Lower your expectations - Rahul Dravid

My expectations has went into the basement.....so much so that I often doze off while watching the match.
Thank you Rahul Dravid, for taking Indian cricket into the new dimenisons of shamelessness....if loosing to Bangladesh wasn't enough.
We have stooped to that level where a 50 of Kohli is more important than winning for the team.

12 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Shastri is  a bit more practical. But his fan boy nature doesn't help much. You cannot be a fanboy of your own team member. That is a clear conflict of interest.  Rahul Dravid doesn't take bold calls. Has no real new philosophy to take the team forward, help with transition. When Shastri left India was already ready for transition. But Dravid went 2 steps back and brought back even older players.

Shastri understood, captain is the most important and his job is only empower him with knowledge. It is not being fanboy.He never questioned or spoke bad about his captain in public which is right thing to do again.

He has understanding of the game , he brought in Bharat Arun when nobody wanted him .These three stuges Sachin, Ganguly and Laxman wanted Zaheer Khan to be bowling coach.

Was Shastri over the top hype , yes he hyped himself and his team .Did he win the cups no but he got them close.

He rode his coaches hard but was jovial with players. picking  team up from 36 allout and then sealing the series in not easy thing to do.

Aussies did something similar this tour after Delhi test, they became a better unit where as Dravid and Rohit sat on their asses doing nothing taking things for granted.

Our idiot Rohit took Aussies so lightly , he was planning to ask for greentop in fourth test. Where was Dravid, Aussies infront of our eyes were becoming better team.Same thing happened in SA , England.

On 3/23/2023 at 9:27 AM, Sandeep99 said:

Rahul Dravid is ready to gift this nation another disaster after 2007 world cup. But he's right, it's the fans to be blamed. How can you expect serial chokers failing since the last 10 years suddenly to turn a tide and become world champions?

It is pretty clear that this team lacks the stomach for big games and the fans keep expecting miracles. Our players are good enough only for advertisements, IPL and bilaterals against mercenary Windies, Lankans. They will most certainly choke and lose against any other decent opponents.

The best thing for the Indian fans to hope for is for this Indian team to crash and burn in the league stages of the ODI world cup at home so that wholesale changes can take place and all the deadwood can be chopped off.

Even then Gavaskar grand pa will say… we shouldn’t take impulsive decision to drop Kohli/Rohit, we are talking about dropping players with 70 combined century and moreover one bad tournament can happen to anyone and players are already feeling bad about it.

17 hours ago, putrevus said:

Shastri understood, captain is the most important and his job is only empower him with knowledge. It is not being fanboy.He never questioned or spoke bad about his captain in public which is right thing to do again.

He has understanding of the game , he brought in Bharat Arun when nobody wanted him .These three stuges Sachin, Ganguly and Laxman wanted Zaheer Khan to be bowling coach.

Was Shastri over the top hype , yes he hyped himself and his team .Did he win the cups no but he got them close.

He rode his coaches hard but was jovial with players. picking  team up from 36 allout and then sealing the series in not easy thing to do.

Aussies did something similar this tour after Delhi test, they became a better unit where as Dravid and Rohit sat on their asses doing nothing taking things for granted.

Our idiot Rohit took Aussies so lightly , he was planning to ask for greentop in fourth test. Where was Dravid, Aussies infront of our eyes were becoming better team.Same thing happened in SA , England.

How do you know Dravid is not empowering Rohit?  You can criticise Dravid without indulging in revisionism of the past. 

Here are some of absolute blunders that Kohli and/or Shastri indulged in across formats.

2016 World T20 -

Shastri as coach oversaw a T20 side that had friggin Ajinkya Rahane as an opener with a strike rate of 113 and Manish Pandey striking in the 120's in the format in the playing XI.  

Does he take responsibility for allowing such stupid selections or was this empowering Dhoni to make the same? 

2017 CT

Kohli plays 2 spinners, a past it Yuvraj etc. on a flat Oval deck while bowling first and gets destroyed . No accountability  whatsoever 

2017/18 tour of South Africa

Shastri and Kohli decided the best way to prepare for a Test series in SA was to play SL on a greentop in an ODI. The batters all flopped in the live rubbers of that Test series. 

2018 India tour of England  

Dhoni plays an absolute rubbish knock in one of the ODIs and the crowds boo him. Everyone knows he's finished, continues to play regardless  

On one of the liveliest decks in England, the aggressive duo played 2 spinners including a young Kuldeep Yadav because they thought England are incompetent against our spinners . Innings defeat. 

2018 WI tour of India

Rohit/Dravid are accused of poor selections instead of blaming the selectors.  Yet MSK Prasad was blamed as if he could go against anything Kohli/Shastri wanted .   India plays Shardul Thakur instead of a red hot Mohammad Siraj and Thakur gets injured in his very first over.  India just about win the Test because we had an extra spinner .

2018/19 India tour of Australia

1st ODI.

Rohit plays a stellar knock at 100 +and India would have won but Dhoni scored 51 @ 53 strike rate and stinks up the joint. It's is said that Shastri had made it clear during the England ODI series that any selfish player would be thrown out of the team(referencing Dhoni) . 

Turned out that talk was cheap. 

2019 India tour of New Zealand

Kohli publicly said in a PC that Rayudu would be the number 4 in the World Cup after good performances in the series. 

Rayudu failed in the Australia ODI series in 3 matches. Wasn't the only one . Dhoni played a shocker in Ranchi but Rayudu dropped from the World Cup.

