraveling, there is no point. 

All these months, Rohit and TM have been constantly tinkering with the XI and managing to get results. Now the bowling is falling apart at the eleventh hour, we are scrambling for permutations/combinations. 

KOs is where you would usually face inform or rising teams. For group 2 teams, SF prospects include Aus, Eng, & NZ. If SL, it would be playing good cricket. Group 2 has Pak, SA, WI, & BD, so there are opportunities for 50/50 games where Ind can compete.

4 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

It took them 15 games to figure this out? Don't we have scouts who track these metrics?

It wasn't a smart thing to do.

The TM did not have any backup plan for a tall, hit the deck pacer.that is needed in Australia

It was Avesh or nothing.

There were 7 such pacers operating in the IPL .. Mohsin, Sen, Tyagi, Prasidh, Khaleel, Dayal and Avesh 

The TM could have gathered all of them and seen for themselves who are meeting their needs. A lot becomes apparent in the nets and practice matches. And then they could have tried the best 2 or 3.

But they kept banking on one such pacer.

3 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Why ?

"Experience". I do not think Bhuvi will be dropped.. Bhuvi has no new ball competition since Chahar and SHami are  on reserve.  Bhuvi's competition is Arshdeep/Harshal. It will be a no brainer Bhuvi will be backed over them anyday. India takes one spinner too many. Choice of squad makes it impossible for them to drop Bhuvi.

49 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Our fast bowling lineup for this world cup is :

Bumrah

Bhuvi

Harshal

Pandya

Chahar

Arshdeep 

Shami

Bhuvi should bowl three overs in the PP, that's where he can actually do something 

Then come back in the fifteenth over to bowl the last one, Yes Bhuvi is slow but he is an intelligent bowler it's just that he shouldn't be used at death, he is unable to handle that pressure. 

Bhuvi can also be replaced with Chahar if he continues to bowl filth in the remaining matches. 

Harshal is someone who I am not really fond of. We can replace him with Arshdeep who will definitely perform better than him. 

Bumrah is our best bowler, should bowl one at powerplay, one in the middle overs and two at death. 

Pandya should be used in the middle overs or maybe one over in the pp too

The thing is that people think that India has many options, but truth be told, we don't have many who can do better and still keep the team in balance. 

We can't ignore lower order batting just to fit in faster bowlers who can't move a bat. 

One more thing, Chahal should be dropped for Bishnoi if he continues this form. 

Baki sab log bhi to yahi bol rahey hain, is thread me, other than latkhor Bhuvi whom you are still favouring in, ab kya chahtey ho jab tak wt20 se bahar na karwa de tab tak picha nahi chodogey iska. BTW we need good fast bowler not intelligent malnourished one dimensional trundlers like chahal and Bhuvi.

Axar at 7

Deepak at 8

Thakura at 9

Bhoobi at 10

Chukrah 11

That should do it. Csk style. Deep batting. Trundler quote plus bumrah. Swing monsters in chahar and bhoobi. Pace and bounce in chukrah. 

Thakur with the occasional bounce and mix up of slow full tosses, cutters etc

On 9/22/2022 at 1:32 PM, express bowling said:

We don't have time for much experiments now

If we want to salvage our bowling then this type of bowling attack maybe ok for Australia ... given our squad constraints.

6. Hardik

7. Axar

8. Ashwin 

9. Shami

10. Bumrah

11. Arshdeep

.... Niggle out one of the trundlers and bring in Shami from the reserves

.... Bumrah and Arshdeep will take care of death bowling

.... Shami and Bumrah will bowl upfront. Ashwin is a good PP bowler too. So 3 options  

.... Ashwin will be a better bowling and batting option than Chahal.

.... Ashwin's inclusion means we can leave out trundler all-rounder at 8

.... Shami can play if we have 2 good death bowlers like Bumrah and Arshdeep. He can be an asset in PPs in Australia. Plus he can tonk a few at 9

.... We will have 3 quick hit the deck pacers in Bumrah, Shami and Hardik ... ideal for Australia 

.... We will have 2 good death bowlers .. 3 PP bowling options .. batting till 8 .. some hitting ability at 9 .. 3 quick hit the deck pacers including Hardik .. 4 pacers in all .. 2 spinners 

Good to see our TM going almost to this bowling lineup.

If Bumrah were fit and bowling in place of Bhuvi, our death bowling would have felt much more secure.  And our attack would be more fiery. 

The TM should seriously think about niggling out Harshal and bringing Siraj in the squad.