bcci on youtube - WHEN ?

Vk1

youtube is not some social media platform.. it is the most watched thing in the world ( excl whatsapp).. when will bcci heads realize this.. 

imagine the official shorts of umesh yadav & shami dismissing batsmen clean bowling them, getting them out with bouncers.. imagine the impact it would create on 12 year olds to pick up the ball and bowl fast or the motivation to try the smarts of Ashwin - guile, drift, dip & beauty of his bowling in tests.. what the hell is stopping them from doing it when all the boards are already doing it and promoting the game amongst their countrymen plus monetizing it.. when will we get to see SKY, kohli, rohits outstanding knocks in India with HD quality.. is this due to some soviet era socialist mindset that makes them worry about losing some cut of revenue to youtube that is stopping them?

Edited by Vk1
3 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

Broadcasters ain't paying BCCI 50,000 cr for it to just put matches on YouTube. No one will ever go to Hotstar/Jioapp to watch the highlights if it's already there on YouTube. 

so why does ECB and CA put their official highlights on Youtube even though Sky/BT and CHannel 9 etc pay millions for the same broadcasting rights?

26 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

so why does ECB and CA put their official highlights on Youtube even though Sky/BT and CHannel 9 etc pay millions for the same broadcasting rights?

Their deal is no where near our ball park. Not even close! 

Also the foreign boards earn sizable YouTube revenue from Indian viewers (who won't ever subscribe to their Sky/BT but can watch their YT videos). 

On the other hand few foreigners watch Indian cricket videos on YT. The Indians will anyway subscribe Jio/Hotstar to watch the IPL. So no incentive for BCCI to upset the broadcasters by uploading matches on YT.

They also have their BCCI.tv to promote, which again no one will visit if highlights are available on YT. 

1 hour ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Because we are rich and they are poverty boards lol. Thanks to Indian population. BCCI sold rights close to 6.2 billion for 2023 -27 cycle. CA makes 1 billion for 6 years and ECB makes 220 million each year.

Edited by gattaca
48 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

Their deal is no where near our ball park. Not even close! 

Also the foreign boards earn sizable YouTube revenue from Indian viewers (who won't ever subscribe to their Sky/BT but can watch their YT videos). 

On the other hand few foreigners watch Indian cricket videos on YT. The Indians will anyway subscribe Jio/Hotstar to watch the IPL. So no incentive for BCCI to upset the broadcasters by uploading matches on YT.

They also have their BCCI.tv to promote, which again no one will visit if highlights are available on YT. 

25 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Because we are rich and they are poverty boards lol. Thanks to Indian population. BCCI sold rights close to 6.2 billion for 2023 -27 cycle. CA makes 1 billion for 6 years and ECB makes 220 million each year.

Im not talking about full matches... im just talking about highlights- the reason ECB/CA put highlights on youtube is that potential fans can see the production quality and then in the desire to watch the match live will subscribe to Sky or BT at the full price.

Paying money to watch matches live on Hotstar shouldnt have any effect on just the highlights being on youtube. Aand talking about BCCI Tv... ECB have the same highlights they show on Youtube on their own website too.. the cricket board website is unimportant to a fan... dunno why you are making the BCCI one more important than it is

Edited by LordPrabhzy
36 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Im not talking about full matches... im just talking about highlights- the reason ECB/CA put highlights on youtube is that potential fans can see the production quality and then in the desire to watch the match live will subscribe to Sky or BT at the full price.

Paying money to watch matches live on Hotstar shouldnt have any effect on just the highlights being on youtube. Aand talking about BCCI Tv... ECB have the same highlights they show on Youtube on their own website too.. the cricket board website is unimportant to a fan... dunno why you are making the BCCI one more important than it is

yes I was referring to the moments/ highlights.. idk why people assumed it for live broadcast.. 10 min highlights how many people would watch on hotstar vs youtube.. even if the deal comes 10-20% cheaper for bcci they will almost make it up with YT revenue or with the impact it creates on budding youngsters 

Edited by Vk1
50 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

14 minutes ago, Vk1 said:

yes I was referring to the moments/ highlights.. idk why people assumed it for live broadcast.. 10 min highlights how many people would watch on hotstar vs youtube.. even if the deal comes 10-20% cheaper for bcci they will almost make it up with YT revenue or with the impact it creates on budding youngsters 

edit: It seems bcci signs digital rights which includes highlights. Basically it’s in the contract only broadcaster can put highlights or bcci.

Edited by gattaca
3 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Why would BCCI still give its user base traffic to google when they can come and watch freely on BCCI tv. The user base is the most important thing for an enterprise like BCCI giving them to a competitor is not good business. BCCI tv is free as well and all about Indian domestic and international cricket. This would make sure Indian audience don’t watch foreign matches on YT unless they specifically go there. 

You do know BCCI is a BOARD not a broadcaster.. and the more videos it puts up on YT, BCCI itself makes money from the views due to inorganic/indirect views from fans ALREADY on the platform- i personally detest going to watch highlights on BCCI itself as its not that user friendly.

