India vs Australia - Semi Final - Women's world T20, Capetown

vvvslaxman

2 hours ago, Number said:

Problem is not mental.

Problem is also mental - without 2001 series win we probably don't dominate Oz in tests as we have generally in the last 20 odd years! If you remember the 2011 KO win over Oz that also broke their 15+ years streak of being unbeaten in WC KO games. We need those big breaks against good teams to kind of have a legacy or something (of strength) to get back to. You could also say the same about Brisbane 2021 but we'll have to see how that plays out.

46 minutes ago, Bigg Brother said:

Thank God didn't watch the match. Another heartbreak for girls. Anyway this Aussie team is the GOAT..

Actually quiet a good match until that fateful run out. After 2 wickets writing was on the wall. But Jemima and Kaur turned it around brought us to a point where we were going to convincingly thrash Australia. After that run out things got difficult. We still had chance. But Ghosh played a stupid shot.

5 hours ago, R!TTER said:

Problem is also mental - without 2001 series win we probably don't dominate Oz in tests as we have generally in the last 20 odd years! If you remember the 2011 KO win over Oz that also broke their 15+ years streak of being unbeaten in WC KO games. We need those big breaks against good teams to kind of have a legacy or something (of strength) to get back to. You could also say the same about Brisbane 2021 but we'll have to see how that plays out.

That may be true but to challenge this Australian team consistently you need quality. Indian mens team in 2000s could challenge them because we had quality players. This team has Mandhana, Kaur and Jemimah that's it. You can't win T20 WCs with such a poor tail and just 3 good batters.

Edited by Number
4 minutes ago, Number said:

That may be true but to challenge this Australian team consistently you need quality. Indian mens team in 2000s could challenge them because we had quality players. This team has Mandhana, Kaur and Jemimah that's it. You can't win T20 WCs with such a poor tail and just 3 good batters.

I told already in order to beat this Australian side you have play 40 overs of good cricket not 36 overs of good cricket. They came back in the last 4 overs.

9 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Manhoosiyat ka dusra naam:finger:...  That thumps moment was unforgettable though. 

Nakli baalon wala Baby Yoda:phehe:

aap chronology samajhiye. Pehle yeh aaya, fir India mein cricket aaya. Pehle Congress aayee, fir nepotism, fir BJP mein nepotism abhi tak nahi aayee :hysterical:

11 hours ago, Gollum said:

Bhai, great players conserve their energy in initial rounds, rarely go at full tilt. Sania's FH had reasonable power, BH was weak. It's ok to say she had power, but that bolded bit is hyperbole, please don't get carried away by Indian media hype train. 

Mental part is missing, brains as well as mental conditioning. Also see that with our athletes from other sports. We often lose in the mental department. Clutch Indian sportspersons are exceptions. 

indian players often have skill, but either lack brains or guts (mental toughness) or both

9 hours ago, R!TTER said:

We dominated the Aussies in the 1998 home test series with Sidhu, Laxman and Sachin clubbing Warne around like a club bowler. We won the one off test in '96 with Mongia scoring a big hundred. It is during the 1999 WC that the Aussies turned into a wining machine with self belief in any kind of situation. Their juggernaut kept rolling on and on for 2 years, finally getting stopped by India in 2001. 

4 minutes ago, Need4Speed said:

To be a top side having good chances agaibst Aussie team..Indian women first hv to consistently beat England,Nz etc

You never give Aussies a sniff in world cup. THey will grab it. Border built that culture in the 80s. That is still going strong. I remember in 1996 world cup. Australia 15/4. West Indies had a chance to kill it. They allowed them to put up 207. Then while chasing they were like 165 for 1 and imploded.

12 hours ago, nevada said:

We dominated the Aussies in the 1998 home test series with Sidhu, Laxman and Sachin clubbing Warne around like a club bowler. We won the one off test in '96 with Mongia scoring a big hundred. It is during the 1999 WC that the Aussies turned into a wining machine with self belief in any kind of situation. Their juggernaut kept rolling on and on for 2 years, finally getting stopped by India in 2001. 

Mcg didn't play in 98 & we hadn't beaten Oz in WC since 83, till 2011 btw, so no the streaks were kinda longer. But 2001 was definitely a seminal moment, just as 2005 was for Eng. I'd agree that Ind in Oz was always competitive & generally favorable to us, but we were major bunnies away - 2001 also changed that, as did SCG's first test hundred at Brisbane in 2004 tour albeit with a slightly weaker Oz attack.

12 hours ago, nevada said:

Gilchrist & Langer partnership against Pakistan was the defining moment of their domination.