Women's IPL already becomes the 2nd most expensive Women's sports league in the World!

AuxiliA

1 hour ago, speedracer said:

Chinese dominate in more docile sports. No offence. As much as I respect how well they do in Olympics, they never dominate in athletic sports or combat except weight lifting in lower weight classes. 

100 m

Olympic weight lifting

Wrestling

Boxing

Hockey

Football

Shot Put

Javelin throw

Swimming 100 m dash Chinese have actually started to do well. It's tough endurance wise but still a non combat /physical type event. 

India can excel in many of these sports But do parents encourage sports? All schools do is promote education. Study. After school you need to prepare for tuition. Then night classes. Indian kids just don't have access to facilities, infrastructure and the culture that promotes sport. So they are doing well considering the limited exposure to sports in general. 

Africa can't be compared. Those fkers actually train sports in school. They promote sports and parents encourage it. They are at the opposite end of the spectrum. Africans in general are less focused on education, hence the ardent interest in sports. Sports culture is pervasive amongst their societies. 

Most Indian schools don't even have required sporting faculties to do anything.  India could be number 1 in Volleyball if it wishes to. 

Wasting money on cricket in every possible way leaves little room for other sports to grow. 

47 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Most Indian schools don't even have required sporting faculties to do anything.  India could be number 1 in Volleyball if it wishes to. 

Wasting money on cricket in every possible way leaves little room for other sports to grow. 

The case in point is a sport like hockey.. in Europe and Aus.. a sport which not many people play or can earn decent money like superstar cricketers but these countries produce the best players why? Its because sports culture is embedded into them as a baby and they are around many sports at a young age and can do many of them in clubs and then pick one they like. They might not be amazing at studies and have a average job but they have the domestic structure and club scene to contnue their passion and represent the country.

Untill the culture for sports doesnt change in India we will be left playing a sport ( glorified gili danda) which only we are serious about and no one else.

17 hours ago, speedracer said:

Chinese dominate in more docile sports. No offence. As much as I respect how well they do in Olympics, they never dominate in athletic sports or combat except weight lifting in lower weight classes. 

100 m

Olympic weight lifting

Wrestling

Boxing

Hockey

Football

Shot Put

Javelin throw

Swimming 100 m dash Chinese have actually started to do well. It's tough endurance wise but still a non combat /physical type event. 

Chinese are pretty good in combat sports, below Japan but far ahead of other Asian countries for sure. Even in wrestling, boxing they are comfortably ahead of India. And MMA. They do exceptionally well in high weight category weightlifting as well, in womens' field events win gold in shot put, javelin etc. 

In combat/physical type of events India won't match them in our lifetime. 

40 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Chinese are pretty good in combat sports, below Japan but far ahead of other Asian countries for sure. Even in wrestling, boxing they are comfortably ahead of India. And MMA. They do exceptionally well in high weight category weightlifting as well, in womens' field events win gold in shot put, javelin etc. 

In combat/physical type of events India won't match them in our lifetime. 

Ist the secret sauce which we don't have access to. Russia Americans all specialise in peds which we won't have access to. 

There is no way Chinese or Japanese have superior genes than us for combat or physical sports naturally. India has plenty of talent. We just don't have the resources, sports culture or support to grow and develop our athletes. 

16 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

The case in point is a sport like hockey.. in Europe and Aus.. a sport which not many people play or can earn decent money like superstar cricketers but these countries produce the best players why? Its because sports culture is embedded into them as a baby and they are around many sports at a young age and can do many of them in clubs and then pick one they like. They might not be amazing at studies and have a average job but they have the domestic structure and club scene to contnue their passion and represent the country.

Untill the culture for sports doesnt change in India we will be left playing a sport ( glorified gili danda) which only we are serious about and no one else.

This is 100% true. Nothing to do with genetics. I don't believe that ****. I have seen too many strong well built Indians who are actually athletic too. We lack the sports culture. Until that changes we won't grow despite having natural talent and physical attributes.

