Hockey World Cup 2023- India

LordPrabhzy

5 minutes ago, nitinbwj said:

Ned, Belg, Aus, Germans... Good luck. I wont be watching the massacre. 

Unless we improve the grassroot level hockey by ensuring astros are there everywhere and also kids are coached in the fast paced long stroke hockey of europeans and aussies then we wont ever be competitive to challenge them. Kids are being taught hockey on grass and by coaches who are of the defensive skill based mindset of decades ago while the sport has evolved.

Australia almost losing to Arg.

Belgium almost losing to Germans.

Netherlands have played upto the potential and England have exceeded expectations. Shaping up to be a nice open tourney.

We play NZ in crossovers then Belgium or Germany depending on who finishes at top in their group.

It’s all well spending 1000s of crores on stadiums and international events in one state but if investment isn’t made at grassroots levels all across the country to adapt to the fast paced modern hockey on Astros then all we are doing is providing fantastic facilities and stadiums for the European teams to thrash us in front of the home crowd and have nothing to show for it

On 1/14/2023 at 3:17 PM, neel roy said:

Btw hope everyone knows the format of the tournament. So all group leaders directly qualify for quarter finals after group stage. 

Those who finish second and third across the groups go to a cross over and they play amongst each other to go to quarter finals. 

so lets say India in group D finishes first they ll qualify for quarter finals. But if they finish second they ll play 3rd placed team in group C ( Chile or Malaysia) to reach quarter finals. If India finishes third in group stage they ll play the runners up in group C ( most probably Kane Williamsons country) in a knock out match to reach quarterfinals. 

pros of this format is even if you finish third you still have a chance to go and win the tournament. Cons is you need to play an extra match to go to qrtr finals even if you finish 2nd in the group. 

Somehow i had this inkling India would play nz in a knock out match again..we dont have Hardik as well..universe conspires against us.. but we should beat them..

1 hour ago, Number said:

Asia ki lagi padi hai. If not for Patnaik hockey it would be dead in India too.

it may not be 'dead' but we are stagnating at a particular middle ground level where we are 'marginally' better than asian teams but cannot compete at the same level against full time Europe teams and Aussies

7 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

It’s all well spending 1000s of crores on stadiums and international events in one state but if investment isn’t made at grassroots levels all across the country to adapt to the fast paced modern hockey on Astros then all we are doing is providing fantastic facilities and stadiums for the European teams to thrash us in front of the home crowd and have nothing to show for it

Kinda what IPL is doing.