What concerns you about India the most?

MechEng

9 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Kaunsa middle income country???

People who make 25 lacs and above per annum are very few. I'd even go on to say that the median income of the nation is not even 5 lacs per annum, thereby not qualifying to pay taxes.

So where does all the actual tax money go? Is that amount sufficient to support such a large population? Does 100% of the tax money gets utilized? I don't think so if you look at the sorry state of public transportation in Mumbai.

The middle class is already getting peanuts in hand without any additional benefits like in EU, and then cronies bark about 70 hrs/week which will only further shrink the middle class with most of them looking to emigrate to economies with sane work culture.

Govt considering the avg salary of country as 15k per month, what's why minimum PF is 1800 or 12% of monthly salary.
Hence the median is 1.8LPA

17 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Kaunsa middle income country???

People who make 25 lacs and above per annum are very few. I'd even go on to say that the median income of the nation is not even 5 lacs per annum, thereby not qualifying to pay taxes.

So where does all the actual tax money go? Is that amount sufficient to support such a large population? Does 100% of the tax money gets utilized? I don't think so if you look at the sorry state of public transportation in Mumbai.

The middle class is already getting peanuts in hand without any additional benefits like in EU, and then cronies bark about 70 hrs/week which will only further shrink the middle class with most of them looking to emigrate to economies with sane work culture.

Urban middle class privilege by definition. You can be living in $3000 per capita GDP country like India vs EU ( $40,000 per capita) , can be earning 25 lakhs ( $30,000 per capita), pay lower tax than EU country ( 33% vs 40% ) and still expect EU level standard of living overnight. 

Those who feel they need to leave and can leave will leave. 

Edited by ravishingravi

55 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Merely working hard isn't enough IMO, people needs to be compensated as well accordingly.
A tier cities are extremely costly now, a fresher joining with a salary of 22-25k per month will have a hard time managing his finances. How he's supposed to work with dedication if he knows that by end of the month he will literally end up asking loans from his colleagues to meet his ends....and usually freshers are the over-milked species in an IT industry on the account of "on-job learning".

I joined IT industry in 2012, now it's 2024, the initial pay scale is more or less the same. While the rates have doubled or even tripled at some sectors. A fresher living in such condition will start switching jobs every year or two for the CTC alone, that will become his core focus, not acquiring the skills.

People read and view statements from their lens. A techie will understand this from perspective of average Joe engineer getting paid peanuts and won't see another dime for the additional work. 

I on the other hand am not looking at it from tech or techie perspective necessarily. I look at markets and see it as function of demand and supply. We have created way too many generics without the focus on ongoing disruption. It is not just upto corporates but also upto individuals to drive their career paths. 

Having said that, there is something called personal agency. If as a young techie, you haven't worked on python/ SQL, not shown keenness on llm, not shown interest in learning data architecture/ science, not worked towards full stack expertise, you are cornering your market. And thess learnings are not responsibility of any organization. 

People willing to work hard, adapt and pick up new skills will succeed. Folks who don't will keep asking why tech companies don't pay more. 

So 70 hours for me is not about working for a company. 70 hours us about working on yourself. Investing in yourself. 

At the moment:

* The rise of extremism and the culture of hate (probably seen as fashionable)

* Pollution and inadequate waste management infrastructure. A relative lack of green open spaces for the community.

* Overpopulation 

* Corruption 

* Law and order situation (esp. safety concerns for women, children, and elders, and where the powerful can bend the law to their advantage). 

PS 

* Pedestrian unfriendly infrastructure where it is difficult to find cross walks, side walks, etc. (no bi-cycle lanes as well)

* An education system that probably overburdens the students possibly hindering their 360 degrees development.

4 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

People read and view statements from their lens. A techie will understand this from perspective of average Joe engineer getting paid peanuts and won't see another dime for the additional work. 

I on the other hand am not looking at it from tech or techie perspective necessarily. I look at markets and see it as function of demand and supply. We have created way too many generics without the focus on ongoing disruption. It is not just upto corporates but also upto individuals to drive their career paths. 

Having said that, there is something called personal agency. If as a young techie, you haven't worked on python/ SQL, not shown keenness on llm, not shown interest in learning data architecture/ science, not worked towards full stack expertise, you are cornering your market. And thess learnings are not responsibility of any organization. 

People willing to work hard, adapt and pick up new skills will succeed. Folks who don't will keep asking why tech companies don't pay more. 

So 70 hours for me is not about working for a company. 70 hours us about working on yourself. Investing in yourself. 

I get it, but is our education system equipped for it ?

Despite flogging for 4 years in an Engineering college and at time 2 additional years in masters. The input that the young techies get is outdated.
That literally six precious years of youth wasted in acquiring the knowledge which is just limited to books, unless a student carves time out of his schedule, do the research and then come up with something on top of it which will help to sail him through.

When we say work hard, we also need to see how much we're empowering the students. It's like giving a plastic bat to a young batter and ask him to face leather ball bowling at 140k and then expect to score a century. Kid may eventually learn to adapt, but it will mess up his game so badly that when given a proper bat, he will still end up batting as he's holding a plastic bat.

11 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

I get it, but is our education system equipped for it ?

Despite flogging for 4 years in an Engineering college and at time 2 additional years in masters. The input that the young techies get is outdated.
That literally six precious years of youth wasted in acquiring the knowledge which is just limited to books, unless a student carves time out of his schedule, do the research and then come up with something on top of it which will help to sail him through.

When we say work hard, we also need to see how much we're empowering the students. It's like giving a plastic bat to a young batter and ask him to face leather ball bowling at 140k and then expect to score a century. Kid may eventually learn to adapt, but it will mess up his game so badly that when given a proper bat, he will still end up batting as he's holding a plastic bat.

I totally get it. We have a huge systemic issue. But you know ultimately biggest factor in an individual's success is the individual. This is a hard point to draw in India. Yes circumstances are not ideal. But then great minds don't develop in ideal. We are where China was in 2003. 

When I meet young engineers ( I am not an engineer anymore and not that young either ), I say world is your playground. But don't expect an organization or diploma to life you and don't be bogged down by conditioning.  In few years these degrees will be irrelevant. It will be your capacity to upskill that will reward you. And doing free courses on youtube or paying meagre subscription fees to learning website is nothing compared to gains we will get. 

In fact as we speak the degree years will be reduced.