Who will win WT20 2022 (Points Table)

Norman

Predict the winner  

58 members have voted

1. 1. Who will win the tournament?

12 minutes ago, Norman said:

Got to say.. Except the game against South Africa , we got favourable match ups against all the sides when it comes to the venues.. 

Playing Pak and WI (likely) at the MCG, where only proper batting teams can get big scores and not the tullar hacks. Also the ball will swing, bringing Bhuvi/Shami, Arshdeep into play a bit more.. 

Playing at Adelaide against Bangladesh, with very short square boundaries, where we can easily bat them out of the game.. 

Playing Sri Lanka at SCG, again with bigger boundaries and also a flat wicket where we chased down 200+ a few times against Aus. 

Just hope we somehow win that game against SAF.. 

exactly! All here are basing their gloom and doom on Asia cup where India lost both to SL and Pak on toss and couldn’t defend as it got easier to bat under lights. Aus pitches are a different ball game and India can perform better there

17 minutes ago, Austin 3:!6 said:

Actually, this is good. If you want to win the world cup, you need to beat the best. Last WT20 was rubbish where we had to play 3 minnows and all those games were virtual formality.

If India is good enough, they must beat all these teams to qualify for next round, simple.

Indeed u want to go battle hardened before a Semi or a KO game.  Easier games kill the momentum. 

Ind vs Kenya 2003 SF comes to mind...  Complete ownage in the finals after that. 

10 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said:

Haven't watched the match, but always knew their batsmen will hard to play on bouncy pitches. They are no match to our or South African batsmen. Hansranga must adapt really well for them to have a slight chance. (Assuming these teams don't choke.)

Fair point. Same is with Pakistan. Their batters played a lot of games in low bounce conditions (UAE/Pak) and even in the recent NZ series, wickets were slow. 

Point is... Sri Lanka will any day offer more challenge to good sides than a Netherlands or Namibia. I can bet that they will definitely win at least 2 of the games against Ind/SAF/Pak/WI if they qualifty. 

3 minutes ago, zen said:

The important thing is odds given by the bookies. 

Fans can bet on a team they follow irrespective of the odds because they can convince (fool) themselves into believing that the team that they follow has the best chance. 

Anyways, I am not here to give lessons.

Ya, keep clinging at straws about 330 vs 350. Only fans don’t bet, random people who are avid gamblers put in money too. Anyhow, my point being , it’s not all negative as all are feeling here. 

11 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Ya, keep clinging at straws about 330 vs 350. Only fans don’t bet, random people who are avid gamblers put in money too. Anyhow, my point being , it’s not all negative as all are feeling here. 

Why are you trying to tell others that not everything is negative as if they don’t know? Many folks discuss based on what they think is the most probable scenario (not one that we want to imagine happening) and also look into various possibilities. 

Remember you come to IPL every time supporting teams like RCB, DC, PK, and LSG (PK and LSG for KL). You think they will do well, while I know they won’t. You have the tendency to gravitate towards what is less likely and potentially wrong (to be fair this would be the case with most individuals so you would get false confirmations as well to make you think you are right till the opposite happens) and create bubbles for you (and be my guest. I have no issues with that).

17 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Indeed u want to go battle hardened before a Semi or a KO game.  Easier games kill the momentum. 

Ind vs Kenya 2003 SF comes to mind...  Complete ownage in the finals after that. 

Also, CT semi final in 2017.

Rohit & Kohli smashing 121 thunderbolts from Mashrafe all over the park and then failed in final facing Amir & co.

11 minutes ago, zen said:

Not necessarily. A tougher group can also mean that Ind can lose more games to relatively stronger teams (like Pak & NZ in 2021 WC and Pak & SL in Asia Cup). The sides that are playing well will edge out those not playing well. 

In any group, the competition is against strong teams. Ind tends to lose to these strong teams, while winning against weak teams. More strong teams mean it cannot take easy wins for granted and would need to focus more on every game. 

It goes for all teams not just India. Such a scenario will definitely favour teams that are more consistent (which India surely are). 

India topped the 10 team league stage of the 2019 WC. They beat all teams comfortably except hosts Aus in the 2015 WC. (Different format but the point stands) 

They fare lightyears better than any other Asian team in Australian conditions. For what it's worth they are also the 'King of Bilaterals'. 

If India don't reach the Semis, it will be an upset. 

12 minutes ago, zen said:

Why are you trying to tell others that not everything is negative as if they don’t know? Many folks discuss based on what they think is the most probable scenario (not one that we want to imagine happening) and also look into various possibilities. 

Remember you come to IPL every time supporting teams like RCB, DC, PK, and LSG (PK and LSG for KL). You think they will do well, while I know they won’t. You have the tendency to gravitate towards what is less likely and potentially wrong (to be fair this would be the case with most individuals so you would get false confirmations as well to make you think you are right till the opposite happens) and create bubbles for you (and be my guest. I have no issues with that).

Ok boss, India will lose all matches in group stage , to Pak, SA, BD, SL and WI. Happy?

Just now, AuxiliA said:

It goes for all teams not just India. Such a scenario will definitely favour teams that are more consistent (which India surely are). 

India topped the 10 team league stage of the 2019 WC. They beat all teams comfortably except hosts Aus in the 2015 WC. (Different format but the point stands) 

They fare lightyears better than any other Asian team in Australian conditions. For what it's worth they are also the 'King of Bilaterals'. 

If India don't reach the Semis, it will be an upset. 

All scenarios are applicable to all teams. At the end of the day, a team has to play well under pressure to win.

Ind has been losing consistently in the last two T20 events to comparable teams (lost to Pak & NZ, & Pak & SL, while beating Pak once so it is 1-4 against these type of teams). 

I can’t rate a team with the current top 3, fielding, and the bowling attack too high. India has its strengths and therefore potential (but so do other major teams) to make it to the SF. 

7 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Ok boss, India will lose all matches in group stage , to Pak, SA, BD, SL and WI. Happy?

Arre yaar, be yourself, which is posting what you think is the probable scenario! 

Remember the team and players have to earn your support too!

28 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Taaki Indian diaspora flock in tons

Diaspora won’t look at betting odds and flock to stadiums. They will do it anyway for the experience as they can afford the expensive ticket prices. It is like a festive atmosphere for them like going to a desi event. Only way to get their kids connect back to India 

1 minute ago, coffee_rules said:

Diaspora won’t look at betting odds and flock to stadiums. They will do it anyway for the experience as they can afford the expensive ticket prices. It is like a festive atmosphere for them like going to a desi event. Only way to get their kids connect back to India 

They have to create a buzz to draw attention,it adds to the business

Anyway,these analysis are done on bilaterals played which is India good at

17 hours ago, Chakdephatte said:

When they couldn't even beat Namibia, how are they supposed to beat better teams in our group? 

They got thrashed by Afghanistan in similar fashion in Asia Cup opening game.  Then went on to to become Asian Champ.  Of course,  this is a WC with more competition, but they hv the ability and batting depth till no. 10.  Inconsistency is their problem.  

On 10/16/2022 at 1:25 PM, Norman said:

With Sri Lanka's loss to Namibia, we are most likely to have the below teams in the group... 

India

Pakistan

South Africa

Sri Lanka

West Indies

Bangladesh 

The dynamics have now changed completely now that there's one more team in the group that is good enough to beat any team.. 

Watch this space. 

Scratch this lol. 

Looks like we're going to have Scotland or Ireland in our group. 

WI may not even qualify... :giggle: