We are 100% getting knocked out in WT20 Group Stages

BlueBlood

I think our batting is solid for Aus conditions, most of these guys play short ball well . Only concern wrt batting is, barring sharma every other batsmen has shown tendency to choke under pressure.

As for bowling, Bumrah missing out is a big blow as he's the only world class T20 bowler we have. Him and Arshadeep would have made a sold pace attack, since that's not happening we should just build on or strength and pick bowling all rounders at 7-8-9. 

37 minutes ago, jusarrived said:

I think our batting is solid for Aus conditions, most of these guys play short ball well . Only concern wrt batting is, barring sharma every other batsmen has shown tendency to choke under pressure.

As for bowling, Bumrah missing out is a big blow as he's the only world class T20 bowler we have. Him and Arshadeep would have made a sold pace attack, since that's not happening we should just build on or strength and pick bowling all rounders at 7-8-9. 

This is why it is always good to have a  "sacrificable" wicket at the top.  In 2011 world cup, Umar Gul was the best bowler. Sehwag imposed himself against Gul hitting him for 4 boundaries.  We need someone to take on their bowler upfront and throw their plans off.  Gilly time and again did that in crunch games for Australia. He always considered his runs as bonus for his side.

Edited by vvvslaxman
14 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

At MCG fully fit Bumrah would be very handy. You need to cover all the bases. Atleast someone who can bowl fast yorkers. If not specialist batsman it will be handy against lower order.

Did anybody stop Bumrah from bowling those yorkers on Oct 24 .What did he do then. I am not saying he is not a big loss but it is not catastrophic as people are makig it out to be.

27 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Did anybody stop Bumrah from bowling those yorkers on Oct 24 .What did he do then. I am not saying he is not a big loss but it is not catastrophic as people are makig it out to be.

Not yorker. MCG is hit the deck pitch which is why he is successful there. Siraj also did well there in the boxing day test. You need bowlers who can make the ball zip off the surface. Floaty bowlers can also do well. But it purely depends on conditions. If the conditions don't favor them they will become buffet bowlers.

MCG is a redesigned pitch now offering bounce and carry. you need bowlers to exploit

https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/this-pitch-is-humming-bouncy-mcg-deck-prompts-surprise-eightyear-first/news-story/a78b2846f9ab11d60608cafa19696715

“The Ashes Test and the (2018) Indian Test at the MCG a couple of years ago were pretty flat and boring wickets as a bowler,” Cummins said last summer.

“They’re the best wickets, when it’s a good battle between bat and ball. You feel like if you do your skill well, you can have a big impact on the game.”

Thankfully, MCG curator Matt Page has since taken action.

Page and his team removed cement from the bottom of the drop-in pitch’s tray and tinkered with the make-up of the clay content.

Subsequently, the past two Boxing Day encounters have been considerably more enjoyable for fans, with the MCG wicket providing early movement off the deck.

Edited by vvvslaxman
2 minutes ago, BlueBlood said:

The Rohit captaincy supporters here are deranged and in another world.

Keep living in your delusions where we win bilaterals and lose crunch games where it counts.

BCCI will oblige by putting all tournaments in home conditions

No people like you who are living in delusion thinking there are some great players who are being left out. Let us take batting first , who are those who have been left out.You name them and let us see compare their T20 SRs.

46 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Not yorker. MCG is hit the deck pitch which is why he is successful there. Siraj also did well there in the boxing day test. You need bowlers who can make the ball zip off the surface. Floaty bowlers can also do well. But it purely depends on conditions. If the conditions don't favor them they will become buffet bowlers.

MCG is a redesigned pitch now offering bounce and carry. you need bowlers to exploit

https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes/this-pitch-is-humming-bouncy-mcg-deck-prompts-surprise-eightyear-first/news-story/a78b2846f9ab11d60608cafa19696715

“The Ashes Test and the (2018) Indian Test at the MCG a couple of years ago were pretty flat and boring wickets as a bowler,” Cummins said last summer.

“They’re the best wickets, when it’s a good battle between bat and ball. You feel like if you do your skill well, you can have a big impact on the game.”

Thankfully, MCG curator Matt Page has since taken action.

Page and his team removed cement from the bottom of the drop-in pitch’s tray and tinkered with the make-up of the clay content.

