Why ICF is obsessed with youngsters?

On 11/7/2022 at 7:52 PM, Gollum said:

Also look at the role when it comes to discussing players. Gill, Samson and Shaw aren't competing with DK, we have enough top 3 candidates in the country. What we lack are finishers, people who can tee off from ball one in final few., especially against hard length pace...can't see many, maybe 2-3 and even that is doubtful. Don't blindly believe IPL numbers, we see what Hooda does at this level, don't we? Even Hardik is finding it tough against pace at the back end of the innings. Bitter pill I know but in some spots (finisher, AR, spin, these 3 most prominent) India lacks personnel to succeed at this level, the ones we fielded here are more or less the best ones available keeping team balance and limitations in mind. Even in IPL we rely on overseas players for such roles, we have an abundance of top 3 bats, abundance of keeper bats, abundance of pace options but can anyone honestly say we have a Miller or Shadab/Rashid in the country who has been kept away from this WC squad?

DK sucks yes, but alternative bhi suggest karo na. Hardik's flaws in batting are easily discernible, but after him we have Shivam Dube, is he of international class? Suddenly everyone has turned against Axar and hailing Jadeja as if he won us all previous T20 WCs single handedly, hadd hai yaar, woh bhi rehta toh fielding ke alawa zyada kuch nahi karta and at least with Axar there is the upside of age. Funniest **** I read here is the longing for Chahal, yeah let us just ignore the facts that his batting/fielding are negative and he is hardly a world beater with the ball. 

The problems we have in this format, there are no instant fixes, no magic replacements, first we need to accept this. 

That's a bit contradictory.Sure Axar or any one else can be tried because Jadeja has failed before.

But why then we can't replace Rohit,DK,Bhuvi,Ashwin who have also failed at multiple events. Even their replacements will give age benefit and even better fielding.

We need a young team after this to build towards 2024, no doubt about it.

Just now, Lord said:

That's a bit contradictory.Sure Axar or any one else can be tried because Jadeja has failed before.

But why then we can't replace Rohit,DK,Bhuvi,Ashwin who have also failed at multiple events. Even their replacements will give age benefit and even better fielding.

We need a young team after this to build towards 2024, no doubt about it.

But they selected these same losers for the upcoming series before this farce ending so it will remain the same for the next few months. 

Just now, putrevus said:

Indian system needs to produce talented two way players who give depth to bowling and batting.

Not many. Axar/Jadeja/Tewatia/Shahbaz compete for the same role. Jaiswal is for longer formats. Venkatesh at best will be a home track bully. Abhishek has ordinary accelerating power.

Our best talent in batting are all one dimensional. At best we can manage some good no.8s. Chahar, Mavi, Mohsin have potential.

7 minutes ago, Chakdephatte said:

Not many. Axar/Jadeja/Tewatia/Shahbaz compete for the same role. Jaiswal is for longer formats. Venkatesh at best will be a home track bully. Abhishek has ordinary accelerating power.

Our best talent in batting are all one dimensional. At best we can manage some good no.8s. Chahar, Mavi, Mohsin have potential.

Till that happens we are going be dependent on luck and conditions. England got lucky with thier tosses and grounds suited them in semis and finals , it is not like England is some super team.Put their hacks on pitch with some life they will crumble too.

The main problem is lack of good spinners and that is an insult to Indian system, Indian spinners were out bowled by almost every team.

Edited by putrevus
24 minutes ago, Lord said:

Sam Curran,24, is the MOTM in final and MOTS

Now that's nitpicking.

What about Wood who missed two matches but was their best bowler before? Adil Rashid and Stokes who performed in most important matches. Hales who gave quick starts. 8 out of their 11 players are over 30.

Edited by Chakdephatte
1 minute ago, Chakdephatte said:

Now that's nitpicking.

What about Wood who missed two matches but was their best bowler before? Adil Rashid and Stokes who performed in most important matches. Hales who gave quick starts. 

Yeah they did well too. Doesn't mean youngsters shouldn't be backed.

We have played players who failed in previous WC simply based on experience.

1 hour ago, Chakdephatte said:

Buttler - 32

Hales - 33

Malan - 35

Stokes -31

Livingstone- 29

Moeen - 35

Brook - 23

Adil - 34

Wood - 32

Curran - 24

Woakes - 33

What a team!

Who won the World Cup for India in 2007 ? 
How Indian team changed  rapidly when Gangually took over back in 2000? 

who won test matches back in Adelaide ( pant , gill , Siraj ) 

So why not try something which already worked for team India

1 hour ago, Lord said:

Yeah they did well too. Doesn't mean youngsters shouldn't be backed.

We have played players who failed in previous WC simply based on experience.

If anything, England played players who were suited for this format with age no criteria. If they had followed India like eggsperience policy we would see Broad and Anderson would be opening bowling in their T20s:phehe:

Edited by Number

Indians don’t have motivation and drive to maintain fitness over a long period of time . Indian players coming through the ranks start playing competitively from 13 years and are put in a rat race , once they get past u19 and reach the senior team  establish they tend to diminish in fitness and player quality . 

so it is very important to keep team at the right age variance where every one of them is at the max potential . 

viral is different in that he has taken the western sport mentality fitness over everything else so he can continue to play on till his mid 30’s like the English team . 

you cannot say the same about other Indian players . 

mental fatigue , peaking early are the reasons why Indian team mean age should be lower than what’s typical Caucasian team is . 

This is the other reason Pakistani team looks very energetic when they play the young ones.. 

7 hours ago, Chakdephatte said:

Buttler - 32

Hales - 33

Malan - 35

Stokes -31

Livingstone- 29

Moeen - 35

Brook - 23

Adil - 34

Wood - 32

Curran - 24

Woakes - 33

What a team!

Are you effing thick or something?

Those guys in their 30s are as fit as our boys in early 20s because of their conditioning and fitness regimes .Our 30 year olds act like 40 year oldies and suddenly develop pot bellies lol. Also our top 3 and a couple of players play all formats and Full IPL (Ridiculous really) prinarily due to PR reasons ,so their workload is far more than the English or the Aussies, where there workload is well distributed.

Have a look at how they field and our donkeys in the field ,there's a world of difference ,even though it's not age wise !

We have a 34 year old vada pav leading us ,they have a 32 year old fit as * player leading them .

Our system is more like a sarkari naukri where players have taken their place for Granted ,On the top of that there's IPL ,Brands ,Sponsors etc from where they can earn millions ,what's the use of tiring yourself for such silly ICC events? 

The current set up in BCCI from top to bottom is rotten to the core, The Selection committee,the TM , some The players ,it's bound to fail or rather set up to fail !

You will hardly see the ex players ,pundits etc criticize the players ,Players Media Management ,PR is too strong because they are brands that need to be protected. 

It's a bit like Glazers and Manutd ,same no trophies for the last 9 years (Last won in 2013 just like India) and the real fans know the reason there as well as here .