Anyone who thinks Indian kids these days are small lol then you must be delusional. Average height etc has grown alot. Size wise. As we get richer overtime things will change. 

Edited by speedracer
4 hours ago, speedracer said:

Ist the secret sauce which we don't have access to. Russia Americans all specialise in peds which we won't have access to. 

There is no way Chinese or Japanese have superior genes than us for combat or physical sports naturally. India has plenty of talent. We just don't have the resources, sports culture or support to grow and develop our athletes. 

I never talked about genes. Just said that you are underestimating Chinese success in sports. 

2 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

well the next highest bid was 91 crores... why would anyone overpay by 800 crores is beyond my imagination

That is my point.800 crores more does not look right, something is fishy.

91 crores looks like legit offer and noway they are recouping  891 crores on woman's ipl first 5 seasons.

On 1/16/2023 at 3:08 PM, LordPrabhzy said:

A good step but will stadiums fill up for the Womens IPL?

It wont be a good look for Viacom if matches are played in half empty stadiums

The aus india matches had full houses because there was no tickets. You just needed a pass. If they make a ticket rs 500 the stadiums will be full. Also lot of school children will be given free tickets. This is the first year .. bcci will go hell for leather to fill up the stadium.. 

On 1/18/2023 at 12:07 PM, putrevus said:

That is my point.800 crores more does not look right, something is fishy.

91 crores looks like legit offer and noway they are recouping  891 crores on woman's ipl first 5 seasons.

91 crores per season ie 455 crores was the next highest bid. 891 crores was the winning bid kind of double. Lol 91 crores for 5 seasons.. even tnpl earns more than that. 91 crores works out to 80 lakhs a match..

On 1/16/2023 at 8:38 PM, LordPrabhzy said:

A good step but will stadiums fill up for the Womens IPL?

No, because all matches are in Mumbai. No home and away format. Guaranteed empty stadiums.

IMO they should've had WIPL teams only in cities which don't already have IPL teams. I get the logic of carrying over established brands to the WIPL but I don't think the fans in those cities will show that same enthusiasm for their women's team when they already have men's team. They should've had Women's IPL in cities that are hungry for a (men's) IPL team but know that they can't get it.

On 1/16/2023 at 9:09 PM, Gollum said:

IMO among women's sports only tennis is watchable. That too glamour, fashion, legacy etc. play a big role in attracting eyeballs. Women's hockey is technically beautiful to watch but everything in slow motion. 

Ever watched beach volleyball? :wink:

On 1/17/2023 at 3:22 PM, speedracer said:

India can excel in many of these sports But do parents encourage sports? All schools do is promote education. Study. After school you need to prepare for tuition. Then night classes. Indian kids just don't have access to facilities, infrastructure and the culture that promotes sport. So they are doing well considering the limited exposure to sports in general. 

IMO we should do what Japan does and have extra-curricular activities be compulsory in schools. Maybe we should have sports clubs after school right from U10 level and they would be trained by certified coaches. Then we would have inter-school competitions at city/district level, then the best from there would be selected to represent the city/district at State level, then the best from there would be selected to represent the state at national level. From there we pick the best to represent the country. Imagine if we introduced a lot of different sports in India this way.

8 hours ago, TNAmarkFromIndia said:

No, because all matches are in Mumbai. No home and away format. Guaranteed empty stadiums.

IMO they should've had WIPL teams only in cities which don't already have IPL teams. I get the logic of carrying over established brands to the WIPL but I don't think the fans in those cities will show that same enthusiasm for their women's team when they already have men's team. They should've had Women's IPL in cities that are hungry for a (men's) IPL team but know that they can't get it.

Ever watched beach volleyball? :wink:

IMO we should do what Japan does and have extra-curricular activities be compulsory in schools. Maybe we should have sports clubs after school right from U10 level and they would be trained by certified coaches. Then we would have inter-school competitions at city/district level, then the best from there would be selected to represent the city/district at State level, then the best from there would be selected to represent the state at national level. From there we pick the best to represent the country. Imagine if we introduced a lot of different sports in India this way.