Subsequently, the past two Boxing Day encounters have been considerably more enjoyable for fans, with the MCG wicket providing early movement off the deck.

We have Pandya too who can hit the deck. For that he has to be dependent upon to bowl 4 full overs in the enforcer period. We know what happens if India is solely dependent on Pandya in either batting or bowling :fear:

2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

This is why it is always good to have a  "sacrificable" wicket at the top.  In 2011 world cup, Umar Gul was the best bowler. Sehwag imposed himself against Gul hitting him for 4 boundaries.  We need someone to take on their bowler upfront and throw their plans off.  Gilly time and again did that in crunch games for Australia. He always considered his runs as bonus for his side.

KL and Sharma might attack Shaheen this time if he plays. 

On 10/1/2022 at 4:41 AM, gattaca said:

Rohit I thought encouraged young guys he seems to be ultra conservative and worse than Kohli on encouraging new people. Why would someone drop bishnoi after his performance ? 

He has no choice but to accommodate Kohli and Rahul. That's two spots gone right there, which would have gone to couple of youngsters That being said, his trundler love and steadfast support to collar chewer is unforgivable. He didn't make any bold bet like Umran or Bishnoi.

12 hours ago, putrevus said:

No people like you who are living in delusion thinking there are some great players who are being left out. Let us take batting first , who are those who have been left out.You name them and let us see compare their T20 SRs.

Here's the batting line up that will bring fear to opposition:

Rohit

Pant

Hooda

SKY

Pandya

Patidar/Tewatia/Samson

DK

Indian team problem has always been the bowling and this time, its not too different. With Bumrah more or less out of the picture, bowling look even weaker. But I think there is enough firepower in batting. Only hope India have is to chase and have the bowlers minimize the damage in first innings and then batsmen can try to make up for it.  If India bat first, chances are the current bowling will not defend the total (unless there is swing which is very unlikely).

For me, the favorites are Aus, NZ, Eng and SA. India have an outside chance. 

16 hours ago, putrevus said:

Agree somewhat, here there are people elevating the awful Hooda :facepalm:I mean hadd hai yaar, look at his game against anything over 140 kph, against bounce. This is what happens when you take IPL too seriously. Hooda isn't worthy of an India A pick, and his bowling is utterly useless.

Won't miss Bumrah against Pakistan, that's for sure. Mental midget, loses his head in pressure games, zero wicket taking ability with new ball (all the more important against Pak who rely heavily on their top 2/3), and check how those mediocre poyzzz (even 40+ uncles like Hafeez and Malik :phehe:) have manhandled him time and again. No way was he ever going to take out Babar/Rizwan at MCG, maybe on a good day he would have ended with 35/1 in his 4 overs, hardly a game changer. That's his ceiling in high pressure matches, can only laugh at people comparing him with the likes of Hazlewood, Starc, Archer, Shaheen, Boult in white ball cricket....those guys are killers who can end the contest in their first 2 overs.

For all the hate our top 3 have got for failures in big games, Bumrah has gone unnoticed. He has failed every single time in pressure games, at least with Kohli/Ro there is some odd KO situation where they have done well (Rohit in 2007 WT20 or against BD in couple of KOs, Kohli in the 2013 CT final and WT20s overall). Bumrah turned into bheegi billi against a rampant Liton in the 2018 Asia Cup final and the captain had to hide him till the tailenders came, last year in his favorite format in seam/swing friendly conditions he delivered the worst bowling display ever by an Indian quick (considering the occasion)....even Unadkat would have done better in that WTC F, at least picked up a wicket in 2 innings and not gone at 5 rpo!!!!

He may end up as our GOAT quick, but hardly an achievement considering our fast bowling legacy. Granted he has been a champ in some marquee SENA tests, but he isn't someone we will miss in big games/tournaments. Forget ATGs, even trundlers like Nehra, Irfan Pathan, Munaf, RP Singh have better resume in KOs. And what the much maligned Ishant Sharma did with that double blow (Morgan, Bopara) in 2013 CT F, Bumrah has never come close to having such an impact even at Asia Cup level.

High time people start noticing Bumrah's impact outside useless bilaterals and IPLs, talking about white ball cricket. He still is a gun test bowler. But in ODIs/T20Is, better we explore other options....Mohsin, Tyagi, Umran, Sen etc.