Siraj was played in ODIs instead of Tests - senseless decision if ever there was one - and then discarded quickly. He had to wait 2 years to get into Test side  

2019 World Cup selections 

Already mentioned the Rayudu U turn. We picked 3 spinners,  when every other top 6 side picked only 2 spinners. The lack of an extra fast bowler meant we could not rotate the pacers properly in a long league stage.

Crucial matches like England game, our spinners got hammered where an extra pacer would have stemmed the run flow . I believe the justification was that Hardik was pretty much the 4th seamer.  This after Hardik had just come back from a serious back injury . 

In addition, we selected 3 wicket keepers in past it Dhoni,  never was DK and a newbie who didn't have enough chances in the lead up. 

India tour of NZ 2019/2020

Kohli/Shastri 's philosophy of batting out of the crease to counter movement was exposed once again bowler friendly conditions . What's worse even guys who had shown that they are stronger off the back foot like Mayank had regressed in this period and were adopting the flawed team approach.  

KW and his lineup were much deeper in their creases on average and were looking to score square of the wicket.  2-0 thrashing  

Continously played Shardul Thakur in all 3 ODIs and he conceded 8 RPO every match while next highest was below 7 RPO  .

Kept playing the worst bowler.

WTC final

Once again, the aggressive batting out of the crease by the team flops especially against the pace and bounce of Jamieson. Clearly did not learn from their failures on ENG/NZ/SA tours  

2021 World T20

No need to explain this 

And these are only the ones I remember. 

It's easy to say Shastri and Kohli were better but Shastri and Kohli made extremely stupid decisions over a 5 year period. Let's not forget 

Edited by Nikhil_cric

Dhoni should have been dropped in 2017 itself when he scored 54 off a whopping 114 balls(19 overs) against the might west indies of all teams promptly losing the game. That should have been the first warning. The biggest freeloader of Indian team is undoubtedly dhoni who was way past his sell by date by atleast 4 years...I for one as an indian never liked the camaraderie between Kohli and Dhoni...The former idolised the latter far too much and had lost all objectivity in picking a team that could actually win. This was Kohli's biggest reason to not win anything in his tenure.

BTW, you forgot his yet another selfish match losing WC semi knock in 2019. It was almost ditto to his 2015 knock which served the team with nothing.

P.S: i'm not falling for the stern warning by shasthri...He had no power. Especially not against sennai supari king dhoni.

1 hour ago, Nikhil_cric said:

2018 India tour of England  

Dhoni plays an absolute rubbish knock in one of the ODIs and the crowds boo him. Everyone knows he's finished, continues to play regardless 

2018/19 India tour of Australia

1st ODI.

Rohit plays a stellar knock at 100 +and India would have won but Dhoni scored 51 @ 53 strike rate and stinks up the joint. It's is said that Shastri had made it clear during the England ODI series that any selfish player would be thrown out of the team(referencing Dhoni) . 

Turned out that talk was cheap. 

2019 India tour of New Zealand

. Dhoni played a shocker in Ranchi but Rayudu dropped from the World Cup.

Edited by Stan AF
On 3/8/2023 at 4:21 AM, diga said:

Dravid says be realistic while you changed the headline to "lower" for more eyeballs.. 

This guy is a disingenuous troll. Same goes for all the other clowns cheering him on. One thing you can never question is Dravid's commitment to Indian cricket. 

Edited by Kothili
On 3/24/2023 at 9:23 PM, Stan AF said:

Dhoni got booed and deservedly so twice in England. One in 2018 during the ODIs and again during the group match against england in wc 2019. None of the fools in BCCI had any power to confront him. Jadeja was hitting out of his skin during the semi while this fool was eating balls.

But but 2007 2011 2013 champion only. Live in the past no. 

Bullshit. This is sport. You either perform or perish. 2 years of poor performance is more than sufficient to rule these players out.

On 3/8/2023 at 1:47 PM, Adamant said:

If there was IPL at that time even those players would have done the same. 

Ipl has had a negative impact on our cricket, players like Hooda, Krunal, Dube etc get picked only bcoz of that crap, also sky in test cricket ahead of Sarfaraz. 

IPL doesn't make decisions,its on selectors

IPL gives you players to choose from a set of standouts for t20s

It's upto selectors rather to make right choices for right formats

4 hours ago, Suhaan said:

IPL doesn't make decisions,its on selectors

IPL gives you players to choose from a set of standouts for t20s

It's upto selectors rather to make right choices for right formats

And what about preparation for WTC, the Australian team which is way better than ours in English conditions was busy with WTC prep, some of them even played county cricket, OTOH we had the idiotic IPL. 

This is disrespect for test cricket and the results showed that. 

For idiots who think we would have won if youngsters were selected x wait a while, you people will be shown your youngsters aukaad in the upcoming days. 

Bina practice kiye youngster Smith aur Labuschagne se better nahi ho jaenge. 

We needed prep time for WTC finals, if the main purpose of our cricket is IPL then we shouldn't be disappointed if we continue to lose these world tournaments. 

Indians ko bahut galatfehmi hai apne youngsters ke baare mai, ek ke baad ek sabki aukaad dikhegi, ruko abhi. 

Also great to see that people who called Shaw the next Tendulkar have been hammered into oblivion, abhi aur bhi dekho. 

Umran already got destroyed this ipl. 

150kph ko 200kph raftaar se chakke ghale. 

Still there are posters on this forum who believe that having pace is enough, lol. The problem with them is they won't ever admit that they were wrong.