No they are not

The BCCI has listed ten Indian cities and the venues in the tender document, which allows a single party to bid for more than one city. There is no base price set, and bids will be accepted for a ten-year period - 2023 to 2032. The ten shortlisted cities and venues are Ahmedabad (Narendra Modi Stadium, capacity 112,560), Kolkata (Eden Gardens, 65,000), Chennai (MA Chidambaram Stadium, 50,000), Bengaluru (M Chinnaswamy Stadium, 42,000), Delhi (Arun Jaitley Stadium, 55,000), Dharamsala (HPCA stadium, 20,900), Guwahati (Barsapara Stadium, 38,650), Indore (Holkar Stadium, 26,900), Lucknow (AB Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, 48,800) and Mumbai (Wankhede/DY Patil/Brabourne Stadiums).

On 1/16/2023 at 11:45 PM, sage said:

Massively overbid

bvlgfxi58jca1.jpg?width=772&auto=webp&v=enabled&s=0570b7fe70e1d85e8654ceaa948abda4fd4c340b

Not really. Ambani will find ways to market this better than Disney can. Maybe he packages this with other stuff to make his digital assets more valuable. The guy knows how to make money. Also,  the WIPL itself will improve every year. More opportunities for people to play. Big jumps in standards. I bet 10 years this price will seem cheap.

8 hours ago, kirkutfan said:

Not really. Ambani will find ways to market this better than Disney can. Maybe he packages this with other stuff to make his digital assets more valuable. The guy knows how to make money. Also,  the WIPL itself will improve every year. More opportunities for people to play. Big jumps in standards. I bet 10 years this price will seem cheap.

The I PEE ELL didnt really imprive the Indian T20 team standards did it... we havent won any T20 WC since 2007 :hysterical:

19 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

The I PEE ELL didnt really imprive the Indian T20 team standards did it... we havent won any T20 WC since 2007 :hysterical:

WPL is a bit different. It will be a catalyst for many of our girls to just take up cricket or just sport period. Our culture has been limiting on women playing sport for way too long (although things are changing for the good).  This will be one opportunity in the right direction. Separately, I do think IPL has been good for Indian cricket. Although I agree with you that India should have won more tournaments. But I think that has been more because of the problems we have had in picking the right eleven or the lack of good strategy. Don’t think the talent in the IPL has been the problem.

On 1/24/2023 at 7:08 PM, LordPrabhzy said:

No they are not

The BCCI has listed ten Indian cities and the venues in the tender document, which allows a single party to bid for more than one city. There is no base price set, and bids will be accepted for a ten-year period - 2023 to 2032. The ten shortlisted cities and venues are Ahmedabad (Narendra Modi Stadium, capacity 112,560), Kolkata (Eden Gardens, 65,000), Chennai (MA Chidambaram Stadium, 50,000), Bengaluru (M Chinnaswamy Stadium, 42,000), Delhi (Arun Jaitley Stadium, 55,000), Dharamsala (HPCA stadium, 20,900), Guwahati (Barsapara Stadium, 38,650), Indore (Holkar Stadium, 26,900), Lucknow (AB Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, 48,800) and Mumbai (Wankhede/DY Patil/Brabourne Stadiums).

Read this new report:

MUMBAI: The BCCI might stage the entire inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL), scheduled to be held in March (March 4-26 likely dates), in Maharashtra itself, TOI has learnt. The 22 matches of the T20 league are likely to be held at three venues in Mumbai — the Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne Stadium at Cricket Club of India, the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, and the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Gahunje, near Pune. The final is likely to be staged at the iconic Wankhede Stadium.

What seems to have made the Board confident about staging the tournament is the phenomenal response of the crowds-47,000 fans turned up at the DY Patil Stadium for the second match during the T20I series between India and Australia in December-while even the Brabourne Stadium was almost full for the last three games. On the day the WPL teams were sold, BCCI secretary Jay Shah said that it was the impressive crowd for the Women’s T20 Challenge final last year that convinced him to start the league in India.

Edited by TNAmarkFromIndia