Again you're confusing highlights vs a full live match- i mean the converse is true for the Hockey World cup, the highlights put on by FIH on YT are the WORST ones ever but that doesnt affect where I watch the match live does it?

1 minute ago, LordPrabhzy said:

You do know BCCI is a BOARD not a broadcaster.. and the more videos it puts up on YT, BCCI itself makes money from the views due to inorganic/indirect views from fans ALREADY on the platform- i personally detest going to watch highlights on BCCI itself as its not that user friendly.

Again you're confusing highlights vs a full live match- i mean the converse is true for the Hockey World cup, the highlights put on by FIH on YT are the WORST ones ever but that doesnt affect where I watch the match live does it?

it’s seems it’s in the contract for digital rights that includes highlights along with live rights.

2 minutes ago, gattaca said:

it’s seems it’s in the contract for digital rights that includes highlights along with live rights.

Well for the greed for a few extra crores BCCI is not willing to look at the bigger picture of being inclusive in the wider cricket community on YT by atleast putting good production highlights so that EVERYONE and not just indian fans in India can watch it.

Im sure the CA highlights of the Gabba test (65 m views) is watched by ALL cricket fans and not just Indian ones dont you agree?

4 hours ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Highlights matter. Many people (like myself) mostly watch the highlights not full matches. If highlights were available on YT, I would NEVER watch it on their app.

Broadcaster have only to lose in this scenario. Google (which failed in the bidding) will get IPL content literally for free! No one will pay BCCI 50000 crores then. 

Btw ECB/CA put content on YouTube to attract Indian subcontinent audience who otherwise will/can never subscribe to SKY/BT.

If you don’t watch live matches and if people like you who only watch highlights, are then majority then why are broadcasters paying thousands of crores for live match rights :hysterical:

Google won’t get it for free… if BCCI Monetise the videos on YouTube they literally are the ones making money ( with YouTube maybe a small %) 

49 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

If you don’t watch live matches and if people like you who only watch highlights, are then majority then why are broadcasters paying thousands of crores for live match rights :hysterical:

Google won’t get it for free… if BCCI Monetise the videos on YouTube they literally are the ones making money ( with YouTube maybe a small %) 

Rights are sold as a combined package (TV+Online streaming). Jio already paid more than what Google would have paid. BCCI can't sell to YouTube even if it wanted to because of contract obligation. 

Also Google takes the lion's share of YT revenue not a small%age.

1 hour ago, AuxiliA said:

Rights are sold as a combined package (TV+Online streaming). Jio already paid more than what Google would have paid. BCCI can't sell to YouTube even if it wanted to because of contract obligation. 

Also Google takes the lion's share of YT revenue not a small%age.

Well thats what i just said before.. they can easily stipulate the contracts to say highlights of the streaming will be more widely available. Lena hai to lo. you forget BCCI is the one selling the rights, they have the ability to mould the contracts. As i said there isnt a tangible disadvantage to anyone with the official highlights being on Youtube which has a global audience of billions.. not the BCCI Tv website

26 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Well thats what i just said before.. they can easily stipulate the contracts to say highlights of the streaming will be more widely available. Lena hai to lo. you forget BCCI is the one selling the rights, they have the ability to mould the contracts. As i said there isnt a tangible disadvantage to anyone with the official highlights being on Youtube which has a global audience of billions.. not the BCCI Tv website

BCCI tv is a minor factor. Main thing is that Broadcasters want complete control over the rights that is why they pay so much for the combined rights. BCCI being the owner of IPL & team India can upload on its platform but can't on a rival platform like YT. 

It makes perfect business sense for the broadcasters to not allow Google a free ride which will also be eating into their revenues. 

11 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

BCCI tv is a minor factor. Main thing is that Broadcasters want complete control over the rights that is why they pay so much for the combined rights. BCCI being the owner of IPL & team India can upload on its platform but can't on a rival platform like YT. 

It makes perfect business sense for the broadcasters to not allow Google a free ride which will also be eating into their revenues. 

Just as an example. Sky purchased IPL rights for 3 years to show all 60 matches live.. BUT they also put the match highlights on their YouTube channel? Aren't they giving their revenue away to Google? Maybe some BUT the upside is whoever wants to watch the matches live WILL have to subscribe to SKY. Using your point Sky should put even the highlights behind a paywall because they have paid millions for the TV rights..

I have no issues with Hotstar or Viacom putting highlights on their YouTube channel for people who are not subscribed in the hope they eventually do.

There are several OTT and Over the air broadcasters fighting over the rights and shelling huge amount of money to BCCI, would they like BCCI to have an youtube channel and put the videos there -No.

As the videos are BCCI's property they are hosting them on their own website

These OTT and other broadcasters have their own youtube channels where they feature those highlights so they wont want a competition on their content by any other channel.

Also with youtube people can use other creators contents and use them for educational and provide their own inputs and commentary, it would be hard for BCCI keep filing cases and sort-out a resolution. Too much trouble for a BCCI which is not in broadcasting, he will have to heir a new law team for this.

I think they did broadcast few IPL seasons on youtube but then moved away, not sure why it was.

Edited by tapandrun